WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Straw Dogs" Remake Gets a Trailer

Posted: May 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Straw Dogs" Remake Gets a TrailerSubmit Comment
Today we have the trailer for the upcoming "Straw Dogs" thriller, starring James Marsden, Kate Bosworth and Alexander Skarsgard. Check it out below.

Plot: David and Amy Sumner (Marsden, Bosworth), a Hollywood screenwriter and his actress wife, return to her small hometown in the deep South to prepare the family home for sale after her father's death. Once there, tensions build in their marriage and old conflicts re-emerge with the locals, including Amy's ex-boyfriend Charlie (Skarsgard), leading to a violent confrontation.

The new movie is written and directed by Rod Lurie (Resurrecting the Champ) and is set to hit theaters on September 16th.

Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read more about "Straw Dogs."

Source: Yahoo! Movies


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 7:03:27 PM

Haven't seen the original but I bet you it was ten times better and I believe it was from the director of the getaway,wild bunch.Sam pekinpah

Resurecting the champ was a snooze fest Sam Jacksons worst movie with Josh harnett FAIL
c-prime writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 7:20:56 PM

@ bandolero: Yes, you are correct. I have not seen the original, either. A film course I took in college had initially planned to screen it for me and my classmates one day, but at the last minute, the teacher changed his mind and opted we watch "Week End" by Jean-Luc Godard instead. (f*ck my life.)

Methinks...no, scratch that, me KNOWS this film won't scratch the surface of the probable excellence that the Dustin Hoffman flick achieved. It is a Screen Gems release, after all. Still, I imagine this retread's take on vigilanteism will furnish, at the very least, a moderately refreshing sense of catharsis ( la "Taken" or the first 90 minutes of "Law Abiding Citizen"). Could be worth a rental, maybe.
Johnnyb writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 9:15:37 PM

I like it this one..... But then again no remake can compete with the classics!!!!!
pomme writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 9:19:42 PM

i saw the original(it's a very disturbing visceral movie) so it 's all what won't be this cheap remake
John1017 writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 9:21:52 PM

The original was scary because it was slow and tense, this one looks to fast and furious, I don't remember everything from the original but I remember the rape scene and how she actually enjoyed it, and Hoffman being amazing and Susan George extremely sexy.
Kurskij writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 10:08:29 PM

Some shots look frame-for-frame taken from the original.

And Marsden looks surprisingly good filling Hoffmans shoes.

The only problem is: there was only one Sam Peckinpah.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 1:50:53 AM

I have seen the original and yes it is way better than this will ever be.

The social commentary on the original is top notch, the woman in it gets raped twice once by the ex-boyfriend then up the arse by one of the friends while the bf holds her down.

People hated it beacuse of the fact she did not put up much resistance at first then liked it in the end...both ways..it was as if she was missing the roughness she used to have.
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 2:48:42 AM

Kurskij

"The only problem is: there was only one Sam Peckinpah"

Well said good sir

trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 2:51:41 AM

ahhhhh Susan George
JohnZee writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 3:19:09 AM

Been scrambling to get a copy of the original movie for a while now, but so far I haven't been successful. As it is the rare exception to my collection of Peckinpah movies. But at least it probably isn't as rare as the Jerry Lewis classic "The Day the Clown Cried".

Oh yeah remaking a Peckinpah movie, especially that one is like pouring Mountain Dew into a half full glass of twenty-one year old single malt scotch.

When Quentin Tarantino takes a break from all the nose candy and manages to get more than a half-a-second of sleep, he dreams he had a tenth of Peckinpah's directing ability and cojones.
Benji writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 6:53:03 AM

Why...I wanted to rant against...but why?
Kurskij writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 11:56:55 AM

thx, tt!
arkflash writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 1:45:44 PM

1971 was a highly controversal year for cinema with Peckinpah's Straw Dogs and Kubrick's A Clockwork Orange (PLEASE DO NOT EVER THINK ABOUT REMAKING ACO), both noted for their glorified ultra-violence and rape scenes. Back to Straw, this remake might get some attention esp as Bosworth is going to be violated. But no one can touch Hoffman performance as David Sumner the geek wearing glasses who's pushed to the edge in a fight for his life. Watch the original if you can find a copy.
minkowski writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 3:17:50 PM

Jesus, if you must see Straw Dgos and you cannot find a legitimate copy, then just download it. What I did.

The original is fine, I guess, typical of that era's slower, more expositional filmmaking, like it had to be controversial to prove its worth and make itself known.

The rape scene is pretty tame by today's standards, and you almost get the idea she was somewhat confused on the issue of having sex with the man. I also thought that this film alone set the stage for typecasting Hoffman as the soft, emasculated, passive-aggressive man he seemed to play for the next two decades.

All in all, the film is something noteworthy to see, I suppose, but most people think that they have to watch it because it contains an important hallmark in graphic cinema, so they watch it expecting a shot from Cannibal Apocalypse, when what they get is more like modern soft core porn surrounded by slow, but steady, rising action centered on a man who doesn't seem to think he can do much but take abuse, until he breaks.

It's an ok film, I guess, but don't expect anything jaw-dropping.
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 5:12:09 PM

The film was banned here for years because of that scene Mink.

The reason was they felt Sam Peckinpah gave the impression she kind of enjoyed the whole rape ordeal, Which is something he always denied.

We got a cut version in the mid 90's and the full uncut version came out in the early 2000's all pretty tame now really.

Good point on Hoffman as well , Just watched the Marathan Man again the other night good film and proves you point along with most of his films he made in the late 70's and 80's.
Chewbacca writes:
on May 15th, 2011 at 4:12:19 AM

I'll wait for cable in a year.
arkflash writes:
on May 15th, 2011 at 9:24:03 AM

Mommy, what are those men doing to Lois Lane?
That's one way to shed that Metropolis image.
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on May 15th, 2011 at 2:24:00 PM

I saw the original at our local video store. I was going to rent it, but my lady and I rented the British film "Brief Encounter" instead.

Hoffman's "Straw Dogs" is definitely on my must-see list.
bill the butcher writes:
on May 17th, 2011 at 1:34:09 PM

1 minute 45 seconds

one of the all time great movie bad guys

James Woods

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved