WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tim Burton and Sam Raimi Considered for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"

Posted: June 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tim Burton and Sam Raimi Considered for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"Submit Comment
"Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" already grossed $690 million in just 12 days of release. And despite that the film has a lousy 33% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, Disney is already making plans for a fifth installment.

Johnny Depp is willing to return, but just asks that the films are spaced out a bit. And even though the studio wants director Rob Marshall to return as well, the helmer has yet to reveal his plans.

As a result, Disney has put together a short list of directors who could take over the franchise if Marshall doesn't come back. On that list are Tim Burton (Alice in Wonderland), Shawn Levy (Night at the Museum), Sam Raimi (Spider-Man), Chris Weitz (The Twilight Saga: New Moon), and Alfonso Cuaron (Children of Men).

Source: CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:54:29 AM

Yeah thats right you refer to Tim Burton (Alice in Wonderland)its not Tim Burton (Edward Scissorhands) any more you disney whore! Are they just going for the directors whose careers are on a steady decline, hey I heard Shylamamanan is looking for work.
masht7 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:24:01 AM

Alfonso Cauron is the best of the lot.
Damon242 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:00:13 AM

A Tim Burton-directed Pirates of the Caribbean? Now that would be an interesting thing.
nawtnt writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:09:28 AM

PIrates Of The Caribbean 4 was okay, I think Tim Burton or Alfonso Cauron would be great as the directors of the 5th one if Rob doesn't return.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:15:36 AM

Or just don't make any more sh*t films I think thats the best idea because number one was the only decent one!
Rambo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:22:59 AM

bring back Gore verbinski.He did a great job with the first 2,it's not his fault that the script of 'at world's end' was stupid.
Devil writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:57:18 AM

Get rid of Rob Marshall and choose Burton or Alfonso Cuaron. Hell no to that Twatlight director.
numnut writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 8:20:30 AM

@Damon- Totally agree, Cuaron would be awesome too
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 8:35:13 AM

If Tim Burton directs will Helena Bohnam Carter be in it as well?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 9:24:37 AM

BadChad- Does pidgeon sh*t taste like candy?
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:30:40 PM

Tim Burton would make a quirky joke of the movie. I just would like to see what would Burton have in mind for this.

Cuaron may take the franchise for a walk to the former glory of the first movie. He would be the best.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:48:00 PM

Cuaron? A mexican, he made the best of the british Harry Potter movies and now he seems like the best choice to direct a movie that came from an american enterprise, that's great, where's that racist c*nt who rarely post when there's a chance to be a racist c*nt? Few of you guys know who i'm talking about but I'm waiting for him to appear.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:51:07 PM

And this guys need to get realistic, Raimi will not do it, Shawn Levy's comedies are painfully unfunny and Tim Burton is probably to busy doing the dishes or making sandwiches for HBC. Their best choice is that guy from Twilight, and that's awful.
sri_91 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 1:49:53 PM

Hire Tim Burton and you get Helene Bonham Carter free!
reach110 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 2:35:16 PM

Cuaron is the only one on that list who should even be considered. Tim Burton? Are you kidding me? I guess that's fine is we want ALL the ships to be black with weird spirals everywhere and crooked architecture and a villain who has eyes the size of dinner plates and wearing RIDICULOUS makeup. And Sam Raimi would just destroy the franchise completely. I've always been a pirates fan, and even though I think Azkaban is the worst Potter film, Children Of Men blew my mind. Marshall DAMN well better come back and learn from his mistakes on 4.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 3:14:50 PM

If Children of Men blows your mind, there's probably not much to blow.
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:06:58 PM

Mink Lol !!!
japaninmotion writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:44:13 PM

tim burton directing jonny depp? now that's a team up i want to see.
Rambo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:15:46 PM

just realized 'at worlds end' is the most expensive film to date - 300 million dollars!!!what a f*cking waste of money.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:50:17 PM

Thanks trailer.

So, 300 million, huh? It barely broke even in the domestic market then. And considering the original film length was three hours, that's 100 mil an hour.

What a bargain, right?
SHONUFF01 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:52:57 PM

Well whoever directs the movie, make sure there are some damn ship battles! Stranger Tides was missing that!
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:07:54 PM

^And it was as expensive as the other ones.
bubbles17 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:08:28 PM

Gay!!!!!! Pirates 4 wasn't good at all
achoo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 10:48:46 PM

no cauron
that hack almost ruined harry potter
thank god for david yates
cauron cut out the most important storyline in the books
Trip Maverick writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 5:46:00 AM

Yeah Shawn Levy cos hes so awesome.

Sorry did I say awesome? I meant to say pile of steaming sh*t.
jdl107 writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 10:27:09 AM

Alfonso Cuaron is good, I loved Children of Men. I was heartbroken (Not really) when I read the the single-shot sequence at the end of the film wasn't genuinely a single-shot sequence.

But... get Sam, and a better script. Get Sam and make sure that his version isn't made for money, that it has quality to it. I wouldn't mind seeing some Raimi humor Pirates style.
jdl107 writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 10:37:57 AM

The the, only one "the" intended.

Thanks to the bitch ass AlexGI, we can't fix our stuff. Real weird sense of humor that one.

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved