WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Scorsese Confirmed to Remake "Taxi Driver"

Posted: May 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin Scorsese Confirmed to Remake "Taxi Driver"Submit Comment
About a year ago, it was revealed that director Lars Von Trier (Dogville, Antichrist) approached Martin Scorsese to make another version of his 2003 film "The Five Obstructions."

"Obstructions" was a challenge that Von Trier proposed to his colleague Jorgen Leth, which was to do a remake of his own 1967 film "The Perfect Human." The task was to remake the film five times, each time with a different obstacle, such as making it animated.

Von Trier proposed a similar challenge to Scorsese, asking him to remake his 1976 classic "Taxi Driver." At the time we weren't sure if there was any truth to this, but now comes word from ScreenDaily that Von Trier and Scorsese are "officially confirmed" to work together on the project.

According to Robert De Niro's previous comments, it is believed that one of the obstacles would be to tell the same story but from a point of view of a much older Travis Bickle (De Niro).

"The idea behind this obstructions thing is that you give each other tasks which will move you into an area where you have been reluctant to go yourself," Von Trier told ScreenDaily. "Under protest, you do that and then you enlarge your repertoire."

Source: ScreenDaily


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 7:37:03 PM

Old Age makes people do some stupid sh*t

How bout another gangster movie with Pesci,keitel,Liotta,pacino and Bobby.

They don't have much time left on this earth,especially Bobby since he's making movies with Fifty Cent and Bradley Cooper he's reaching the end
anaheimducks writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 8:13:14 PM

Never seen taxi driver does anybody recommend it.
DexterMorgan writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 8:35:39 PM

@anaheimducks yes i recommend it.its a very good movie and once an hour in it starts to kick ass
bandolero999 writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 8:44:35 PM

Yes one of Bobbys best movies
pomme writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 9:13:56 PM

blasphem
technoreaper writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 9:34:38 PM

Why????
Ranger writes:
on May 13th, 2011 at 10:21:58 PM

I know this has been covered, but...

WHY?!
Rambo writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 12:05:59 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1vP-bONWw38
Aingx writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 12:33:33 AM

NOOOOOO!!!!!!

You money-grubbing BASTARDS!!!
How dare you remake a classic such as this.
I hope you all die of STDS of the anus...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 1:40:14 AM

Might be good.

NOT!!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 3:05:16 AM

It's not really a suprise is it ....*(shaking head here)
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 3:25:48 AM

Next it will be Taters will be playing Travis Bickle
Ranger writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 5:04:37 AM

... with Rosie O'Donnell playing the taxi.
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 5:18:46 AM

She'd be a Coach ...

Doesn't have the same ring does it...
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 5:20:05 AM

Speaking of Rings, Rosie O'Donnell's could double for the entrance to the Lincoln Tunnel if need be...
beepboop writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 6:41:47 AM

Why is Lars Von Trier giving people challenges? How bout a challange for Lars Von Trier? Make a movie people actually want to see.
Benji writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 7:03:38 AM

Have any of you actually seen the original or the five obstructions that Von Trier proposed? I was aghast at this headline but after reading and seeing what was proposed...bring it on!!! A classic of American Cinema re-envisioned by the original director challenged by an incredible director that some people actually like watching his movies... please do this I will be one of the five people who watch it!!!
Kill-the-director writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 7:51:31 AM

WTF?!?!
rocketman writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 8:11:58 AM

Erm...interesting to see what comes of it i suppose? I think it could work with an older Travis,don't see why not.
rocketman writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 8:36:16 AM

@TT it's a brave man who ventures up Rosie's marmite motorway.
minkowski writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 3:31:50 PM

Sounds fine to me. Besides, the original film is one of those movies that people claim to really like because it's a 'hallmark film', and liking it seems to make the liker a cinemaphile, when in reality, if the film didn't possess such a high standing, they'd gladly and openly admit that they didn't care it at all.

It's like morons saying, yeah, Citizen Kane is a great film, or the Godfather, but if the films were to appear today on screen instead when they atually did, these same people would fastidiously avoid them in favor of some other film, like Fast Five or Source Code or some other modern sh*t.

Give me a break. I will gladly say that Gone with the Wind, Citizen Kane and Taxi Driver are not my kind of films. I won't watch them for leisure or for casual enjoyment. Sure, you can watch them as an academic exercise, but if you think that by viewing them that makes you some sort of elevated cinemaphile, you're a pretentious twat.

And all these 'no's' are just making me laugh. Give me a f*cking break. You people act like they're going to dynamite the Louvre. Grow the f*ck up.
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 5:20:06 PM

You can dynamite the Louvre Mink , Just don't remake Taxi Driver, lol

Rocket -

A brave (stupid) man indeed or a horny dyke ..

An older Travis is a interesting idea, Maybe get Bobby back on board for that, See whats happenend to Travis 35 years on.
minkowski writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 5:32:55 PM

You wouldn't say that if the Louvre was in the UK, trailer. You just hate the French. Admit it.
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 5:55:09 PM

HaHa

Us Brit hate the French , now why would we ;-)
LEONCIO writes:
on May 14th, 2011 at 7:03:21 PM

Yep, if Taxi Driver was made these days and I wanted to watch a film about a guy driving a car, I would rather watch Fast Five... WTF???XD

I've read your previous comments saying you liked how Justin Lin directed F5, and I would agree it's an entertaining movie, but it's really really far of being half as good as TD.

Or maybe I'm just a pretentious twat (I'll admit I like The Godfather and Citizen Kane XD).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved