WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Thor" Dominates with $66 Million Opening

Posted: May 8th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Thor" Dominates with $66 Million OpeningSubmit Comment
Marvel's $150 million "Thor" opened in first place this weekend by grossing $66 million at the domestic box office, bringing its worldwide total to $242 million. The opening numbers are better than "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four, which debuted to roughly $56 million. But not even close to "Spider-Man" or "Iron Man," which broke the $100 million mark.

"Fast Five" dropped to second place with another $32 million. This brings the film's worldwide total to $324.7 million. It cost $125 million to make.

"Jumping the Broom" and "Something Borrowed" comedies were released the same weekend as "Thor" as counter-programming. "Broom," targeted at black movie-goers, cost only $6 million, but ended up taking third place with $13.7 million. Meanwhile, "Borrowed" cost $35 million and opened in almost 1,000 more theaters. Yet, the film took in only $13.2 million, which was only good enough for fourth place.

In limited release, Mel Gibson's $21 million "The Beaver" grossed $104,000 from 22 locations for a per-screen average of $4,745. That's high enough to expand. And Megan Fox's "Passion Play" took in $2,060 from 2 theaters, which means the movie won't get a wider release.

Click here to read our "Thor" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
anaheimducks writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 9:07:22 PM

Glad it came in first place but it should have made more money the movie was awesome.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 9:54:33 PM

Fast five still grossed more it's opening weekend? Wow!
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 10:02:33 PM

I'll give Megan Fox a wider release!
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 10:13:52 PM

Yup, Megan go do porn please!!
Johnnyb writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 10:16:44 PM

@ Ranger:

Count me in that one!!!!!
YoungChris writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 10:41:44 PM

I just saw Thor..& let me tell ya something the movie doesn't have lots of action but I like the movie..I will buy on blue ray ...
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 11:03:21 PM

50% of the people in the world paid in tree branches.
Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 3:11:24 AM

I have to give TeemSelami credit for finding this link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9aJFSpkxjtY

On topic: someone would have to be a retard to think Thor wouldn't take first place considering what else is out there to see.
Eben1277 writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 1:19:35 PM

I can't wait for the Thor blu-ray, I think I'm seeing it again tomorrow. My favorite Marvel movie.
Eben1277 writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 1:19:54 PM

I can't wait for the Thor blu-ray, I think I'm seeing it again tomorrow. My favorite Marvel movie.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 5:00:49 PM

Rock/Diesel is laying the smack down on Thor's candy ass :o

Lol, seriously just happy to see both films having success.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 5:01:24 PM

Rock/Diesel is laying the smack down on Thor's candy ass :o

Lol, seriously just happy to see both films having success.
bubbles17 writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 6:23:32 PM

That would buy a lot of f*cking cat food

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved