WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro's New "Don't Be Afraid of the Dark" Trailer

Posted: May 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del ToroSubmit Comment
Today we have a UK trailer for Guillermo del Toro's "Don't Be Afraid of the Dark," starring Katie Holmes, Guy Pearce and Bailee Madison. Check it out below.

Plot: The movie centers on a young girl (Madison), sent to live with her father and his new girlfriend, who discovers sinister creatures that live underneath the stairs. She is fascinated by them -- until they prove dangerous. Pearce will play the father, an author frustrated by his daughter's tales of monsters, not believing her even when his girlfriend (Holmes) backs her.

"Don't Be Afraid" is directed by Troy Nixey from a script by Del Toro. It is scheduled to hit theaters on August 26th.

Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read more about "Don't Be Afraid of the Dark."

Source: Miramax Films


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 6:05:03 AM

In Del Toro we believe.
Devil writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 7:12:47 AM

Yup. This is on top of my watch list right now.
Akbar writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 7:38:51 AM

Honestly, to me this just looks like any other horror movie! I wont waste my time on this, or money.
Attos writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 7:48:06 AM

Even completely ignoring the fact that Katie Holmes has less acting talent than a first grade play about dental hygiene, this movie looks like it might be one of the rare movies that genuinely instills unease and discomfort.
It's an unfortunately rare occasion.
Heres hoping that horror movies get a forgotten dose of what makes them great- horror.
Even more hope that this movie doesn't end up being the same cheesy two-bit scare tactic flick we've seen about a thousand copies of in the last decade.
I'm insulted that they continue to try and pass most of them off as having any kind of cohesive plot to begin with.
Sorry Hollywood, you've got some work to do before I start believing that farce again.
DeVries writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 10:33:10 AM

Lindsay Lohan's vagina says hi at the end of the trailer.
rabid writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 10:57:02 AM

Sweet! Tom let Katie Holmes out of the basement to shoot another film. Looks scary.
minkowski writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 11:22:02 AM

Eh. I watched the trailer to make sure I wasn't being negative without cause, and though del Toro is a talented SOB, this looks like something he did on the toilet one Sunday.

Monsters in the basement, scary whispers, stupid parents, writings on the wall, the child as the target/dupe whatever and so on.

I saw nothing that was original, and nothing that I think would even give me a goosebump, much less chill me to my bones, so to speak, and to be honest, del Toro can do much better than this sh*t.

I think it would have been a lot more interesting if he had moved the film to a creepy hotel, with a mysterious abandoned/hidden floor, deleted the kid, made the monsters less conspicuous, et cetera, just to get away from the cliche.
rabid writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 12:17:23 PM

Why delete the kid? Del Toro makes dark fairy tales for a young audience. It's not really formulated to give goosebumps to adults. The title alone tells you it's a story about childhood fears.
minkowski writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 12:39:51 PM

So, having the child in there is for children, then? This is a kids movie, in your opinion? A Disney Darko production?

Really, rabid, what sort of sh*t do you smoke? Asbestos? It's like you can't afford heroin so you inject old urinal cakes instead.
j-man writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 1:40:09 PM

looks textbook all the way
secondbest writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 2:20:45 PM

I'm excited for this. Looks like some good fun.
Wallace writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 4:56:16 PM

Looks like a cliché-loaded flop.
rabid writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 6:09:50 PM

Let's see... Pan's Labyrinth, Devil's Backbone, Hellboy, Cronos, Blade... now this.
and you don't notice a theme? It's pretty obvious the guy makes twisted films for kids who stay up late. Children have been the protagonist in half his films.
A film doesn't have to be rated PG to be marketable to kids. Remember 80s slasher films? Most parents don't give two sh*ts what their kids watch. Del Toro makes Grimm's tales for a modern generation.
minkowski writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 9:05:16 PM

It's pretty obvious he makes films for adults otherwise he would aim for a rating intended for children. How retarded are you? I just have to ask, because your suggestion is just...odd, and illogical and preposterous.

You truly believe Devil's Playground was made with the child in mind because del Toro occasionally uses their innocence and weakness as a plot vehicle for contrasting the foe's evilness?

Do you actually believe he directs and writes f*cked-up films because he somehow believes irresponsible parents will let their kids watch them? That's his m.o.?

Seriously, you can't be that dumb, dude.
rabid writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 9:49:30 PM

If I pointed out that the sky was blue, you'd argue that it was red. You have serious emotional problems... either that or just a hard on for me.
rabid writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 9:54:49 PM

"contrarian".
that was the word I was searching for.
triggax writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 9:58:17 PM

I agree. Although there is a fairy tale element prominent in most of his films.

You really think the scene in Pans Labyrinth where the military officer smashes that dudes face in with the butt of a pistol was sneakingly made for a juvenile audience? I would whole heartedly f*cking disagree there.

And dude, blade... Blade 2 im assuming we're talking about. Rated f*cking R.. like a hard R. Easily the freakiest blade movie. I don't know what child would ever come out seeing half the sh*t in that film without some form of trauma..

The devils backbone, was a scary f*cking movie.. never once did I get the impression he was targeting his films towards a younger audience.

Just because he uses fairy tales and folk lore in his writing, does not mean it's meant for children.

Mimic? how about that? was that made for children? Cronos? I agree with Mink. Rabid you must be smoking some heavy sh*t man.

As for this, Ill reserve my judgment until I see it. Let's keep in mind we're not going to be witnessing del toros vision here. Just his writing and story.. The narrative and visuals will certainly be of the director.

Anyone see 'The Messengers'? This trailer reminds me of that film.

We'll see.. and Rabid, no hard feelings. Your opinion is just peculiar as f*ck is all.
minkowski writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 10:11:56 PM

"If I pointed out that the sky was blue, you'd argue that it was red. You have serious emotional problems... either that or just a hard on for me."

You're right, Rabid. You took the time to tell me, without my solicitation of your opinion, how del Toro makes hard-R films for f*cking children, and when I tell you you're obviously chock full of sh*t, you then proceed to tell me I have a hard-on for you.

Is that where we're at with this?

And thanks Trig. Thought I was going batsh*t insane just comtemplating the possibility of what Rabid said.
minkowski writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 10:14:49 PM

By the way, you also claimed that Frank Miller's Robocop series ended with a shock, and it did not, because I then immediately downloaded the entire series; it ends with cyborg copper turning his police cruiser around.

Now why the f*ck would you lie about that?
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 10:18:38 PM

Not too bad. A horror film worth seeing.
rabid writes:
on May 29th, 2011 at 12:45:55 AM

If you only read the last issue of Robocop, then you would have missed the shock ending. Next time skip the cliff notes and try actually using your literacy skills.

But thanks. You're so gloriously grand at proving my points for me. LOL What an utter chode!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 29th, 2011 at 12:57:27 AM

No that much of a fan of Del Toro's so won't watch the clip.
Damon242 writes:
on May 29th, 2011 at 7:42:57 AM

That was a terrible trailer, who the heck made it?

I do hope this is more 'Pan's Labyrinth' than just another textbook horror - that relies on thing popping out rather than using a sense of dread to scare the audience.
minkowski writes:
on May 29th, 2011 at 2:19:16 PM

Rabid, bro, you and I won't have any issues, no pun intended, if you just stop saying stupid sh*t, ok?

And, finally, according to Wiki, to corroborate my own empirical expereience, not only did FM's Robosh*t run for nine issues, it wasn't well received, and in fact took some very harsh criticism. Can't say I blame them. It was total sh*t.
vaodsi writes:
on May 29th, 2011 at 8:40:57 PM

hahahha so let me get this straight (or gay)... rabid thinks... no wait... that's an oxymoron right there.
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2011 at 4:58:08 PM

lol!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved