WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"X-Men: First Class" - What Did You Think?

Posted: June 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"X-Men: First Class" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
Matthew Vaughn's "X-Men: First Class" is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying an impressive 87% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that the film breathes new life into the franchise and is an overall excellent comic book flick.

"X-Men: First Class" already grossed an estimated $3.4 million from midnight screenings, which is slightly higher than the $3.3 million that "Thor" earned. "Thor" went on to take $65.7 million in its opening weekend, which means that "First Class" is on its way to making back it's $140 million budget. Come back on Sunday to see how the film performed over the weekend.

Click here to read our "X-Men: First Class" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 58 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BigUnit writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 3:55:37 AM

loved it. best marvel film to date. great cast, great acting, great director.
reach110 writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 4:16:18 AM

A solid 8 out of 10. What IS it with the poor pacing of films these days? Nobody wants to take their time anymore. Every movie like this should be a minimum of two and a half hours long. PERIOD. And I'm sorry, but I have yet to be presented with any evidence that any future X-Men films will ever hold a candle to the original two. Bryan Singer is the ONLY one that I trust with the X-men films right now. Having said all that, I LOVED this film, and it went a long way to help repair some of the damage of the sh*tpiles that were X3 and Wolverine. GARBAGE films.
yeLLowfLaSh writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 4:44:30 AM

Best Kill scene I have seen in a movie in a long time. That scene was absolutely brilliant. Also the way they handled Charles handicap was superb. Fassbender is an amazing Magneto. Also Magneto with a knife, pretty awesome. Some of the scenes were kinda cheesy but they are forgiven by the good performances by the cast and story. Plus it has Kevin Bacon in it. Need i say more.
Necronullus writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 5:02:15 AM

terrible movie
Imation writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 5:28:13 AM

I'm not sure where to start but man did I have a good time with this movie. The pace was abit slow, but when things happened they were awesome. Great job by the cast, esp. Fassbender & McAvoy. Digged Bacon as the main villain, tho I would like to see more of Azazel really, the movie made him a badass! Loved the scene where he teleported people in the air and dropped them, that was awesome. I'll give this a 9/10 I think it's one of the best comic book movies to date, not the best X-men but a good start for a new trilogy!
Damon242 writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 5:29:22 AM

Didn't like it.

Had too many scenes with bad acting, bad dialogue, awkward tone, and couldn't help but look at beast and think of the Grinch.
SeWerin writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 7:03:37 AM

It was really great. Miles better then Thor.

It doesn't have equal balance of action and drama - this is more character drama with elements of political thriller in it (and mutants too of course) and it works perfectly.

With that being said - McAvoy and Fassbender were both amazing. Story took place to appreciate characters and the result was really great - a story about creating friendship and it's ultimate downfall - tragic yet appropriate.

Loved the way they incorporated Cuban missile crisis in story, and that cameo was one of the most hilarious things on screen in recent times.

The effects were nice, and i liked use of powers (especially by Magneto, Azazel and Sebastian). But some came as cheesy (banshee flying), and aerial scenes looked awkward at times. Ending became a little bit more corny then i expected.

It's great that they put so much focus on characters,and emotions, with effects and action being in second place. It just feels right. But the quality of this movie makes me hate X3 even more. Point is - Bryan Singer knows his X-mens, and Matthew Vaughn knows his comics. Together they work fantastic.

It's one of the best X-men movies, that's for sure. Is it better then X2? I don't know. X2 is not only the best Xmen movie, but also one of the best comic book movies. I need to see First Class few more times too make that judgment.
velocityknown writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 10:00:01 AM

Best Marvel movie to be released yet.

For an origins movie by a director who doesn't have big budget credits to his name, this is an expertly put together film.

It's well paced, well shot, and gets the performances it needs from each actor and actress.

Speaking of the performances, man, what else can I say that hasn't already been said? Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy were simply amazing but the supporting cast was just as fun to watch. The grown up Nicholas Hoult was terrific as Hank McCoy/Beast and Jennifer Lawerence proved she's not a one-hit Oscar wonder as Raven/Mystique.

It's the little things in this movie that they did right that made it work on such a high level. I'll point to the opening scenes of exposition, showing us where our two main characters come from. Things like this can easily slow down a movie but they were so well put together that it started the fast pacing that never let up.

Same with the scenes that showed off the team training to effectively use their superpowers. I'm not sure who the editor is for this film was, but he or she deserves some serious kudos for that sequence. Tons of fun and looked cool as hell.

It's not just the best Marvel comic movie we've seen, it's just a fantastic film. The emotion, stakes, and characters all seem real and I cannot wait to see what we could possibly get out of sequel to this.
xtlhogciao writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 10:44:54 AM

I thought it was a good movie overall. I had a few problems with it though, which mainly had to do with the casting. I didn't like Jennifer Lawrence as Mystique at all, I wasn't a fan of Havok and his hula-hoop way of releasing the blasts, and I especially didn't like Banshee. The actor who played Banshee talks like a moron.
supaflywill writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 11:17:28 AM

not that good at all big let down it left me with nothing as all prequels go - 5/10
supaflywill writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 11:18:54 AM

numnut writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 11:34:20 AM

Fantastic, McAvoy and Fassbender were great together, good cast all round, solid script aside from the cheesy moments and good use of the cameos. Loved it
JonDrama writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 11:37:00 AM

F**king Awesome!!
technoreaper writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 12:45:16 PM

This was not a Marvel movie!
bspence writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 1:20:32 PM

solid 9/10.
only reason it is not 10/10 would be due to the awkward/cheesy scenes in the beginning. they had me worried for a few minutes. but they disappeared and were forgiven like others said. i did not like banshee at all. i was honestly rooting for him to be the one who died (minor possible spoiler) instead of the one good character who did.

fassbender was a total badass a magneto. and mcavoy was excellent as well. azazel was a badass. the cia breach scene with him was awesome.

i felt the movie was well paced and not relying of the action and brief comedy segments to carry it like thor, iron man 2, xmen 3, wolverine, ghost rider, etc. though it included those things it made them enjoyable because they were placed in the right spots.

the final battle reminded me much of the comics where instead of a military base, magneto takes on a fleet of navy battleships during the cuban missile crisis. which that too was well fused to show mutant involvment with the war similar to the vigilantes and vietnam in watchmen.

i also loved the two cameos. especialls wolverines. even though i knew what it containd (*cough *cough alex) i was still laughing just as hard as everyone else.

for the sequel i believe it is by far the perfect time to bring in the sentinels. the government now knows of mutants and dont like them very much. so why wouldnt they hire trask to create robots capable of stopping them?

as for first class 3. bring in geonsha and mr sinister. like the 90s cartoon. mutants need a safescape from society who now knows of their existence. but mr sinister takes it over and charles and eric must unite their xmen and brotherhood once more to stop him. this could also set up the dark horsemen for the first half of x4 and apocalypse for the second half of x4 then all lose ends are tied off in x5.

overall this is the second best marvel universe based movie ever, next to xmen2. and easily top 5 best superhero movies ever. number 1 in my opinion still being batman begins. now is xmen first class better than the dark knight? while neither film is a perfect 10/10 like batman begins (in my opinion) i would have to say they are about equal. personally i think enjoy TDK more but first class had a better, sort of critic view to it from me if that makes since.

again. 9/10.
a great must see movie!
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 1:32:16 PM

Pfffft. Fanboys.
Necronullus writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 2:37:16 PM

Seriously it looked so corny. I mean I could name a hundred things wrong with the movie I mean aside from the fact it was kindaing making no sense and well yes bad acting. I don't think I ever felt bored from a movie recently until this one. 4 out of 10. It just felt like a silly evil villian movie rather then a film trying to regrasp the x-men franchise. Beast was lame, way too young and stupid looking (and yes Damon242 I also thought of the grinch lol) January Jones was thee worst actor in history of acting. Far worse then ewan mcgregor's three facial expressions during star wars (another blow fest). All in all it was just terrible. And by the way not a fanboy I know somethings from marvel and to my knowledge Prof. X was crippled by his powers not a lame ass last minute rewritten script bullet to the spine scene. Stupid.
fhugs03 writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 2:46:20 PM

Beast was a disappointing part of the movie, along with Emma Frost's dry acting would be the only things I disliked. The rest was amazing. Beautiful.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 4:03:22 PM

I was really into the first half of the film watching Magneto and Xavier do their thing but when the focus of the film shifted to the younger mutants it kind of lost me. The director obviously has an affection for old James Bond films which he showcased in Layer Cake and the through Magneto/Xavier's early story in First Class. I really liked that 60's lisence to kill feel Millar used for Magneto, but all that ends when he joins the team. On the other hand all of the young mutant's characters we written terribly thin and executed even worse. When it came down to it Mystique was the only supporting character that meant anything. That being said I guess that actually supports the mythology for the rest of the films so its somewhat acceptible. All in all it was a decent movie that left better potential on the table. Thor and Fast Five were better. 7/10
mpiper821 writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 4:18:18 PM

Prof. X was put in a wheelchair after a fight with an alien named Lucifer who dropped a boulder on him crippling his legs. NOT from prof. x's powers.

X-men First Class was definitely better than Thor and Fast five, it's one of the better comic book movies out there. And I don't know why people are saying Thor is that good. It was a terrible movie the only thing in was good for was introducing the character. Fast Five was good for what it was, a mind numbing action flick that put a new spin on the series.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 4:25:05 PM

Sorry, think I got Mark Millar and Mat Vaughn missed up.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 4:30:10 PM

@mpiper: ok maybe "better" isn't the right description for Fast Five and Thor. "More entertaining" feels better. First Class is downright boring at times. Thor and Fast Five have very little downtime.
mpiper821 writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 4:55:38 PM

I'll agree with you about fast five with non-stop action, but I just thought Thor was terrible, and stupid at times especially when they were on earth. They needed to have some drama in Xmen FC otherwise it would have just turned out like xmen last stand and origins, which were terrible with non-stop action and nothing else.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 4:55:59 PM

Its hard not to get bothered by the timeline issues in this series. Singer contributed to the problem right off the back but X3 and Wolverine really did take a giant sh*t on the story's history. This film tries to get it right but still manages to throw in some unsettling curveballs. Did these directors really read the comics or see the other films? I'm not asking for 100% accuracy, I just want a little consistency.
SeWerin writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 6:11:55 PM


or it could be that it is simply very well made movie
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 6:42:19 PM

Well-made or not, the idiots on here giving it a 9.0 are not credible to say the least.
yeLLowfLaSh writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 8:07:57 PM

Rating movies on a number system itself is pretty dumb. Everyone has different standards and there is absolutely no way to standardize them. All you can really do is point out what you liked and what you didn't like. It had some pretty cheesy moments that kinda just made me sigh, but on the other end it had some really great scenes. Especially with Fassbender. I think, and this is only my opinion, but he carried the movie. McAvoy was good but Fassbender really carried the movie. You can really see the motions come out of him and he is not just playing magneto, he is magneto.

Spoilers so stop reading now if you haven't seen it. **************************************************************

The only other major problem I had was the ending. it was just like swapping one bad guy for another who had the same exact plans. But I can understand why it was done. After Magneto amazing kill of Shaw he basically says the same sh*t Shaw was saying the whole movie. And i know he said he agrees with Shaw's plan but he should have differentiated himself from Shaw by saying like we'll do it with our power and prove we are the better race not with their weapons. Something along those lines.
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 8:18:35 PM

So then you would agree with me if I said my turds splattered over a baking sidewalk is every bit as awesome an artwork as Caravaggio's 'Judith Beheading Holofernes', just because I say so, right?

No, of course not. So enough with the relativism, people. You only that bankrupt concept it because someone else brainwashed you with the thought. Think for yourself for a change. And down with the f*cking fanboys. Thank you.
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 8:20:10 PM

minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 8:29:06 PM

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 9:32:22 PM

I've never seen an x-men thing in my entire life ever, so I'm not a fanboy.

with that out of the way, I have to say, this movie was really decent. There was 1 semi-cheesy part, and that was it. Everything else was fantastic, including Kevin Bacon. Everyone I see is giving credit to Fassbender for his performance, but I think that James Mcavoy was spades better than him.

Overall, an 8/10, I'm excited to see X1 and X2.
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 9:43:31 PM

I'm sorry, but I call bullsh*t. I mean, what the f*ck are you doing on a movie site if you've never seen XMen 1-3 or even Wolverine? What do you do, sit around spanking it to Fruit of the Loom commercials?

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 4th, 2011 at 11:17:45 PM

Someone's mad
mrstretch writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 12:01:10 AM

I liked it way more than the other ones but nothing to write home about.
OneTime writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 12:27:11 AM

i thought it was rad...flowed nice and kept me interested...woot
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 12:34:02 AM

to Date, the best X-men Movie, better than Thor, better than Spider-man 1,2 and esapecially 3 at equal awesomeness as iron man 1 an 2, byy farr was it one of my favorite superhero movie overall . . .
velocityknown writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 2:28:13 AM

You don't have to be a fanboy to have been impressed with this film.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 2:59:46 AM

I'll start from the most annoying part: the good guys. Seriously, they were lame. Bad/useless powers. The good part for me: it was never boring which is what any summer flick should avoid, plus, Fassbender was great but they truly wasted The Bacon, especially at half way when his character became 2 dimensional and weak. But over all it was a good, I'll give it an 8/10.
Chewbacca writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 3:20:34 AM

LOL I am a fanboy and I will give this 9/10 although I have to admit it is biased. As a film I would give it a 8/10, but that extra point goes to the scenes that made my fanboy boner shoot straight up hahaha. Agree with yeLLowfLaAh, great kill scene. Kevin Bacon's character was not very rounded, but McAvoy and Fassbender made up for his lack of true villainy. I felt that Shaw was too busy trying to dismantle SPECTRE then actually trying to give us reason behind his diabolical fan. People may disagree with that if they please. Scenes of comic relief were very well done. Henry Jackman's score was emotionally resonating. I liked the use of different global locations. Azazel and Beast were awesome secondary characters. I really liked Azazel's makeup. I don't know if these are great justifiable reasons Mink but I'm gonna join the bandwagon I thoroughly enjoyed this movie.
hashbrownie writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 3:46:07 AM

have yet to see this. i have had high hopes since. glade to hear all the awsome reveiws.anyone wanna talk smak? im not robbob or whatevever but mink, tt, all you *ssholes can eat a d*ck cause you know what? ya all a bunch of haters
LEONCIO writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 8:14:32 AM

Just a couple of questions:

1-Xavier telepathically paralyzes Shaw and then Magneto threatens to kill him with the coin, but Xavier pleads him to stop... Why didn't Xavier just allow Shaw to move again so he can escape or even mentally forces him to runaway? I guess this way Shay would have had a chance to survive, but Xavier keeps Shaw paralyzed all the time while Magneto slowly kills Shaw with the coin, why?

2-Magneto easily stops like a billion bombs and missiles up in the air, but then Moira comes with a tiny little gun and shoots him and instead of stopping the bullets in the air like he previously did with with all the sh*t two armies launched at him he decides to throw the bullets around so they can easily kill or harm anyone around, wtf??? XD
The_Zizzler writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 10:08:21 AM

For those that don't know Minkowksi, please don't be offended by his comments. He always has a problem with movies that don't show some form of male anal c*ck shafting.
ghosttomost writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 10:24:21 AM

mink, why are u always such an *sshole to everybody? i have an idea why: http://www.inquisitr.com/34223/john-gabriels-greater-internet-d*ckwad-theory/
flybynight writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 11:15:32 AM

Fassbender's Irish accent really came out strong on the beach at the end!
Good movie!
WV-Films writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 1:48:06 PM

The whole movie, good as it was, doesn't really make any sense. In the first trilogy, you get the impression almost nobody even knows who Mystique is, but in 1st class she's Pro X's sister, yet in X1 she has no problem putting him in a Coma.
Also you see Prof X walking twice in flashbacks in other films. First at the end of Wolverine, and then at the beginning of X3, and that clearly can't be the case by the end of 1st Class. Also Magneto is still friends with Charles in the first scene of X3, and that doesn't seem to be really possible here either.
Then there's the whole issue with Prof X and when he said that he built Cerebro with Magneto in X1, when it's clearly Beast that builds it. Do they rebuild it later?
Another two continuity errors are Emma Frost who's a teenager in Wolverine, and an adult in 1st Class. And there's the issue with Beast who's furless in X2, and gets his fur in 1st Class.
The whole thing just seems like they didn't even care to try and make it connect.
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 2:26:15 PM

"mink, why are u always such an *sshole to everybody?"

I'm just honest.

"i have an idea why:"

Actually, *you* don't have an idea, someone else had an idea and you just stole it.


According to his math, then, everyone's a d*ckwad. Not very logical or empirical, I think.

minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 2:27:36 PM

"Someone's mad"

Perhaps, but at least I'm not an emosexual Canadian self-named SpookyCupcakes.
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 2:32:00 PM

Oh, if any of you are 'offended' by my comments, grow the f*ck up or buy a f*cking spine. They're just words. They can neither break your leg nor pick your pocket.

I welcome your retorts.
mpiper821 writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 4:38:54 PM

Well you sure seemed to be bothered by other peoples words mink...
Rambo writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 5:46:05 PM

just saw it


it started great then had some weak moments in the middle and a solid ending.
Michael Fassbender is the best thing about this movie.Great actor with very strong presence on the screen.
For me the first x men movie by singer remains the best x men movie to date.
mpiper821 writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 6:05:31 PM

i agree...
koul writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 6:08:38 PM

the movie was great. they might as well ignore the original x-men trilogy and start a new one with a younger Professor X and Magneto.
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 8:43:41 PM

"Well you sure seemed to be bothered by other peoples words mink..."

I live for argumentation, bro, far from it for me to be 'bothered'. lol.
mpiper821 writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 9:33:04 PM

Deckman writes:
on June 5th, 2011 at 11:54:38 PM

I feel people are being too harsh on the movie and some are even being downright negative.
As a fan 9 outta 10.
As a movie 8 outta 10.
Plot holes people are trying to compare to the first series or even FAIL ASS Wolverine, obviously doesn't matter.
First Class might as well be a completely different franchise, EVEN WITH CAMEOS!!

Emma forst acting was dry. Havok/Angel was somewhat annoying. NO OTHER COMPLAINTS!! EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT. NO bullsh*t avengers ending THANK GOD!!! Best X-Men movie in my opinion.
heelswin writes:
on June 6th, 2011 at 6:48:04 AM

Why is 20th century Fox allowed to continually butcher the X-Men films.

How can Emma Frost be a child in X-Men Origins:Wolverine and a grown up in the prequel X-Men First Class?

Marvel Disney needs to gain control over the rights to this franchise and reboot the whole thing from scratch

I don't know how any fan of the X-Men can say they liked this movie. Have you ever read the comics? Do you know the story of the X-Men. This ain't it.
Bunny X writes:
on June 6th, 2011 at 10:18:56 AM

Honestly, it was good. I truly have to separate the fact that the timeline is completely off track and that none of these Xmen films can even truly connect with each other. Aside from that though, it was a pretty good film. I hear folks aren't happy with the pacing and wanted more action sooner, but I liked the pacing. If anything, I wanted them to develop things longer. We are talking about mutants coming to the light for the first time and I'm supposed to feel comfortable about things developing this quickly even under those circ*mstances.
I think Michael Fassbender was phenomenal. He truly made me feel like he was Magneto and delivered. The remaining cast did their parts and fit nicely. MacAvoy really didnt move me too much but was still solid.
As for Kevin Bacon, I swear, I just love whatever he does. His scenes as Shaw were so good and he had me. I don't know what it is about Kevin Bacon but he just owns the roles he gets to the point where I'm hooked regardless of what he does.
I will say this though. The movie did get a lot more hype than it deserves. Folks are positioning it up there with The Dark Knight and that's a mighty big stretch for this film. Is the best of the Xmen franchise? Definitely. Best super hero movie? Not close.
jikae writes:
on June 6th, 2011 at 7:49:32 PM

As a movie, I give it a 6/10.
As an X-Men film, I give it a 8/10.

The acting by the 3 main characters were awesome. McAvoy, Fassbender, and Bacon were all superb. They kept the movie afloat while the rest of the cast was barely there to keep it afloat.

The plot was interesting, and they seemed to have used the Watchmen approach, but it was still interesting. The powers were really on display and even that one guy who can create cyclones was actually entertaining as well.

I do have a problem with the casting department of Fox. Why do they always take a hot looking character and make them not as hot in the films. (Rogue in the first trilogy and Mystique in this film). The film did drag a little bit in the middle, but I feel that they setup the ending quite nicely. The last scene with Magneto should've came at the end of the credits, make it more powerful.

@WV-FILMS Regarding your timeline question. Short answer. They're pretending X3 and Wolverine never happened- as it should remain in everyone else.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved