WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Theater Chains Caught Ripping Off Movie-Goers

Posted: May 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Theater Chains Caught Ripping Off Movie-GoersSubmit Comment
Boston Globe noticed that too many theaters have been playing films that have images that are dim, dark and lack in color. After a bit of research, the paper learned that many theater chains are using projectors that require a special lens when showing 3D movies. And when a 2D movie is shown, the lens is not removed, resulting in a reduction of light of as much as 85%.

Director Peter Farrelly recently commented on watching his "Hall Pas" comedy in a local theater. "I walked into the room and I could barely see, and my stomach dropped," he said. "The first screening looked spectacular and the second was so dark. If they're doing this for a big screening, I canít imagine what they do for regular customers. That's no way to see a movie."

AMC, National Amusement and Regal Cinemas were contacted and only AMC responded, stating: "We don't really have any official or unofficial policy to not change the lens." In other words, we don't care about the paying customer.

Source: Deadline, Boston Globe


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 6:56:09 AM

And that's why people don't go to the theatres anymore. If they don't care about us, why should we care about them? And also further proves that 3D is destroying movies.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 7:03:19 AM

Yeah another thing I've noticed is in my local cinema in saaaaaaaaafend on sea they charge 3 pound or something for the 3d glasses after they've asked you if you've bought your ones along from previous screenings. Then on the bag of the glasses it tells you to throw them away after use and when you leave the screen they've got a box full of glasses encouraging you to leave them behind. f*cking rip off merchants! What they say next we need to wear their safety checked overalls so we don't get exposed to all this bullsh*t flying around.
trailertrash writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 7:14:07 AM

Southend as a town is a complete rip off anyway mate, Empire basildon £1 for the glasses use them as often as you want.
wonderBOY writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 7:35:37 AM

Peter Farrelly is watching his own movie
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 7:44:49 AM

Trailer- You're right especially the night life clubs are all 10er and that but on the sunny bank holidays it does draw in the talent from all over wearing minimal clothes. I do prefer Empire though the screens are bigger and seats are more comfortable.
yoshi187 writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 8:27:16 AM

Bunch of c*nts, I haven't really had a decent experience watching a 3D film so far anyway, its always blurry, dark and gives me a headache. Cineworld at the o2 let you keep the glasses, but even the sky screen there (the biggest 3D screen in Europe blah blah blah) can't make it any better. Watched Thor there the other week and couldn't make out half the first battle scene.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 10:14:46 AM

Imagine that!!
rabid writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 11:29:47 AM

Law of the jungle. These theaters are just struggling to stay open in a world of home-theaters where they become increasingly irrelevant.
Aingx writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 11:50:54 AM

Yet another reason why I pirate..
minkowski writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 12:12:02 PM

I wish I lived in England. Such cool names for everything.

"Peter Farrelly is watching his own movie"

Yeah, and apparently alone.

'Law of the jungle. These theaters are just struggling to stay open in a world of home-theaters where they become increasingly irrelevant."

No, they're just lazy. Or stupid, or both. They're ruining the experience not because leaving the lens on makes them more money but because they're too lazy and or stupid to take the lens off for 2D films, which says to me they aren't training the projectionists right.

Duh.

I love how people use a news story as a pretext to rant on some totally irrelevant topic.

Do it myself, actually, and it's kind of stupid now that I think about it.
Ranger writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 12:43:59 PM

Mink beat me to it. Lazy (most likely) or stupid (lack of training from Mgmt. to the projectionist).

It takes a lot to get me into the theater as it is these days (mostly because the audience are inconsiderate). Gladiator was a theater movie for me (many since... just an example), and Green Lantern will get me to a 3D (IMAX I hope) theater. Otherwise, I'll just spend my theater $'s on the home media room. This story is just another nail in the coffin of big theaters.
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 1:20:59 PM

The photo for this article...a man in a wig and Jennifer Love-Hewitt.
minkowski writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 2:18:18 PM

Is that a set up for a joke, Boyscouts, do you want us to ask, which is which?

Ok, I'll bite, which is which?
Dirt writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 6:11:26 PM

You're giving him way too much credit Mink, he doesn't even know what foreskin..
Dirt writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 6:12:11 PM

foreskin is..*
minkowski writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 6:16:17 PM

lol
minkowski writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 6:50:22 PM

Hangover 2 headed the theaters, judge rules:

http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/43145411/ns/today-entertainment/
Rambo writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 7:05:41 PM

If you decide to go see a movie like 'hall pass' in the cinema you are ripping off yourself.
minkowski writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 7:13:34 PM

Farrelly figured it was money well spent. Ten bucks to see his own film, so that's like a buck twenty five back in his wallet already.
venomex writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 7:17:40 PM

if this happens to you, don't stand up for it! turn around and get a refund. cash refund. and walk out the door. that's the best way to hurt any company
minkowski writes:
on May 24th, 2011 at 7:22:53 PM

Best way to hurt the company would be to behead the manager.

Just sayin'.
JFB writes:
on May 25th, 2011 at 12:09:49 AM

f*ck Hollywood....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 25th, 2011 at 9:03:31 AM

Theater Chains Caught Ripping Off Movie-Goers

...and this is news how?
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on May 26th, 2011 at 7:41:17 AM

of all the ways the movie industry rips off its customers this is the one?? this is small beans compared to most others. they created pirates by doing a hell of a lot more than just "forgetting to change a lens"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved