WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hangover Part II" May Gross $120 Million This Weekend

Posted: May 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hangover Part II" May Gross $120 Million This WeekendSubmit Comment
"The Hangover Part II" is not getting the best reviews, but the film is on track to destroy the opening box office numbers of the first installment, which went on to become the highest-grossing R-rated comedy ever with $467 million.

The sequel took in $10.4 million from midnight screenings, the highest of this year and earned another $31.7 million on Thursday, making it the third-highest Thursday gross ever, behind "Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith" ($50 million) and "The Matrix Reloaded" ($37.5 million).

If everything proceeds as expected, "The Hangover Part II" may end up grossing as much as $120 million over the 5-day Memorial Day weekend. The first film opened to $45 million during the 3-day weekend, which means that the sequel will shatter that. Not bad for a movie that cost only $80 million to develop.

Click here to read our "The Hangover Part II" review.

Source: erc BoxOffice


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 10:33:21 PM

I see another sequel and a chick-flick spin-off, the Sleepover.
Arlo11 writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 10:37:11 PM

ONLY $80 million to develop?!
velocityknown writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 10:41:47 PM

@Arlo

A few years back, the MPAA did a study that showed the average MPAA film costs 100 million dollars to develop. Not only was that for an average film, that was years ago and I can bet that costs have surely gone up since then. $80 million for a sequel to a film that grossed $420 million is not too shabby by today's industry standards.
minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 10:47:44 PM

I think 80 mil for a film that was made once already is a little steep, don't you? So, where did the other 79 mil go? Coke? Hookers? Zach's pubicbeard? You can't tell me they paid these stiffs most of that for their acting. I mean, Cooper would phone in his own murder. Piece of sh*t garbage.
Taco writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 11:04:44 PM

Agree mink, 5 mil for each of the main 3 actors... So where did the rest of the money go to?? I didnt see any special fx. Marketing?
Ranger writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 11:09:15 PM

Hey... smoking monkeys don't c*m cheap!

Right Zach, you monkey-f*cking, fat waste of air!
bandolero999 writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 11:11:34 PM

I hate sh*t that's Overrated and I saw the first one cause I was bored and didn't want to watch Terminator Salvation

this movie is really not jawdropping funny,I would rather watch a Troma Lloyd Kaufman movie anyday than to be suckered again.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 11:16:48 PM

Yeah, thank you for remind me that I f*cking hate those monkeys. They are overexposed, unfunny and really hairy (weird I almost described S. Rogen, hurm). f*ck Peta and f*ck those monkeys.
Ranger writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 11:17:06 PM

I'd rather watch 'The Jerk' (Steve Martin) again (great movie) before I'd watch this sequel.

In case any of you can't tell the difference:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Bfe6CgYbH8

bandolero999 writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 11:24:39 PM

Seriously don't see the hype in this sh*t probably all of the people that watched this movie wished they could of done wat them three did in Vegas and in Thailand because their lives are so simple and boring.

I would rather see a whole marathon of Will Ferrell and Adam Sandler for a whole day and I would still get more laughs outta them.

Some people will just watch anything just to be popular and liked
velocityknown writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 11:29:57 PM

Rest of the money probably went to marketing, on-location shooting in Thailand, expenses that came with that, Todd Phillips salary, producer's salary, below-the-line costs, it all adds up.

@Ranger

I would take that one scene from The Jerk over half the comedies they put out nowadays.

But if I had to choose one scene myself it'd actually be when Navin finds his rhythm.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 1:44:11 AM

People are retarded!!!
Attos writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 2:19:42 AM

Didn't see this movie, and don't especially plan to until it shows up in the free-to-watch-instantly section of Netflix.

On a side note: I think I will in fact watch The Jerk again instead.

I was born a poor black child.
witwicky-potter writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 3:15:42 AM

Havent seen it so cant say much
jdl107 writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 3:46:15 AM

Jesus christ dude, this is sad news...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 5:40:12 AM

That's a big load of money alright. But let's not forget that most people of the original movie didn't come out on opening weekend, word-of-mouth made them watch the movie later. This time everyone came out at the same time, which means (hopefully) that Part II won'tt have the same legs.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 8:37:03 AM

This is such good news for Zack. Now he can get that full post-op transgender operation so that he can become the doppelganger of Rosie O'Donnell we've all long suspected ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 8:38:28 AM

Who honestly can say they haven't considered (when looking at Zack's shaven melon in those photos) that Galifanakis looks like a human anal plug ?

If so, he'll do swimmingly in Japan.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 8:39:29 AM

I'm secretly betting someone in that movie anally raped that little monkey in the ass during the shoot .... and my bet is on Bradley Cooper.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 8:40:13 AM

The Hangover 2 ... more like the Leftovers, Eww ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 8:41:32 AM

I bet this is the first positive news Mel's had in a couple of months, since the ruling for counseling ...

I mean, who the f*ck are they going to get to counsel Mel ? Mike Tyson ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 8:43:42 AM

I also think that the reason Liam Neeson's scenes got cut from the movie is because audience members might expect Quinton 'Rampage' Jackson and Sharlto Copley to do guest cameos, get all confused and then think Joe Carnahan directed this turdfest ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 8:44:58 AM

John Candy died, yet Zack Galifanakis lives ?

Wow. This disproves any theory those rapture dumbasses had on any proof that a "God" exists.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 8:46:02 AM

minkowski writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 10:33:21 PM

I see another sequel and a chick-flick spin-off, the Sleepover.

@minkwoski

They won't need any pillows for a pillow fight. They can just start punching Zack's bitchtits.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 8:47:53 AM

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 5:40:12 AM

That's a big load of money alright. But let's not forget that most people of the original movie didn't come out on opening weekend, word-of-mouth made them watch the movie later. This time everyone came out at the same time, which means (hopefully) that Part II won'tt have the same legs.


@Freudian Nightmare

If any voodoo ritual works, this movie will have the metaphorical "legs" equivalent of Sherilyn Fenn's character in "Boxing Helena".
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 8:52:20 AM

Instead of calling this the Hangover 2, they should've called it the Handjob 2, representing the most depressing and least sexual of maneuvers ....

or the Hangman 2, since you already know the f*cking letters in order to solve the puzzle, since it's a repeat of the first, with altered animals, etc.

or the Do-Over 2, since this was Zack's last attempt at being EVER funny. Fat hack. Chubby-grazer.

or the f*ck Over 2, since most audiences will be optically raped by the banality of it.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 8:56:15 AM

Ranger writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 11:17:06 PM

I'd rather watch 'The Jerk' (Steve Martin) again (great movie) before I'd watch this sequel.



@Ranger

I'll agree and top ya on that ....

I'd rather watch the Pink Panther 2 with Steve Martin, all the while getting a blowjob from a blind, old Chinese woman with bad depth perception, braces and tourettes, while getting fisted by Uma Thurman (She's got big f*cking hands for a dame) with a studded and spiked glove, all the while being shaved by Wilford Brimley (who's blindfolded) in my netherregions AND taint, all the while having to listen on an iPod to the movie Pirates Of The Carribean 3 ... then watch this turdfest.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 8:57:08 AM

^ Then again, why give away my Memorial Day weekend plans ?
SACdaddy writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 10:53:10 AM

I saw the film last night with a large group of people that obviously had been drinking all day to prep for it. I slammed a few cold ones and smoked a couple bowls myself before the movie just to get in the proper mood for what I knew would be a sh*tload of brainless fun, and thats exactly what I got. I don't know where all this Hangover hate comes from on this site, but for all that haven't seen the sequel, give it a f*cking chance! My entire theater laughed its ass off and had a great time. It felt more like an event than a movie (just like seeing Independence Day back in the day). Sure the film is not as good as the first, but it didn't seem like anyone cared. As long as you're buzzed and not looking for Academy Award winning material, you should have a good time with this one.

I still don't know where they dropped the $80mill though. I'm guessing they spent about $20m on the actors and the rest went straight up Todd Phillip's nose.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 12:30:01 PM

@SACDaddy

"As long as you're buzzed and not looking for Academy Award winning material, you should have a good time with this one."

Can they use this as a quotable tagline for their posters ? Or more likely, how much you wanna bet they will.

If they do, you may want to copywright the quote. So you can sue and win Zack's share of the gross.
velocityknown writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 12:33:45 PM

@Sac

That's exactly how went into it (more sober, but same general attitude). I still have some issues with it just because I think they could have done more. It wasn't a waste of money, but it wasn't anywhere close to the first movie's level.

mustardayonnaise writes:
on May 29th, 2011 at 3:27:53 AM

Well, some of that cash is gonna head towards the tattoo artist.. I guess fast track dismissal under the fair use/parody clause didn't quite pan out :)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved