WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Snoop Dogg Developing "American Idol" for Rappers

Posted: June 7th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Snoop Dogg Developing "American Idol" for RappersSubmit Comment
In addition to "American Idol," there are also other singing/talent competition shows, including "The X Factor," "The Voice" and "America's Got Talent."

Snoop Dogg believes that there should also be a TV series to discover the next hip/hop/rap star. He has been pitching this new competition show around town, but nobody is interested.

Even though, Snoop claims that he can get Jay-Z to be a judge, Oxygen, Bravo and NBC immediately turned him down. E! and MTV showed some interest, but not enough to move forward.

"Snoop has wild ideas about who he can get to judge, but most are probably unlikely, including Jay," said a NY Post source. Jay-Z's rep denied he had any involvement.

Source: NY Post


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2011 at 9:09:08 PM

Because blacks need their own (no)talent show too.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 7th, 2011 at 9:14:54 PM

Hip Hop is Americas Decline i have never seen some of the stupidest pieces of sh*t in my life with names like Soulja Boy,T.I,Gucci Mane,Pittbull,FLO RIDA,Paul Wall (he's from Texas Mink)may god have mercy on them.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2011 at 9:18:27 PM

Thanks for the info bando. Damn shame black people would rather listen to sh*t like P. Diddy and the f*cks you mentioned than a talented black artist like Seal.
minkowski writes:
on June 7th, 2011 at 9:44:33 PM

It's showtime, at the Apollo!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8gZ-TCgZBBA

(watched that show as a kid, along with Star Search)

A lot better than this Snoop Dogg sh*t.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 7th, 2011 at 9:46:37 PM

well since rappers are always beefing lots of Police officers and security guards will have jobs because they act like a bunch of animals from the zoo.and I'm not being racist because I work as a security guard in a black neighborhood sometimes and is the truth
johnny_boy writes:
on June 7th, 2011 at 9:54:40 PM

Why would jay z judge. He's the worst rapper of all time, at least to anyone who has a quarter of a brain. I would watch the show though. It'd be fun to see a "rapper" get eliminated and blame the white man and possibly shoot up the place
bandolero999 writes:
on June 7th, 2011 at 10:01:56 PM

Well Jay Z is a retard but not when it comes to Money.he's probably the most succesful rapper to date and he's filthy disgustingly rich and owns one of the biggest HipHop labels ever and some places in NewYork like clubs and other stuff.
johnny_boy writes:
on June 7th, 2011 at 10:17:34 PM

@bando- of course he's good with money. He's got tons of it. But as I mentioned above, anyone with a quarter of a brain can see he's a hack. It's the dumb asses that support his things and there's plenty of them out there hence why he makes so much.
koul writes:
on June 7th, 2011 at 11:20:59 PM

this is a great idea. these motherf*cking networks better accept his idea.
the eye writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 12:54:15 AM

I love it when a sell-centered, egotistical, arrogant dumbass tells everyone else what musical "taste" is better suited for their race! This reminds me of all the "dumbass" conservatives bitching about one of the most politically conscientious R&B musicians out there being invited to the White House for POETRY! This is AMERICA DUMBASS, everyone gets to choose their own preference. That... is called FREEDOM! I might wear polo shirts where you desire white sheets (head to toe)! Peace
Avirex writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 1:05:15 AM

I was on my way to write up a comment about this story but I tripped over all the white robes left by the other commentors.
Mister Leary writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 2:21:20 AM

i like the idea, but.....the ratings will only be good for the first episode before it tanks. It sucks that true hip hop has been forced back underground.
YoungChris writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 6:15:50 AM

for shizzle my nizzle
PHURBY1984 writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 8:46:58 AM

I vote we put this show on the air and let all current rapprr battle it out...See who the best really is...And if they pull guns out on each other thats cool too, will have the reality version of CSI...
Blank x25 writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 10:54:25 AM

Apparently some people didn't have black friends or got picked on by black students in high school.

Yes, rap has gotten bad, but white people have Nickelback, Justin Bieber, and countless other no talent hacks just like the African American music community. If you hate on one race's music, hate on them all.

Hip Hop isn't America's decline. An obviously (according to WP) failing national school system could be the culprit. Don't worry about rappers when you can't spell.
minkowski writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 12:04:34 PM

Right, because no-talent Nickleback with their comparatively innocuous bad music is equivalent to rap where murder, drugs, mysogyny and other random assorted violence is not only tolerated, it's glorified.

Rap is a lot like militant Islam in that way.

But please do continnue making excuses for failure.

"Apparently some people didn't have black friends or got picked on by black students in high school."

My very first friend was a black kid named Wade. So there. And I actually was more inclined to run with black kids than the arrogant *sshole white kids, so again, shows what you know, which must be pretty close to nothing right about now.

"Hip Hop isn't America's decline. An obviously (according to WP) failing national school system could be the culprit. Don't worry about rappers when you can't spell."

lol, where the school system fails the most is in black-majority inner-city schools where most people listen to rap. Coincidence? Maybe, but again then they aren't listening to Mozart are they?

"This reminds me of all the "dumbass" conservatives bitching about one of the most politically conscientious R&B musicians out there being invited to the White House for POETRY!"

Because 'conservatives' aren't so politically correct and racially patronizing to invite rappers to the white house just because they feel compelled to pander to blacks, because 'conservatives' know that Robert Browning is poetry, Alexander Pope is poetry, and that Snoop Dogg and all the rest are just the black kids that sucked at basketball.
Blank x25 writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 3:07:14 PM

Just like the Nickelback statement I made, mainstream rap does showcase most of what you are talking about. But that's MAINSTREAM. Mainstream music of any race is like movies...usually, it's pretty bad.

I'm not saying your wrong, just saying that there is definitely great hip hop music still being made, it's just not what is played everywhere all the time. The no talents in entertainment are pushed to the front. We all know this.


And the opinion that most negative schooling happens among African Americans is mostly wrong. There is plenty to show that white people are as dumb as anyone else. We're white, and we know it's the truth. My quote about schooling and referencing WP is to show that even some white people can't read and write at a high school level.

Then again, I have close friends who are black, so maybe my common sense is biased.
Avirex writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 4:37:02 PM

Here's a few names for the Hip Hop illiterate to check out: Braille, CunninLynguists, Panacea, Deepspace5, Lost Children of Babylon, etc.

The number of talented artists with substance actually out number whatever it is most unknowledgeable folk believe is the majority.
minkowski writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 5:59:00 PM

*shaking head*

Both of you and others are missing the point. You're spending all your time defending black people in general and hip hop, and not addressing what I said originally: the vast bulk of the music enjoyed by black people, in general, is of the destructive negative type.

I have never met a black person who listened to any of the music Avirex mentioned, and I'm around black people sun up to sun down. All I ever hear, and all Ihave ever heard them listen to is the far more profane, violent, self-destructive music that feeds into behavior that lands then in jail and worse. Even little black kids get online, go to Youtube, hit up the latest rap video, right before they look at porn. So even at a young age, their minds are already f*cked.

On the other hand, garbage like nickleback does little to the listener but reduce their IQ and musical appreciation.

"The number of talented artists with substance actually out number whatever it is most unknowledgeable folk believe is the majority."

That may be the case, but back in 1966, there were thousands of bands, and yet only one was found on radios throughout America every day: The Beatles.

So regardless of the numerical quantity of 'talented' black artists, and really talent isn't the issue IMO, most black people, in my experience, prefer the garbage end of the musical stick, and sure so do white people, but then, as I said, neither nickleback nor Keysha nor Lady Garbage, for all their glaring faults, justify or glorify selling drugs, beating up women or fighting cops.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 6:54:55 PM

mink

Its the white mans fault for rap music being so degrading

Oh and as Malcolm X said it was the white mans fault for selling all the heroine to the black community in NY that was portrayed in the movie American Gangster during the 60's and 70's
Avirex writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 7:23:28 PM

@Mink

Uh why are you making this about "black people" anyway? Take a look at some of the names I mentioned earlier, at least half of them are "white". Hip Hop isn't "black" music it is everybody's music. Asians, whites, Hispanics and so on also perform and listen to it. I even know a Swedish DJ who remixes Tupac songs.

My point bringing up those artists was not whether or not everyone listens to them. Simply examples of true Hip Hop which do not depict violence, drug selling or "negativity". Hell, there are actually many Christian rappers in the world as well.

Quality of music on the radio and television is all audible vomit regardless of who it targets. Young girls, black kids, skateboarders, club goers, etc. It all directs them to take part in questionable activities, acions that lead to them, sexual decadence, drinking, depression and ignorance overall.

We're on the same page, just a different paragraph.
the eye writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 10:56:23 PM

@ Avirex… You said “Uh why are you making this about "black people" anyway?” …because mink is a pure racist. Just look at some of my other responses to his sordid and very twisted thinking. That’s all he ever does is make nearly everything about race, even when no one else refers to it. Look at his 1st post at the very top! Little does he and the rest of these individuals realize that rap/hip-hop profits mostly comes from WHITE TEENS. SO… like bandolero666’s proclamation that “Hip Hop is Americas Decline i have never seen some of the stupidest pieces of sh*t in my life” IT IS WHITE TEENS THAT ARE FINANCING AND SUSTAINING IT. The little white kids are responsible for “Americas decline.” The little white kids are responsible for “the stupidest pieces of sh*t in your life.” Blame it on the little white kids bandolero666!
Avirex, don’t bother trying to intellectually reason with Mink or some of the other ppl on here. They only look at the world as a non-pluralistic, non-multicultural sphere painted only in “white.” To digress, indulge, or even level with such simplistic and ignorant thinking is beneath any spiritually inclined intellectual that is respectful of all people and cultures. In their little white world they have done nothing wrong. But on one thread, they have managed to insult a multitude of people without even knowing it. Bare witness to their stupidity!
LastActionHero writes:
on June 9th, 2011 at 7:47:40 AM

Wow, a lot of clueless and racist morons in here.
rabid writes:
on June 9th, 2011 at 3:38:48 PM

WP is like a chat gangbang for white supremacists on most days.
I love this diea. It's better than watching a bunch of off-key crackers warbling church songs and pretending to make music that people actually listen to.
Insult hiphop if you like, but writing a tight rhyme takes ten times the rhythm, memory, and language skill than does opera and sinatra-crooners.
rabid writes:
on June 9th, 2011 at 3:40:08 PM

*idea
keyboard batteries dying, so i'm having to mash the keys.
dlrippr writes:
on June 9th, 2011 at 8:16:09 PM

Your all morons. We dont need anymore reality tv, but with so many different muscial talent(less) shows, why not one with a beat. All rap is not about drugs bitches and money, only the bad rap is. Hip hop is alive and well, if you listen to the right musicians. Jay Z doesnt write down ryhmes or lyrics, he just flows, Greatest of all time. Put your diamonds up.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved