WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Leonardo DiCaprio is the Villain in Quentin Tarantino's "Django Unchained"?

Posted: June 1st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Leonardo DiCaprio is the Villain in Quentin TarantinoSubmit Comment
About a month ago, we learned that Will Smith is the frontrunner to star in Quentin Tarantino's "Django Unchained" film, while Samuel L. Jackson and Christoph Waltz are in talks for supporting roles.

Smith could play Django, a freed slave (Jackson) who seeks to reunite with his slave wife, a journey that will see him team with a German bounty hunter (Waltz) to take down an evil plantation owner Monsieur Calvin Candie.

Now comes word from Creative Screenwriting magazine Senior Editor Jeff Goldsmith that Leonardo Dicaprio is in talks to play the evil plantation owner. Variety backed up the claim, stating that it has heard the same thing.

Tarantino apparently wanted DiCaprio for "Inglourious Basterds," but it didn't work out.

Meanwhile, Idris Elba (Thor) may also be in talks to play a role in "Django Unchained." The plan is to begin filming this fall.

Source: Jeff Goldsmith, Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 6:24:04 AM

I have asked this before and I will again...

When did Will Smith become black?
SACdaddy writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 6:52:53 AM

Leo as a evil plantation owner? Really QT that's an even stranger choice than Will playing a slave. I like both these actors but not for this film.
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 7:19:30 AM

Let's get Monique to play the slave's wife!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 7:29:39 AM

f*ck Smith! Elba and Leo would kick ass...Bring it, QT!
Kurskij writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 7:32:18 AM

@Dave

Lol.

Right after he became a slave to his wife.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 7:56:23 AM

This cast already sounds horrible and Dicaprio as a villian is as intimidating as a first grade teacher.

Watever happened to QT when he used to hire washed up actors instead of having Alisters like Smith and Dicaprio

Russel Crowe could nail this role he already was in two westerns.Quick and the dead and Yuma

Smith is too scrawny to be a slave they should have Terry Crews or Michael Jai White
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 9:27:17 AM

Scared this can't go Tarantino sttle with Smith on board and his image bodyguards would pretty it all up. They ruined I am Legend, Hanc*ck and could possibly ruin this too.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 9:53:24 AM

@bandalero: I don't think Russell Crowe is exactly washed up. In fact, he's probably the second highest paid actor in Hwood behind Smith :)

You're right though, he'd kick ass (as usual) in this role.

I wish QT would save Robert Deniro from these bullsh*t comedies and cast him as the villain in this. Maybe QT can find out where Gene Hackman has been hiding and bring him out of retirement. Either would fit better than Leo.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 10:06:37 AM

I'm not talking bout Crowe being washed up but Tarantino always put an ensemble cast together with veteran actors and popular actors and made them shine like in Jackie Brown and Pulp fiction.Even Kill Bill that had an international cast

These days he's all about casting Alisters
He has become mainstream now
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 10:07:52 AM

Wait a sec Will Smith is Black? Damn what the hell have I been smoking??
bandolero999 writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 10:20:12 AM

I don't think the lady Gaga fans,hangover fans,Justin Bieber fans want to watch an 80 year old Hackman or late 60s De Niro as a villian.They want someone way younger

That's probably the reason Tarantino would cast Will smith because everyone watches his movies and no one unless your into spagghetti westerns know who Django is.
Sam Jackson gets tiring after a while he's been way to busy starring in every movie that other actors could of been in Greedy f*ck.
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 10:27:51 AM

@Bandolero

Since when has Tarantino given a sh*t about what mainstream audiences think? His casting is based on who he wants to work with and that only. I think Leo would be a great choice and I have full trust in Tarantino because I definitely didn't think Brad Pitt would work well in Inglourious Basterds.

WP,

You have "Jackson" in parenthesis after mentioning Django, Jackson is not in talks to play him and you start the sentence by saying Smith would play Django.

Also, Anthony Mackie should play Django.
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 10:29:26 AM

Oh and Will Smith should not be in this. I think Leo could work, but no Will, please.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 10:48:25 AM

Leo and Will Smith share the same talent they work with good directors and a good ensemble cast but they don't make the movie pretty much f*ck it up.

At first for Inglorious bastards the casting was to include Madsen,Tim Roth,Sly,Adam Sandler.It was not markeatable enough, so Tarantino decided to include Pitt instead and he ain't no f*cking Lee Marvin.
jgrantt18 writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 10:54:11 AM

I don't like QT movies, except for Reservoir Dogs. Aside from Gilbert Grape and Inception, I don't like DiCaprio's movies. Yay another overhyped thing I'm going to skip out on.
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 11:08:49 AM

bandolero999 writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 10:48:25 AM
Leo and Will Smith share the same talent they work with good directors and a good ensemble cast but they don't make the movie pretty much f*ck it up.


Isn't it because of their talent they are privileged enough to work with great directors? I would imagine no matter how talented toe director if you place a sh*tty actor in a role say, Richard Grieco in Inception Lead that the movie would be sh*t Regardless of the NOLAN wave that movie carried. Am I missing something?
velocityknown writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 11:14:58 AM

@bandolero

Yeah, they work with those directors for a reason. Scorcese doesn't just pick any actor to keep working with. He carried The Departed, Shutter Island, Inception, Blood Diamond, The Aviator, and many other films on his back.

Also, Tarantino has stated that he started considering Pitt for Aldo Raine while writing the script. It wasn't some decision he came to to make the film marketable. Tarantino is a big enough personality to where he doesn't care about a film's marketability. He asked Sandler to play the Bear Jew and when that didn't work out he went for the more marketable star right? Oh no wait, he cast Eli Roth. When he couldn't get DiCaprio for Hans Landa he went for George Clooney, no? Oh yeah, he cast the guy who had mostly starred in German soap operas up to that point, Christoph Waltz.

He wanted Simon Pegg for Lt Hicox and then who did he go for after that? Michael Fassbender. I can keep doing this but you should get my point by now: Tarantino is about talent, not marketability.
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 11:27:19 AM

di Caprio is a great actor, far superior to Will Smith's tired Fresh Prince schtick he's been riding for nearly twenty years.

Yeah, I mean he did some other work, but he never carries the role, even in Pursuit of Happyness where he was just bland and almost unwatachable. Better black guy would defeinitely be Washington for sure, because he can carry a film with ease and he's just awesome and deserves far more more work IMO.

Two other things, Inception is, IMO, one of those well-made films you can barely watch once much less twice and hardly a film I would ever run back to, unlike say Dark City, where there's a real humanity and vibrancy going on, and the other thing is, anyone else notice Sac only posts in threads about revolving around racism, slavery and black guys? Maybe it's just my f*cking imagination.

The other thing is, and I said only two but I lied, how anyone can say di Caprio has made only a few decent films I have no idea.
DeVries writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 11:37:08 AM

Terry Crews should be the right choice for an poor hardworking slave, dying of hunger. No?
Big_Daddy writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 12:46:48 PM

Denzel= great range Love all his movies yet I can not see him in any of the Will smith movies I enjoy or the

Morgan Freeman Movies
Samuel L. Jackson Movies
James Earl Movies
Sidney Poitier Movies

the list goes on.

The great thing about each of those actors is that the films they have done they have done well but I would not switch them around. Can you imagine Michael Clark Duncan spouting

" its the one with BAD MOTHERf*ckA on it"

I didn't think so
bandolero999 writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 12:49:27 PM

Well I see the changes on the line up on Inglorious Bastards did not know about that I haven't seen the movie yet,there's something holding me back for some reason.Maybe Eli Roth and his horrible movie resume

I despise both Smith and Dicaprio.For Dicaprio I sat through Gangs of New York and Catch me if you can, and trust me the movies with out him would of been better.He is no Edward Norton or no Johny Depp.He's like this Pudgy little f*ck who whines and tries to be agressive and always fails.Smith ruined Independence day and Men In Black for me.His performance on Ali was atrocious as well
bandolero999 writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 12:52:03 PM

I say Don Cheadle or Anthonie Mackie for the role
Sinestro writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 1:47:05 PM

What's Tarantino gonna do once he has paid homage to every sub-genre?

Something original, maybe? Can it happen?
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 2:55:56 PM

Nah. He's not an original thinker, if you hadn't noticed.
Narkle of Gary writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 8:43:25 PM

Give the role of Django to Idris. Screw Smith!
Blank x25 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 2:10:24 PM

WP - "Where stupidity reigns supreme."

I'm just gonna leave this particular thread alone. My brain already hurts from processing the dumbness of it. Some of the things people on here think make or break a good movie is amazing.
Buzz1432 writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 3:24:25 AM

Leo

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved