WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Fast and Furious" Franchise Switches from Racing to Heists

Posted: April 26th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Fast and Furious" Franchise Switches from Racing to HeistsSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures has already brought back Chris Morgan to begin work on the sixth "Fast and Furious" installment. The plan however is to make the franchise more about heists and less about street racing.

The studio said: "The question putting 'Fast Five' and 'Fast Six' together for us was: Can we take it out of being a pure car culture movie and into being a true action franchise in the spirit of those great heist films made 10 or 15 years ago?"

"We've heard so many people say, 'I've never seen one, and I've never wanted to see one,' about the Fast franchise. So if these movies were still about street racing, there was probably a ceiling on how many people would buy tickets. We wanted to see if we could raise it out of about racing and make car driving ability just a part of the movie, like those great chases in 'The French Connection,' 'The Bourne Identity,' 'The Italian Job.'"

In addition, The Onion News Network was able to sit down with Morgan to talk about "Fast Five." Check out the hilarious interview below.

Interview:


Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on April 26th, 2011 at 8:58:09 PM

this series is dead. at least Scream 4 and Saw never f*cked with the formula. although they where "bad films" they didn't f*ck with their sh*t.
Lowryder writes:
on April 26th, 2011 at 9:03:32 PM

@encore..u didnt like Scream 4? I thought it was quite good. I rank it up there with 1 and 2.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 26th, 2011 at 9:11:34 PM

f*ck all these movies,because all the people support this sh*t franchise they're gonna keep making more.
And yet no Ateam sequel
encoreyourface writes:
on April 26th, 2011 at 9:13:14 PM

no i loved scream 4! i put it in quotes because everyone says scream4 and saw are bad films just because they made more then the acceptable amount of movies in a film series and are "beating a dead horse". that is not why i hate on this movie, i hate on it because it has deviated from the first film so much they are not even comparable, they aren't even the same f*cking genre any more. i suppose i should have been more clear, i was saying all that because i defend scream 4 and saw7 when people say they made to many films but i hate this series and i didn't want to sound like a hypocrite.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 26th, 2011 at 9:14:03 PM

that was to @lowryder
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 26th, 2011 at 9:17:51 PM

f*ck this series, it's dead anyways.
Hisenberg writes:
on April 26th, 2011 at 9:42:05 PM

just do another ridd*ck already and stop driving around with paul walker!!
mpiper821 writes:
on April 26th, 2011 at 9:45:54 PM

Well this just put me down on any hope that it will be like the first one at all. I guess writers and producers are to f@cking stupid to realize what made the first one great. Yeah this is a dead series.
billofill writes:
on April 26th, 2011 at 11:03:06 PM

scream 4 was almost as good as 2 but no where near as good as 1.
The Ascender 07 writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 1:08:29 AM

You guys are all crazy. Little Morgan has got a lot of talent. And theres 500 more to go! Really why stop there?
Mudders writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 1:49:26 AM

fast 5 is already a heist film...there is about 10mins of racing and the rest is a mixture of "the italian job" and the "oceans" franchise....seriously when ya watch it...the characters in fast 5 seem to resemble the cast of the oceans films....i was sitting there thinkin..."i've seen this already".
its a fun to watch film but leave your brain at home...
telur writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 3:39:28 AM

I hope "The Italian Job" Franchise Switches from Heists to Racing

thats make equal


telur writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 3:39:40 AM

I hope "The Italian Job" Franchise Switches from Heists to Racing

thats make equal and fair enough


Mudders writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 4:06:11 AM

plus when vin and walker get the last car off the train and they "go over" im pretty sure that would be instant death....kinda like a swan dive off the golden gate i would think....but like i say...go and dont think about it too much
Mudders writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 4:07:16 AM

so yeah i would think in reality this movie shouldve been bout 20mins long
telur writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 6:02:54 AM

where you watch it mudder?
trailertrash writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 6:26:27 AM

Mudders felt the same way mate brainless but fun and they didn't even bother to show the race to get those cars they needed.
takai writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 10:55:43 AM

I'll watch anything Vin Diesel does, for some strange reason, but Paul Walker is not nearly a good enough actor for me to give a crap about this series without the car culture. What strikes me even more though, is the fact that they'll be destroying their core audience in order to appeal to other viewers, thus leaving them with LESS of an audience. Stupid move. Stupid, stupid move.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 11:58:43 AM

"in the spirit of those great heist films made 10 or 15 years ago?"

And those were? Seems he's saying he doesn't really recall when all those great heists were filmed, or otherwise the 'Age of Great Heists on Film' spanned at least five years, some 10 to 15 years ago. Whatever. they just know it's cheaper this way, and thay also know no one gives a sh*t anymore about seeing semis run over fiberglass ricers.
holtlt writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 1:17:18 PM

only if Paul Walker doesa performane like he did in Running Scared, and for that he needs a good script
Champ1432 writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 5:49:08 PM

Takai basically already stated my point:

Yes, making them heist films may interest other people, but did you ever stop to think it may turn off all the people who see it now because it's about cars and street racing? So in the end, are you really gaining anything?

If the movies are making money aleady, why change the formula? That's how you end up with New Coke. How did that work out? Changing what works usually is a recipe for failure.

Not saying I want more of these movies to get made, but if their main concern is the marketability or the interest of a particular demographic, and how much money they will make, I'm not sure such a dramatic change is needed. Just come up with a semi-fresh story and the car fans will go see it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 8:50:52 PM

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz *snort*

Hunh ? Did you say somethin' about Fast Five ? Yeah. Oh. Okay.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
holtlt writes:
on April 27th, 2011 at 10:44:49 PM

the problem is that they'll keep doing sequels until people would stop watching them, don't matter the plot
Mudders writes:
on April 28th, 2011 at 1:04:44 AM

@ telur

im from new zealand mate...it came out here april 21st

@ trailer

yeah that was f*cked up bout not showin the race...i was like oh sweet here we go and then next shot they show them driving it into the warehouse....gay.
the only racing was when the stole the cop cars for the vault heist...and that was just a drag race...needed more cars but it was still a fun flick
darkraven28 writes:
on April 28th, 2011 at 3:36:59 AM

Not much of a switch. Fast and Furious has always put plenty of emphasis on stealing sh*t if not 100 percent emphasis. And frankly, that online clip of them stealing the bank vault seems like the "nuked the fridge!!!" moment of this particular series.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2011 at 4:23:56 AM

"Fast and Furious" Franchise Switches from Racing to Heists


davethephotoguy switches off.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved