WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Lars Von Trier Says He's a Nazi and Sympathizes with Hitler

Posted: May 19th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Lars Von Trier Says HeSubmit Comment
Danish director Lars von Trier (Dogville) grew up in a Communist family and is known for making anti-American comments, but during a press conference for "Melancholia" at the Cannes Film Festival, the helmer stated that he sympathizes with Hitler and speculated that his next movie may be "The Final Solution."

"Then I found out I was actually a Nazi. My family were German. And that also gave me some pleasure. What can I say? I understand Hitler... I sympathize with him a bit," said von Trier. "Now how can I get out of this sentence? Ok. I'm a Nazi."

He added: "We Nazis like to do things on a big scale. Maybe I could do 'The Final Solution.'"

Von Trier tried to clear up his statements by saying that he's not in favor of World War II and is not against Jews. He then went on to say: "Well, Israel is a pain in the ass." The helmer explained that he would never make such statements in the US, since it would mean the end of his career. But he's in France, so it's ok.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
teskens writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:15:52 PM

umm....ok?
minkowski writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:16:08 PM

Well, thank you for letting mer know you sympathize with Adolph Hitler, the man who sent millions of men, women and children to extermination, and all because he idiotically took cues from Russian anti-semitic pogroms.

I now know I will never watch anything you make, and no f*ckers, I am not Jewish just because of my moniker. Not even close. In fact, Italian-German.

Piece of sh*t. Someone needs to nuke those f*cking French fags and hang this guy by his balls.
Crazyhorse writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:19:09 PM

Wonder if the Anti Mel Gibson crowd will come out for this troll
shanesleeping writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:21:17 PM

he'll never get an oscar now what a knob head.
Crazyhorse writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:23:00 PM

mink

I would like to thank dumb A#@'s like him for sending the jews to America

You know the main inventors of the Atomic Bomb

Thanks

Lars Von Dumb A@#
boogiel writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:33:44 PM

You can expect Hollywood will never accept him again.
minkowski writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:38:56 PM

I'm glad they came to America. They've contributed much more than some other people that have been here for centuries.

As for the bomb, if the Jews hadn't left, if Hitler had used the them instead of killing them, he would have turned the Third Reich into the world's first nuclear power, and then it would've been game over, man, game over.
velocityknown writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:40:06 PM

Instead of writing a lot of reasons why I dislike his films I'll just say that his movies gave me plenty of reasons to dislike him before this.

But now I have a reason to hate him.
Crazyhorse writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:42:02 PM

Oh and Mink

LOL on the earlier Schwarzenegger response
minkowski writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:44:40 PM

Thanks, CH.

Wonder how lars would feel if I starved, raped, gassed and then incinerated his mother because I thought she was a 'Jew'.

And yes, ranger, I know that's just first-base for you.
Crazyhorse writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:54:41 PM

mink

lol

slow down with the comedy I just spewed my drink all over the place
secondbest writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:55:04 PM

"Then I found out I was actually a Nazi. My family were German." Is he saying because his family were Nazis they were German or that since they were German, then they were Nazis? Because either way, that doesn't make sense.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 9:57:47 PM

the guys was obviously joking about being a nazi, but what the hell did he mean he sympathized with Hitler? on what, genocide? racism? tea?
velocityknown writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 10:04:08 PM

"I sympathize with Hitler...I too would like to kill myself for my failures in life."
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 10:04:55 PM

@mink - re: 1st base... lol.

So being German automatically makes one a 'Nazi'?

Wow. I thought you had to be a member of the Nazi Party (and man... did they know how to party... like Jake's *sshole and his dad) to be a Nazi.

This toad is an embarrassment to the memory of the 3rd. (1000 year reign... snicker) Reich.
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 10:06:02 PM

@encore - and no one jokes about being a Nazi (unless I'm in a Synagogue).
bandolero999 writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 10:07:03 PM

well if he has some balls he should go to the minority groups in the US and preach his Nazi believes along with MR. Neo Nazi Jesse James (exhusband of Sandra Bullock) and Mark Wahlberg. see how long he gets the sh*t kicked out of him.
triggax writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 10:26:55 PM

.....sh*tty director anyway.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 10:33:08 PM

If this guy thinks the Hwood Jews can't reach out and crush his career in Europe, he's really as dumb as he sounds. His movies suck anyways. At least he got this out of the way now instead of building a career of the backs of the Jews and then spit in their faces like Mel Gibson.

There you go Crazyhorse. I'm not the president of the Anti Mel Gibson Club, but I am a client :)
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 10:33:26 PM

I'll bet marshmallows with the brand name: 'Jews!' would sell like wild fire.
Dirt writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 10:51:21 PM

Hahaha! Wahlberg isn't a Nazi you d*ckhead.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 10:52:59 PM

Jesus what a simpleton!
beepboop writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 11:35:14 PM

But guys, he's in france, so it's ok.
zyrkon writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 11:42:50 PM

Lol he's just a troll and he got you all. Well done Lars, well done
Eben1277 writes:
on May 18th, 2011 at 11:48:17 PM

Someone get freudian nightmare to comment please

The actual headline should have been: Lars von Trier is an idiot.
technoreaper writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 12:00:32 AM

Oh brother!
velocityknown writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 12:23:28 AM

Video of the incident here:

http://artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/05/18/directors-nazi-comments-reverberate-at-cannes/?partner=rss&emc=rss

Love the looks of awkwardness of Dunst's face. And I usually hate the looks on Dunst's face.

Clearly, he was joking about some things, but probably serious about others. And overall, still an idiot.
Raider writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 12:43:28 AM

Sounds like Mrs Von Trier missed her Nap Time Wouldn't you guys agree?
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 1:17:33 AM

This is really f*cked up. My grandfather was killed in auschwitz.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 1:19:22 AM

Yeah, the poor bastard fell off the guard tower.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 1:29:10 AM

I think this guy went to the Borat school for comedy and had left too long a pause before saying..

"NOT!"
LEONCIO writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 1:48:10 AM

"But he's in France, so it's ok."

If I remember well, France doesn't like nazis very much. I'm from Spain, we already had our own fascist dictator back then, but I guess french people have bad memories from when they were invaded by germans, so I doubt it's ok for them, even if he is joking (because I guess he'll say he wasn't serious before he is told to gtfo of France).
Rambo writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 2:17:09 AM

oh Lars,haven't you learned anything?you do not f*ck with the jews!!!look what happened to Mel Gibson...your ass is on the line now,say goodbye to your career.
Barney Stinson writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 2:34:06 AM

The expected apology:

"In connection to the Melancholia conference this morning, Lars von Trier has the following statement:

“If I have hurt someone this morning by the words I said at the press conference, I sincerely apologize. I am not antisemitic or racially prejudiced in any way, nor am I a nazi.” - Lars von Trier."
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 3:01:36 AM

I warned you about this. He's a f*cking Danish! That country only breeds evil and stupidity. You only thought I was joking about my hatred, but no, it was the real deal. Now, can we get started with the melting of the polar circles and wipe Danmark out?
corleone82 writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 3:10:22 AM

haha, being danish I have to disagree with that last comment.... it's not all evil and stupidity. Lars Von Trier is extremely talented as a director(made som sh*t to) and retarted when it comes to statements and interview, but come on.. seriously.. If he really did sympathized with Hitler, even HE would not be dumb enough to say it... He has made a movie which isn't controvercial, and therefore he thinks he has to be... Im not defending him, I had familiy in a KZ camp to, but its still a publicity stunt - because thats just what he does
The Derp Knight writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 3:25:03 AM

this is pretty f*cked up. To say you side with hitler is basically say you side with tyra banks.
polardeficit writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 3:46:21 AM

hey crazyhorse the jews didnt invent the atomic bomb. first off albert einstein invented the technology behind it and it was later taken out of his control and used for the a-bomb. second, last time i checked albert einstein is not the entire jewish people just. thats like me saying the catholics invented molesting innocent children....oh wait....
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 4:31:21 AM

I never take any notice of a man who looks like he would have a lot of fun in a school playground at break time playing sit on my lap, grab the gear stick and ride the slide over and over...
Adamtheflash writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 4:54:59 AM

Now that Osama's dead we should send some SEALS in to snipe this pile of steaming terd
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 5:10:29 AM

@tt - you wouldn't, but Jake wood!
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 5:26:28 AM

lol

This guy could be Jakes dad, He's c*ntish enough to be !!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 5:36:27 AM

Adam- That's ridiculous, Seals can't hold guns. They don't even have thumbs!
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 6:45:22 AM

So the jews in hollywood blacklist jim caviezel for playing jesus in a movie, but this guy says hes a nazi and wont be bothered because hes in france??
moileduge writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 7:10:04 AM

OMG, he's so controvershul! Bad director is horrible.
Mr.Movie writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 8:11:48 AM

"But he's in France, so it's ok."

Wait, what?
Every newspapers or TV news in France are talking about this! We are as shocked as the rest of the world (except Nicaragua, they don't give a sh*t.)

And Lars Von Trier was (slightly) condemned for his bullsh*ts by Cannes Festival's board today.

Well, ok... Maybe that's not enough.

"Piece of sh*t. Someone needs to nuke those f*cking French fags and hang this guy by his balls."

Wait, what? What did we do again?!
Sebastian writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 8:20:42 AM

What tha f....????
swoooop writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 9:33:01 AM

I saw this intervju, or press conference. He f*cked up, thats it. And he realiced it himself, but the hole was then to deep, and he never managed to get out of it. He is no Nazi, just an idiot.
YoungChris writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 11:59:11 AM

what ever
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 1:58:19 PM

"hey crazyhorse the jews didnt invent the atomic bomb. first off albert einstein invented the technology behind it and it was later taken out of his control and used for the a-bomb. second, last time i checked albert einstein is not the entire jewish people just. thats like me saying the catholics invented molesting innocent children....oh wait...."

This is, without a doubt, the dumbest statement I have ever read on here.
President Baltar writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 2:35:26 PM

Some people are reading way too much into what he's saying.

Lars is not exactly the most social of directors, and what he said probably sounded funnier in his own head.
He's most likely talking about Hitler's failure at becoming a professional painter or something.
He doesn't mention Jews at all, and the Nazis did other things than exterminate them, although most of them are equally despicable.

Also, isn't one of the dogmas of Christianity, to sympathize with your enemies?
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 4:03:35 PM

Well, he does mention the Final Solution, and he does admitting not liking Israel, so the very least we can gather is that he's no fan of the Jews.
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 4:15:39 PM

lol. Yeah, this guy, man I knew nothing about him until now, but he's f*cked up, very f*cked up.

Raised in a family of nudist commies, and born a bastard through his mother's affair with another man, he grew up "doing what he wanted". lol, well lars, you're the kind of pointless person you get when your parents are morons and you aren't disciplined.

http://www.signandsight.com/features/465.html

And the guy is has like ten phobias. lol. Guy really thinks he's incredibly 'deep' when he's just nihilistically nuts. And useless.

"Well, Israel is a pain in the ass."

Yeah, those damned Jews just won't lay down and die. they get attacked, provoked into a war and they win it, but they then have to spend fifty years fighting to keep the land they won in the war they won, but hey, they're the problem, not the f*cking anti-semitic nutjob muslims. lol. Only in this guy's waste of a mind.
Wallace writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 4:32:13 PM

So he basically says that German people who grew up or lived during the Nazism time are Nazis and so are their children.
Wow, this is the most ignorant and contra factual statement I've heard in a while.

What an idiot.
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 5:31:47 PM

He was talking about his 'real' father, who's German, so I guess Lars is saying that also makes him German, and, as you mentioned, he's saying Germans are Nazi's byextension, and so he's made jokes or whatever in the past, alluding to this fact, so it's probably what other people said above, just his way of saying stupid sh*t he thinks is somehow funny even though it's really not.

Lars: just make movies, dude, and stop talking. Thanks.
Rambo writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 5:35:23 PM

hey lars,have you ever heard about 'the samson option'?I think Israel just added your country to it's black list.
secondbest writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 5:59:22 PM

Von Trier is now banned. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-13457328
Way to go, Lars.
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 6:17:42 PM

Just got canned by Cannes:

http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/43090358/ns/today-entertainment/

Idiot.
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2011 at 8:36:33 PM

Wait for the Mossad to get a hold of his sorry ass.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved