WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Justin Lin on Directing "Terminator 5"

Posted: May 3rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Justin Lin on Directing "Terminator 5"Submit Comment
We've already heard that Justin Lin (Fast Five) has been in talks to direct the fifth "Terminator" movie that has Arnold Schwarzenegger attached to star.

Lin has now revealed how the project came together. "It's actually Pacificor (rights owner) that approached me," he explained. "They had an idea, but I guess a lot of studios didn't go for it or something happened. So then, they came back to me and they said, 'Do you have an idea?' and I said 'I have THE idea!'"

Lin then met with Schwarzenegger, who quickly agreed to board the film. The helmer was then given permission to begin shopping the project to studios.

But what was Lin's idea that won him the job? He doesn't go into detail, but apparently it's all about focusing on telling the human side of the story. "It's still very early on, but I don't want to make a movie where it's just showing off [technology and special effects]," he said. "I want to support the human elements. If you don't have humanity, then it just becomes robots."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 7:12:47 AM

Oh boy

The human side of the story

Sounds like a Singer Superman film

We will probably see John Conner feeding the baby, changing diapers, cooking and cleaning,
with no action scenes until the very last scene when the Terminator knocks on the door asking:

"Im a friend of Sarah Conner can I speak to her please"

Then the movie is over
YoungChris writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 7:25:59 AM

@Crazyhorse LOL
Kratos writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 7:33:55 AM

They should just call it "Terminated'...
Please just kill this franchise already.
Put it and us out of our misery.
nawtnt writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 8:14:56 AM

Fast Five is breaking box office records and it is getting good reviews from fans and critics so maybe Justin Lin should be given a chance.

I wish Ridley Scott or James Cameron or John Hyams (who directed Universal Soldier Regerenation) would make Terminator 5.
jdl107 writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 8:23:45 AM

Lin is talking about the humanity of a story being integral to the art of cinema?

Well I'll be damned. I'm still not buying that sh*t though.
Big_Daddy writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 8:25:18 AM

He needs to direct a big glass of

GO f*ck HIMSELF because the only thing FAST about his last was the realization of the thin plot
jdl107 writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 8:30:18 AM

I take it you liked/loved T3, Crazy Horse?

After what you just said you couldn't have liked the first two.
lewis2001 writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 9:11:32 AM

@kratos , i wouldnt be surprised if Terminated was picked up ... either that or

TERMINATOR5
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 10:23:42 AM

As much as I hate to see Lin do this, let him do it. This series can't get any worse than it already is. Even the sun shines on a dog's ass someday's.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 10:41:33 AM

A priceless full of sh*t statement, a movie about robots but telling the human side of the story. Michael Bay couldn't have say it better.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 10:51:37 AM

"I want to support the human elements. If you don't have humanity, then it just becomes robots."

This is coming from the director of Fast Five? f*ck off mate Hollywood doesn't want humanity in films. It wants charactures, cartoon symbols of what a standard person would be like spilling out the same clichéd lines and sending out the same boring messages. Good guys win, bad guys lose. Do naughty things and you will be punished. Films that show humanity in a real sense don't tend to do to well with the masses. I guess a standard retarded audience member doesn't want to sit there and feel uncomfortable or read to much into a character, that would be way to much hard work.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 11:07:13 AM

Lol, I don't think more "humanity" is a bad thing for a series that used to be based on its preservation. Remember that's what everyone is fighting for in this Terminator future. If they have to base the film in this future setting I can see how the loss of humanity or the struggle to hold on to it in the face of annihilation can be a strong theme of the film. I might be giving him too much credit but I think that it what McGay was going for with his Salvation/Frankenstein piece of sh*t movie. He just didn't have enough directing talent to convey the message clearly. Now I'm not sure Lin has the talent either but after Fast Five I have to give him a chance. I'll start losing faith when he cast Vin Diesel in the lead role :)
vagos1268 writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 11:33:43 AM

that make me remenber the deleted scene (the making of t-800) from the T3 dvd
blinkbomber writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 11:38:39 AM

Lin does well with what he's given. Seeing him pursue something and going for it might end with a more entertaining and passionate film then his previous ones.

Oh and stuff will blow up. :-)
Bunny X writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 2:03:48 PM

Uhhh if you don't have robots, you don't have a franchise stupid.
I really hate when folks blow smoke and try to sound insightful.
General John Connor writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 2:22:25 PM

This whole story is stupid and I hope and pray its in the future. If not this movie is going to kill the franchise and be worse than 3. We have had the same… story since T1 someone comes back to protect connor. We want Connor to be in the future fighting the machines evading T800 and Arfnold as a bad guy hunting him down and destoying resistance bases and stronholds looking for connor and or also Arnold being reprogramed by John Connor. THATS WHAT ME AND THE FANS WANT MORE THAN ANYTHING. WE WANT THE WAR!!!! hell let me write the script.
General John Connor writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 2:24:16 PM

Justin Lynn has not done enough movies and experience to direct any termonator movie ever. Yes terminator is action but in these movies story matters way more and is more important. And your fast and furious movies were a joke of acting and story. Sorry but Lynn your not good enough and all the fans know it. At least mcg got us Christian Bale as Connor which was awesome and gave us the FUTURE WAR WHICH WE ALL WANT!!!
technoreaper writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 4:39:24 PM

Dear god, no.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 4th, 2011 at 1:28:05 AM

f*ck this sh*t!!!

Either kill off the series or just pretend T4 never happend.

My vote is kill it off.
LastActionHero writes:
on May 4th, 2011 at 6:14:29 AM

I thought the story said Justin Long.
Serpico1988 writes:
on May 7th, 2011 at 11:51:17 AM

when a franchise is like The Terminator is done, packed up, over with,... all that's gonna come afterwards, with new ppl is going to be utterly sh*t !!

though i gotta say, on its own as a film, Salvation was kinda cool. But can't be discussed in comparison with the first 2 films. SO STOP MAKING MORE FILMS !!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved