WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Superman Renounces His US Citizenship in New Comic Issue

Posted: April 29th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Superman Renounces His US Citizenship in New Comic IssueSubmit Comment
This week DC Comics released the 900th issue of the "Superman" comic, which has turned out to be controversial. In it, Superman is criticized for joining a million protesters in a peaceful anti-Ahmadinejad protest in Iran.

To that, Superman responds: "I am renouncing my US citizenship. I'm tired of having my actions construed as instruments of US policy. 'Truth, Justice and the American Way' -- it's not enough anymore."

This is all part of DC Comics' plan to turn Superman into an international superhero, despite being an American icon for decades. This is nothing new however, both "GI Joe" and "Captain America" became less American to reach a larger audience and improve the box office results. And with the "Superman" reboot on the way, it's not surprising that DC Comics/Warner Bros would do this.

Check out the controversial page from the comic below.

Image: (click to enlarge)


Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 4:42:44 AM

FAG!!
python6 writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 4:43:15 AM

Way to go Sup i'm pround of you.It's time for change.Tell them


Stop it
There's been too much debate
We could save ourselves from holocaust
Or is that just our fate
Start now
But we continue to balk
We let the genie out of the bottle
But we still hold the cork
ONE WORLD
ONE WORLD - Welcome to it
ONE WORLD - Don't abuse it
ONE WORLD - To live out your life
rockkillers writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 4:50:01 AM

One world order is around the corner I guess. 2012.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 4:52:01 AM

Way to sell out DC. While you're at it, make sure he isn't wearing that red and blue anymore. Frikkin' tired of this crap. Other countries have their own comics and crap. Why take from ours? Who cares about other countries?! They should enjoy what the characters represent. But Superman said it didn't he: "Truth, Justice and the American Way' -- it's not enough anymore." It use to be and then people started getting greedier with no integrity. This makes me want to throw up.
rocketman writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 5:19:46 AM

He can f*ck off if he thinks he's coming here,we've enough f*cking scroungers on benefits as it is.
rocketman writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 5:26:15 AM

Sorry that should have read ^^ 'f*cking immigrant scroungers'
One world order or America in decline? Rat leaving a sinking ship,bet he f*cks off to China the commie rat.
Carpen7er writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 5:40:41 AM

Lol
shanesleeping writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 5:50:42 AM

instead of selling out he should have gone round the bushs and obamas and stuck them in the phantom zone where they belong.
Benji writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 6:22:20 AM

about f*ckin time really...truth justice and the way of thinking that we all hope for...yes that all people are created equal....
DeVries writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 7:03:14 AM

Time for Captain Canada and SuperCanadaMan, f*ckers!
Akbar writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 7:32:20 AM

noooooooooooooo...oh wait, who cares
Ronsauce writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 7:41:38 AM

@Akbar: Racist Americans would be my guess.
jdl107 writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 7:48:22 AM

Good. What makes a bunch of cowboys think they own an alien, for some reason I'll that this should have done from the start.
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 8:18:11 AM

Are they changing the costume color too?

he is RED,WHITE and BLUE for a reason
Devil writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 8:48:43 AM

This is the dumbest sh*t ever. See I told you Superman was a faggot from day one. Just look at his f*cking costume. f*ck you Superfag.


BATMAN FTW!!!
Ben Reilly writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 9:53:01 AM

@Big_Daddy:

France is another country that uses red, white and blue. But his costume is actually red, yellow and blue, and I don't think Romania has an issue with that.
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 10:21:17 AM

@Ben

Was not referring to his costume.
AND yes I already know it originally was Grey and brown and blah blah back in the 30s and 40s

but most iconic heroes that started out are in those colors. To name a few:

Spidey, Thor, Captain America for starters. If you see Red white and Blue Most think of America.

Quote "the Man of Steel has served as a prime representation of all things to which America aspires. " end quote.

Ben writes

France is another country that uses red, white and blue.


f*ck the french. the only good thing to come out of them was toast and a royal with cheese.

minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 11:39:01 AM

For those who don't know, Superman doesn't really exist; he's a figment of the minds over at DC.

And part of the reason they're doing this is because Superman just isn't bringing in the cash anymore domestically. So they're making him into an 'international' superhero so they can whore him out in Maylasia and Singapore and Estonia, where they might hope to make more money.

And this is also goes hand in hand with the upcoming reboot film which is set to go international, moreso than DOnner's. So they need to downplay his American status to better cash in on the film.

Also, most of these comic writers are latently anti-American, so their attitutde works well with the global outlook of their paymasters.

"about f*ckin time really...truth justice and the way of thinking that we all hope for...yes that all people are created equal...."

People are not created equal, only equal under the law. And only equak under the law in cerain countries. Better for you to understand the mindless cliche before you utter it, I think.

Fact is, and it behooves me to state the obvious, people are born quite unequal. From looks to brains to height to skill and talent, people come into the world with abilities and characteristics others lack.

And then, people aren't nations, and nations are not equal, either under any law or under any comparison imaginable, save that they contain lots of unequal people.

"@Akbar: Racist Americans would be my guess."

Right, because you don't feel a special affinity for the enclosed geographical spot on the map in which you were born.
rabid writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 12:07:16 PM

it makes sense. Superman has always been apprehensive about getting involved in political affairs because he's viewed as an American cop. In recent years, he keeps finding himself in foreign countries with his hands tied. This makes total sense in the grand scheme of the past few years. He's going global.
So did Batman and the Justice League.
LEONCIO writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 12:07:18 PM

I always thought the one who had american citizenship was Clark Kent, his Superman identity is supposed to be a f*cking alien with no citizenship, I always thought he was a superhero for the world and not just for America, most of his stories are placed in the USA because CK lives there and the comics are published there, but I had no idea he had american citizenship. XDDD

The "american way" thing was just invented a long time ago when there was an excessive sense of patriotism over there because of the cold war sh*t, but I always thought it was retarded, Superman is an alien and I guess his secret identity as CK feels american since he is american, but the "truth, justice and american way" thing is way too dated and I guess that if Superman was real he wouldn't say something like that and he certainly wouldn't have the american citizenship as Superman but just as CK, and he would save people from the US, Canada, France, Spain, China or any other random country.

Anyway, this sh*t they've done in the comics sounds retarded to me, I think only CK could renounce to his citizenship, Superman hasn't any known citizenship afaik.

Sorry for talking seriously about stupid fictional sh*t. XD
encoreyourface writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 12:11:56 PM

f*ck you Superman, no one likes you, you f*cking crybaby.
lebowski writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 12:14:41 PM

superman is a f*cking aien from planet crypton ,he is not american or french or chinese.ofcourse america is his home he was raised there but to me he was always an international superhero.
Nitro5737 writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 12:32:35 PM

1. That picture is from the "Red Sun", an alternate universe story arc where Superman lands in Communist Russia instead of Capitalist America.
2. His colors are never mentioned to be changing.
3. Superman needs a change because America has changed. America is now in a globalized world and has been for some time. This is, in my opinion, over due. Even in Superman Returns, Perry White states, "Does he still stand for truth, justice, and all of that?".
4. Change is a good thing. Hell, people were promised it in 2008 when Obama was campaigning. Too bad Obama didn't keep his word. I know Superman will though.
triggax writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 12:33:53 PM

I'd probably renounce my citizenship too if a guy named Baraka Osama bin laden was president of my country.

Thats just f*cking f*cked.

They should just make Superman a centaur. They would reach a bigger audience.

Why has nobody done this?
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 12:57:57 PM

"Even in Superman Returns, Perry White states, "Does he still stand for truth, justice, and all of that?"."

And, and all that, because Egypt, China, Russia and all the other kleptocratic totalitarian nations states are just brimming with classical liberal and enlightened ideas, right?

And I don't have an issue, no pun intende with SUpes moving to Canada or Asutralia or Britain, or even the Falkland Islands, but to make him a tool of the UN, that band of crooks that stole billions for oil, to have him a champion for the Vietnam and Laos and Saudia Arabia, well, that's just stupid.

It means the guy doesn't stand for sh*t.

And Red Son was nothing more than a commninist hagiographic sendup, a Mark Millar mash note to the Soviet Union, his way of revising history to say that the Soviet Union was no better and no worse than the US, and thus had Superman landed there instead of Kansaa, old Supes would have been as happy as a pig in sh*t to round up dissenters for Stalin's chain of gulags.

Red Son was morally preugnant, intellectually defunct and just a lousy comic book for braindead kids who don't know any better.

"superman is a f*cking aien from planet crypton ,he is not american or french or chinese.ofcourse america is his home he was raised there but to me he was always an international superhero."

Depends what you mean. He was raised American, but he fights to save the world, but he champions what he Americans once considered the ultimate ideals: truth and liberty, what we used to call The American Way, when the world was anything but truthful and free.

So that makes him more American in spirit no matter where he fights.

"I'd probably renounce my citizenship too if a guy named Baraka Osama bin laden was president of my country."

I just lauhed my ass off. Literally. And now I can't find it with both hands. Thanks.
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 12:59:40 PM

"They should just make Superman a centaur. They would reach a bigger audience."

Just make him a tool for corporate greed and he can go anywhere.

Oh, wait, that's what DC is already doing.
Ranger writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 1:01:53 PM

They have never gone down the road (story-wise) and debated why Supes hasn't gone back in time to stop World Wars? He did it to save Lois... but not 50 million people?

What a selfish c*nt.
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 1:30:33 PM

They missed an opportunity to do something very bold with Batman/Bruce Wayne's rather terrible re-entry into modern day Gotham as well.

Ranger writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 1:40:15 PM

Supes is trying to seduce that little boy with a balloon and offering to take him 'flying.'

That sickens me.

But it gives Jake a boner.
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 3:34:34 PM

Superman isn't much of a leader is he? He's the most powerful being on Earth, and here he is, worried to death over his public image! lol!

My god, the man acts like some vane politician running for re-election.

Is this the sort of crap DC is writing these days?
Ranger writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 4:25:49 PM

DC the comics or...
DC the District of Columbia?

I'd say 'yes' to both.
heelswin writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 4:45:54 PM

You gotta be f*cking with me? This international corporate bullsh*t is making me sick. Superman. You guys are gonna take Superman and make him more international? Why? He's an American Icon. f*ck DC. f*ck them and the greed their greed.

Kurskij writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 6:53:25 PM

He should try Thailand then.

Also what's James Earl Jones is doing in Superman comics?
Kurskij writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 6:57:52 PM

We've got Superstalin, so we're good.

http://static.diary.ru/userdir/1/0/6/2/1062906/42490657.jpg
Rambo writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 7:47:46 PM

saw 'Thor' tonight.

my verdict 8 out of 10.

Well done.great art direction mixed with some good acting and some nice action scenes.

The actor who played Loki wasn't mean enough and Sam Jackson's presence was lacking...I like seeing him yelling without any reason.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 8:18:22 PM

Unbelievable what is with these liberal leaning cowards? So we are suppose to bow down to Muslims, Communists, and Socialists and think they are going to pat us on the back. They are laughing at us and they want us lose our power and they are winning with liberals like this
G Lantern writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 8:55:49 PM

I don't recall supermans costume being red,white and blue...it's red,yellow and blue. And I think it's a great idea, he isn't just assigned to america. He saves everyone all over his fictional world. Even batman has decided to go global. Granted it's not always going to be bruce wayne doing the global stuff but it's expanded outside of america. It just makes sense to get with the times, everything is going global
Ranger writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 9:40:12 PM

AIDS certainly is...

Right Jake?
zyban03 writes:
on April 29th, 2011 at 10:58:41 PM

ZZZZZZZZzzzzzzz!!

Shame on you Superman!! Shame shame shame!!
rabid writes:
on April 30th, 2011 at 1:46:30 PM

@ minkowski
Superman isn't protecting his public image. He can't intervene in foreign emergencies without the Americans taking the blame for it. He doesn't want to start a global war just because he helps an iranian get a cat out of a tree.
It's not even any kind of political statement. It's just a plot device to open him up to new stories.
Mudders writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 3:25:04 AM

lasttime i checked superman was an alien.

why does he automatically become an american??

red white n blue huh....well our flag are those colours...so does france,australia,england the list goes on.

supes is gay anyway...there i said it
JohnZee writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 12:29:06 PM

I think all of this controversy is incredibly stupid. Superman isn't technically a citizen and could never offer up any real proof of American citizenship. If Donald Trump questioned Superman's status as an American, no long form birth certificate could be produced.

The storyline has far more to do with the character realizing that as a hero it limits him to just focused on America and for the world to perceive him as being limited by such narrow-minded perception.

But not surprising as man astronauts American and Russians have had such "It's all just one word." epiphanies from outer space. And with all of his abilities it would be very easy to understand him having a similar reaction.

The films continually played that Superman was an international hero, and since they were made decades ago I'd say anyone that equated this "international" mentality as some recent development of the overly liberal media is full of sh*t.

And for the record about people that are completely full of sh*t, all comic book writers are not anti-American or even liberal. And this is evident by just how many of this "anti-American" comic writers that got their panties in a bunch over this particular storyline.

It's one thing to be wrong, it is quite another to be so completely wrong that you should be bitchslapped.

But considering the source, not only am I not surprised by their ignorant poop filled mouth ejecting a constant display of coherent stupidity and ignorance, but a little relieved that they didn't copy and paste the National Review's editorial on this particular matter.

Just once I'd like to read a comment from this c*ntslap that didn't sound like the same tired sound-bite rhetoric that the local meth-addicted vagrant whose been arrested multiple times for chicken f*cking likes to spout when he gets riled up.

Sometimes with any writing there is a slight political slant. And you could say that this particular editorial decision by DC comics is just another example of how anyone in the media that doesn't proudly carry their registered Republican or official Tea Bagging identification are obviously heavily biased towards anti-American over-the-top extreme liberal political ideology.

But then again you probably think that f*cking a chicken on a Saturday night was the thing to do to relieve a little weekly stress.

Nothing story.

Not even technically a liberal slanted story.

But since it has the slight appearance of Superman renouncing a flawed, very narrow-minded, very limiting Nationalistic perception of self and the way he's perceived by the world some overreact and get all worked up.

Because it is a slight alteration that means absolutely nothing to anyone, except those who constantly claim that the media is always slanted and unfair.

But case in point, no one got their panties in a wad over the initial "Grounded" Superman storyline published several months ago that probably had the most blatantly over-the-top super preachy Superman going around spouting ultra-conservative dogma on almost every single panel.

If the media was so liberal focused and biased, there's really no way they would have let such an extreme right winged slant with the character go on for months with scarcely an editorial or even hint of controversy.

But there wasn't any.

But there is to this recent slant on Superman, and sadly it speaks volumes on just how Nationalistic our country has gotten.

And sad to see that chicken-f*cking c*ntslaps can now cast suspicion on the patriotism of an entire group of American workers if said chicken f*ckers find one iota of a perceived political slant against their personal poitical bias.

So Mink I suggest you pull your penis out of that chicken and do something proactive like joining up with that new splinter politcal group that's even more ultra-conservative, super-patriotic, wishing for smaller government than the Tea Baggers themselves...it's called the Nationalistic American Zealots for Integrity Party...

...But sadly that's a little too long for a campaign button, so they usually just make a very user friendly much more digestible name that only utilizes the first initial in each word in their official title.
rabid writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 12:44:00 PM

Technically, he is a citizen in the comics. Back in the late 80s, the President gave him honorary American citizenship.
rabid writes:
on May 1st, 2011 at 8:54:09 PM

It also will set him at odds with the US government, which if anyone saw how Generation Lost ended... Max Lord is back at the helm of Checkmate. That means there's another superhero registration dilemma on the horizon.
Mudders writes:
on May 2nd, 2011 at 3:35:35 AM

@rabid

thx for the bit on the "honourary citizenship" makes it a bit clearer now

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved