WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Thor" and "Bridesmaids" Top Domestic Box Office

Posted: May 15th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Thor" and "Bridesmaids" Top Domestic Box OfficeSubmit Comment
Marvel's "Thor" remained in first place at the domestic box office for its second weekend, grossing around $34 million for a worldwide total of $317 million. The film cost $150 million to make.

The R-rated comedy "Bridesmaids" grossed well more than expected by taking in $24.6 million and landing in second place. The comedy grossed $32 million, which means that it will make its budget back by next weekend.

The $60 million "Priest," meanwhile, settled for fourth place with just $14.6 million, which is still more than predicted. Overseas, the film is doing a bit better, having already grossed $25.6 million in ten days.

On the specialty side, Will Ferrell's $5 million opened in 218 theaters and grossed $740,000. That's $3,394 per theater, which may not be enough to expand. "Hesher," which stars Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Natalie Portman, opened in 40 theaters and took in 127,000 on a $7 million budget. The $3,175 may also not be high enough to get a wide release.

Click here to read our "Thor" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nawtnt writes:
on May 15th, 2011 at 2:48:21 PM

Great new, Thor was the best comic book movie of the summer so yet.

Maybe they can release Red Dawn and The Cabin In The Woods.
anaheimducks writes:
on May 15th, 2011 at 3:59:25 PM

Glad thor is still doing good and I just saw bridesmaids lastnight I didn't really want to see it but I'm glad I did it was really funny I laughed so hard the theater was packed and everybody couldn't stop laughing.
rocketman writes:
on May 15th, 2011 at 4:04:12 PM

So they making THOR 2 or what?
encoreyourface writes:
on May 15th, 2011 at 4:56:17 PM

Thor was awesome, it deserves it. it totally exceeded my expectations.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 15th, 2011 at 5:32:56 PM

Somehow I must've seen another film, because I hated Thor and don't see where all the love it receive comes from.
The Derp Knight writes:
on May 15th, 2011 at 6:51:41 PM

Thor was awesome. Bring on the second.

And I also really want to blow a load onto Natalie Portman's teeth.
Atemisk writes:
on May 15th, 2011 at 6:52:21 PM

Well despite the fact that Bridesmaids was a terrible movie, I figured it would make money. Still need to see Thor though
Ranger writes:
on May 16th, 2011 at 1:39:27 AM

@anaheim - that's usually just a gas leak in the building.

@derp - lol.
thomas deadison writes:
on May 16th, 2011 at 2:10:30 AM

@Atemisk

Did you see Bridesmaids, or are just making an assumption? I haven't heard a negative thing about it...
Ranger writes:
on May 16th, 2011 at 2:49:42 AM

The heavier girl was on a talk show this week, and they showed a segment of Bridesmaids where she was on the plane cornering a guy coming out of the crapper. It was pretty funny.
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2011 at 3:03:12 AM

The heavier girl ....

Thats very polite of you ranger , I'm sure she would appreciate that as much as a free big mac meal
telur writes:
on May 16th, 2011 at 3:46:09 AM

The R-rated comedy "Bridesmaids"?

and The Dark Knight is only PG-13?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 16th, 2011 at 4:08:58 AM

At least the good news is that "Thor" is still number 1.

Guess we are going to be seeing a sequel to "Bridesmaids" then just like "The Hangover"
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2011 at 8:37:18 AM

Just saw Thor this weekend and was pretty entertained. Its not a bad movie at all, but after all the hype it seemed to fall a little short of greatness. If I would have seen it before Fast Five I probably would have been more into it, but as far as action entertainment goes Fast Five blows Thor away. I will say this, I was completely impressed by the comic relief in BOTH films. Finally it seems that some directors are catching on how to do it right without it distracting from the general action and tough edge of the film. I laughed through both and was never put off or mentally insulted as much as I was with films like Transformers or Iron Man 2. This is a big step in the right direction for film and makes Thor and Fast Five well worth the price of admission.
Ranger writes:
on May 16th, 2011 at 12:21:34 PM

@tt - or a tub of ice cream.

@telur - good point.

@SAC - good review. I won't see Fast 5. And the comedic relief I'm hearing about Thor is (clearly) to get those un-initiated with the character into the theater. Not to confuse comedic with the comic-booky way some of the earlier Batman's were done, or Reeve's Superman's 3+4... but were they to portray Thor accurately (still with his arrogance intact) should be a very serious story. I won't judge until I see it myself. Maybe it works as well as you say. But Hollywood is treading a fine line making stuff '66's Batman campy to the serious side of The Dark Knight (which I prefer). If they lean towards the campy stuff... they'll end up being taken as seriously as comic books were decades ago.
Eben1277 writes:
on May 16th, 2011 at 12:35:11 PM

Ranger, a lot of the comic relief in Thor was involving his level of arrogance and how out of touch he was with modern day Earth culture. It was very well done and enhanced the story rather than detracting from it.
Eben1277 writes:
on May 16th, 2011 at 12:37:46 PM

I actually think Thor might be my favorite comic book movie ever, with only possible other contenders being Batman Begins, the 1989 Batman or the first Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle (hey I'm in my early 30's so do the math... ahh sweet nostalgia)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved