WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Welling to Play Marvel Superhero?

Posted: May 11th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Welling to Play Marvel Superhero?Submit Comment
Tom Welling just finished playing Clark Kent/Superman on "Smallville," based on the popular DC Comic's property. And now comes word that the actor has been approached by Marvel to play another superhero.

It's not clear which film Welling is wanted for since the studio has plenty in development, including "Deathlok," "Runaways" and "Doctor Strange."

Welling previously tested for "Superman Returns," losing the role to Brandon Routh. He was also considered for the male lead in "Snow White and the Huntsman." The role eventually went to "Thor" star Chris Hemsworth.

And just recently, "Smallville" writer/producer Alfred Gough has expressed interested in re-teaming with Welling for the "Allan Quatermain" reboot. Sam Worthington was previously in talks.

Question: Which Marvel character would Tom Welling be perfect to play?

Source: What's Playing


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Mudders writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 7:18:58 AM

noh-varr??
Mudders writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 7:20:24 AM

or ant man
LeeMaca writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 7:56:32 AM

it could be superman, i'm sure i read that the justice league movie would recast supes and batman

was it here i read that Alex?
DragonsFury writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 8:32:21 AM

Nah, it wouldn't be Superman cause they said it was a Marvel character. Unless they were doing some kind of cross over with DC and Marvel, which I could see working if done right.
LeeMaca writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 8:38:12 AM

lol yup just caught on .....my bad
Sinestro writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 8:52:41 AM

lol, obvious answer is The Sentry.
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 9:08:32 AM

Reboot/Sam Worthington that words come together f*ck the c*nt Worthington no more roles for you *sshole f*ck you!
boogiel writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 9:24:25 AM

Marvel character for tom Welling? None. What a complete BULLsh*t.
zyban03 writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 9:24:38 AM

I can't see him playing any of those characters especially Dr. Strange. He would have been better off cast as somebody in X-men First Class.
But I also have the same issue with him as I do with the Green Lantern, and Capt. America. I don't like the cross over characters. Deadpool gets a cool green ring, Firecrotch goes to WWII, and Superboy becomes a magician with a cape and goatee.
SaulSilver writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 10:40:46 AM

Balder in Thor 2.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 10:54:48 AM

More like a girl superhero he looks like another Bradley Cooper or ryan phillippe
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 12:02:41 PM

PrettyBoyy.
Hisenberg writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 12:21:57 PM

the guys a tv actor at best....anybody ever see the remake of the fog??
minkowski writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 12:47:17 PM

^^Yes, I did, bad film, but Tom Welling wasn't the worst part, the entire film stunk, not that the original was a cinematic breadwinner or anything.

Can't believe anyone would care what Welling is doing. The guy played some gay version of Superman. On television. Sure, Jake might have a Smallville poster above his bed for those night-time visitations from Mr. Winky, but grown men shouldn't give a damn what Welling does or where he goes or what films he ruins.
Ranger writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 1:01:38 PM

'Jake might have...'

Might have?

MIGHT HAVE?!
GIST writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 1:59:52 PM

I can see him playing Black Panther.
rocketman writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 2:37:20 PM

Boring Man? Captain Bland? The Masked Twat?
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 3:19:49 PM

I think he's a good actor. After seeing his performance as evil Calark in a few episodes of "Smallville", I think Dr. Doom would be in his range. Matthew Morrison is a favorite for Mr. Fantastic, therefore, we have two actors the same age as each other, like Reed and Vic during their early careers in their work.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 3:21:23 PM

@ SoulSilver

Hey, that might work to. I was doing a huge Marvel Universe fan cast, and I had Tom cast as Balder the Brave.
minkowski writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 4:31:38 PM

The Masked Twat. lol.
triggax writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 6:17:26 PM

I could see him play a convincing wonder woman .. I've watched smallville once. It was terribly gay. This guys a taller version of zac efron.. I could give a sh*t what role he should play.
G Lantern writes:
on May 11th, 2011 at 8:24:15 PM

@ RoadDogXVIII

I could see welling being Doctor Doom in the F4 reboot. Welling as Clark Luthor was so much like Julians Doom in the last run. He would be perfect for that, but i'd much rather see him as superman in the Justice League movie/s
telur writes:
on May 12th, 2011 at 12:39:40 AM

HULK... they always replacing the actor

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved