WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" - What Did You Think?

Posted: May 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
Disney's "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides," the fourth installment in the franchise, is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying a lousy 35% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that the film has very few thrills and is instantly forgettable.

How does the new movie compare to the last three installments? Should Disney continue the franchise, considering that Johnny Depp is taking home a $55 million paycheck?

Early predictions say that "On Stranger Tides" will crack the $100 million mark during the opening weekend. It's already performing better than the previous three films. Come back on Sunday to see the weekend numbers.

Click here to read our "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
numnut writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 5:56:18 AM

Saw it this arvo- Improvement on 2 and 3 but cant recapture the magic of the first one. Geoffrey Rush is as awesome as always. Was it worth the $24?.... Yes
WV-Films writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 6:29:34 AM

I felt this movie had some major issues. For one thing the first 40 minutes are down right boring. The movie doesn't even get halfway interesting until they arrive on the island, and then they try to crowbar in some half-assed BS love story between a douchebag and a mermaid. But by this point the movie's already half over, and you don't give two sh*ts about these characters.

Also IMO the cinematography and composition wasn't done well at all. The shots felt very washed out and saturated compared to the previous installments, and Marshall pretty much keeps the camera in one place for the whole scene only to cut to other lock-off shots. It's like watching a boring play. The action is gratuitous and feels unoriginal, and the ending is pretty much stolen directly from the Last Crusade.

I could go on and on.....but in essence this one is a loser.
Devil writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 6:53:41 AM

It's better than the last two sh*t fests and the absence of Keira and Orlando is the best thing about the whole damn movie. It's not perfect like the first one but I enjoyed it. The mermaid scene was the high point for me.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 9:03:01 AM

Defiantly better than 2 and 3, but like everyone has said it just lacked that special something that was in the 1st.
JakeVermont writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 9:44:52 AM

Better than the last movie. Rush, McShane and Depp were great together. The story was okay and each character has his motives and goals to achive, the mermaid scene was cool.

@WV-Films:
agree with the cinematography issue. Gore Verbinski did a far better job.

Nevertheless it was entertaining and worth watching. Especially for the actor's performances. Even Cruz felt right in the movie. And the absence of Bloom and Knightley is a big improvement.

It has its flaws but it's still pretty entertaining.

I'd give it a 7 /10
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 1:43:56 PM

I belong in the minority of people who liked second and the third. That said, I hated this. It was quite boring, nothing really ever happened. The actionsequences was very lame and uninspiring, comparing to the previous. Sure, Orlando and Keira is gone, but their replacements are just as boring. At least O and K were important for the story.

Depp never really wanted to do this, so hopefully he will demand a paycheck big enough to let this franchise die.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 1:48:08 PM

And the 3D, of course, sucked. f*cking moneygrabber.
Chewbacca writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 3:01:33 PM

The installment wasn't terrible but never outstanding. 5.5/10

And I'll disgaree I thought the romance between the mermaid and the missionary were some of the more interesting aspects considering the flick got majorly dull in areas. Cinematography, I agree, was not up to par with the original trilogy. See it in 2D. The 3D was so dreadful I decided to watch the movie blurred.

trailertrash writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 3:04:34 PM

I will be watching blurred also, after 10 pints of snakebite and 5 whiskey chasers
Chewbacca writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 3:17:34 PM

good to know men still post on these here boards ay
minkowski writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 3:19:05 PM

'"The shots felt very washed out and saturated compared to the previous installments"

The shots can't be both saturated and washed out. One means maximum color, the other reduced in color.

Color me confused.
WV-Films writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 4:33:26 PM

*Undersaturated. my bad.
minkowski writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 5:36:59 PM

Cool beans, dog, and I liked your discriptions of POTC's shots. Good review.
anaheimducks writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 6:11:06 PM

Haven't seen the movie yet looking forward to it I've enjoyed all the movies.
minkowski writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 6:17:36 PM

I enjoyed the first one, and not much thereafter. I'll wait for DVD.
heelswin writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 10:18:36 PM

$55 million paycheck --- Holyyyyyyy sh*t
minkowski writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 10:32:33 PM

No wonder they used locked-off shots! No operator, smaller budget. f*ck me, 55 million. Didn't notice that.
technoreaper writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 10:57:31 PM

$55 million for this guy? Seriously?

And people are mad at lifeguards making $100,000?

Whatever...
Damon242 writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 11:28:58 PM

Didn't like it much at all, and the characters...ugh.

Take this bit of stupidity for example; "bah, my leg got caught in a rope by blackbeard, so I cut it off to save my life" (moment of silence) "It was only after that I thought of cutting the rope".
hunter207 writes:
on May 22nd, 2011 at 1:31:49 AM

Wasnt quite as good as the first one but I still loved it much more than the last two
CandyRunt writes:
on May 22nd, 2011 at 3:50:26 AM

@ Trailer

I lie your style, keeping it Essex,
but try watching this sh*t after a tab of acid, no way! no way! cant not do! do not want!
nuttie30xx writes:
on May 22nd, 2011 at 4:59:54 AM

3D was crap movie wasnt much better but it was an improvement on 2 and 3 as for 3D nothing come close to avatar and res evil 4,, look forward to see what camerons team has done with transformers 3 the 3d trailer for it is class
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 22nd, 2011 at 5:38:03 AM

Saw it last night...

Not a sgood as the first but entertaining none the same, not having Ikea Slightly and Borlando Doom was a hell of an improvement.

I can see how people might think it/was boring but as they are doing a 5 & 6, I can see how this one is a set up fo the villian in the fifth one.

Wasn't hoping form much going in after watching the trailer but I would give it...

6/10
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 22nd, 2011 at 5:39:22 AM

On a sad note guys...

Australian actor Bill Hunter dies, aged 71

RIP Mate.
Akbar writes:
on May 22nd, 2011 at 8:59:52 AM

It was good, but I still hate all the magic in these movies. About the worst 3d effects I have seen so far, you can sit through the hole movie without glasses and you wont notice a thing!
sdpepper writes:
on May 22nd, 2011 at 11:26:33 AM

My son and I really enjoyed it.

Compared to 2 & 3 it was waaaaaaaaay better. I do agree with most of the others by saying not as good as the first.

Myself, I thought that the 3D made the scenes richer in depth. Compared to Clash of the Titans 3D, it was 100X better.

The mermaids were the best part of the movie by far. I wasn't expecting them to turn into the killing machines that they were. For me it was unexpected but very enjoyable.

Disney, do me a favor tho, if you are gonna make 5 & 6 make them WAAAAAAAAY better than 2 & 3.
PghCraig writes:
on May 22nd, 2011 at 2:17:24 PM

The audience meter on rotten tomatoes is 73%, so apparently people watching the movie haven't agreed with the reviews. Outside of the first, they've all been forgettable popcorn movies. 3 had me looking at my watch a lot, but the other 2 were easy entertainment for 2+hours
Damon242 writes:
on May 23rd, 2011 at 1:25:37 AM

ok. start explaining to me what was so wrong with the second film, and how this fourth installment is better?

I understand hate for the third film, but equal hate for the second perplexes me.
KindredMac writes:
on May 23rd, 2011 at 4:46:20 PM

We liked it. If we were to rank all 4 movies so far it would be:
#1 Black Pearl
#2 Stranger Tides
#3 Dead Man's Chest
#4 Worlds End

This movie missed out on some of that special panache of the first one. Maybe it was the fact it was filmed in Hawaii instead of the Caribbean, maybe it was the lack of some really solid mystical features. The Zombified crew should have been more undead than they were, Blackbeard's sword should have been explained more and the Fountain was a bit of a let down.

We saw it in a double feature at the drive in with Thor and I would rate them as Pirates 7/10 and Thor 8/10.
Cody Fairless-Lee writes:
on May 23rd, 2011 at 6:06:11 PM

Read my review @ www.rottentomatoes.com/member/codyfairlesslee

PLEASE CONTINUE THE FRANCHISE!!!!
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on May 23rd, 2011 at 7:35:04 PM

So if the rapture DID happen ... this must be Hell ... right ?
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on May 23rd, 2011 at 7:39:01 PM

Wow, Rest In Peace Bill Hunter ... that whole scene of describing how you fell in love with your wife because she could shot ping pong balls out her vagina ... Classic, mate!


Sayyyyyy, you don't suppose Bradley Cooper used that story to drum up business for the Hangover II, which is coming up this weekend ... or what I call Gallifinakis' Post-Op Vaginal Surgery ?
Johnnyb writes:
on June 8th, 2011 at 6:57:55 PM

Even Penelopeīs tits couldnīt save this film... Poor script plot and sometimes poor execution of the action in this film. Even the mermaids that was suppose to be an important element in the movie appear barely.... I prefer At Worldīs End than this..... Kill me but itīs the truth!!!!
KateS writes:
on December 26th, 2013 at 9:56:07 AM

Horrible! Worst of the four! Many, many mistakes! I just PRAY that the next isn't that bad! It was BORING and very badly made! Thank god at least Captain Jack was there but...And WHO THE f*ck thought its a good idea to put Dumbelica there?! Jack loves her?! Who are you trying to kid? I can't believe the stupid fans and fanfics! HE LOVE NO ONE but freedom & his ship you brainless idiots! He never loved her, or someone else! Next...The Pearl...IN A BOTTLE?! WTF?! Its horrible! In every way!
FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT SEEN IT: DON'T! It will ruin your idea of the other 3 movies! Its badly made, f*cking terrible plot, they put that dumb actress to .... I really can't describe how dissapointed I am! If Disney is reading this- YOU BETTER NOT SCREW UP THE NEXT ONE! THINK DAMN IT! You are NOT showing the characters as they really are!
I give it a 1/10 and 1 just because Jack and Gibbs were there! And I would like to point out (again!) that the characters are NOT shown the way the are, but in some stupid way just because they wanted to ''show another side of the characters''. *facepalm* The characters are not like this! What the... I'm soo glad that I downloaded it instead of giving money to watch this piece of s***. Just a lame idea to get money.
In my opinion(in in everyone's with a right mind) 1 and 3 were the best. So if I had to rank them...
1- AWE
2- COTBP
3- DMC
4- ...the dead rat I found in the streets
5-.......
6-........
1204719423- Sadly, the 4th movie. ...I guess this position can be taken by a better one but...

Total money waste. DO NOT WATCH!
KateS writes:
on December 26th, 2013 at 10:00:50 AM

FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT SEEN IT: DON'T! It will ruin your idea of the other 3 movies! Its badly made, f*** terrible plot, they put that dumb actress to .... I really can't describe how dissapointed I am! If Disney is reading this- YOU BETTER NOT SCREW UP THE NEXT ONE! THINK DAMN IT! You are NOT showing the characters as they really are!
I give it a 1/10 and 1 just because Jack and Gibbs were there! And I would like to point out (again!) that the characters are NOT shown the way the are, but in some stupid way just because they wanted to ''show another side of the characters''. *facepalm* The characters are not like this! What the... I'm soo glad that I downloaded it instead of giving money to watch this piece of s***. Just a lame idea to get money.
In my opinion(in in everyone's with a right mind) 1 and 3 were the best. So if I had to rank them...
1- AWE
2- COTBP
3- DMC
4- ...the dead rat I found in the streets
5-.......
6-........
1204719423- Sadly, the 4th movie. ...I guess this position can be taken by a better one but...

Total money waste. DO NOT WATCH!
KateS writes:
on December 26th, 2013 at 10:20:51 AM

I tired to send my review 6 times but they warned to bann me. Overal, TERRIBLE! I hope they dont make the mistake twice!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved