WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Super 8" - What Did You Think?

Posted: June 11th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Super 8" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
"Super 8," directed by JJ Abrams and produced by Steven Spielberg, is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying an impressive 82% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that the film is very nostalgic, does a great job of focusing on the characters, and has more heart than the majority of Hollywood movies.

"Super 8" opened on Thursday at 324 theaters that Paramount Pictures has been calling sneak peek screenings. The film ended up grossing $1 million, in addition to $500,000 from midnight shows. Come back on Sunday to see how the $45 million movie performed over the weekend.

Click here to read our "Super 8" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
patman2011 writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 7:47:34 AM

it was great
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 9:11:56 AM

I loved it. Great throwback to the early 80's Spielberg movies.
xtlhogciao writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 9:29:18 AM

I liked it. I thought the stoner from Seventh Heaven was an obnoxious and unnecessary character, but that's just nitpicking.
Quatro writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 10:53:57 AM

@xtlhogciao I didnt even release that was the kid from 7th Heaven, hahaha.

I thought it was great for what it was. I was expecting a more Cloverfield type movie and it was really nothing like that. Was basically like a mashup of ET, Sandlot, Goonies etc. Id see again.
xtlhogciao writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 11:14:03 AM

@quatro I included the exact same movies in my mashup comparison. Except I thought Stand By Me instead of Sandlot, and I also thought of CLose Encounters. I didn't see any previews or read anything about the movie, so all I knew going in was that there was a train crash. I liked the atmosphere and the characters more than anything else in the movie. I actually kind of lost interest as we saw more and more of what the train was carrying towards the end.
goeygogo writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 11:33:02 AM

Thought it was awesome. Great acting by the kids and it totally made the movie. Coach Taylor didn't disappoint either!
Hollywood1086 writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 11:52:04 AM

awesome movie
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 12:12:48 PM

good to hear finally a movie I can go see thats good

Hopefully you guys are right on this one
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 12:26:15 PM

I love how Alex thinks all of his viewers are such colossal losers that they had nothing to do with their Friday night but run out to see the latest film, like they're that bored, that desperate and idle-minded they would waste a perfectly good night sitting in a dark dirty theater eating ten dollar popcorn and slurping down a five dollar coke while some fat hairy raincoat-wearing guy seat-stinks up the row.







Oh. What's that you say? Oops.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 12:31:00 PM

mink

$5 coke

yea $10 Barrel of pocorn and $10 movie ticket

and you could basically go to Disney World, or Six Flags for the day or buy a season pass at Six Flags
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 12:42:02 PM

For 25 bucks, Crazy, I can get a foot massage, a haircut and a blowjob. All from the same place.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 12:47:54 PM

ah minkowski-son

do you white rice and egg role with that

we also serve Saki with 2 for 1 Saturday message
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 12:53:18 PM

lol, yeah, you got me!
iceskateuphill writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 12:53:53 PM

exciting, heartwarming, funny, scary and really cool. its a great movie that is for all ages
Rambo writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 1:02:12 PM

it was amazing.those 8 inch fitted perfectly to that blond girl...oh wait...that super 8...haven't seen it yet.
Flav writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 1:13:27 PM

The creature is a mix of Olivia Wilde and ET. Ugly as hell.
Flav writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 1:14:01 PM

I liked it for the most part. Just the ending failed miserably. Happy endings suck!
adamXmarshall writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 1:38:27 PM

WHAT?! YOU ALL LOVED IT?! It was seriously awful.. the alien was a subplot. and the acting blew big ole wiener... seriously HUGE let down. their little film HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE STORY OF THE ALIEN. it didn't affect anything... stupid dumb movie. please don't see it
BillJ writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 1:40:42 PM

SUPER 8 - Nice, tributes to Spielberg hit movies throughout the movie, the tributes are very sort visual or audio clips which are similar to movies like The Third Kind, E.T., Jurassic Park and more. You really have to pay attention to catch the tributes. One of them at the end of the film was like the King Kong ending, which is of course not a Spielberg film, so I may be reaching but let me know if you noticed any of them.
Kill-the-director writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 1:41:22 PM

annoyed that the UK doesn't get this until august!
zyban03 writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 2:17:24 PM

Good Movie!!
mpiper821 writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 2:22:17 PM

Adam your dumb!
scotty7471 writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 2:28:07 PM

to me there was NO need for the imax for this one.
its ET meets CLOVERFIELD with a little bit of STAND BY ME thrown in.
mpiper821 writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 2:39:24 PM

Well at least they didn't put it in 3D
prewittj1 writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 2:58:35 PM

I loved it. Such a feel good movie! Made me feel like a kid again spending the summers on Cape Cod and going to see the blockbuster movies!
OneTime writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 5:56:44 PM

i liked it...but it wasn't anything special.
yeLLowfLaSh writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 7:16:24 PM

It was whatever. I almost fell asleep like 5 times. The thing that bugged me the most was the train crash. A little truck derails a whole train but not only derails it, I mean pretty much blows the whole train apart and at the end of it the truck has less damage then the train. Michael bay style. they might have contracted him in for that one. They give no explanation how this could happen we are just to assume it as possible, when it is in fact impossible.

I kept thinking this movie has no point. I'm just watching some kids run around trying to make a movie and I really don't give a sh*t; oh yea there is in alien which could have a really good plot but we aren't gonna focus on that we are just gonna keep following these kids and be bored. Then the ending with the DOE EYED alien that was pretty bad. Thank god it didn't talk, I can only assume it would have been, "I understand not all of you are as the colonel but I just want to go home" or something terrible like that.

Not JJ's best work. The whole saving the monster for the ending is kinda cliched and it's starting to be his signature move. If you really think about it. It just a clone of Cloverfield. Something from space comes down and reeks havoc on a town. The military comes in to deal with said monster but fails with every attempt. We follow the point of view from a small group of individuals and the monster is just an after thought to put them in a crisis to see how they will act.

Last statements. Put Blue lens flare. Everywhere. cause it's cool right?
yeLLowfLaSh writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 7:18:33 PM

OH yea and the main character has to go save his girlfriend/ female interest from havoc the monster has created and drag his friends with him to go save her.
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 8:40:49 PM

Love the background, Alex. No mention that it's an ad link, but hey, we all need vitaminwater, right?
Damon242 writes:
on June 11th, 2011 at 9:22:18 PM

Enjoyed it.

Have to say though that the characters were done so much better than the sci-fi aspect, so much so that for this sci-fi fan I was actually annoyed every time the monster-storyline came on screen, as I was more invested in the characters than anything else.
Mister Leary writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 12:05:00 AM

Cons: the dramatic scenes could have been given a little more room to breathe instead of being rushed and the lens flares did get a tad annoying. Other than that, I would've liked to see a creature that was less like the cloverfield monster.
Pros: kids did a great job and were charismatic enough to carry the film, decent number of laughs, and the sound work was gnarly.

Definitely worth seeing compared to most summer films.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 2:11:23 AM

Lol, Yup I guess because we go out with our friends on the weekend to watch a fun movie that makes us the losers, but posting novella-length complaints about users on a website, now THAT'S living the high life!

Anyway, the movie was good, I wasn't wow'd too too much with it though.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 3:39:37 PM

God, one minute I'm dying to see this, the next I'm making excuses not to see it. I want to see a film that brings back the Spielberg style of filmmaking, but I don't want another carbon copy remake of classic material. Let's face it I love 80s films, but I also want to see the industry constantly evolving. JJ has the ability to deliver that, and he's shown it in films like Star Trek and MI3 where he took the typical 80s action/sci-fi formula but added his own lense flare style and complex storytelling to update the product. I want this from Super 8 but all I hear is all this homage to Spielberg sh*t that really gives me the remake/reboot bubble guts. Lack of originality makes me sick these days, I don't care who's name is attached to it. I love "the Beard" but I want these new director to learn from him not copy his work. Either way I need to see this ASAP.
minkowski writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 4:13:53 PM

"Lol, Yup I guess because we go out with our friends on the weekend to watch a fun movie that makes us the losers, but posting novella-length complaints about users on a website, now THAT'S living the high life!"

Because you do something productive while fumbling for your d*ck insiode a darkened theater watching some tripe, but I can't whilst sitting in front of several computers, right? lol. God I must have mistaken that latest render for Spooky jacking off to Avatar.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 5:15:38 PM

Watson thought Super 8 was the late night hookup place for his johns to come over to get blown and then cornhole him.
atn5022 writes:
on June 12th, 2011 at 7:59:46 PM

constructive comments as always mink
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2011 at 3:57:20 PM

Because the comment section is the perfect place to a build a word house, right?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved