WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tim Burton and Sam Raimi Considered for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"

Posted: June 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tim Burton and Sam Raimi Considered for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"Submit Comment
"Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" already grossed $690 million in just 12 days of release. And despite that the film has a lousy 33% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, Disney is already making plans for a fifth installment.

Johnny Depp is willing to return, but just asks that the films are spaced out a bit. And even though the studio wants director Rob Marshall to return as well, the helmer has yet to reveal his plans.

As a result, Disney has put together a short list of directors who could take over the franchise if Marshall doesn't come back. On that list are Tim Burton (Alice in Wonderland), Shawn Levy (Night at the Museum), Sam Raimi (Spider-Man), Chris Weitz (The Twilight Saga: New Moon), and Alfonso Cuaron (Children of Men).

Source: CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:54:29 AM

Yeah thats right you refer to Tim Burton (Alice in Wonderland)its not Tim Burton (Edward Scissorhands) any more you disney whore! Are they just going for the directors whose careers are on a steady decline, hey I heard Shylamamanan is looking for work.
masht7 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:24:01 AM

Alfonso Cauron is the best of the lot.
Damon242 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:00:13 AM

A Tim Burton-directed Pirates of the Caribbean? Now that would be an interesting thing.
nawtnt writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:09:28 AM

PIrates Of The Caribbean 4 was okay, I think Tim Burton or Alfonso Cauron would be great as the directors of the 5th one if Rob doesn't return.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:15:36 AM

Or just don't make any more sh*t films I think thats the best idea because number one was the only decent one!
Rambo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:22:59 AM

bring back Gore verbinski.He did a great job with the first 2,it's not his fault that the script of 'at world's end' was stupid.
Devil writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:57:18 AM

Get rid of Rob Marshall and choose Burton or Alfonso Cuaron. Hell no to that Twatlight director.
numnut writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 8:20:30 AM

@Damon- Totally agree, Cuaron would be awesome too
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 8:35:13 AM

If Tim Burton directs will Helena Bohnam Carter be in it as well?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 9:24:37 AM

BadChad- Does pidgeon sh*t taste like candy?
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:30:40 PM

Tim Burton would make a quirky joke of the movie. I just would like to see what would Burton have in mind for this.

Cuaron may take the franchise for a walk to the former glory of the first movie. He would be the best.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:48:00 PM

Cuaron? A mexican, he made the best of the british Harry Potter movies and now he seems like the best choice to direct a movie that came from an american enterprise, that's great, where's that racist c*nt who rarely post when there's a chance to be a racist c*nt? Few of you guys know who i'm talking about but I'm waiting for him to appear.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:51:07 PM

And this guys need to get realistic, Raimi will not do it, Shawn Levy's comedies are painfully unfunny and Tim Burton is probably to busy doing the dishes or making sandwiches for HBC. Their best choice is that guy from Twilight, and that's awful.
sri_91 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 1:49:53 PM

Hire Tim Burton and you get Helene Bonham Carter free!
reach110 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 2:35:16 PM

Cuaron is the only one on that list who should even be considered. Tim Burton? Are you kidding me? I guess that's fine is we want ALL the ships to be black with weird spirals everywhere and crooked architecture and a villain who has eyes the size of dinner plates and wearing RIDICULOUS makeup. And Sam Raimi would just destroy the franchise completely. I've always been a pirates fan, and even though I think Azkaban is the worst Potter film, Children Of Men blew my mind. Marshall DAMN well better come back and learn from his mistakes on 4.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 3:14:50 PM

If Children of Men blows your mind, there's probably not much to blow.
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:06:58 PM

Mink Lol !!!
japaninmotion writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:44:13 PM

tim burton directing jonny depp? now that's a team up i want to see.
Rambo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:15:46 PM

just realized 'at worlds end' is the most expensive film to date - 300 million dollars!!!what a f*cking waste of money.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:50:17 PM

Thanks trailer.

So, 300 million, huh? It barely broke even in the domestic market then. And considering the original film length was three hours, that's 100 mil an hour.

What a bargain, right?
SHONUFF01 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:52:57 PM

Well whoever directs the movie, make sure there are some damn ship battles! Stranger Tides was missing that!
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:07:54 PM

^And it was as expensive as the other ones.
bubbles17 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:08:28 PM

Gay!!!!!! Pirates 4 wasn't good at all
achoo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 10:48:46 PM

no cauron
that hack almost ruined harry potter
thank god for david yates
cauron cut out the most important storyline in the books
Trip Maverick writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 5:46:00 AM

Yeah Shawn Levy cos hes so awesome.

Sorry did I say awesome? I meant to say pile of steaming sh*t.
jdl107 writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 10:27:09 AM

Alfonso Cuaron is good, I loved Children of Men. I was heartbroken (Not really) when I read the the single-shot sequence at the end of the film wasn't genuinely a single-shot sequence.

But... get Sam, and a better script. Get Sam and make sure that his version isn't made for money, that it has quality to it. I wouldn't mind seeing some Raimi humor Pirates style.
jdl107 writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 10:37:57 AM

The the, only one "the" intended.

Thanks to the bitch ass AlexGI, we can't fix our stuff. Real weird sense of humor that one.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved