WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
New TV Spot for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Thriller
Apr 14th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson's "Hercules" TV Spot, From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Seth MacFarlane's "A Million Ways to Die in the West" TV Spot
Apr 14th, 2014
New TV Spot for "22 Jump Street," with Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill
Apr 14th, 2014
Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters
Apr 14th, 2014
James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor
Apr 13th, 2014
James Cameron Doesn't Like Last Two "Terminator" Films, Says T-800 Would Beat Alien Queen and Na'vi in Battle
Apr 13th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses "True Lies 2" and "Prometheus"
Apr 13th, 2014
Will Spider-Man Appear in "Sinister Six" Spin-Off?
Apr 12th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Apr 12th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tim Burton and Sam Raimi Considered for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"

Posted: June 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tim Burton and Sam Raimi Considered for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"Submit Comment
"Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" already grossed $690 million in just 12 days of release. And despite that the film has a lousy 33% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, Disney is already making plans for a fifth installment.

Johnny Depp is willing to return, but just asks that the films are spaced out a bit. And even though the studio wants director Rob Marshall to return as well, the helmer has yet to reveal his plans.

As a result, Disney has put together a short list of directors who could take over the franchise if Marshall doesn't come back. On that list are Tim Burton (Alice in Wonderland), Shawn Levy (Night at the Museum), Sam Raimi (Spider-Man), Chris Weitz (The Twilight Saga: New Moon), and Alfonso Cuaron (Children of Men).

Source: CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:54:29 AM

Yeah thats right you refer to Tim Burton (Alice in Wonderland)its not Tim Burton (Edward Scissorhands) any more you disney whore! Are they just going for the directors whose careers are on a steady decline, hey I heard Shylamamanan is looking for work.
masht7 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:24:01 AM

Alfonso Cauron is the best of the lot.
Damon242 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:00:13 AM

A Tim Burton-directed Pirates of the Caribbean? Now that would be an interesting thing.
nawtnt writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:09:28 AM

PIrates Of The Caribbean 4 was okay, I think Tim Burton or Alfonso Cauron would be great as the directors of the 5th one if Rob doesn't return.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:15:36 AM

Or just don't make any more sh*t films I think thats the best idea because number one was the only decent one!
Rambo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:22:59 AM

bring back Gore verbinski.He did a great job with the first 2,it's not his fault that the script of 'at world's end' was stupid.
Devil writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:57:18 AM

Get rid of Rob Marshall and choose Burton or Alfonso Cuaron. Hell no to that Twatlight director.
numnut writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 8:20:30 AM

@Damon- Totally agree, Cuaron would be awesome too
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 8:35:13 AM

If Tim Burton directs will Helena Bohnam Carter be in it as well?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 9:24:37 AM

BadChad- Does pidgeon sh*t taste like candy?
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:30:40 PM

Tim Burton would make a quirky joke of the movie. I just would like to see what would Burton have in mind for this.

Cuaron may take the franchise for a walk to the former glory of the first movie. He would be the best.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:48:00 PM

Cuaron? A mexican, he made the best of the british Harry Potter movies and now he seems like the best choice to direct a movie that came from an american enterprise, that's great, where's that racist c*nt who rarely post when there's a chance to be a racist c*nt? Few of you guys know who i'm talking about but I'm waiting for him to appear.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:51:07 PM

And this guys need to get realistic, Raimi will not do it, Shawn Levy's comedies are painfully unfunny and Tim Burton is probably to busy doing the dishes or making sandwiches for HBC. Their best choice is that guy from Twilight, and that's awful.
sri_91 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 1:49:53 PM

Hire Tim Burton and you get Helene Bonham Carter free!
reach110 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 2:35:16 PM

Cuaron is the only one on that list who should even be considered. Tim Burton? Are you kidding me? I guess that's fine is we want ALL the ships to be black with weird spirals everywhere and crooked architecture and a villain who has eyes the size of dinner plates and wearing RIDICULOUS makeup. And Sam Raimi would just destroy the franchise completely. I've always been a pirates fan, and even though I think Azkaban is the worst Potter film, Children Of Men blew my mind. Marshall DAMN well better come back and learn from his mistakes on 4.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 3:14:50 PM

If Children of Men blows your mind, there's probably not much to blow.
trailertrash writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:06:58 PM

Mink Lol !!!
japaninmotion writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:44:13 PM

tim burton directing jonny depp? now that's a team up i want to see.
Rambo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:15:46 PM

just realized 'at worlds end' is the most expensive film to date - 300 million dollars!!!what a f*cking waste of money.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:50:17 PM

Thanks trailer.

So, 300 million, huh? It barely broke even in the domestic market then. And considering the original film length was three hours, that's 100 mil an hour.

What a bargain, right?
SHONUFF01 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 5:52:57 PM

Well whoever directs the movie, make sure there are some damn ship battles! Stranger Tides was missing that!
coldplayesence writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:07:54 PM

^And it was as expensive as the other ones.
bubbles17 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:08:28 PM

Gay!!!!!! Pirates 4 wasn't good at all
achoo writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 10:48:46 PM

no cauron
that hack almost ruined harry potter
thank god for david yates
cauron cut out the most important storyline in the books
Trip Maverick writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 5:46:00 AM

Yeah Shawn Levy cos hes so awesome.

Sorry did I say awesome? I meant to say pile of steaming sh*t.
jdl107 writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 10:27:09 AM

Alfonso Cuaron is good, I loved Children of Men. I was heartbroken (Not really) when I read the the single-shot sequence at the end of the film wasn't genuinely a single-shot sequence.

But... get Sam, and a better script. Get Sam and make sure that his version isn't made for money, that it has quality to it. I wouldn't mind seeing some Raimi humor Pirates style.
jdl107 writes:
on June 3rd, 2011 at 10:37:57 AM

The the, only one "the" intended.

Thanks to the bitch ass AlexGI, we can't fix our stuff. Real weird sense of humor that one.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Chris Evans Says He Almost Turned Down "Captain America" Because of "Fantastic Four"

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved