WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First "Super 8" Reviews Arrive Online

Posted: June 5th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First "Super 8" Reviews Arrive OnlineSubmit Comment
"Super 8" has caught the attention of many movie-goers, mostly because it's directed by JJ Abrams (Star Trek), produced by Steven Spielberg, and resembles some Spielberg favorites like "ET" and "Close Encounters of the Third Kind."

Now that the film is set to hit theaters on Friday (June 10th), early reviews are pouring out. We have compiled some of them for you below.

* The Playlist: Abrams still delivers an edge-of-your-seat thriller with heart and humor that we predict will have audiences buzzing.

* TotalFilm: Only a young Spielberg at the top of his game could beat it.

* The Hollywood Reporter An engaging return trip to Steven Spielberg's youthful world of wonder courtesy of JJ Abrams.

* IGN: "Super 8" really wants to earn its place on your shelf next to "E.T."

* Box Office Magazine: Movies that inspired "Super" were genuinely great. Unfortunately, this one isn't.

* Mania: Abrams' genius lies in finding that early Spielberg vibe without losing his own auteurial voice in the process.

* Badass Digest: Does not fully work on any level except for cheap nostalgia porn.

* JoBlo: A thrilling return to movie magic of old, filled with wonder, horror and chills.

* Hitfix: Isn't going to be the giant blockbuster event of the summer. This is a lovely look at getting over pain and letting go, wrapped in just a bit of sci-fi and wonder.

* Dread Central: The perfect summer movie riddled with the kind of action, heart, and fun that most filmmakers would kill to be able to conjure.

* Bloody-Disgusting Grab your loved ones and embrace what could be the last true summer movie event.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nitishbhat writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 5:08:22 AM

looks really cheesy. but will definitely watch it 4 its "Spielberg like" quality. they stopped making such movies, Spielberg including.
SeWerin writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 5:31:25 AM

I think that i will agree with *Badass digest and *BO Magazine when i see the movie (not in the cinema of course).

Don't know why the hype. It looks like typical nostalgia kids movie from 80's.
nawtnt writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 7:06:48 AM

The first Super 8 trailer was mysterious and scary then the second trailer came out and made the film look like The Goonies with E.T., which for me destroy the scariness and the mysterys.

I hope Super 8 does well because there hasn't been a movie for so long, that has those chemsity like The Thing, E.T. and Close Encounter had in the films.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 9:07:00 AM

I'm excited to see this.
brigulon13 writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 9:59:20 AM

I am not sure why but, from what I've seen of it. Super 8 feels like Kirk Cameron should be in it. Like it has some weird religious overtone. Not, liking the actor choices at all. Ron Eldard???
coldplayesence writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 10:06:56 AM

WTF IGN? "S"uper 8 can't be next to "E".T., we know something called alphabethic order, you know.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 10:34:55 AM

"It looks like typical nostalgia kids movie from 80's."

So what's is wrong with that? Films like ET, Monster Squad, Goonies, Stand By Me, The Explorers, and Lost Boys are lightyears better than 99% of the sh*t being shoveled today. Those films were a great combination of heart, suspence, and coming of age all wrapped in up the rollercoaster ride that is youth. Only the Potter films come close to delivering the same qualities today. I'd love to see a return back to these "wonder" films, if not for me, then for my kids.
Avirex writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 1:04:59 PM

How about something that draws upon it's unique quality and story instead of trying desperately to recreate "Spielberg" movies. Blahh I only enjoyed Munich and Minority Report anyway.
Rambo writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 1:47:31 PM

I wasn't impressed from the trailers but i'll give it a shot once its out...
Blank x25 writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 2:31:35 PM

@Avirex

If Munich and Minority Report are the only Spielberg movies you think are good, I'll be sure to never pay attention to your opinions on anything movie related ever again.

Appreciate the heads up.


@SAC - Touché.

minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 2:50:22 PM

Hated Munich. Morally relativistic claptrap sh*t, and totally boring to boot.

And I was actually going to say something similar to Avirex regarding originality versus recreating Spielberg's earlier career. I guess it's good enough to have Abrams do the work Steve refuses. Whatever.

And for the guy that mentioned The Thing, way off, dude, way off. You just hit a ground ball into the dugout. Don't ask me how.
Avirex writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 7:39:12 PM

@Blank -Oo0h noooooo! My hopes and dreams of being a random guy's gauge on great filmmaking are now shattered! What ever shall I do!

Not everyone is going to kiss Spielberg's gluteus maximus as a director.
trailertrash writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 11:05:11 PM

Looking forward to seeing this at the weekend ..
OmegaMan7189 writes:
on June 6th, 2011 at 9:39:09 PM

I am really excited for this movie!!! Can't wait
Ryanlawson writes:
on June 7th, 2011 at 1:09:01 AM

eh, it was ok. saw an advance screening of it yesterday and yeah... it was ok... the alien thing looks exactly like a smaller cloverfield monster tho... which missled me into thinking there was going to be a "its a secret cloverfield prequel" twist at the end... which there wasnt... it was just an above average ET like movie... Huzzah

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved