WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Romanek and Justin Lin in Talks to Direct "Wolverine 2"

Posted: May 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Romanek and Justin Lin in Talks to Direct "Wolverine 2"Submit Comment
20th Century Fox was serious when it said that it would move forward with the sequel to "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" despite the fact that Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan) dropped out. Today, we have a list of eight directors who the studio is considering to replace Aronofsky.

List of potential directors:

* Jose Padilha ("Robocop" reboot, Elite Squad)

* Doug Liman (Mr. and Mrs. Smith, The Bourne Identity)

* Antoine Fuqua (Training Day)

* Mark Romanek (Never Let Me Go, One Hour Photo)

* Justin Lin (Terminator 5, Fast Five)

* Gavin O'Connor (Pride and Glory, Miracle)

* James Mangold (3:10 to Yuma, Walk the Line)

* Gary Shore (Commercials director)

If you're wondering how Gary Shore ended up on this list of well-known directors, the below video might be a hint. Called "Wolverine vs the Hand," the video was released three months ago on Shore's Vimeo page. It is created by Shore to likely show 20th Century Fox that he would be a good choice to replace Aronofsky. Apparently it worked.

Gary Shore's Video:

If you cannot see the player, click here.

Source: Variety, BleedingCool

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 5:54:31 AM

A collection of xbox opening scene esque screen shots from what looks like a bad film any way, that got him a chance. I'll send in my wolverine pictures with some panelling and see if i get a shot. Justin Lin can f*ck a goat, I like Mark Romanek but this ain't a dramatic romance this is a guy with a metal body and knife hands tearing sh*t up.
Rambo writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 5:59:03 AM

James Magnold and Doug Liman seem the best out of this list.
telur writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 6:15:31 AM

where Uwe Boll and Lars von Trier when we need them?
masht7 writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 6:25:46 AM

What happened to Duncan Jones? He was a perfect choice for a director.
pH0u57 writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 6:46:06 AM

Padliha COULD actually be a good choice..
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 7:00:58 AM

Have no idea about the origins of Wolverine or his story in Japan but if I had to choose one of them I would go with...

Doug Liman

Justin Lin can go f*ck a duck!!

What about the guy who did "Battlefield Earth" or the man who filmed "Gigli", I mean if you are going to f*ck it up, f*ck it up in style.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 7:59:10 AM

This has got McG written all over it.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 7:59:14 AM

James Mangold!
Big_Daddy writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 8:03:54 AM

f*cking AFFLECK!!!!!!!!!
dub031 writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 8:10:28 AM

this might do shore more justice


nawtnt writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 8:14:33 AM

Out of all of them, I think Justin Lin, Antoine Fuqua, Doug Liman or Jose Padilha may direct The Wolverine.

My choices would be Ridley Scott or John Hyams who directed Universal Soldier Regeneration.

Regeneration was a awesome movie, the fight scenes were great and the stunts were fantastic.

Just give Hyams a script then he can do it right.

Ridley Scott is now directing Prometheus so there is no way he can direct The Wolverine.

I hope they make it a rated R movie because Wolverine is a dark character and the movie needs gore, action, perfect plot and a great director.
velocityknown writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 8:23:48 AM

Mark Romanek won't do it because it's not 8 years from his last project.
nawtnt writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 8:53:21 AM

It acutally would be hard for Justin Lin because he got lots of pressure now that he directing the Highlander remake and Terminator 5.

Forget about Mark Romanek, O'Connor, Mangold or Gary Shore.

I still think Hyams is the best choice for The Wolverine now that he is directing Universal Soldier A New Dimesion but Fuqua, Padilla or Liman may work for the director.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 9:09:17 AM

Lol, a tall skinny Wolverine still looks wrong after all these years.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 10:11:56 AM

let Gavin Hood do it again he did such an awesome job the fans gave him such positive reviews.No WAY IN HELL is Wolverine gonna be Rated R keep dreaming on that sh*t
WOlverine is pretty much done

John Hyams is not even on that list dude
can they just stop it with this Universal SOldier bullsh*t it is the most played out franchise ever and Van Damme and Lundgren should be ashamed of theirselves.THeir characters have been killed and revived like 1000 times already.
Dirt writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 10:15:13 AM

f*ck yeah Antoine Fuqua! f*ck off Jackman, bring in Denzel Washington and have him play Wolverine like Alonso in Training Day.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 10:49:21 AM

Denzel Washington playing wolverine please tell me your joking?
nawtnt writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 11:03:08 AM

Bandolero 999, I know John Hyams isn't on the list but he and Ridley Scott are my favourite choices to direct The Wolverine and about Gavin Hood, he is a sh*t director and I watched X-Men Origins: Wolverine and it was awful and how can you say he did a great job because the film was great at wasting few hours but the story wasn't great and the characters were written badly especially Gambit who appeared in the film for 5 minutes and Deadpool, they made him look like Baraka from Mortal Kombat.

And about the Rated R, this film needs to be dark, Like Hugh Jackman said: this isn't Popeye, it is Wolverine.

I respect your opinion but I wish to defend my own.

Also about the Universal Soldier bullsh*t, Van Damme and Lundgren only repirse their roles for Universal Soldier Regerenation so didn't start fighting for years.

Hyams may not have the ability to become a director that has his movies in theatres but his dtv movies are least great.

If you think Regerenation is the worst movie ever on DTV then watch Cross (2011), it stars Brain Austin Green, Michael Clarke Duncan, Tom Sizemore, Danny Trejo, C. Thomas Howell and Vinnie Jones and it is still went straight to DVD and find out why and buying it.
minkowski writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 11:14:24 AM

Mangold or Liman if you want a 'good' film, Justin Lin if you want a fun action flick. f*ck the rest, especially Fuqua who's only real credit, Training Daty, isn't all that great, even though I love the D man.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 12:25:51 PM

nah Dude I was being sarcastic about Gavin Hood,that sh*t was dissapointing and Wolverine's one of my favorite comic book heroes along with the X-Force.

I saw some clips of the Universal Soldier regeneration and the fighting was pretty good.But I prefer the first movie instead.But you shouldnt rely of DTV movies to get your action fix my friend cause it sucks.Check out movies from Thailand like Raging Phoenix,Chocolate,Dynamite Warrior,Ong Baks or Hong Kong movies like Flashpoint with Donnie Yen,Sammo Hung,Ken Lo,Wu jing.thats the real deal there bro.

i've uploaded some of my movies on youtube and dailymotion so everybody can check them out
rabid writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 12:27:48 PM

The director won't matter all that much. The script is Aranofsky-approved. Like with 300, Frank Miller's comics already make a perfect storyboard. And Singer will be looming over the project to make sure it connects.
The story is pretty much served up. Now they just have to find the director who can most make Hugh Jackman act like a ninja.
Rambo writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 12:48:41 PM

Lars von trier's Wolverine 2...

Wolverine:'I think I'm a nazi mutant...em...maybe not..i like hitler and ah..how do I finish this sentence...ok,I'm a nazi!!!'
nawtnt writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 1:01:58 PM

Bandolero 999, thanks for replying and I respect your opnion and I also prefer the first movie too with Regerenation being my 2rd best movie in the series.
minkowski writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 4:30:38 PM

I must have seen a different Universal Soldier Regeneration, because the one I watched suck. Terrible story, bad acting, Dolph Lundgren came back how? And only to die again very quickly after hardly having an lines? The entire movie was given to that one guy, and van Damme was a supporting character. Not only that, but any fool knows they weren't at Chernobyl. Film sucked and people need to stop passing it off like it's something great because it only cost five bucks and a blowjob.
minkowski writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 4:31:53 PM

+ed. +y.
Kurskij writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 5:26:37 PM

Where's Brett Ratner when you need him?
minkowski writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 5:30:41 PM

Dead, I hope, which is exactly where we need him.
Raider writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 6:30:56 PM

Matthew Vaughn!

That's all i have to say.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 8:31:51 PM

You guys theres already a Green Lantern movie starring Brian Austin Green as the lead and Vinnie Jones the movie star

nawtnt writes:
on May 27th, 2011 at 4:34:13 AM

Bandolero 999, it is not Green Lantern that movie comes out in June and stars Ryan Reynolds as the main star.

This movie, Cross is a made up movie which it's trailer makes it look like a comic book movie like similar to Green Lantern because of Austin Green's powers.

It is every sad that Michael Clark Duncan, Vinnie Jones and Tom Sizemore have to do these kind of awful movies because there used to be a time that they were all huge Hollywood stars now look at them.

I understand Brain Austin Green after his 90210 career was over but Duncan, Jones and Sizemore should The Expendables 2 where Jones can play a bad guy, Duncan can play a henchman and Sizemore, he can play a CIA agent.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 28th, 2011 at 6:43:46 AM

Wow! I mean everyone was all sh*ts and giggle when Darren attached his name, then pulled a Del Toro and left. I would love to see Mark Romanek's take on Wolverine. I agree with Cinemaisdead that this is an action flick, but if you remember Logan's time in Japan, this is also a very physcological thing, since Logan had such a romantic attachment to Mariko and it would be cool to get an insight into Logan's psyche with all the internal conflict going on during that time (especially since he hasn't had that sexual an attraction with any since other than Jean Grey, which cause the whole frictional relationship between Logan, Jean and Scott), although I can also agree with Rambo that James did a pretty good job showing the rocky relationship between Johnny Cash and June Carter, during Johnny's drug addiction, but when it comes to action pH0u57 has a point with Jose Padilha, who did a hell of a bang up job with Elite Squad .... damn, I just say Ben Affleck! Role the dice and let him see if he can really take it up a notch and kick some serious directorial ass!
ChaseEvoIution writes:
on June 27th, 2013 at 5:16:12 PM

I see all of you are still negativing up this article.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved