WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Spectre" James Bond Film Unveils Trailer
Mar 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series Unveils Title
Mar 28th, 2015
"Transformers" Getting Lots More Sequels and Spin-Offs
Mar 28th, 2015
Antonio Banderas Says Shrek May Appear in "Puss in Boots 2"
Mar 28th, 2015
First Look at Ryan Reynolds in "Deadpool"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for JK Rowling's "The Casual Vacancy"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Absolution" Thriller, with Steven Seagal and Vinnie Jones
Mar 27th, 2015
Julia Louis-Dreyfus in Talks for American Remake of "Force Majeure"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Kit Harington's "Spooks: The Greater Good"
Mar 27th, 2015
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Poster for "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Mar 25th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
Mar 24th, 2015
"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon
Mar 24th, 2015
Vivica A. Fox Returns for "Independence Day 2"
Mar 24th, 2015
Poster for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 24th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Mission: Impossible 5" Trailer is Here!
Mar 23rd, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Says "Alien 5" Won't Interfere With "Prometheus" Franchise
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" to Begin Filming Next Month
Mar 23rd, 2015
Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman
Mar 22nd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" Unveils New Photos and Magazine Cover
Mar 22nd, 2015
Bobby Cannavale Discusses Confusing "Ant-Man" Shoot
Mar 22nd, 2015
Jason Statham vs Dwayne Johnson in "Furious 7" Clip
Mar 22nd, 2015
Sony to Remake "Romeo and Juliet" Using "300" Style
Mar 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tim Burton and Sam Raimi Considered for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"

Posted: June 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tim Burton and Sam Raimi Considered for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"Submit Comment
"Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" already grossed $690 million in just 12 days of release. And despite that the film has a lousy 33% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, Disney is already making plans for a fifth installment.

Johnny Depp is willing to return, but just asks that the films are spaced out a bit. And even though the studio wants director Rob Marshall to return as well, the helmer has yet to reveal his plans.

As a result, Disney has put together a short list of directors who could take over the franchise if Marshall doesn't come back. On that list are Tim Burton (Alice in Wonderland), Shawn Levy (Night at the Museum), Sam Raimi (Spider-Man), Chris Weitz (The Twilight Saga: New Moon), and Alfonso Cuaron (Children of Men).

Source: CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:54:29 AM

Yeah thats right you refer to Tim Burton (Alice in Wonderland)its not Tim Burton (Edward Scissorhands) any more you disney whore! Are they just going for the directors whose careers are on a steady decline, hey I heard Shylamamanan is looking for work.
masht7 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:24:01 AM

Alfonso Cauron is the best of the lot.
Damon242 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:00:13 AM

A Tim Burton-directed Pirates of the Caribbean? Now that would be an interesting thing.
nawtnt writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:09:28 AM

PIrates Of The Caribbean 4 was okay, I think Tim Burton or Alfonso Cauron would be great as the directors of the 5th one if Rob doesn't return.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:15:36 AM

Or just don't make any more sh*t films I think thats the best idea because number one was the only decent one!
Rambo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:22:59 AM

bring back Gore verbinski.He did a great job with the first 2,it's not his fault that the script of 'at world's end' was stupid.
Devil writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:57:18 AM

Get rid of Rob Marshall and choose Burton or Alfonso Cuaron. Hell no to that Twatlight director.
numnut writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 8:20:30 AM

@Damon- Totally agree, Cuaron would be awesome too
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 8:35:13 AM

If Tim Burton directs will Helena Bohnam Carter be in it as well?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 9:24:37 AM

BadChad- Does pidgeon sh*t taste like candy?
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:30:40 PM

Tim Burton would make a quirky joke of the movie. I just would like to see what would Burton have in mind for this.

Cuaron may take the franchise for a walk to the former glory of the first movie. He would be the best.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:48:00 PM

Cuaron? A mexican, he made the best of the british Harry Potter movies and now he seems like the best choice to direct a movie that came from an american enterprise, that's great, where's that racist c*nt who rarely post when there's a chance to be a racist c*nt? Few of you guys know who i'm talking about but I'm waiting for him to appear.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:51:07 PM

And this guys need to get realistic, Raimi will not do it, Shawn Levy's comedies are painfully unfunny and Tim Burton is probably to busy doing the dishes or making sandwiches for HBC. Their best choice is that guy from Twilight, and that's awful.
sri_91 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 1:49:53 PM

Hire Tim Burton and you get Helene Bonham Carter free!
reach110 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 2:35:16 PM

Cuaron is the only one on that list who should even be considered. Tim Burton? Are you kidding me? I guess that's fine is we want ALL the ships to be black with weird spirals everywhere and crooked architecture and a villain who has eyes the size of dinner plates and wearing RIDICULOUS makeup. And Sam Raimi would just destroy the franchise completely. I've always been a pirates fan, and even though I think Azkaban is the worst Potter film, Children Of Men blew my mind. Marshall DAMN well better come back and learn from his mistakes on 4.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 3:14:50 PM

If Children of Men blows your mind, there's probably not much to blow.
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:06:58 PM

Mink Lol !!!
japaninmotion writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:44:13 PM

tim burton directing jonny depp? now that's a team up i want to see.
Rambo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:15:46 PM

just realized 'at worlds end' is the most expensive film to date - 300 million dollars!!!what a f*cking waste of money.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:50:17 PM

Thanks trailer.

So, 300 million, huh? It barely broke even in the domestic market then. And considering the original film length was three hours, that's 100 mil an hour.

What a bargain, right?
SHONUFF01 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:52:57 PM

Well whoever directs the movie, make sure there are some damn ship battles! Stranger Tides was missing that!
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:07:54 PM

^And it was as expensive as the other ones.
bubbles17 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:08:28 PM

Gay!!!!!! Pirates 4 wasn't good at all
achoo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 10:48:46 PM

no cauron
that hack almost ruined harry potter
thank god for david yates
cauron cut out the most important storyline in the books
Trip Maverick writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 5:46:00 AM

Yeah Shawn Levy cos hes so awesome.

Sorry did I say awesome? I meant to say pile of steaming sh*t.
jdl107 writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 10:27:09 AM

Alfonso Cuaron is good, I loved Children of Men. I was heartbroken (Not really) when I read the the single-shot sequence at the end of the film wasn't genuinely a single-shot sequence.

But... get Sam, and a better script. Get Sam and make sure that his version isn't made for money, that it has quality to it. I wouldn't mind seeing some Raimi humor Pirates style.
jdl107 writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 10:37:57 AM

The the, only one "the" intended.

Thanks to the bitch ass AlexGI, we can't fix our stuff. Real weird sense of humor that one.

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved