WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Justin Lin on "Highlander" Remake

Posted: May 10th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Justin Lin on "Highlander" RemakeSubmit Comment
Back in September of 2009, "Fast Five" director Justin Lin was in talks to direct the remake of "Highlander." MTV has now caught up with the helmer to get an update.

"I've been working with ['Iron Man' writers Art Marcum and Matt Holloway] on the script," he said. "That's one where Summit has been really good [about letting it develop], and for me, it's about making sure that we can take it to the place where I feel comfortable and great about making it. I feel like I have a very good studio and team and we're working on it."

"Highlander" is just one of many projects Lin is developing, including "Terminator 5" and "Fast Five" sequel. "I have different projects at different stages," he continued. "You work on so many projects all at once, and at some point, you have to make the call. I feel like right now, 'Highlander' is in pretty good shape, but I still have to see all the other things come together for us to go make it."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 5:40:35 AM

Damn is there any remake or sequel lin's name is not attatched to at the minute ..
trailertrash writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 5:41:57 AM

Plus this is just a bad idea, leave it well alone !!
nawtnt writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 8:59:58 AM

I hope Justin Lin doesn't destory Highlander remake and Terminator 5.
kevcampbell writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 11:32:46 AM

so terminator 5 and now a highlander remake, i guess this will be a case of career suicide or something that will put him up there with the other great directors, not sure what to place my bets on yet
minkowski writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 11:43:11 AM

The guy has potential. I saw that in Fast Five. He knows how to use a camera to convey action properly. So give the guy a chance, not like the original Highlander was anything but sub-par camp cult fodder.
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 12:09:06 PM

I wish this article had said, "Justin Long to star in Highlander remake."
nawtnt writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 12:13:14 PM

Now that Justin Lin is directing the Higlander remake and Terminator 5, he should be given a chance but I hope he doesn't destory both films.

Fast Five is a hightest grossing film and it is getting critical praise but my best choices to direct Terminator 5 would be Ridley Scott or John Hyams who directed Universal Soldier Regerenation.

Universal Soldier Regerenation is the best DTV movie ever made, the story was fine and the fight scenes were awesome.
nawtnt writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 12:13:44 PM

Now that Justin Lin is directing the Higlander remake and Terminator 5, he should be given a chance but I hope he doesn't destory both films.

Fast Five is a hightest grossing film and it is getting critical praise but my best choices to direct Terminator 5 would be Ridley Scott or John Hyams who directed Universal Soldier Regerenation.

Universal Soldier Regerenation is the best DTV movie ever made, the story was fine and the fight scenes were awesome.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 1:18:26 PM

How hard is it really? The story is already there you douchbags... Enough with the remakes already!
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 1:47:45 PM

Sorry mink... I don't think the original needs a re-make. And 'sub-par camp cult fodder' is exactly what the first one was, and part of it's charm (along with the cast... and music by Queen).

Let this guy go make re-makes of the sh*t he already has on his plate. Terminator is long since dead. Fast 5... really?! lol.

Yeah, Chris, Sean and Queen did the first one right. No need to go down that path again.
minkowski writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 2:26:57 PM

Didn't care the original, really, though it's the best of the series which is certainly saying not a whole lot.

Clancy Brown as Kurgen, well that was just over the top, and I didn't really buy into him as an authentic threat to Lambert. It was like Bill Paxton's Terminator gang character taking on Biehn's Reese.

Sean Connery added much needed charm and class, and the music was spot on but only because that's how we remember it, not because Freddie and Co brought anything especially irreplacable to the soundtrack.

Fact is, reboots and remakes are here to stay, at least for a good while. Easier to retread an old film for new audiences than gamble on something new and fresh, if that's even possible, and getting Justin Lin, who's somewhat how right now, makes some sense.

Some other points: you people complained like hell over the Conan remake, even though the Arnie film isn't exactly Oscar material, and now I hear the rumblings of acceptance for the remake. By the time it appears in theaters, at least half the moron bitchers will be singing the film's praise.

Another thing, you don't have to watch it. It's not like Skynet. The remake isn't going to go back in time to kill the original.

Also, remakes and reboots work in every other creative endeavor from stage plays to opera to music. Demanding films not be remade is just silly. Where would Shakespeare be if they had stopped making his works into plays after the original Globe Theater was destroyed?

Now, I know what you're going to say: too many remakes. Well, there isn't much left new to do, to be honest. A million films are out right now, and I think if there was anything left fresh and new and seminal, it would've been made, but apparently not, and apparently the studios are making more and more films, and with the increased film flow comes increased remakes and reboots.

Furthermore, if any one here has has any groundbreaking new ideas, now's the time to offer them. Instead of bitching and moaning like robotic housewives, come up with something that does film differently.
minkowski writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 2:29:35 PM

how = hot.
WV-Films writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 2:31:09 PM

They should get Thomas Jane to play him.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 2:59:39 PM

Just watch the Anime of Highlander' I dont even thinks Justin Lin can pull that one off.

If he's attached he'll have that horrible cast of fast five in highlander

The Conan Movie still looks like sh*t Only cool character is the baddie from Avatar and he will die in some stupid way by Homoa.Saved you all the theater money.watch it on redbox or download it.

Yes i mentioned before that Thomas Jane looks like a more beefed up version of Lambert
bandolero999 writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 3:00:18 PM

Just watch the Anime of Highlander' I dont even thinks Justin Lin can pull that one off.

If he's attached he'll have that horrible cast of fast five in highlander

The Conan Movie still looks like sh*t Only cool character is the baddie from Avatar and he will die in some stupid way by Homoa.Saved you all the theater money.watch it on redbox or download it.

Yes i mentioned before that Thomas Jane looks like a more beefed up version of Lambert
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 4:38:49 PM

Thomas Jane is under-utilized. He should get Adam Sandler or Will Ferrel's agent(s) working for him.

All good points Mink.

I only liked:
Rollerball ('75) and not the remake.
The Omega Man (although Will's 'I am Legend' I liked better than I thought I would).
Planet of the Apes (avec Markie-Mark = gag).
The true FIRST Star Wars ('77) only!
The first Matrix. The sequel was OK. The 3rd one... WTF were they smoking, and can I have some?!
The first RoboCop only! Sequels were bad... TV show was worse (if that were possible).
The first Terminator ('84).
Cameron's 'Aliens'
I even have a love/hate thing for StarShip Troopers and would accept a sequel to that cult crap-fest if, IF they made it UBER serious (like Cameron's 'Aliens').
And Alistair Sims was the best Scrooge (even over Bill Murray's 'Scrooged'... but Stripes rocked!).

I guess I'm that old school.

trailertrash writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 5:29:19 PM

A remake that i did enjoy plus i really liked the original also was the Thomas Crown Affair with Brosnan.

It worked well being updated and Brosnan could handle stepping into McQueen's shoes unlike say Alec Baldwin in the terrible remake of the Getaway.

On the Highlander i just like the original it's one of those real 80's movies with it's look and soundtrack, for me that's it's charm.

All the sequels that followed were really bad, even Connery (all be it 10 min) and Michael Ironside couldn't save part 2.
trailertrash writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 5:32:41 PM

Mink-

Not a fan of the Conan remake,I wasn't really a fan of the originals either.

But your right a lot people did change their minds about it after that trailer.
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 10:15:58 PM

'...even Connery (all be it 10 min) and Michael Ironside couldn't save part 2.' --- isn't that the truth!

As for Thomas Crown... I only saw the Brosnan version (I girl I was poking gave me my DVD copy) so I was OK with it. I guess that's the thing with these remakes... they're assuming in a most cases the youngins haven't seen the original movies. Sucks to be them.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 11:44:50 PM

One question...WHY?!?!?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved