WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jim Caviezel Says "Passion of the Christ" Ruined His Career

Posted: May 8th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jim Caviezel Says "Passion of the Christ" Ruined His CareerSubmit Comment
Jim Caviezel (The Thin Red Line, Frequency) recently spoke at the First Baptist Church in Orlando where he said that he was rejected by Hollywood after playing Jesus in "The Passion of the Christ," directed by Mel Gibson.

"You'll never work in this town again," Gibson warned him before shooting the film. "We all have to embrace our crosses," he responded. "We have to give up our names, our reputations, our lives to speak the truth."

Many will argue that portraying Jesus does not kill careers. It didn't for Willem Dafoe (The Last Temptation of Christ), Max von Sydow (The Greatest Story Ever Told) or Jeffrey Hunter (King of Kings).

Regarding Gibson, Caviezel had the following to say: "Mel Gibson, he's a horrible sinner, isn't he? Mel Gibson doesn't need your judgment, he needs your prayers."

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The First Rule writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 2:49:14 AM

White Jesus...
trailertrash writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 2:58:26 AM

He doesn't really say that the passion ruined his career, more it could of ....

Well it is sunday slow news day i guess
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 2:58:39 AM

welcome to the club...of two...you and Mel.
alexgi writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 3:08:34 AM

@trailertrash: His exact words were that he was rejected by his own industry after "Passion of the Christ." Sounds like he thinks the movie ruined his career.
trailertrash writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 3:54:09 AM

alex- That maybe so then...

Still hard to beileve a film that grossed over $600 mil worldwide and put him on the hollywood map would have had that much of a negative effect on his career.

Playing Jesus didn't hurt the guys you listed there already and none of those movies were any where near as successful as Passion.

Maybe he's just a douche i don't know ..
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 4:01:19 AM

what career did he have before this??
pikeman1 writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 4:09:33 AM

I've never heard of him before this movie
JohnZee writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 5:52:41 AM

So I guess the moral of this story is not to play Jesus in a movie unless you're actually a talented actor and not someone ready and willing to play the victim in one of Mel Gibson's Messianic torture porn fantasies.

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 6:07:31 AM

I wouldn't say it hurt his career, it just derailed it for a little bit.

The same happend to William Defoe after his movie, he was just not offered good parts for a few years, then all of a sudden "BANG"! he is popular again.

Nor sure about Sydow and Hunter, Sydow's was when he was younger and not really in Hollywood that much, with Hunter not sure.
Serpico1988 writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 8:03:55 AM

Shut the f*** up , you wouldnt HAVE NO CAREEER if it wasn't for Mel Gibson, let's face it... it was a huge film, made big money and proved to be big for this guy...


Oh and by the way, I haven't seen it yet :P [will be getting it soon]
coldplayesence writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 9:23:25 AM

Bruce Wayne disagrees with you Mr. Caviezel.
boogiel writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 10:03:10 AM

Blasphemer! Repent and be saved, Jim caviezel!
SACdaddy writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 10:05:59 AM

Hwood doesn't like preachy people and that's the rep Jim got after playing Jesus. The Jews obviously didn't appreciate their depiction in The Passion either, so I'm sure he's also implying they blacklisted him in Hwood too. I don't doubt there some truth in that implication but I also have never thought JC was a very good actor in the first place. His part in TRL was 80% voiceover and 20% blind staring at the camera. That movie where he played Ashley Judd's military husband turned killer was about as dumb as they come mostly because of Jimmy's terrible performance. He was also horrible in Outlander (I think that's the name of the POS movie). Point being, it didn't take much to derail this *sshole's "career".
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 10:32:18 AM

Well sh*t Jim, it burns when I pee now who am I gonna blame for that?
OhallySally writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 10:45:50 AM

Count of Monte he was good...THR was a great performance...but he never was really a bankable guy,just ha
Frostyballoon writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 11:36:49 AM

No I think this movie killed his career

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIYU2MZ6edQ
Eben1277 writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 12:01:03 PM

It was pretty polarizing... but then again the Last Temptation was as well.
bandolero999 writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 1:44:52 PM

Everytime I see him in a movie I just call him Jesus and he has the same initials as Jesus Christ as well.

I think I like the count of monte cristo because Guy Pearce had the best performance.

That Outlander movie had to be one of the crappiest Scifis I've ever witnessed.The movie sucked huge balls after Ron Perlman died.Watch at your own risk people

He's not leading man material he's had his chances and they weren't that good so stop crying.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 2:38:31 PM

Being a terrible actor has never stopped anyone. Just look at Sam Worthington.

Had Mel portrayed Christ as a drunk pimp gambler, Caveziel would be the hottest actor around. Just look at Heath Ledger and that guy from Donnie Darko. Big deals. Careers exploded, and all they had to do was portray one of Hollywood's pet projects in apositive light.

Hell, if you're a budding actor, best thing you can do is take a role defaming Christianity, glorifying homosexuality, or pandering to the alter of Global Warming. Trust me, you'll have those f*ckers eating right from your hand like an Ethiopian puppy.

And the Jews, yeah, they had a major hand, the only hand really, in Christ's execution, sure, but I can't say Christ didn't do all that to himself, ultimately, by running around declaiming and defaming all the wealthy and powerful Jews.

As Pilate said, I find no fault with this man, and then the Jews responded "feed him to the Sharkticons!".
rabid writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 2:47:29 PM

I liked the alternate ending where Jesus and Paul organized a breakin competition to save the temple from being demolished, and then Mary Magdalene's dad writes a big check and they all pop-n-lock through the credits.
rabid writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 2:48:04 PM

Looking forward to the sequel, Passion 2: Ecclessiastic Boogaloo.
Crazyhorse writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 2:52:27 PM

Im in the minority here but whatever,

I see Jims point. When you lean or do not adhere to liberal values your ridiculed by Hollywood. Heck just ask Anglina Jolie's father Jon Voigt and his anti-liberal stand

When this film was out I remember all the hollywood nut jobs saying how horrible and violent this movie is and people who want to see it should be labled extremist and anti-semetic.

Gibson was laughed at for using his own money but after it became a blockbuster the same people said this was nothing more than him trying to make money
Rambo writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 3:23:43 PM

i think it ruined the career of everyone who were involved in this project.the jews put them on their blacklist.
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 4:05:42 PM

No, I just think you got lucky with this film. I believe that film you did with Dennis Quaid and the other with Jennifer Lopez ruined it for you.

Nonetheless, I wish you all the best, Jim.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 4:14:25 PM

So, what's your Frequency, Jim? Tired of being Unknown? Not enough Passion in your work?

Not sure if anyone caught the irony here, with Jim playing the martyr because he can't get good work because he played The Martyr.

Wah. Go get nailed to a two by four, you bastard.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 4:35:54 PM

Just for you, Jimmy Christ:

(courtesy of Chris Cornell)

If this isn't what you see
It doesn't make you blind
If this doesn't make you feel
It doesn't mean you've died
Where the river's high
Where the river's high

If you don't want to be seen
You don't have to hide
If you don't want to believe
You don't have to try
To feel alive

Alive in the super-Unknown
First it steals your mind
And then it steals your soul

If this doesn't make you free
It doesn't mean you're tied
If this doesn't take you down
It doesn't mean you're high
If this doesn't make you smile
You don't have to cry
If this isn't making sense
It doesn't make it lies

Alive in the super-Unknown
First it steals your mind
And then it steals your soul

Get yourself afraid
Get yourself alone
Get yourself contained
Get yourself control

Alive in the super-Unknown

First it steals your mind
And then it steals your... soul

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQ6jEuBC4iE

Now f*ck off.
BobMcBob writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 4:42:16 PM

what about Christian Bale? playing Jesus means he'll never win an Oscar or play the lead role in a blockbuster franchise film
rocketman writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 4:43:05 PM

Catholic guilt is a bitch.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 4:51:49 PM

"what about Christian Bale? playing Jesus means he'll never win an Oscar or play the lead role in a blockbuster franchise film"

Whatever. That Mary Mother of Jesus sh*t was nothing but garbage passing itself off as Christian drama intending to rewwrite the unknown life story of The Messiah into tabloid rabble, which is precisely what I said above, wherein I opined that if film aimed at insulting Christians, you'll succeed, but if you make one glorifying the religion, you will fail. Nowadays anyway.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 4:59:54 PM

And by fail I mean career-wise. I mean, where's that kid Kirk Cameron again?

And I love how people try to spin Christ into some kind of f*cking marxist because he uttered this line:

"it is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to get into the kingdom of Heaven"

Christ wasn't saying, if you're wealthy, you're automatically going to hell, because wealth is evil, so give all your cash to the CPUSA.

No, he was talking about all the wealthy people alive in his time who had turned their backs on Judaism and ancient and revered Jewish practices, the rich men of the temples and the moneychangers.

It's disconcerting how often people quickly lose context when they have a lie to sell.
mpiper821 writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 5:00:13 PM

And the award for best ranting of the day........minkowski!!!
Crazyhorse writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 5:08:33 PM

Make a movie that glorifies marxist or communistic ideals and your considered a critically acclaimed producer, writer etc

Just ask Michael Moron
rocketman writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 5:12:14 PM

I'm watching Outlander and loving it.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 5:19:59 PM

"White Jesus..."

Because he was black, right, and not semitic?

Just what WP needs, another black racist. And I thought Sac was well more than enough.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 5:35:35 PM

"Make a movie that glorifies marxist or communistic ideals and your considered a critically acclaimed producer, writer etc"

Or even, e.g., Michael Mann, who almost invariably portrays the otherwise morally repugnant bad guy as a modern-day Robin Hood.

Or David Fincher's dystopian and apocalyptically anti-modern parable Fight Club...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 6:14:25 PM

Hey Jimmy,

You hooked up with Mel. It could have been worse ... it could have been Uwe Boll.

Besides ... who's to say Highwayman was a bad film ?
technoreaper writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 6:17:06 PM

Don't worry Jim, getting rejected by Hollywood isn't a bad thing. The whole industry is coming down soon.
OneTime writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 6:53:02 PM

religion does more harm than good...not to mention its not even real....
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 7:28:02 PM

^^So does sex. Going to give that up?
OneTime writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 10:56:55 PM

realdoll.com
The First Rule writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 11:02:22 PM

@ Mink

Actually I'm white, not that it matters. However I don't subscribe to the revisionist history that most Americans do.

Yes, Jesus was a Jew, but no, Jews of that era were very different than the ones you associate with the religion nowadays (hint Modern Day Jews are mostly of Russian or European Ancestry) Remember this was before Christianity and Islam developed. Jesus was from a region that would have made it most likely that he is either of African Descent or looks more along the lines of what you would consider a Palestinian. Realize the Blonde(Light Brown)-Blue Eyed Jesus you see hanging on everyone's wall was created by the Europeans. Most famous paintings of him didn't come along until 1000 years after he died or more.
billofill writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 12:43:22 AM

What a hypocrite
billofill writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 12:43:23 AM

What a hypocrite
the eye writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 1:24:59 AM

@ The First Rule... TRUST ME, ignore mink. He is nothing more than a dumb-ass with large vocabulary. The entire premise to justify mink's logic is almost always WRONG. Mink said "another black racist. And I thought Sac was well more than enough." Yet, I can't recall not one thing Sac has ever said that relates to being racist. First Rule, see how Mink assumed you were "black" & went on a racist tirade against Sac??? Mink, wrong again dumb-ass! How the hell do you strike out 3 times with one swing??? There you go again mink, proving white skin & racism are inversely proportional to intelligence. You are 1 amazing person... Keep up the good work! Peace
Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 1:26:40 AM



Jesus...

What a whiny bitch.


Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 1:27:35 AM

Jim I meant... not, y'know... the other guy.
LastActionHero writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 2:19:17 PM

That stupid flick was probably going to be the highlight of your career regardless.
minkowski writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 5:57:24 PM

"Actually I'm white, not that it matters."

It doesn't, but then you sound like a modern day blame-whitey black apologist.

"However I don't subscribe to the revisionist history that most Americans do."

Which is what exactly? Jesus was white? That's, in your opinion, an 'American' invention?

Funny, he was painted quite white well before the New World was ever discovered...snicker.

"Yes, Jesus was a Jew, but no, Jews of that era were very different than the ones you associate with the religion nowadays (hint Modern Day Jews are mostly of Russian or European Ancestry)"

Your take is one of genetics, that Jews of a specific period are Jewish only if they're gentically related to a specific stock. Many Jews would diagree. But it's really totally irelevant, because he wasn't black and he wasn't Nordic and he was most certainly Jewish, ethnically and culturally, regardless.

"Remember this was before Christianity and Islam developed."

Really now. And here I was thinking Christianity and Islam originated well before Jesus Christ was ever born.

"Jesus was from a region that would have made it most likely that he is either of African Descent or looks more along the lines of what you would consider a Palestinian."

Nonsense. Jesus was decribed physically quite well in the Bible and he most certainly wasn't African. He didn't have traditional African characteristics like the afro hair and the flat wide nose and the prognathic jaw.

In fact, skeletons from that time period, from contemporary stock, from people that lived alongside Jesus, were physiologically identical in many, if not most or all, ways to caucasians.

There's simply no forensic evidence from Jesus' contemporaries that he was the least bit 'African'.

Yes, sure, some semitic people live(d) in North Africa, but to use that fact to suggest Jesus was genetically 'African' is disingenuous at best.

"Realize the Blonde(Light Brown)-Blue Eyed Jesus you see hanging on everyone's wall was created by the Europeans."

No sh*t. I thought those depictions originated with Shaka Zulu...

"Most famous paintings of him didn't come along until 1000 years after he died or more."

Big deal. Most famous paintings, any of them, didn't 'come along' until 1000 AD either..
minkowski writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 6:01:35 PM

One last thing, The First Rule, please do cite upon what source you site how Americans imagine Jesus Christ? Because of Warner Sallman's popular American depiction?
minkowski writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 6:04:59 PM

you site = for.
minkowski writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 6:13:02 PM

And the_eye, you really are a total moron.

'Dexify' and 'dexification' aren't real words, they're just illiterate junk some dope invented out of their frustrated and limited vocabulary, and their very limited intelligence.

So, thank you enormously for placing yourself squarely in the moron camp, sir. I can now ignore you equally at my leisure.
President Baltar writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 6:20:30 PM

Getting struck by lightning has probably left Mr. Caviezel's mind a tad addled. I thought, that in Frequency, and The Count he was alright
the eye writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 9:55:11 PM

@ mink... It took you TWO MONTHS for you to figure that out? LOL, you actually had to research it... dumb-ass! I am SO GLAD our previous conversation caused you to seek clarity through mind numbing examination. See you can teach a dumb-ass new tricks. I thought you were going to ignore me the last time? Ignoring also includes no posts beginning with "@/and the eye." Dumb-ass! Now you are striking out without even swinging... Peace
the eye writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 9:56:45 PM

@ mink... It took you TWO MONTHS for you to figure that out? LOL, you actually had to research it... dumb-ass! I am SO GLAD our previous conversation cause you to seek clarity through mind numbing examination. See you can teach a dumb-ass new tricks. I thought you were going to ignore me the last time? Ignoring also includes no posts beginning with "@/and the eye." Dumb-ass! Now, you are striking out without even swinging... Peace
the eye writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 9:57:52 PM

@ mink... LOL
the eye writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 10:01:28 PM

Didn't mean to post twice... the LOL at mink was a test and ONLY a test! Browser not acting right. Peace
LastActionHero writes:
on May 10th, 2011 at 6:33:34 AM

Arguing over the ethnicity of a mythological figuring... LOL

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved