WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

British Filmmakers Dumb Down Movies for US Audiences

Posted: May 31st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
British Filmmakers Dumb Down Movies for US AudiencesSubmit Comment
Sky News caught up with James McAvoy to talk about "X-Men: First Class" and the difference between British and US movies. According to the actor, British filmmakers believe that their movies will be too confusing for American audiences, unless they are dumbed down.

"We dumb our movies down because we want Americans to understand them," he said. "The Americans watch it and go 'this is a really unsophisticated dumbed down movie. Why would we want this? Why do we like this? We don't.' It's like we're patronizing them and short changing ourselves."

It's tough to say which movies he's talking about, but I wonder what "The Kings Speech" would have been like if it wasn't dumbed down for stupid Americans.

Source: Sky News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 98 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kurskij writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 5:51:20 AM

Cry me a f*cking river.
sri_91 writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 5:51:56 AM

Too right!
sparbeque writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 5:53:41 AM

I know the American version of Revolver was about 45 minutes shorter and the entire point of the movie was lost with the ending that was in the UK version. Maybe he's on to something.
telur writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:20:10 AM

Europe mostly made me sleepy zzzzzzzz.....
j-man writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:29:48 AM

how could a film bout some d*ck who cant talk learning how to talk get any dummer?
PirateDave128 writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:32:55 AM

If it was directed by an American!
buttabean writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:37:09 AM

I blame studio executives that are out of touch with their targeted audience and think they need it dumbed down.
Dirt writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:45:02 AM

J-man, that was f*cking terrible.
masht7 writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:51:36 AM

Becuase British cinema has sh*tloads better then American cinema for the past few years.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 7:15:17 AM

I can see his point, but as we have seen on here..there are some Americans who aren't dumb.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 7:53:40 AM

Sadly, he's more than likely right...Holly-weirds' 2010 summer crop of movies is proof enough I think...
heelswin writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:30:24 AM

Going by that thinking No wonder the movie industry is in such decline. Make smarter movies. I'm an American and I want to see better movies than the garbage that comes out nowadays.

Oh Yeah.. f*ck the Brits and there sh*tty movies.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:40:35 AM

News Break: American filmmakers dumb down their movies for American audiences too. The studio bean counters and the MPA wouldn't have it any other way.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:05:41 AM

@ heelswin - kind of agreed with you until your last comment which showed you are the americans the article is talking about! muppet

And what do we call British anyway? Nolans movies are pretty british but generally made with american money and set in america.

Anyway yeah, ive seen so much dumb sh*t being lapped up by SOME americans that i understand the companies want to make movies for those retards, but most true movie fans like the people on here dont need spoon feeding, British and Americans alike both want quality these days.
teuperman writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:07:25 AM

And who got their asses kicked not once but twice by America... Just saying... but yea it is pretty sad, movies are getting pretty sad here lately.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:13:01 AM

lol er who?!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:23:38 AM

heelswin- We dumb down the movies for people like you retard. I don't think it's just americans that it needs dumming down for its english people as well that's why they always flock to all the stupid american films that get released over here. I think English people need to make more exciting films in england and stop worrying about the american audience. Be like france, be proud of our cinema. We've got and had some great directors; Hitchc*ck, Nolan, Duncan Jones, Attenborough, Terence Davies, Michael Winterbottom when they went to Hollywood they were in control. Let's make some more exciting films for england though guys get out of this dark, gloomy, realistic era that british film makers seem to love on a low budget.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:24:05 AM

Wow
sri_91 writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:38:25 AM

Americans suck. 'Nuff said. Now, fack off.
Dr Fate writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:43:46 AM

He's right....people like Mink won't be able to understand the concepts.
Dr Fate writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:43:46 AM

He's right....people like Mink won't be able to understand the concepts.
Big_Daddy writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 10:01:30 AM

Brits...........

Money and women.....keep 'em coming
Mister Leary writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 2:21:09 PM

Americans also dumb down movies for the American audience. Big deal. Funny, coming from a guy who spends most of his time pretending to be American. Tea time twat!!!
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 2:39:21 PM

Understand British films? I don't even understand what McAvoy is saying himself. Is he an idiot too? Let's parse his statement:

"We dumb our movies down because we want Americans to understand them,"

No, gimp, you dumb them down because British filmmaking is a f*cking niche, and because you want to shell your sh*t out to a world which more appreciates 'simpler' American filmmaking styles.

That, and you want to make some f*cking money you pretentious whore.

"The Americans watch it and go 'this is a really unsophisticated dumbed down movie. Why would we want this? Why do we like this? We don't.'"

So now we're sophisticated again? Which is it? We're dumb and unsophisticated, or the f*cking reverse? Love us or hate us you f*ck.

"It's like we're patronizing them and short changing ourselves."

No, you bloody stooge, you're patronizing yourself by making films that are marketable to more than a few million poster children for fluorinated water, and your only short-changing yourself when you make sh*t only the aforementioned small market will watch.

Guy acts like because X-Men First Class is a hit, he can start acting like a c*nt, and because the director was born inside the UK, even though the main writer is American. Idiot thinks X-Men First Class is a 'British' film and not an American one. Go f*ck yourself.
j-man writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 2:41:00 PM

@dirt
cheers:-)
Dre-EL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 3:02:41 PM

Its been happening for a while now, back in 1989 the James Bond film Licence to Kill had its name changed from Licence Revoked because US audience didnt know what revoked meant.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 3:24:47 PM

Actually:

The project was originally entitled "Licence Revoked" and teaser artwork was produced with this title. Among the reasons for changing the title was to avoid confusion with the 1981 James Bond novel, "Licence Renewed," written by John Gardner (who ended up writing a novel based on this film as well). Licence Renewed means the exact opposite of Licence Revoked. Another reason for the change was that "license revoked" denotes losing one's driving privileges in the USA. Taglines for "Licenced Revoked" included "You're looking at the world's most wanted man" and "Dismissed. Disgraced. Dishonored. Deadly." In the movie, when M says to James Bond, "Your Licence to kill is revoked", both titles are referenced at the same time. After a minor controversy as to whether the British or American spelling ("licence" or "license") would be used in the title, the British spelling won out.

Not because Americans didn't know the meaning of the word 'revoked' but in reality (a scary thing, I know) just the opposite...
Kurskij writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 3:50:08 PM

^interesting piece of trivia, didn't know that. As for the "British movies being dumb down for American audiences"

Every movie intended for masses is being dumbed down one way or another. For GENERAL audiences. Worldwide.


If interested - check out Russian movies made for the masses. "the very best movie" being an example. That sh*t is so dumb it hurts. An audiences eat it as caviar.

So there is no need to pretend that average moviegoer of "this" country is smarter than average one of "that" country. Save for Romania.

Mamma Mia! is one of the highest grossing movies in the UK, n


Kurskij writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 3:55:19 PM

^no?

As an afterthought: seriously, can it be that hard to add an edit button?
technoreaper writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 4:09:48 PM

If you believe American movie goers aren't dumb at all, you don't get out much.
Crazyhorse writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 4:16:27 PM

James McAvoy

Specific examples please before you run your mouth

Oh and next time another Hitler comes to power will make sure Britains leadership has consulted you on what to do.

We dumb Americans obviously dont need to be called now
hunter207 writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 4:40:37 PM

Can anyone say "Talking out of your ass"? Haha naw, he may be onto something cause I seem to be the only person I know who actually gets british humor
holtlt writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 4:44:55 PM

It does not matter, itall depends on the filmaker, I always see Tarantino and Guy Richie of the same seed, te only difference is that americans get to sentimental at individual perspectives
Champ1432 writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 4:51:09 PM

The impression I got from reading McAvoy's comments is that he's saying he doesn't think the films should be dumbed down, he seems to be against it. Maybe I'm interpreting it incorrectly, wouldn't be the first time.

Either way, I think there are many audiences in every country that go for the low-brow stuff, just like there are audiences in every country (incuding America, gasp!!) that wouldn't mind to see a few more movies on the intelligent side.

And @sri-91, don't be ignorant.
zyrkon writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 4:51:24 PM

Not surprising at all.
bubbles17 writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 5:20:01 PM

Im to dumb to read that article please dumb it down for me
heelswin writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:10:58 PM

Why is it that you Brits say the films are dumbed down for American audiences when it is clear to me [an American] that movies have become more international over the last few years and less American.

If anything films are being dumbed down for larger audiences in general not just American audiences.

@AYT Ball - What is so British about Batman Inception and Memento. Just because he directed it and is British. Christian Bale? Nolan has like 10 movies to his credit some of which are pretty good. And some that are just okay.

When you get GREAT actors to portray characters with a good script in your movies it has a high probability of being good.

@Cinemaisdead "We dumb movies down for people like you retard" Ok p*ssy What

"Be like France where they are proud of their cinema" - Is that the same France where they hide movie directors who rape children. f*ck you and France

The best English movies are British gangster movies and they don't hold a candle to American gangster movies.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:17:44 PM

lol no need to respond really, do your home work
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:25:57 PM

By the way The Descent was a bad example of dumbing down, the took away the downer ending because they thought americans wanted a happy ending, most americans i know were pissed off about that, but its interesting the studios think if its a bleak ending that it wont perform well in america......Seven did well!
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:27:19 PM

You should respond AYT, otherwise makes it look like you have nothing.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:42:44 PM

No, the ending to The Descent was 'changed' (shortened) to open up a franchise, not because the finale was too depressing, but even if that was the case, how the hell does that provide evidence of 'dumbing' down films for Americans?

The Descent is a decent horror film, sure, but f*ck, it was in all respects inarguably middle brow fodder, nothing more than a bunch of chicks in the dark getting killed by albino monsters, and you act like it was what? Primer? Give me a f*cking break.

I swear, Americans may be annoying as f*ck, but they do pay quite often to see films as smart as anything you'd ever see in England, regardless of who does the directing and writing. Coen brothers anyone?

And f*ck the French, their films portray nothing but drug-addicts and wild f*cking and hairy-legged whores. Pretentious pornography and nihilism. They f*cking suck. Their the world's equivalent of a cherry prison rat.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:44:03 PM

they're...
heelswin writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 6:45:13 PM

By The Way The Trailer for The Descent looked like sh*t. You're into sh*tty movies if you wanted to go see that.

If any movies are being dumbed down its because studios are trying to make them for larger audiences and less towards just American audiences.
technoreaper writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 7:38:17 PM

Look at all the hate "Buried" got because of its ending. I could not believe how many people hated that movie even though it was very well made.

People in America are stupid. When I say stupid, I mean willfully ignorant and proud of it. I really don't get it. I'm guessing that this stems from all the immigrants who left Europe and thought they'd never have to worry about the rest of the world again, or any sorts of problems. Look at how many fools out there think living in America means you don't have to pay taxes. Even after many generations, people still don't get it.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 7:48:59 PM

What the f*ck are you yapping about? Taxes? Who in America talks about not paying taxes? And what the hell does that have to do with American 'stupidity'? Just because you live in a sh*t super-socialist postmodern tax-burdened failure of a nation, subsidized by your neighbors and the rest of the world, doesn't mean all Americans care to go down the same bloated welfare path.

And yeah, Buried's ending stunk. Can't see how a viewer's negative reaction to a nihilistic and depressing film ending determines the viewer's IQ. I certainly swore I'd never watch that particular film again, because once you've seen the man repeated endure the hardships of a below-ground burial, only to ultimately die pointlessly, what's the motivation to endure the film again? Because watching people struggle only to croak is good cinema and otherwise emotionally satisifying? Only if you're an apathetic twit, maybe.
heelswin writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 7:55:15 PM

Buried and The Descent are the 2 movies you clowns are saying are dumbed down. Wow you guys can shut the f*ck up now. Why would anyone see these 2 movies. They looked like sh*t in the trailers.

NewsFlash - 90% of Ryan Reynolds movies suck!

Not all movies are good. Don't say that sh*tty movies are bad because they were dumbed down. They are just sh*tty movies.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:14:06 PM

@ Mink - The Descent wasnt changed for a franchise at all, the writer and director of that movie is very local to me and ive heard him talk about it first hand, it was pretty black and white, they changed it because the downer ending didnt test well in america, the franchise idea came later.

As for having nothing as a response, heelswin is showing a great deal of ignorance in his answers about some very british films which he considers to be american because thats the language they happen to be speaking in the story. Like i said, little fella needs to do his homework, until he does, im not his dad, cant be bothered to educate him.

@heelswin - sooooo your response to me saying that most americans with taste didnt like the change to the descent, which was the example i chose to use........was the trailer looked sh*t and i must be dumb for liking a movie that YOU thought the trailer looked sh*t?.......lol nob
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:18:59 PM

@ Mink - Just out of interest, what did you think of seven? would you not watch that again for the same reasons you gave to not watch burried again?

And just to clear things up, these movies are just examples, Descent played well at the cinema even if it ripped off a million other horror movies, Burried was original, but nothing special imo. We are using these movies as examples of americans not liking grim endings which seems to be a british speciality.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:21:58 PM

and who says NEWS FLASH!? lol
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:25:57 PM

We *were* talking about, or so I thought, Americans not liking allegedly sophisticated films, not grim endings. Somewhere along the way someone changed the debate...so back to the issue at hand, and not the rather arguable and irrelevant issue of whether upbeat and positive-minded Americans don't like nihilistic and pointless foreign import cinema.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:35:34 PM

"Just out of interest, what did you think of seven? would you not watch that again for the same reasons you gave to not watch burried again?"

Yoou're missing the point. The Seven's ending is 'grim' sure, but it wasn't depressingly nihilistic and empty. Bad guy kills the detective's wife and unborn child, detective removes sc*m killer from the world.

Not only is Seven's ending thought-provoking and controversial, philosophically, it's emotionally shocking and, dare I say it, despite the murders, triumphant because the killer finally receives the justice he deserves, the kind of justice many Americans would deliver to killers if they had the power to do so.

Another film, Identity, also has a rather grim ending, but on display is a concept, the idea of multiple personalities living in one man's head, killing each other until only one remains. Again, a thought-provoking concept film with a controversial subject.

On the other hand, the Descent is just a slasher flick in caves with a vacuous finale. Same for Buried wherein the character spends the entire film struggling against one various sadistic machination just to die regardless of all his efforts, thus proking within the viewer no thought or feeling but the black torpor of depression.

Very different films indeed. Would seem to me American audiences are smarter than you believe. What I would call an internal intelligence whereas the French and perhaps the Brits wear there cinema IQ on their sleeves for all the world to see.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:36:10 PM

Yeah but thats my point, the term dumbing down to me is about changing your original vision to suit someones tastes, those movies demonstrate that a large percentage of americans, yourself included, dont like those kind of movies, but if its a film makers vision, is that not how it should be presented? and left for people to like or dislike it? we cant change things to suit what the majority seem to want, otherwise we would be swamped with avatars!
heelswin writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:36:51 PM

I say NewsFlash and I say faggot too

So NewsFlash Faggot I've done my homework and I don't watch sh*tty movies like The Descent.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:38:20 PM

I loathe the lack of post-posting editing...f*ck.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:45:08 PM

See i saw Sevens ending very differently to that, infact i see it very similar to Burried and Descent, Bad guys win, yeah Pitts character kills the bad guy but that wasnt justice, the bad guy wanted it, Pitts character commited the seventh sin! thus completing bad guys plan. Also Pitts character was pretty much f*cked for life after that movie. Career, life and mind all screwed id say.

And i dont for a second think American audiences are dumb, we have some massive dipsh*ts over here but its a smaller country so they dont have much power, collective wise you have a much larger dipsh*t army over there, and they are the paying customer when it comes to seeing movies so the studios cater to them. The only americans i know personally are pretty damn smart and have good taste. So im in no way attacking americans. Far from it, i think you guys get short changed over there, some fantastic movies only see the light of day as an american remake because the studios decide for you that you wouldnt want to watch something with subtitles. So they dont even get a release alot of the time!
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:46:19 PM

@ heelswin - faggot eh? whos a big brave boy on the internet then?! YOU ARE! lol f*ck off
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 8:51:07 PM

So, what you're saying, then, AYT, and I'm going to suggest you're venturing into Rabid territory with your opinion, is that a filmmaker's original vision is somehow automatically and absolutely 'visionary' and 'transcendent' and thus by altering it to suit the relative tastes of the target audience you've compromised these so-called virtues for a what could only be labeled a bunch of morons?

So, all the people that felt Andy and Red from Shawshank Redemption deserved explicit closure in their friendship, thus prompting a more pointed ending, are unsophisticated brutes, because that's what we were talking about here, right? What you're saying, right?.

And let's get real, neither Buried nor The Descent are either visionary or transcendent, especially with respect to either of the two film's rather bleak endings, so to say changing them in the last scene somehow compromises the filmmakers vision is pretentious to me and anyone else with a sliver of honesty who would agree that neither film is much worth a damn in the longterm scheme of filmmaking history. No signposts or landmarks in cinemaland for sure.

I mean, it's not like either film was originally high-concept (lol) and the producers forced the filmmaker to ditch his 'vision' for something far below his original intentions, thus altering the entire film instead of what they actually did, which was merely flipping a few bits for the ending.
heelswin writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:00:19 PM

I proved my point. You want to keep bringing up Descent and Buried(Too sh*tTY movies) and Seven.

Seven is a classic and it came out a long time ago when studios did not cater to larger audiences like they do today.

The original point of this topic is dumbing down movies for American audiences. You are the one who looks dumb through the examples that you have provided.

What are these great British movies that have been dumbed down for Americans.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:01:12 PM

Youve taken the word vision as some kind of pompous statement, and like ive said, those two movies are just examples, but regardless of how high or low on the quality ladder a movie is, it is still the result of someones creativity, and of course i understand it is still a business and they need to sell tickets to pay for the movies production. But thats where british and american films differ. Hollywood likes to put a bit of a shine on even the grimest of stories, putting Ryan Reynolds in burried for example!

I know some american film makers have the balls to make what they want but most successful american movies follow the big studio rules, where as most British successful movies (Successful here) usually break those rules and get a bit dirty, Trainspotting, 28 days later etc.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:04:34 PM

erm....its spelled "two" and if you've been keeping up those were two movies used to illustrate a point, not two GREAT movies. Keep up! and maybe watch the movies your talking about otherwise its......well actually it is already pointless talking to you.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:10:41 PM

@ Mink - gonna wrap it up for tonight, its late here, but basically im agreeing with McAvoy when he says we should make films without catering to specific markets. Thats the only way to get original movies after all. Like i said, id be pissed if i lived over there and i had studios remaking movies rather than letting me see the original or changing endings that they think i may not like, or cutting swearing from a film that was aimed at adults in the first place (the kings speech), it shouldnt always be about money, but thats how its going these days.
heelswin writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:11:48 PM

That's all you got. Oops, I misspelled a word. You are trying to take my words and use them against me yet you haven't made a good argument for the original topic. Now you look stupid for it.

You brought up the wrong movies to make your point. American movies in general sh*t on British movies on a regular basis.

AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:16:03 PM

@ heelswin - as you can see, when someones worth the effort i have plenty to say, jog on dipsh*t! lol
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:19:44 PM

"See i saw Sevens ending very differently to that, infact i see it very similar to Burried and Descent"

Neither film had a point, Seven did, and you then go on below to admmit as much, which is exactly why people such as myself don't care for either film's ending.

The fact is, Buried was a sh*tty setup to kill the main character, and if they had let him live, it would've felt hollow thematically. Buried was nothing more than a snuff film.

And The Descent was, as I said, emotionally nihlistic, created to enduce a fear of enclosed spaces and nothing more, relying on shear primitive fear to carry the story whwereas Seven actually HAD a story and character development, which thus immediately sets these films far apart.

"Bad guys win"

That depends on how you define wins. In The Descent, the 'bad guys' are clearly and overwhelming victorious, no question, which makes the entire film nothing more than a running of the gauntlet. Same for Buried.

But with Seven, you get mystery, thought, a bit of intellectualism, some character development, introspection and relection on the vagaries of life and why the world is the way it is, and thus the ending, grim as it is, doesn't stand alone, but in direct proportion and evolution to the rest of the film.

With The Descent and Buried, both films inexorably lead directly to a fatalistic and empty ending, and all that happens feeds directly to that hollow finale.

But back to winning. The antagonist of Seven only won in his head. I doubt either Freeman or Pitt's character felt the villain had 'won', but instead had simply caused much grief through his murderous insanity, and given that the villain died, at best one could say it was a stalement, but given that neither character gave the impression they would have viewed the situation as simply either a win or a loss, I don't buy into that interpretation, especially when you consider that Seven wasn't a basketball game.

"yeah Pitts character kills the bad guy but that wasnt justice"

It was justice for everyone who thougt it was justice. I doubt Freeman or Pitt thought the killer deserved merely prison for his crimes, and nor would I have thought so either, so what Brad did was deliver what many would hope, in their minds, to give: swift justice without the intervention of appeal. I felt it was rather righteous.

"the bad guy wanted it"

The bad guy didn't merely want to die, he wanted Pitt to do the work of providing the last deadly sin, so his death was just the means to accomplish this goal. If he could have done that without dying, I think he would have. And I say this knowing what I do of serial killers: very, very rarely are they suicidal.

"Pitts character commited the seventh sin!

Yes, I know. Thanks for the spoiler.

"thus completing bad guys plan"

Read above.

"Also Pitts character was pretty much f*cked for life after that movie. Career, life and mind all screwed id say."

Not necessarily. Pitt's character killed the villain essentially during an episode of momentary insanity, and any judge no matter how tough on crime, would be hard pressed to send Pitt's character away for more than psychiatric assistance. I doubt he spent much time in prison.

Yes, his career would likely be over, but he's young and could go on to do other things. He would survive, just like victims of rape survive. It would be a long road, but it's a reflection of the lesser struggles we all go through in life, which stands in stark contrast to the endings of Buried and The Descent, wherein the characters go through a bloody gaunlet only to get snuffed in the end, which is why they're nihilistic and empty and which is why many people are turned off by them. There's simply nothing gained, nothing learned and no point to the suffering therein except to say apathetically that suffering exists and there's not sh*t you can do, and when you're positive minded you don't want to indulge in that sh*t.

Think about it like this: is it better to listen to upbeat music, overall, or depressing music? Sure, you can hit a down tune when you're feeling blue, in self-pity, but which is more enjoying? Do you want to take a vacation to Chernobyl or Paris? People, Americans at least, generally prefer places like Paris, and to me at least The Descent and Buried are far more like funereal Chernobly than the festive City of Lights. Just sayin.
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:26:16 PM

Besides American Cinema, I think Asia films are the Bee's Knees.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:27:13 PM

"@ Mink - gonna wrap it up for tonight, its late here, but basically im agreeing with McAvoy when he says we should make films without catering to specific markets."

Great. Let McAvoy make his pompous niche films and everyone else can make some money. But until he does this, until he skips the more commercial films entirely,like Xmen First Class and Wanted, he should just shut the f*ck. Just makes him look like another wealthy, famous hypocrite. And an idiot too because no one is going to spend millions on films that don't have broad mass commercial appeal, it's simple business and economics, and you can't get that kind of appeal by catering to narrow and personal visions. Not going to happen. So he's swimming the wrong direction up the wrong f*cking stream.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:32:34 PM

Hey im a pretty positive guy, but i like a dip in the darkside now and again! lol

As for the holiday thing, Paris is full of french people but id stick on a hazmat suit and have a look around Chernobyl.

I get what your saying about seven but i still saw that as a much more down beat ending, shooting him was never good enough, we would all want an eye for an eye, but how could you ever repay what he did? thats why to me it was such a head f*ck for Pitts character, the shooting was hollow because it was too kind but anger made him do it.

Anyway, its been interesting as always, take it easy.
heelswin writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:34:37 PM

This is what Americans do to Brits

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJhfLEOHs4w
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:34:42 PM

I think McAvoys on side with you americans, think its the studios the spoon feed you a little. anyway, later.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:40:22 PM

@ heelswin - yeah all americans can do that to all us brits lol another thing you know little about
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:44:56 PM

It's not that Americans are naturally stupid, they just have everything way too easy, which makes them lazy, apathetic and arrogant. That's really it. They don't much care for books in most places, but at the same time they won't just watch anything throwin front of them.

Well some of them will.

But anyway, it's hard to tell what McAVoy is getting at, but the last thing I want to hear is badmouthing from someone who should be our friend. it;s one thing to hear that sh*t from the spoiled *ssholes in Hollywood, and the French, but I don't want to hear that sh*t from a Brit. That's what got me pissed.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 9:45:50 PM

I really can't type worth jake tonight...
technoreaper writes:
on May 31st, 2011 at 10:25:32 PM

Mink is a pseudo-intellectual moron who is probably from the Midwest. The ignorant rant about foreign countries pretty much exposed him. Try going there before talking...
Maacho writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 4:14:01 AM

Sry guys, but all of Europe think this way about America xD
swoooop writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 4:35:10 AM

The Kings speech you saw inn America was actually dumed down. Our European verson was tree hours longer, and had a mime.
Adamtheflash writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 5:34:25 AM

That's not really the kind of comment you want to make when we'll be paying over half of the money that First Class makes....probably don't want to piss off the people that go to movies most in the world James...

f*ckin' tool
Adamtheflash writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 5:42:01 AM

On a similar note, maybe Americans just want to go to the theater to be entertained, and turn their brains off for a minute. That's the only reason any of us went to see "Wanted." We wanted to see some awesome action and as much of Angelina Jolie's skin as we could. And that movie was f*ckin' stupid.

Well thought out, complicated films have their place in America too. Look at Inception, which was on the Domestic Box Office for a lot of weeks. People are still confused about the damn movie! Yeah, Nolan is British, but Americans still go to those movies.
AYT BALL writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 8:37:47 AM

@ Adamtheflash - McAvoy is saying thats what happens, and that he doesnt agree with it and nor should americans, dont see why hes being attacked for that.,
sri_91 writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 12:15:40 PM

Heelswin can suck my balls! Ever heard of Guy Ritchie ya prick? Almost *all* the successful directors giving the audience classics are brits these days u twat! Nolan is probably the best out there today. Danny Boyle is great too, and Guy Ritchie's a ledge as well! Mcavoy is right anyway, americans are incredibly stupid (most of them) and wouldnt want to break their heads watching some complicated sh*t!
Farradin writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 2:53:46 PM

Harry Potter and The Philosophers Stone was changed to Harry Potter and The Sorcerers Stone for the Americans; a change that essentially means the book make no sense. This was because booksellers weren't confident that the average American knew what a philosopher was.

Two points: Firstly I'm sure a lot of English people didn't know what a philosopher was either, but having heard the word so often have now had the opportunity to ask and LEARN.

Secondly, all this incident proves is that the people in charge of such things, American people I might add have a disturbing lack of faith in their fellow Americans. Scarily this issue also comes up when it comes to racebending (changing race, often to white, when adapting a property), this is not a glowing indictment on your society.

heelswin writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 4:36:42 PM

@sri_91 LMAO So you're a fag. Are you saying that Guy Ritchie Nolan and Boyle all water down their movies for American audiences? I think the guys you have named are excellent directors. Too bad they dont direct everything British.

Those guys have made good movies and they have made pretty bad movies. The good ones must be the ones they didn't dumb down right? And I guess the sh*tty ones they must've made them for dumb Americans.

American cinema has and will always be the best in the world. If you think our movies are dumbed down you don't have to watch them.

Go kiss the the queens tit and suck Philips d*ck a little more why don't ya.

Once again f*ck the Brits and their sh*tty f*cking entertainment. British Movies suck and your comedy isn't funny.

Too this point nobody has named any of these so called dumbed down movies for American audiences that could have been great
Barden writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 6:24:36 PM

Maybe you need to dumb down this ARTICLE for the american audience, since some americans have misunderstodd and taken offense, even when it's obvious that McAvoy is against the dumbing down.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 1st, 2011 at 9:10:18 PM

Stupid statement from James McAvoy. Thankfully I'm English and don't associate myself with someone from Scotland :)

Some silly comments on here indeed. A lot of patriotism unnecessarily going on.
sri_91 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 1:20:23 AM

heelswin : Yer stupid. Nuff said. People liek Guy Ritchie *have* to dumb down their movies (Revolver) so that pricks like you understand something, which i still doubt very much, and yeah, the whole point of the movie was lost in the US version. Unfortunately, such talented directed are forced to do something silly cuz of ya'll americans! These days none of the brit directors can make a proppa original brit gangster movie (lock stock and snatch) due to the sc*mbags in hollywood and $$$ . So they're forced 2 making more commercial sh*t after being roped into hollywood and the originality goes! And pls dont harp on about the 'unfunny' bit.. Americans are THE most unfunniest d*cks i've ever come across. Brit humour is subtle and classy, americans will never get it! I suggest you stfu about it and jog the f*ck on, TWAT!
heelswin writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 2:57:05 AM

@Sri Guy Ritchie really must've dumbed down Sherlock Holmes because that sh*t sucked. If you read what I said during this nonsense you will notice I said early on that the best British movies are the gangster movies so your talk about Guy Ritchie movies is pointless. Now Go smoke a fag you British Bitch.
sri_91 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:03:28 AM

^ And the reason he cant do more of that is because of d*cks liek you and your stupid-ass studios offering people liek him plenty of $$$ to do sequels and reboots! And he still did a classy sequel unlike a few others who make sh*tty sequels! Sherlock Holmes 2 sucked? Wow, you really are a dumb fag!
sri_91 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:10:21 AM

I think its hightime brits stop giving a flying f*ck about what these americans would like/prefer and start making their own stuff like lock stock etc.. Missing movies of such quality these days! :( Fact is, most of them are being whored by big producers and studios in hollywood and they're forced to do sh*tty movies! Even then, Nolan and Boyle stand out!

@Heelswin : Brit gangster movies cant hold a candle to American gangster movies? WOW, what have you been smoking?
AYT BALL writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:15:56 AM

@ Barden - thank you! been trying to point that out, heelswin doesnt seem to get it at all, hed rather try his best to sound tough over the internet and slag off the brits in retaliation for something that he THINKS has been said by McAvoy!

@ sri_91 - McAvoy isnt saying americans are dumb, heel is proving that he is indeed dumb, but the whole point of this story is that most americans DONT need things dumbing down regardless of what the studio thinks.

@ Heel - silly little man
sri_91 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 4:38:48 AM

@AYT BALL Fair play, but my points still stands regarding Americans. So long as people like Heelswin exist, they *do* need dumbing down of movies!
Adamtheflash writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:09:14 AM

The point has been cleared up to me. I think the statement is just poorly worded. Thanks guys.

But I still stand by my opinion of Wanted. That movie was overhyped and terrible.
AYT BALL writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:14:13 AM

@ Adamtheflash - agreed....but Jolie did look mighty fine!
heelswin writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:47:32 AM

You Brits shouldn't worry about Americans because I guarantee we don't give a f*ck about any of you.

If I was directing a movie I would make it how I want it to be made. If Brits don't have the balls to make the movies they want to than thats on them for making an inferior product.



heelswin writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:47:45 AM

AYT Ball you haven't made any good points so f*ck off. You say The Descent would have been better with a different ending and I say that it was going to been sh*tty with any ending.
AYT BALL writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:54:54 AM

again your talking about a film you havent seen you ignorant little f*ck, jog along little man, your a waste of time.
heelswin writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 6:57:21 AM

And you're a waste of sperm.


AYT BALL writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 7:16:01 AM

then stop jerking off over me homo
sri_91 writes:
on June 2nd, 2011 at 12:21:11 PM

What the flying f*ck Alex? You just f*cking DELETED my perfectly valid comment! Shame on you!
JHazz writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 5:02:18 PM

I could be wrong, but I think most of you are taking his comment wrong. It sounds to me like he is saying that British filmmakers believe they need to dumb down their movies so that Americans will like them and in return Americans don't end up liking them because they are dumbed down. So he is not insulting Americans at all, just saying that British film makers should do their best and hope we American will like their movies. As an American fan of his I am hoping I am reading this correctly.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved