WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

6-Minute Clip from "Super 8" Appears Online

Posted: June 10th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
6-Minute Clip from "Super 8" Appears OnlineSubmit Comment
"Super 8," directed by JJ Abrams (Star Trek) and produced by Steven Spielberg, is playing in theaters starting this Friday (June 10th). And to get you to see the film, Paramount Pictures unveiled a six minute clip that takes place right before the train crash. Check out the clip below.

Plot: In the summer of 1979, a group of friends in a small Ohio town witness a catastrophic train crash while making a super 8 movie and soon suspect that it was not an accident.

Shortly after, unusual disappearances and inexplicable events begin to take place in town, and the local Deputy tries to uncover the truth something more terrifying than any of them could have imagined.

Clip:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read more about "Super 8."

Source: FilmoFilia, MSN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 9 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 10th, 2011 at 6:48:56 AM

That looks really good.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 10th, 2011 at 7:39:52 AM

Liking it, does seem to be one of those films where some of the kids are acting more mature than any kid that age would act though. Also why would the kid film the conversation as the train passes metres away you wouldn't hear sh*t.
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 10th, 2011 at 8:31:52 AM

f*ck me.....now I REALLY REALLY want to see this
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2011 at 12:32:41 PM

"Liking it, does seem to be one of those films where some of the kids are acting more mature than any kid that age would act though. Also why would the kid film the conversation as the train passes metres away you wouldn't hear sh*t."

Well, there's that for sure, and a few other issues.

One, the kids start talking right as the train's noise hits a peak in its doppler effect, meaning pretty much at the loudest point possible.

Two, they tried a little too hard to set the time period. Reminds me of some retro-80s novels I've read where every sentence is about Atari and Michael Jackson before he turned white.

Three, the truck would have NEVER made the train careen off the tracks like that. Force = mass X acceleration. One of those rules of physics that filmmaker's break with abandon. The train is highly massive, and at that speed, it would have had far more force to toss that relatively flimsy truck right the f*ck out of the way.

Four, the gratuitous explosion. Sorry, but the gas tank is in the back, and even then, gasoline is a liquid. It doesn't explode upon force. You can't hit a puddle of gas with a hammer and make it go boom. Nor can you ignite it with a lit match.

Trust me, when I was kid, I had a plastic pickle tub of gasoline. I sat there and threw lit matches into it for a while, and they stayed lit till they hit the gas. No go boom.

In fact, only gas vapor will ignite and then ignition depends on humidity and a few other factors. So, unless that truck was loaded with an IED or a few pounds of TNT or something, it woldn't have exploded. Plus, you can watch a variety of videos over the internet where a train collides with another object, and none of them explode.

And, at least in The Fugitive, the prison bus actually straddled the train long enough to make the train buckle and derail, which is somewhat more plausible. The train car chasing Ford was simply exhausting its forward momentum.

Also, the fat kid and the braces kid also seemed to be forced, because back then a staple of these kinds of films was some obnxious nerdy fat kid and a dork with braces, so yeah, we get it, you're setting back in the early 80s, but jesus, don't get so heavyhanded. The audience isn't THAT stupid.

What I do like is the use of colors. Very nice sharply saturated palette.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2011 at 12:38:16 PM

Oh, and back in 1996, I was walking across a train crossing with a mountain bike, listening to my Sony Walkman, oblivious to the world around, lost in my thoughts.

Little did I know a train was running right across the tracks at that very point. It hit me, and threw me several feet. My poor bike was busted, twisted like the proverbial pretzel, my clothes looked like I danced the tango with Edwards Scissorhands, and my right side went on vacation somewhere very far away in a quiet kingdom.

The point of my little story?

I didn't explode.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2011 at 12:38:58 PM

+me
clydefamous writes:
on June 10th, 2011 at 1:23:16 PM

i read somewhere that JJ copped to going a bit overboard with the train bit. but hey if the dialogue scenes are that well shot and done with that much care, i'll forgive him for the boom-boom choo-choo.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 10th, 2011 at 4:23:42 PM

You got hit by a train mink? f*ck that for a laugh was it entering or exiting the station?
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2011 at 5:14:21 PM

Neither. Just chugging along on a nice clean stretch. Where it was passing, there wasn't a rail or anything. Bam. Kablooie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved