WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Original "Election" Ending Mysteriously Appears Online

Posted: May 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Original "Election" Ending Mysteriously Appears OnlineSubmit Comment
It turns out that when director Alexander Payne was making "Election" back in 1999, he swapped out the original ending for something completely different.

We all know that Mr. McAllister (Matthew Broderick) went on to work in New York and never got a chance to speak to Tracy (Reese Witherspoon), despite seeing her in Washington DC. But the original ending is the exact opposite.

It shows Mr. McAllister working at a car dealership where he runs into Tracy. The two talk about what happened and Tracy forgives him.

The scene is not on any DVD. It was actually found on an unlabeled VHS tape at a local flea market and labeled "Working Print." Watch the original ending below and let us know whether you prefer this one or the theatrical version better.

Original Ending:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Source: YouTube


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 6:18:52 AM

Not bad, prefer the other one, but if they ebded the movie with this one it would have been ok too.
Liesmith writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 6:30:46 AM

AM/FM cassette?! HELLS YEAH.
applesoranges writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 7:58:58 AM

i like the one they used. it's a bit more darker which is consistent with the tone of the entire movie. this one is too soft. great seeing a bit more of broderick who seems to have disappeared these days. totally under used talent who deserved a much better career.
technoreaper writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 9:29:19 AM

Wow, stupid ending...

Oh yeah, there's no way he wouldn't have been in prison if there was a lawsuit. The original movie gave the impression that the whole thing had been covered up.
Bob82 writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 9:51:58 AM

This a real gem, thanks WP for posting it! I do prefer the original one, it's goes along with the tone of the movie and also with the rhythm. I think this would've dragged the conclusion too much. Just like what happened with the alternate ending of 'Die Hard with a Vengeance', it was fun to watch, but the original fits better. I loved 'Election' when I saw it 10 years ago, it was a really entertaining movie with great performances, and even now and then when I ran into it on cable, I watch a few scenes.
otis writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 1:54:28 PM

I'm surprised this wasn't mentioned in any commentary of the original film. I agree with applesoranges- the original ending ended in a darker place that fit with the twisted humor. This one was too passive and I didn't necessarily think the intentions of Tracy were genuinely motivated.

Thanks for the post Alex!
mustardayonnaise writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 2:32:11 PM

broderick's a lefty. (assuming that's his hand in the insert shot) cool.
minkowski writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 3:09:35 PM

Never saw the film, never will.

"Oh yeah, there's no way he wouldn't have been in prison if there was a lawsuit."

Depends on if the case was criminal or tort.
xtlhogciao writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 7:15:18 PM

His actions didn't really call for jail time.
technoreaper writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 8:47:13 PM

He was a teacher and slept with Tracy. I'm not sure if she was 18 or not, but it doesn't matter; you will go to jail. If he could have been sued, then it was criminal to begin with.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 9:23:29 PM

correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't recall broderick's character sleeping with tracy flick. he just falsified the student election results... i dunno, i'm getting old and my brain is getting all smooth so maybe i'm senile...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved