WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise Cast in "Oblivion" Sci-Fi Film

Posted: May 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Cruise Cast in "Oblivion" Sci-Fi FilmSubmit Comment
"Tron Legacy" director Joseph Kosinksi was planning to direct his "Oblivion" sci-fi film with Disney, but the company felt it wasn't right for them. Kosinski took the $100 million project to Universal Pictures, which is funding the movie and has now attached Tom Cruise to star.

The story takes place in an apocalyptic future where most of the population lives in clouds above the earth's surface that has been rendered uninhabitable. Cruise will play a soldier who is stuck alone on the planet, repairing the drones that patrol and destroy a savage alien life form. He encounters a beautiful woman who crashes in a craft, and their experience together forces him to question his world view.

The plan is to begin filming in October and to aim for a PG-13 rating. The script was written by William Monahan (The Departed) and is being re-written by Karl Gajdusek ("Dead Like Me").

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 5:30:57 AM

damn I can't wait to see what role Xenu plays in this
prowler writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 7:36:18 AM

today, 100 million dollars for movie budget is not a big deal, unless is about some drama.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 8:00:04 AM

The story takes place in an apocalyptic future where most of the population lives in clouds above the earth's surface that has been rendered uninhabitable. Cruise will play a soldier who is stuck alone on the planet, repairing the drones that patrol and destroy a savage alien life form. He encounters a beautiful woman who crashes in a craft, and their experience together forces him to question his world view.



So basically they gave Tom Cruise the role of Lando Calrissian .... bet his pickup lines aren't any smoother than Billy Dee Williams in Mahogany and he sure as sh*t couldn't schill Colt 45.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 9:07:14 AM

Eh straight to dvd.
Crazyhorse writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 10:05:59 AM

$35 million of that probably goes to Cruise
secondbest writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 11:17:54 AM

Not too sure about this one. It's hard for me to believe Cruise can carry most of a movie on his own. He's not that talented.
Bonzaitri writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 11:22:38 AM

Its a live action WALL-E!! Sweeet
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 12:37:43 PM

Avatar meets Kurt Russell's 'Soldier'

Oblivion --- so, this is about Tom's career? Which is a shame what's happened to him, as I'm a fan.


Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 1:53:13 PM

I'm liking this. Kosinski is a decent director, the flaws on TRON: Legacy was more on the script than the direction. Tom Cruise is dependable, given the right roles. He pretty much carries War of the Worlds alone (f*cking Dakota) and that's an enjoyable flick. Dead Like Me was an awesome show, very interested in what that writer can bring.

So, bring me some Oblivion
trailertrash writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 2:57:49 PM

Ranger-

It's been more his off screen persona thats been his downfall the past couple of years i think, A Man can't jump on a sofa and shout his love for his woman and believe in scientology without being vilified for it.

Haven't seen Lions for Lambs (Redford is the man just never fancied this one) so other than that i have enjoyed his films since Far And Away.

I even liked last years Knight and Day very underrated but diaz was a pain in the ass the whole film though.

Agree with Freud on this one bring me some Oblivion
minkowski writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 3:36:30 PM

Cloud people? Well, better than floating mountains, I guess. Pffft.
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 8:52:00 PM

@tt - I agree. I still can't believe the mountains his religious beliefs and jumping on a couch have been made in to.
Eben1277 writes:
on May 21st, 2011 at 9:05:20 PM

Scientology is definitely weird, but the whole couch jumping thing should never have blown up like that.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 22nd, 2011 at 5:30:29 AM

Story sounds ok, a little too much like Wall-E to me, which I hated.
Akbar writes:
on May 22nd, 2011 at 9:01:16 AM

Who will play the woman?
minkowski writes:
on May 22nd, 2011 at 3:47:32 PM

Jake.
struck21 writes:
on May 23rd, 2011 at 11:11:54 AM

Hasn't Hollywood learned that attaching Tom Cruises name to anything means it will lose money? Only thing that makes money seems to me MI, which still confuses me. I won't see this just because Tom Cruise is in it, and I am guessing others feel the same.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved