WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Thor" Breaks International Box Office Records

Posted: May 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Thor" Breaks International Box Office RecordsSubmit Comment
"Thor" will hit theaters in the US on Friday (May 6th) but is already breaking records in overseas markets. This weekend alone, the film has grossed $83 million, which is 2011's biggest opening weekend total by more than $25 million.

"Thor" has brought in a total of $93 million internationally, when you count the $10 million earned in Australia during the last week. In Vietnam, the film grossed $308,000 from 19 sites, which is a debut record for the market. It also opened in first place in the UK, Ireland, France, South Korea, Italy, Spain, Taiwan, Singapore and Philippines.

The $150 million movie will easily make its money back by next weekend. It was able to beat "Fast Five" internationally and the fifth "Fast and the Furious" installment opened to a whopping $83 million at home.

Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
markoz writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 6:05:16 AM

Yep,it's a really awesome movie
telur writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 6:20:33 AM

good american... now they can see thor on torrent
jdl107 writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 7:54:16 AM

Goddamn, a debut record for Vietnam? I'm not even that interested in this movie. What the f*ck man.
pikeman1 writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 8:27:59 AM

the movie is awesome, I watched it twice and still want to watch it again.
Oops, maybe I'll wait for Bluray, because this summer has many movies I want to see
yreimm0308n90 writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 8:42:44 AM

@jdl107 : what's your problem with Vietnam?
Thor is great. The script is good enough for a summer blockbuster
nawtnt writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 9:18:34 AM

If Thor is a smash hit, would Red Dawn and The Cabin In The Woods would be released this year.

These two movies haven't been released yet and Chris Hemsworth stars in them as one of the main leads.

Red Dawn should be released in August and The Cabin In The Woods would be released in October as it is a horror movie.

I hope they will be released this year.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 9:24:01 AM

I saw it yesterday, I think is "good" but very, very childish. They took the "lighthearted" thing too seriously. I'll give it a 7.
boogiel writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 9:53:39 AM

"The $150 million movie will easily make its money back by next weekend. It was able to beat "Fast Five" internationally and the fifth "Fast and the Furious" installment opened to a whopping $83 million at home."


I won't be surprised if that happen. I think the real question is how much profit it can get.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 9:56:36 AM

^^ A lot, Thor's main goal was/is to promote the Avengers. The money is fine but the main thing is the publicity.
AbsoluteMuppet writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 9:56:42 AM

Its broken records cause there has been nothing else worth seeing in months.
Akbar writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 10:19:33 AM

Pretty nice movie, saw it myself! Glad to help :P
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 10:36:24 AM

Interesting, can't wait to see it.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 10:40:54 AM

So Thor took the international weekend because of its huge release (56 markets) but Fast Five made another $45m from only 14 markets (not including the US) and has made a total of $81m internationally. Nice start for the 2011 movie season. It should be interesting to see which one of these ends up grossing more during their run at the BO. Considering the last (far inferior) F&F made a total $360m and didn't get off the line as well as Fast Five opening weekend, Thor may have one huge mountain to clime to beat it. According to boxofficemojo.com FF has already made a total of $165m, but 3D upgrades (and 3D ticket sales) may be just the PEDs Thor needs to take the US BO by storm. Thor vs Rock/Diesel, the UFC couldn't put together a better heavyweight fight :)
Dre-EL writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 11:21:16 AM

A guy tried to sell me a bootleg copy of Thor. I said no thanks these kind of films I have to see on the big screen.
Unfortunately not everyone shares my sentiment cause copies of Thor are all over the city and it hasnt opened yet. This means, box office wise, it may not do well in this country.
I'm still hoping thats not the case cause I would like all comic book movies to do well, thus paving the way for more.

"Lik shat ina di bootlegga bloodclaht."
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 2:17:56 PM

Altough I'm glad that the world show interest in some real gods (and not those fancy-pantsies God, Allah or Xenu), but Thor was really, really boring. At one point I thought I was watching a bad rom-com. I'm very disappointed with Thor and those 95% at RT baffles the sh*t out of my mind.
minkowski writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 3:03:34 PM

Couldn't care less, personally, about what Thor does and makes, but I guess I should be glad someone somewhere made lots of money. Right?
Big_Daddy writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 3:12:23 PM

"Thor" Breaks International Box Office Records



Why? It sucked donkey nuts.
adamXmarshall writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 4:49:10 PM

vietnam? really? I'm sure its because the people who went to see it were products of rape during the war
trailertrash writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 5:44:49 PM

Products of rape ????

Anyone who's been raped will enjoy Thor more, why ?

Because of his big hammer .......
Ranger writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 6:17:01 PM

Jake... you agree?
Ranger writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 6:19:01 PM

I'm so 'pro' comic movies. Even with that I go in with NO expectations. If Thor entertains me to a 6-7/10 I'll be happy.
masht7 writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 8:23:44 PM

I saw the movie yesterday, it wasn't that bad. I wasn't expecting much out of it, but I actual rather enjoyed it. Chris Hemsworth did a great job as Thor. But it shows nothing new and original.
jdl107 writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 10:59:45 PM

No problem with Vietnam man, it's just this movie doesn't look that interesting to me, and it didn't seem like it would have much appeal but here it is breaking records. Also in Vietnam of all places. No problem it's just surprising you know?
Mudders writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 4:06:17 AM

@ ranger

an easy 7 for thor champ...the story is a touch weak...predictable really but hopkins and hemsworth make up for it
jeremy renner makes an appearance as hawkeye which is a cool scene and gets a couple of lines which is good...looks like he's gonna fit that role really well
Charlie9 writes:
on May 4th, 2011 at 5:50:15 AM

Hemsworth was great, but look out for Tom Hiddleston as Loki, brilliant performance.
zyban03 writes:
on May 4th, 2011 at 12:47:20 PM

Wasn't a bad movie at all, Renner was in it more than expected.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved