WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Fast Five" Breaks Box Office Records

Posted: May 1st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Fast Five" Breaks Box Office RecordsSubmit Comment
"Fast Five" hit theaters this weekend, grossing over $83 million domestically and breaking a bunch of records. The opening number is the highest for Universal Pictures and the highest for any April release.

Overseas, where the film has already been playing for a week, "Fast Five" grossed an addition $81.4 million for a world wide take of $165 million. The movie cost $125 million to make.

Disney's "Prom" opened to a disappointing $5 million from 2,730 theaters, although it only cost $8 million to produce. The studio had hoped for an $8 million debut for the movie, which targeted girls aged 8 to 13. Prom came in fifth place.

"We always knew we were going after a very specific audience, and while we got that audience, we just under-delivered in the number of those turning out," said Disney.

The other wide release of the weekend was the sequel to "Hoodwinked," which grossed a lousy $4.1 million on a $30 million budget. That was only good enough for sixth place. The first installment opened to $12.4 million back in 2005.

In limited release, Brandon Routh's vampire film "Dylan Dog: Dead of Night" took in $884,625 from 875 theaters. That's only $1,100 per screen, which means that this is the end for "Dylan Dog."

Click here to read our "Fast Five" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
stevethemoviehater writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 8:15:45 PM

oh yea oh yea
jdl107 writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 8:50:34 PM

Good god.

This means that no good Terminator movie is in sight...
John FootPenis writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 8:51:39 PM

Sexy Six coming soon
RELAYER writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 8:57:26 PM

"the end for Dylan Dog"

That's unfortunate... maybe if they actually advertised this film and perhaps if they played it on a few more screens with a little more fanfare, it would have done a bit better.

Instead... we get more, derivitive stuff like "FAST 5" and its now, inevitable
sequel(s).
atn5022 writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 9:12:52 PM

@relayer

have you seen dylan dog? its quite terrible...


fast 5 was actually pretty decent
technoreaper writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 9:22:42 PM

This movie was utterly terrible. Hopefully, hopefully, the studio execs are sharp and realize that this idiot's movie was an atrocity and that Terminator 5 will not be made well by him. The reviews were totally bought off, so that may be a sign.

My proof? Look at the Rotten Tomatoes meter for the past movies. None were even close to being fresh. This one rated a 79%!!!! Some of the snottiest critics liked it! They were paid off! Had to have been! This was one of the worst films of the series by far, if not reprehensible.
bubbadrew writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 10:03:43 PM

you all are crazy for not thinking this movie wasnt good this movie kicked ass and its better then half of the movies that are out and have been out since inception so great movie and i cant wait for the next one vin diesel and the rock fight scene was bad ass and no gay ass cgi crap
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 10:04:40 PM

@technoreaper

Cool story bro.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 10:05:27 PM

It wasn't too bad, but plz no T5 with Lin!
technoreaper writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 10:07:35 PM

@CyberpunkCentral, people who usually use that lame line are usually lacking in intellectual curiosity and pretty stupid and/or spoiled.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 11:27:33 PM

Bin Laden is no more :)
Shiye writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 11:35:36 PM

I for one, have MAJOR respect for Director:Justin Lin. The fast and furious franchise has been a fun ride for me(pun intended, and this last on Fast-five has been the best movie to hit the screen since the year 2011 has come upon us. I've written my review already about fast-five easily scored 9.5/10. I just want to say this movie deserves its success. I hope it continues to draw more fans and more money and can only hope some day I, yes ME can hop on set as an extra or something....would be the highlight of my life :)
beepboop writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 12:22:39 AM

"Hopefully, hopefully, the studio execs are sharp and realize that this idiot's movie was an atrocity and that Terminator 5 will not be made well by him."
I really think they realise that. But I also think they don't care and only look at the numbers.
YoungChris writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 3:23:29 AM

i just came from the movie & i got tell ya...i love it...cant wait to buy it in blueray !!
telur writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 3:39:27 AM

TERMINATOR 5 directed Justin Lin is confirmed !!!!!
nawtnt writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 8:49:44 AM

Fast Five is breaking box office records and it is getting good reviews from critics, so maybe the best one of the series.

I hope Terminator 5 will be great with Justin Linn now directing.
jdl107 writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 10:47:16 PM

What makes you think the reviews were bought off, as opposed to the reviewers being genuinely stupid?

Just a question, not trying to be an *sshole.
blinkbomber writes:
on May 3rd, 2011 at 3:24:00 AM

Seeing as how this is the first movie to stray from the whole street racing scene, and then taking the fact that technoreaper thinks this is the worst of the series yet this is the first film in the series to gain critical approval...

... I would think it'd be pretty obvious that the critics just like heist movies better than street racing movies, and technoreaper just like street racing movies more than heist movies. That makes more sense than the whole "paid off" theory, at least.

I saw it, I liked it. Though the end credits bit pissed me off.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved