WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Thor" - What Did You Think?

Posted: May 7th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Thor" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
Marvel's "Thor," starring Chris Hemsworth, Tom Hiddleston and Anthony Hopkins, is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying a 79% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that the film does a great job of introducing the character for "The Avengers," but it could have been a lot better.

How did you think it did compared to other Marvel films like "Iron Man" and "The Incredible Hulk"?

"Thor" has been playing in international theaters for about a week, grossing $133 million. In the US, the film took in an additional $3.25 million just from midnight showings. Not bad for a movie that cost $150 million to make. Come back on Sunday to see how "Thor" performed over the weekend.

Click here to read our "Thor" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Popcorn101 writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 4:44:55 AM

thought it was amazing. perfect summer action movie with good acting, funny moments, and solid story and action. gets me pumped for green latern and especially xmen!
jikae writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 5:09:37 AM

As someone who doesn't really know much about Thor. I went in expecting little- as you should with every summer blockbuster-type.

Too many "funny" moments. The middle dragged and all the action scenes were in the trailer, but in the end, it was an enjoyable film for what it was; to setup the Avengers film.
Akbar writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 5:30:27 AM

Pretty nice action, fighty movie. I for one thought it was nice that it had a funny element in it. But as in any movie they had to have a romance in it that didn't add anything to the movie and just made Thor look like a p*ssy!
nawtnt writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 5:38:32 AM

Thor was awesome, the cast was great, the acting was amazing, the story was perfect , action was even better and Chris Hemsworth as Thor? The best choice yet.

Thor is the best comic book movie of the summer yet.

I hope X-Men :First Class, Green Lantern and Captain America: The First Avenger doesn't disappoint and will better than Thor.
Trip Maverick writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 6:15:09 AM

It was good fun. As long as you dont have high expectations you'll be entertained. Not as Good As Iron man but that was the surprise hit of 2008. Still Sets up Avengers nicely and All actors did a great job. Looking forward to Capin America.
masht7 writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 6:16:10 AM

It was like Transformers, it should have been focusing more on the action instead of the humor. Other then that, the film is pretty solid.
rocketman writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 6:23:17 AM

Great fun,loved the Frost Giants.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 6:38:32 AM

The graphics were good to watch in 3d but after the begging it was boring as sh*t, the earth scenes were pointless, the romance between him and Portman wasn't built up at all. Thors accent was extremely irritating and never consistent. I spent the whole movie waiting for the epic fight at the end to redeem all the stupid dialog and annoying characters especially his cheesy friends from Asgard but the last fight was pretty boring as well. I wanted Loki to take over the realm any way coz Thors a whiny little bitch, I felt no empathy for him or and hatred towards Loki as a bad guy. The only redeeming feature was the stunning visuals and the opening scene and the film as a whole was slightly above average compared to a lot of mindless super hero films but its not as good as iron man. Maybe if he'd made it as a stand alone film it would have been more epic and not just a long opening scene for the avengers. 6/10
numnut writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 6:53:18 AM

Awesome- better than expected.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 7:01:19 AM

Guys...not too amny spoilers ok...

I haven't seen it yet.
yeLLowfLaSh writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 7:29:01 AM

The fighting scenes were no where near epic enough for gods to be throwing down. the movie was okay as a whole. The acting was good but it was very cheesy and campy in some parts, mostly the parts on Earth. The frost giants looked like live action piccolo for DBZ or the monster from jeepers creepers and I feel like they only did that because they were to cheap to make them CGI and made out of ice. The Destroyer fight was very lack luster. I mean the thing almost beat him to death in the comics and it ended relatively fast.

The first 20-30 mins when they are in Asgard is pretty much the best part of the movie. I would have rather just watched a movie with Odin and Asgard fighting the frost giants.

I would give it a 6.5/10.
pikeman1 writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 9:01:31 AM

I thought it's a great summer action blockbuster, good acting, awesome visual effects, costume design and beautiful cinematography.
It's far better than I expected, though the action scenes does not satisfy me,
I rate it 8/10
anaheimducks writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 9:21:06 AM

Thor was awesome best movie of 2011 so far gonna see it again next week.Can't believe the avenger movie is just a year away we've been hearing about the avengers sence iron man 1.Hope marvel studios keeps it up with these great movies they have all been great so far Evan iron man 2 that's right there is a lot of haters out there for that one don't know why it was a great sequel.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 9:22:15 AM

Loved it!!
rjd040487 writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 9:50:00 AM

been said before but i'll say it again in another perspective: The graphics were imaginative and exceptional, the fight scenes with the giants flashed by with eyes barely able to capture the beauty of the sfx, acting was okay from main characters but the little lines from secondary characters like that other big breasted girl just stole the show almost like shrek with puss in boots. the choreography wasnt well designed as fights comprised of people aiming for thin air obviously and hemsworth widely missing being hit as can be seen by the camera perspective. only a few small funny parts and 3d barely utilised. hopkins and idris elba did the best job in the whole film as believable gods
rjd040487 writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 9:52:48 AM

oh iron man was better but thor was better than iron man 2. fast five wiped the floor with all the other fast furious films as well as thor
Joelh790 writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 9:53:28 AM

It was good, the ending was underwhelming compared to the beginning. The actor who played Thor was good, the frost giant battle was nice. The 3D was good in the Asgard parts but on Earth it wasn't put to much use. 7/10
acreshakers writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 11:25:36 AM

The first 20 min or so was the best movie making I've seen in a long time! Anthony Hopkins great casting for this movie! That being said the middle kinda slowed the pace a bit, the end although not spectacular wasn't bad because it had a couple of twists, like finding out who Loki really was etc. Something the non-comic book fan doesn't know. All in all Go see it for yourself! 3 Stars
minkowski writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 11:32:53 AM

Ah, down from the high of 95% to a steady 79%. The same as fast Five. And Fast Five was...fun, but nothing else.
technoreaper writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 12:29:48 PM

Mediocre. Character development was poor, dialogue and character interaction felt canned and the plot was ridiculous. This must have been an adaptation of the made-for-TV movie.

Bring on Captain America! Thor was a waste of my time.
Blank x25 writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 12:46:11 PM

@ mink

Now you know people on here don't settle for "fun" movies. LoL
minkowski writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 1:13:30 PM

I actually enjoyed the film, Blank, even though the story was preposterous from beginning to end.

Morgan should reapproach his writing craft with a brain, but Lin, well, he surprised me, doing action better than Bay and with more sensibility than Tony Scott, and I think he's going to be someone to watch for in the coming years as far as action films go.

He has a good use of cinematography and knows how to frame his action, and it's not really his fault Fast Five's story was beyond incredible.

I also liked the 'Tony Almeida from 24' thing they did with Letty, and also how Lin has a sense of mythology in him, which makes the series bigger and more than just a car racing film set, so that works because to me he has a bigger picture mentality and I can see the guy making some series action contender films as he gets more experienced.

Hell, even the Rock seemed to have more to offer, providing a more serious look and a more invested tone, so I think I'm looking forward to Furious Six, not because it's going to be a 'good film' but because Lin has me reinvested in the franchise storywise for whatever reasons, and I hope he carries that reinvestment over well into the sixth film.
manichispanic writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 1:33:17 PM

i liked it alot. it's my new favorite marvel movie. i'm gonna go see it again!
Rambo writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 2:39:36 PM

well done.some flaws here and there but overall a strong 8 out of 10 in my book.
xtlhogciao writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 7:24:19 PM

It was good. My only beef was that it was the only movie I've ever seen in 3d since Avatar. I wish I hadn't spent the extra cash. I thought it was going to be worth it in the beginning when they were on Asgard, but it proved not to be. Nevertheless, it was good. Not spectacular, but good.
Definitely a positive start to the summer. Having read X-Men religiously as a kid and not reading Thor at all, I hope X-men is at least, uh, two-third's as good as Thor was. Then I'll be very satisfied.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 8:37:08 PM

chris hemsworth was a really good thor, however the movie is good, but is missing something. The action was good, there were some corny parts, and the 3D was shiit, overall 8/10. good movie
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 10:32:46 PM

Was completlty suprised, thought it would be an average film. It was entertaining from start to finish.

The cheesy humour worked too, actually looking forward to the Avengers now.




"I LIKE THIS DRINK.......ANOTHER!!!!!!!!"
Ranger writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 11:00:54 PM

@Skippy ---

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBdjKeuRl20

Stay in the pink... include your links.
jdl107 writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 11:32:14 PM

I actually liked Hemsworth, although he was a little bland in places.

This is cool, I thought this movie looked pretty lame frm all the promos/trailers, but I really liked it. There is hope for The Avengers. Cap looks good but Johnston, oh man that Johnston, I'm a little skeptical.
Dr Fate writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 12:30:59 AM

awesome....anthony hopkins stole the show for me....loved the Frost giants story arc...reccomend it to anyone
lebowski writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 2:08:36 AM

thor was a good movie ,it would have been a great movie if they had spare some extra money in the final fight with the destroyer but otherwise i enjoyed it.also watched fastfive today which i also liked ,the script was silly but i didnt mind ,the movie was fun and yes i find tyrese funny
JohnZee writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 5:12:08 AM

It was a good movie, certainly not perfect, but I think that Branagh proved that he was the best choice for the ultra-miserly Marvel. As although there were a few others that could have possibly done better, probably not for the handful of dies that Marvel is prone to pay.

Certainly not perfect, and whether it was some of the actors, the dialogue, or a combination of both there was several times the movie seemed to lag or hang for a moment.
jdl107 writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 8:44:18 AM

Ah, and then the Cap trailer played in front of my screening last night. Sickness.
Johnnyb writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 9:57:31 AM

It was great!!!!! For someone who read comics but is not very familiar with character it was ok. I like his introduction and the way actors were chosen for this one. Everything was perfect!!!!! And for Kenneth Branagh congratulations!!!!! For someone who is not very used to make this kind of films. I think he redeem himself with this one. In other words... He pulled out!!!!!
telur writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 11:36:18 AM

i still remember when most people hate it when see the trailer
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 12:47:23 PM

Would have been a great movie if the Destroyer fight was an 8th of what it should have been and the ending a little less...boring. Loki and Odin were perfect. The Warriors three were as dumb in the movie as they are in the comics. Overall 7 1/2 out of 10.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 1:35:44 PM

f*ck Kat Dennings. That's all.
Hero320 writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 3:29:21 PM

Acting was great, especially on Chris Hemsworth's part, not so much Natalie Portman though. CG was better than I expected, action was good, but more would have been better. Love story part was rushed with Natalie falling for him within 3 days or so. Looking forward to Chris bring the Thor-ness to Avengers!
SACdaddy writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 4:36:17 PM

Looking like Thor is going to have a tough time beating Fast Five's opening weekend here in the States. I'm seeing estimated BO returns at $66 mill. Not sure if that's through Sat or the overall predicted 3 day draw.

All these reports of Thor's humor is starting to deter me from seeing it. I can't take another Iron Man 2.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 6:11:07 PM

This is the first time I've given a review on a movie, so here it goes :

A. It wasn't bad for what it was : A pre-summer popcorn flick. B. A little heavy on the humor (especially having Thor get knocked out by something in a syringe mid-sentence) with Ray Stevenson becoming my second favourite redheaded stepchild behind the dwarf in Lord of the Rings C. Action A++ ... even moreso with the battle with the Destroyer vs. Thor's Pals (sounds like a Mini-Marvels Saturday Morning Cartoon : Thor & his Asgaardian Pals ~ Now with ODINVISION!!!) D. Anthony Hopkins ? Finally! He can swagger with his Shakespearish language, second only to Titus (or for those out there who actually watched it, Tittius) E. Kat Dennings ? Pass ... I honestly thought they would sneak in Michael Cera's character from Nick & Nora's Infinite Playlist 40 minutes in F. Natalie Portman ? Mailed it in, except for (a) the "weepy" scene with Thor in the middle of the street and the (b) the sneaky smirk at the end (when she is trying to find a way to reconnect with Thor) G. Loki ? Half Frost Giant ? Gee, who knew H. Oh, and when did they have a musketeer as an Asgaardian ? Or Samurai Jack, for that matter I. Ibris Elba .... completely knackered in this.

My grade ? 6/10
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2011 at 9:45:19 PM

@Max - good review. I've read enough of your posts to know where you're coming from most of the time. Between your review and those of others... that's about where I expect the movie to land for me (it may sneak up to a 7... 7.5 MAX. because of my fondness for comic-based movies). But even a 6/10 is nothing to sneeze at. Just average, entertaining fare (an intro of Thor and mainly an intro towards The Avengers).

makingcircles writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 11:46:06 AM

Saw it last night and enjoyed it. It's not a 10/10 but a 7/10. The acting is fantastic...especially the Asgardian scenes. Story is "meh" but it gets the job done for sure. I could have used a little more Thor action. I always wanted to see him do a little more but was never wowed by any of his moves. Still...I will be buying this on DVD.
makingcircles writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 11:46:26 AM

Saw it last night and enjoyed it. It's not a 10/10 but a 7/10. The acting is fantastic...especially the Asgardian scenes. Story is "meh" but it gets the job done for sure. I could have used a little more Thor action. I always wanted to see him do a little more but was never wowed by any of his moves. Still...I will be buying this on DVD.
makingcircles writes:
on May 9th, 2011 at 11:47:09 AM

Saw it last night and enjoyed it. It's not a 10 out of 10 but a 7 out of 10. The acting is fantastic...especially the Asgardian scenes. Story is "meh" but it gets the job done for sure. I could have used a little more Thor action. I always wanted to see him do a little more but was never wowed by any of his moves. Still...I will be buying this on DVD.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved