WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 21st, 2015
Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
Feb 21st, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Feb 21st, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 5" Placed on Hold to Rewrite Ending
Feb 21st, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Author Demands Control Over Sequel's Script
Feb 20th, 2015
"Shaft" Reboot in the Works
Feb 20th, 2015
First Look at "Texas Rising," with Bill Paxton, Brendan Fraser and Many Others
Feb 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tim Burton and Sam Raimi Considered for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"

Posted: June 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tim Burton and Sam Raimi Considered for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"Submit Comment
"Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" already grossed $690 million in just 12 days of release. And despite that the film has a lousy 33% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, Disney is already making plans for a fifth installment.

Johnny Depp is willing to return, but just asks that the films are spaced out a bit. And even though the studio wants director Rob Marshall to return as well, the helmer has yet to reveal his plans.

As a result, Disney has put together a short list of directors who could take over the franchise if Marshall doesn't come back. On that list are Tim Burton (Alice in Wonderland), Shawn Levy (Night at the Museum), Sam Raimi (Spider-Man), Chris Weitz (The Twilight Saga: New Moon), and Alfonso Cuaron (Children of Men).

Source: CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:54:29 AM

Yeah thats right you refer to Tim Burton (Alice in Wonderland)its not Tim Burton (Edward Scissorhands) any more you disney whore! Are they just going for the directors whose careers are on a steady decline, hey I heard Shylamamanan is looking for work.
masht7 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:24:01 AM

Alfonso Cauron is the best of the lot.
Damon242 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:00:13 AM

A Tim Burton-directed Pirates of the Caribbean? Now that would be an interesting thing.
nawtnt writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:09:28 AM

PIrates Of The Caribbean 4 was okay, I think Tim Burton or Alfonso Cauron would be great as the directors of the 5th one if Rob doesn't return.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:15:36 AM

Or just don't make any more sh*t films I think thats the best idea because number one was the only decent one!
Rambo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:22:59 AM

bring back Gore verbinski.He did a great job with the first 2,it's not his fault that the script of 'at world's end' was stupid.
Devil writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:57:18 AM

Get rid of Rob Marshall and choose Burton or Alfonso Cuaron. Hell no to that Twatlight director.
numnut writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 8:20:30 AM

@Damon- Totally agree, Cuaron would be awesome too
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 8:35:13 AM

If Tim Burton directs will Helena Bohnam Carter be in it as well?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 9:24:37 AM

BadChad- Does pidgeon sh*t taste like candy?
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:30:40 PM

Tim Burton would make a quirky joke of the movie. I just would like to see what would Burton have in mind for this.

Cuaron may take the franchise for a walk to the former glory of the first movie. He would be the best.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:48:00 PM

Cuaron? A mexican, he made the best of the british Harry Potter movies and now he seems like the best choice to direct a movie that came from an american enterprise, that's great, where's that racist c*nt who rarely post when there's a chance to be a racist c*nt? Few of you guys know who i'm talking about but I'm waiting for him to appear.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:51:07 PM

And this guys need to get realistic, Raimi will not do it, Shawn Levy's comedies are painfully unfunny and Tim Burton is probably to busy doing the dishes or making sandwiches for HBC. Their best choice is that guy from Twilight, and that's awful.
sri_91 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 1:49:53 PM

Hire Tim Burton and you get Helene Bonham Carter free!
reach110 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 2:35:16 PM

Cuaron is the only one on that list who should even be considered. Tim Burton? Are you kidding me? I guess that's fine is we want ALL the ships to be black with weird spirals everywhere and crooked architecture and a villain who has eyes the size of dinner plates and wearing RIDICULOUS makeup. And Sam Raimi would just destroy the franchise completely. I've always been a pirates fan, and even though I think Azkaban is the worst Potter film, Children Of Men blew my mind. Marshall DAMN well better come back and learn from his mistakes on 4.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 3:14:50 PM

If Children of Men blows your mind, there's probably not much to blow.
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:06:58 PM

Mink Lol !!!
japaninmotion writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:44:13 PM

tim burton directing jonny depp? now that's a team up i want to see.
Rambo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:15:46 PM

just realized 'at worlds end' is the most expensive film to date - 300 million dollars!!!what a f*cking waste of money.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:50:17 PM

Thanks trailer.

So, 300 million, huh? It barely broke even in the domestic market then. And considering the original film length was three hours, that's 100 mil an hour.

What a bargain, right?
SHONUFF01 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:52:57 PM

Well whoever directs the movie, make sure there are some damn ship battles! Stranger Tides was missing that!
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:07:54 PM

^And it was as expensive as the other ones.
bubbles17 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:08:28 PM

Gay!!!!!! Pirates 4 wasn't good at all
achoo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 10:48:46 PM

no cauron
that hack almost ruined harry potter
thank god for david yates
cauron cut out the most important storyline in the books
Trip Maverick writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 5:46:00 AM

Yeah Shawn Levy cos hes so awesome.

Sorry did I say awesome? I meant to say pile of steaming sh*t.
jdl107 writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 10:27:09 AM

Alfonso Cuaron is good, I loved Children of Men. I was heartbroken (Not really) when I read the the single-shot sequence at the end of the film wasn't genuinely a single-shot sequence.

But... get Sam, and a better script. Get Sam and make sure that his version isn't made for money, that it has quality to it. I wouldn't mind seeing some Raimi humor Pirates style.
jdl107 writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 10:37:57 AM

The the, only one "the" intended.

Thanks to the bitch ass AlexGI, we can't fix our stuff. Real weird sense of humor that one.

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Disney Wants to Reboot "Indiana Jones" with Chris Pratt

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved