WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Godfather" Tops List of Films People Lie About Seeing

Posted: April 24th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Godfather" Tops List of Films People Lie About SeeingSubmit Comment
In a Lovefilm (a UK video rental company) poll, 1,500 people were asked to name movies that they have lied about seeing. It turned out that almost 1 out of 3 named "The Godfather" as the film they have claim to have seen.

The rest of the top five most lied about movies are "Casablanca," "Taxi Driver," "2001: A Space Odyssey," and "Reservoir Dogs." Researchers found that four out of five people lied to impress other people.

"Whether it is a small white lie about having seen a cult classic or nodding along to friends as they recount the infamous horse head scene in 'The Godfather,' there are some films that we just do not want to admit we have not watched," said Lovefilm editor.

Top 10 Lied About Films:

1. The Godfather (30%)

2. Casablanca (13%)

3. Taxi Driver (11%)

4. 2001: A Space Odyssey (9%)

5. Reservoir Dogs (8%)

6. This Is Spinal Tap (7%)

7. Apocalypse Now (6%)

8. Goodfellas (5%)

*. Blade Runner (5%)

10. The Great Escape (4%)

Question: What movie have you lied about seeing?

Source: FemaleFirst, Lovefilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 164 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 4:37:22 AM

Seen all of that top 10

And Why lie about seeing a film ?? Don't get it never done it ...
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 4:44:13 AM

I did get dragged to see the last Twilight movie last year and told people i hadn't seen it does that count ?
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:03:14 AM

Yeah. Now Id like to see a list about the 10 movies people saw and said they didnt.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:30:08 AM

That would make a more interesting list, Plus embarrassment would be more of a reason to lie to someone about what you hadn't seen.
oklahomaer writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:30:55 AM

@scott Balowulf does 2 girls 1 cup count?
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:33:11 AM

^^ You should be proud if you made through that whole video !!

I still can't drink chocolate Milkshakes
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:02:27 AM

Me too on that one tt, I've seen all the films on there.

Can only think of two films right now..

300 and Twilight.

Yes I have seen the first one, just to find out what all the fuss was about and all I can say is..I am definetly not the target audience for any of those movies.

If I haven't seen the movie then I admit it, I do occasionaly lie about not seeing a movie but have only because I hated every minute of it and it might be someones favourite movie.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:39:20 AM

That is very polite of you dave, lol

Off Topic, Ray Winstone was on the radio in the week and he starts filming the Sweeney movie in November Nick Love directing and Ben Drew as Carter, Gonna be good Gov.....
Lederhosen writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:44:07 AM

I've seen bits and pieces of the Godfather of the years but never sat through it from beginning to end. I never lie about seeing it or other movies. I have more important things to lie about...like my drinking habit...hehe.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:44:53 AM

I watched Fast Five last night,
Pretty Brainless but very entertaining though.

To say the whole cast were pumped up for this movie would be the understatement of the year.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:51:33 AM

Your very welcome tt.

Yep,I heard about that, good it is finally getting done but can't beleive Danny Dyer isn't Carter. I hear the guy they got is the geezer from "Plan B" right?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:55:08 AM

Hey tt, you think America might need it in subtitles? haha
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:09:57 AM

TT- dahhh is that, that bad? I seen one man one glass and almost lost it.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:22:40 AM

sh*t, I lie about Twilight all the time. I bash the hell out of those films whenever asked but in truth I've only seen bits and pieces of the first and second. I honestly can't watch more than 5 minutes of those films at a time without wanting to rip my eyes out. I think the same goes for any Tyler Perry movie.
snoop writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:25:16 AM

What a bunch of insecure retards.
Whitta writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:30:18 AM

Does it count if you've lied about seeing a movie so you don't have to watch it. Because i've done that plenty of times
for eg,

"What movie should we watch?!"
"Have you seen 'Norbit', we should watch that"
"Nagh, i've seen it too many times"
(Have not seen Norbit)
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:48:44 AM

I bet the guys from Spinal Tap are really happy to have made this list.
numnut writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:05:39 AM

Lied about watching "Grease" to get a root... it worked, but then watched it and thought it was great..... is something wrong there???
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 11:13:35 AM

Harry Potter
MontoyaWA writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 11:30:09 AM

Well, that's a shame. One of the greatest films of all time, and people out there lying about seeing it.
WV-Films writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 12:00:19 PM

Blade Runner is # *
Atemisk writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 12:11:13 PM

@Whitta: Simply put that's one of the best ideas I've ever heard. Completely eliminates the whole "How do you know if you haven't seen it" bullsh*t. Bravo sir... Bravo

On the other hand with an actually GOOD movie:

I don't understand why people would bother lying about seeing a classic though. Of all the things to lie about this is among the most pointless. Its an easy lie to catch and does it really matter?
secondbest writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 12:16:13 PM

I've seen half that list. Other people lying about seeing movies wouldn't working with me because if I've also seen it, I usually end up talking about it with the person. So if they lied, that lie would be caught in about five seconds. I thought Citizen Kane would definitely be up there though.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 12:16:33 PM

Dave

Yeah thats him mate, He was pretty good in Harry Brown and i think he will make a good Carter. Winstone as Jack Regan is perfect casting (john thaw would approve no doubt about it)

Dyer would have been ok, plus him working with nick love again they always seem to deliver a pretty good film, I Just dont think he can give the The Sweeney movie the hard edge it should have.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 12:18:44 PM

Bad- One man one glass, dare i ask what thats about, lol
vagos1268 writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 1:22:39 PM

THIS IS BULLsh*t! NOW YOU NEED BALLS TO SAY THAT YOU GOT BORED AT THE BEGGINING OF 2001 SPACE.. AND SLEEP? f*ck YOU
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 1:30:27 PM

f*cking idiots trying to pretend to know film by lying.
And people lie about Spinal Tap? Usually people lie because they are lazy and don't want to watch a "boring" film. But Spinal Tap is f*cking amazing!
technoreaper writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 1:33:29 PM

We're talking about pretentious film snobs, right?
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 1:39:19 PM

LoveFilm.com is for people who can't even be bothered to venture to the video store who gives a crap about what they think anyway.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 1:40:30 PM

"THIS IS BULLsh*t! NOW YOU NEED BALLS TO SAY THAT YOU GOT BORED AT THE BEGGINING OF 2001 SPACE.. AND SLEEP? f*ck YOU"

I proudly admit I never finished 2001. I'll wear a t-shirt attesting to that fact. Terrible film.

As for Godfather, why would you lie? Because the losers youc all friends might poke fun? Puhlease. Either watch the damned film or feel comfortable that you haven't see it.

Oh, and trailer, I had no idea to what Bad Chad was referring, but here's your answer on the one man one cup/jar/glass thing. And I quote:

"The second most horrible viral video, following one guy one screwdriver. It involves a (so far) anonymous man, who squats down over a jar, sliding it up into his ass, and squeezes it with his anus, causing it to shatter in his rectum. Rather than screaming in pain and calling 911, he just grunts, then begins to pick the shards out by hand as a sizable pool of surprisingly thick blood forms beneath him.. A mass of scar tissue suggests that this was intentional, and he "performs" on a regular basis."

Yeah. That.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 2:05:31 PM

I Can't stop (((SHUDDERING))) with fear over that synopsis there Mink , Truly a frightening thing...

And i agree on A Space Odyssey just didn't do it for me and i like Kubrick but that and Clockwork Orange are very overrated IMO
codeman_1216 writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 2:06:56 PM

the only movie i've lied about seeing is scarface. everyone's always trying to get me to watch it, and i never feel like it so i tell them i've seen it.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 2:15:32 PM

Why not just watch it, It's a pretty good movie
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 2:18:51 PM

I like Kubrick as well, trailer, but I think what helped ruin it for me, the movie I mean, was having read the book beforehand. That and the music over slow excruciatingly slow cinematography.

As for one man one whatever, jesus, like I would eveer watch somethng like that. Ever. Ever. Did I mention I would never watch it? Jesus.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 2:21:03 PM

Say hello to my little friend!

Wasn't Scarface the film that put de Palma on the map, so to speak?
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 2:27:25 PM

slow
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 2:38:32 PM

It did put De Palma on the mainstream mape i guess, He'd been more known for the Horror/Thriller type of movies before with Carrie being his most successful.

And i know people really hated The Bonfire of the Vanities but i didn't mind that movie, Granted i haven't read Tom Wolfe's book.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 2:40:55 PM

And Mink no doubting the fact you wouldn't ever watch one man and bottle etc, only Che would get his rock off to that sh*t !!
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 3:28:46 PM

Never saw Bonfire of the Vanities and I haven't heard good things. Can't believe Willis was paid 5 mil, 4 mil over Hanks, for his role. I'd probably watch it just to see Kim Catrall. Then again, I read the Wiki and doesn't sound like your typical PC fare so that may explain why it isn't well regarded. Have to give it a shot.

As for the one guy thing, I suggest we never speak of it again. Ever. Ever.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 3:37:48 PM

TT-google it and lemme know what you think. :)
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 4:08:00 PM

DePalmas best was The Untouchables. Easy.

Scarface was terrible, that had to be one of the most overrated performances in the history of cinema.

Nothing about Scarface was appealing to me in any way. I hate that now-a-days in order to be gangster you have to own every f*cking piece of scarface paraphernalia on the planet. or youre just not gangster.

Also, Carlitos Way comes in a close second for DePalma, then Mission Impossible would be third, everything else pretty much sucked.. Raising Cain had its moments though.

I've seen every movie on this list more than once. Clockwork Orange isn't over rated? By who? Maybe across the pond in the UK but not here. It is what it is. A depraved film about brainwashing and raping women. The book by Burgess was substantially better.

Kubrick made a lot of decent films, Barry Lyndon possibly being his finest... Or Spartacus... Im always torn.. 2001 was... well.. boring as f*ck... and a useless exercise in patience, i've been unfortunate enough to have sat through it twice.

Not sure why anyone would lie about seeing any movie.. With the exception of course of not wanting to watch some sh*tty movie with friends..

Of all the things on that list, Im surprised goodfellas is there.. well yeah and the godfather, like why the f*ck wouldn't you have just watched them.. if you knew they were awesome enough that lying about it would make you f*cking cool... why wouldn't you have just watched them? Im pretty f*cking sure right now as I type this, the godfather is on TV... On probably more than one channel.. Wheres the excuse?

People are f*cked.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 4:29:33 PM

Scarface's appeal, Trig, isn't that it's a great film, technically, but that is exudes the masculine macho posture many young men can't find internally.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 4:31:44 PM

IM surprised full metal jacket,gone with the wind,dirty dozen,pink floyd the wall movie, shining,magnificent seven,good the bad and the ugly movies weren't involved
encoreyourface writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 4:32:34 PM

i don't lie about seeing movies, who the hell am i trying to impress so much i need to lie about watching a f*cking movie?

i've only seen 1,7, and 8. i need to stop procrastinating on seeing Taxi Driver ...
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 4:35:42 PM

Is it me, or are Canadians just overall smarter than most Americans?
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 4:39:28 PM

"i've only seen 1,7, and 8. i need to stop procrastinating on seeing Taxi Driver ..."

You're not missing much, I can assure you, unless you have long wet dreams for a jail bait Jodie Foster (hush, Ranger).
bandolero999 writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 4:40:35 PM

Taxi Drivers great movie one of deniros best and you see a young jodie foster as a hooker and Harvey keitel is her pimp.

Blood in blood out,American me and Once upon a time in America are better than that overated Scarface.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 4:48:35 PM

Mink- Agreed !!!

Willis had a good agent back then thats for sure with some of the cash he was paid to be in some average movies.

Kim Cattrall will always be Lassie to me (porkys), lol

Trig-

Clockwork always seems to make it on to peoples top film list here and IMDB 8.5 No 56 all time.

It's Just a nasty film with so many un-likeable characters in it, When the guy was killed with what i remember being a giant c*ck shape thing it kind of lost me after that.

I liked Barry Lyndon and Dr StrangeLove was very good and of course Spartacus and Full Metal Jacket.

The Shining was ok but Nicholson made that movie for me.

De Palma yes The Untouchables is great and i enjoyed Snake Eyes too and on 1st Viewing Casualties of War was great but have never enjoyed watching it again for some reason.

trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 4:49:42 PM

Bad- I may never go on Google ever again , lol
rabid writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 4:51:27 PM

Senn them all... but then how would you know if I was lying??

Great Escape, Spinal Tap, and Apocalypse Now are the only films on the list that I'm not fond of.
Casablanca ties with the Shining for my favorite film. I've probably seen it more times than any other film.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:01:03 PM

"Casualties of War was great but have never enjoyed watching it again for some reason."

Probably because it's depressing as f*ck.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:14:15 PM

Your not wrong there Mink

Rabid - Casablanca your favorite film, Really thought it would have been some SCI-FI movie or something.

Got to say I Love the Great Escape, you can't beat watching that movie on a saturday afternoon. Classic
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:14:27 PM

Bando, although everything you listed makes sense, possibly didnt make that list because they are not as well known as films like the godfather and goodfellas?

I dont know?.. I would think that if you asked someone if they'd seen for a few dollars more or once upon a time in america.. They would draw a blank face..

Either you've watched Sergio Leones films or you've straight up just never heard of him.. Where as the godfather, is the f*cking godfather right....

I dont think the general public that are lying about seeing these films.. IE guys that flock to Revenge of the Fallen wearing a Prime mask, have any f*cking clue what the good the bad and the ugly is.. Where as the Godfather, because of how popular it has been in western culture.. Would be something more of a "oh you havent seen the godfather!!! you suck!!" kind of a thing.. If someone said no I haven't seen Seven Samurai, I'd say, "understandable"...

Then again, perhaps who was surveyed was given a limited list to choose from? Who knows?
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:19:51 PM

"Blood in blood out,American me and Once upon a time in America are better than that overated Scarface."

Youre starting to make a lot more sense lately, bando. Maybe I was a little harsh to begin with..

American Me, was absolutely f*cking amazing, blood in blood out was easily one of the best prison gangster movies of all f*cking time.

If you haven't already seen it, check out A Prophet. Amazing prison gangster film about the corsican mob.. really really f*cking amazing film..

And whats to be said about Once Upon a Time in America?

EVERYTHING. Just a brilliant film. Leones best film IMO.. James Woods best movie for sure.

A crime opus for all generations up there with Heat and Godfather 2 i'd say.

Mink, yes, for the most part depending on where you're going.. The states that share border with us here in canada the people seem to be smarter.. the further south you get, middle america and south west of there the people seem to get quite a bit more stupid.. The bible belt and post modern racism and a sh*tty education system are all to blame im sure. A fleeting economy and situational poverty definitely do not help. We don't have much of that up here.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:23:06 PM

AHEM, South east, not west.. Lot's of good people in California and Arizona.. Well good people all over man.. Its north america, we're all the same.. You guys have the unfortunate task of being solely governed and segregated to the state that you live in and whats happening in the particular state. Where as here its more of a one government type thing, taxes are just different per province.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:31:30 PM

"Youre starting to make a lot more sense lately, bando. Maybe I was a little harsh to begin with.."

Yup.

"Mink, yes, for the most part depending on where you're going.. The states that share border with us here in canada the people seem to be smarter.. the further south you get, middle america and south west of there the people seem to get quite a bit more stupid.. The bible belt and post modern racism and a sh*tty education system are all to blame im sure. A fleeting economy and situational poverty definitely do not help. We don't have much of that up here."

I've got to get the f*ck outta here, then.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:32:12 PM

Huge fan of Nic Cage, not a fan of Snake Eyes..
Just couldn't get into it. The whole Who-Done-It scenario at the time had been overdone and for some reason or another? People have this thing about Brian DePalma being the king of mystery? Why is that? Because he uses sinister music? Which of his films, outside of Blow Out, (which was f*cking terrible) were really mysteries.. Im not sure why the guy has had that stigma around his career since Carrie.

But yeah, Snake Eyes, was cages and depalmas most pathetic efforts at the time, especially considering DePalma was coming off of the huge critical success of Carlitos Way and The Untouchables.. To wait so long after these masterful films to make a 90 minute on screen headache is beyond me.

But to each his own, I liked The Black Dahlia.

DePalma has a good grasp of film noir i'd say.. In recent years nobody has done it better than Curtis Hanson though, with LA Confidential. Theres a mans movie a true piece of cinematic art. Nothing of its kind has been released in the better part of 2 decades, nothing that came anywhere near as good.. Makes you think though.

Gangster films are definitely my favorite types of films.. Gangster films, noirs.. Neo Noirs.. Im a fan of the genre, Im not however nor will I ever be, a fan of Scarface.. Just a stupid movie.. Kay sweet you sold coke made lots of money and died, all the while with the most unconvincing retarded accent..

Had it not been for Sydney Lumet redefining Pacinos career in the process of the mess that was Scarface, I would have lost all faith in him as an actor. Just a terrible f*cking movie.

Serpico, Dog Day Afternoon, Scent of a Woman, Heat and Carlitos Way were very much redeeming. So its all good. Love Pacino. f*ck even Any Given Sunday was a lot of fun and he was great in it.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:35:02 PM

Once Upon A Time In America is a great film and the longer the version you watch the better the film is.

But for me Sergio Leone's best film will always be The Good The Bad and The Ugly.

One of the first non John Wayne westerns i remember watching as a kid blew me away then and still does every time i watch it.

Brutal with a real sense of dark humour to it.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:37:28 PM

Well I've seen all the Top 10 on this list, with the exception of Taxi Driver, This Is Spinal Tap, and The Great Escape.

Of those, Taxi Driver is the only one that I have the urge to seek out and watch.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:39:51 PM

Il Bruno, was for me.. My least favorite of his western trilogy..

Once Upon a Time in The West was by far the best of the series.. imo..

That train robbery intro was just so well done, snags me in every time.. And Ill take Charlie Bronson and Henry Fonda over Eastwoods acting any day. Dont get me wrong.. Love Eastwood.. Just thought he was a little out of place in that film.

He f*cking OWNED in Unforgiven though, so it's all good.. The man has always been better behind the camera rather than in front of the camera.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:44:44 PM

First off, 2001 is a brilliant film. I understand some people why some people say it's a boring film. It is! But it's also an amazingly well done film that broke new ground. One of my favorites. Kubrick is a genius and it's hard for any director to trump his work (Ingmar Bergman comes close, IMO).

Once Upon A Time In America is great. Yes, the longer cut of the film is the intended viewing you should see. It's what Sergio Leone wanted people to see. But it's not really his cut since they only cut it to what his notes said.

In my honest opinion, I believe that Once Upon A Time In The West is the best Leone film and the best Western out there. It uses cliches of the genre (and it's sub-genre) and yet still makes them raw and not feel outdated.

As for the films on this list, i can't fathom the idea of people lying about Spinal Tap OR Reservoir Dogs.
Reservoir Dogs is the one film noobie film enthusiasts ask me if i have seen.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:45:48 PM

TT..

With the exception of R Lee Emerys unrelenting psychotic drill sergeant character and D'onofrios character. Full Metal Jacket sucked.

Im sorry.. but what the f*ck was he trying to do with that movie? Never liked it.. Kubricks very much touch and go for me.. He insists upon himself.. He was Lars von Trier for the older generation..

Tell me that once D'onofrio shot himself in the face that movie didn't fall apart faster than the soviet union.

Over long, contrived, unlikeable characters and poorly handled camera work. I did not like Full Metal Jacket. As an entire movie. the first act was amazing though.

Eh, strangelove was more of an exercise in versatility for Peter Sellers than it was anything. Cool movie but again it fell victim to the *sshole in Kubrick.. Same with Clockwork.. The film thought it was a better film than it actually was.. When you insist this onto the viewer it's a lot easier to make them legendary.. especially in that day and age.

Barry Lyndon remains one of his only true cinematic masterworks. Because he made it with a lot less of a heavy hand. I believe the critical split on 2001 had a lot to do with that.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:49:19 PM

Still don't understand why so many call 2001 a masterpiece?

Sorry zeroguy, although I agree with your opinion on Leones films.. 2001 was just.. .......... what can i say? its hard to express my feelings about the movie in words.. punching the tv makes more sense to me... lets just say THE PACING was retarded and the music was far too intense for what was being conveyed.. otherwise.. it looked nice.. but sometimes i can see the beauty in my own poop.. so whatever i guess.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:51:31 PM

@Phantom
Watch Great Escape and Spinal Tap. One is a odd feel good WW2 film and the other is a amazing mockumentray comedy that created that stale genre.

@Trig
Agreed. But i think out of the No Name trilogy, the weakest was For A Few Dollars More. Fistful was a nice ripoff of Yojimbo and Good, Bad, Ugly was an superb epic western that used the american civil war perfectly as a backdrop for the rowdy 3 characters and their hunt for riches.

And i wasn't a fan of Unforgiven. I didn't really get invested int he story and could careless for it. Maybe on another viewing i'll appreciate it more. Just some things didn't work for me (example: Richard Harris' character, he comes, then goes, useless character).
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:57:50 PM

AGREED!

Richard Harris was pointless but at the same time, invest your awareness into Gene Hackmans character on your next viewing. You may get a little something more out of it. Especially Richard Harris.

Hackman made the film for me. Morgan Freeman as well..

You have to be interested in the story and the saloon gun fight at the end is the grand pay off. Subtle yet intense and totally bad ass. But seriously.. keep and eye on Hackmans character throughout and what he did with the character and it will give more reason to the movie and well, harris' character in the film.. as stupid old and decrepit as he was. His character was there for a reason, if only to show just how f*cking serious hackman was.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 5:59:01 PM

I want someone to explain to me how 2001 broke new ground. Did it do something somewhat differently? Sure. It used two hours of the viewers time to induce a homocidal-suicidal reflex. That sort of reaction was last noted after Leni Reisenstahl's Triumph of the Will was viewed by a bunch of Jews.

It's a terrible f*cking film. It's not that it's simply boring, it essentially bleaches the original novel's story clear of any intent or sci-fi purpose.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:01:32 PM

"That sort of reaction was last noted after Leni Reisenstahl's Triumph of the Will was viewed by a bunch of Jews."

Hahahaha! Jeeeeesus.. Kubricks spinning in his grave after that one..
Its true though.. It was a waste of film reel.. I understand that people really loved the film.. haha I just don't understand why?
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:05:39 PM

And that's why his films work. Some are slow, methodical pieces that take their time unloading story (or in 2001's case, lack of story).
Before i go on a tirade, to call him THe Lars Von Trier of the his time, is utter bullsh*t. LVT does not care about us. He does not even care about his films. What he cares about is tricking or deceiving or pissing off the audience. I recently saw Antichrist, a slow piece that in the end, was just Lars saying "Hey, f*ck women, those ball crushing, clit cutting psychos". But i like his work for the sole reason that he makes them empty less, emotionless pits of despair. And it tells me how not to make a film.

Now, Full Metal Jacket was great. I know people are constantly saying they love the first half. I like that first half. it was comedic and worked well it showing the dehumanization of people and training men into machines that kill.
But IMO, that second half was better. The actual realization of war, and this slow calmness it almost had in it. And how things were less of a joke and more serious. Plus the sniper shootout scene and the realization at who is behind the gun was perfect. Great film.

Yes 2001 is boring. But it pushed the limits of story and special effects. it challenged ideas and how to make a film. Do i like it solely for that reason? Hell no. I feel it takes a deeper level of thinking to enjoyed the film. The ending, though confusing and trippy as hell, leaves you not cold, but asking questions about the film and understanding and developing theories.

Strangelove was a fantastic comedy on war and politics and the way people react in situations. And with his use of getting the actors to create this broad characters to ultimately make it sort of like wacky, screwball comedy, it top notch in my books.

Barry Lyndon, though i own it, i have yet to still see it. All i know of it, is that it's underrated and helped further film by having a special lens that can capture natural light. But from what i heard, and judging from your response, i guess it's awesome.

Stanley Kubrick is the man. Some find him overrated. That's fine. But you can't deny he's done so much for the world of film and that he made films that challenged the way we think and perceive films. He didn't sugar coat things. he made us use our brains during and once the films ended.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:06:50 PM

Im still laughing.

Ridiculous.

I feel I need to sit down and watch 2001 now.

How about 2010: the year we make contact!!! Now that was a f*cking good movie!!! For serious! They actually made a movie around the story instead of a bunch of ridiculously over long images of pretty much nothing...

Im being serious.. 2010 was a good movie.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:08:41 PM

And if we're judging a film on its accolades 2010 was actually nominated for 5 oscars.. Where as 2001 was nominated for 4.. If it was really that ground breaking, I would think Peter Hyams attempt at a sequel would have been laughed at.. yet... it won more critical praise at the time.. and it came out the same year as starman so thats f*ckin saying something.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:14:18 PM

Zeroguy, calling his films overrated isn't me trying to take anything away from the man, he is and always will be one of the finest directors to ever walk this planet..

"What he cares about is tricking or deceiving or pissing off the audience"

This was one of Kubricks very own traits and I know I'm not the only person to compare Kubrick to Von Trier.

If you feel that Kubrick wasn't at the very least in it for nothing but himself at certain times of his career. How do you explain Eyes Wide Shut?


Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:15:18 PM

Funny jew joke is funny. Nice one mink.

Yeah, on a next viewing i'll look more into Hackman's character. Now that i know the ending of it, i bet the film has these little subtles that make it better.

Man, thinking about G,B,& U, that film has the best Ennio Morricone score. ANd the best ending. That Mexican standoff is classic.

Mink, just look up 2001 and special effects. Or at least the wikipedia page. It used different techniques and ways ti capture and film special effects.
Kubrick not only pushed limits of techniques but also story and even ratings, like the X rating he got for Clockwork Orange.
Segway!

Now trig, you mentioned Clockwork, and i forgot to mention it. Good film. Though, it's not high on my list of favourite Kubrick films.
Dr Fate writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:16:29 PM

Transformers Revenge of The Fallenre
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:20:14 PM

2010 was definitely, arguably, much better, because it left behind all that pretentious new age claptrap and got back to what a film should do: tell a story.


And give me a break. 2001 doesn't demand more thought than any other sci-fi film. That's nonsense. I read math books on the john. I'm listening to some boring videos on global illumination. That's 'boring'. That demands more thought. 2001 requires herculean *patience*, something it never earns by giving the viewer a much deserved and improved second and third (or in 2001's case, a second, third, fourth and fifth) acts.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:22:26 PM

Yah when I think of an amazing film I think of a film that I can sit through more than once in a year. Can't do that with Clockwork Orange.. Hated the jarring cinematography throughout.. I like peaceful shots..

Conrad Hall is a perfect example of a man that can shoot a film and keep me watching more than once a year. Road to Perdition for example. Beautifully shot.. Compare that to Clockwork and its like eating ice cream VS razor blades..

And f*ck yeah! The ending to the good the bad and the ugly was f*cking amazing... loved it.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:26:01 PM

Sure, 2001 broke new ground visually as it was one of the first films to go beyond that B-movie sci-fi look, but looks can get you only so far (just ask Lindsay Lohan, Kim Kardashian and Jennifer Lopez) but storywise, no, narratively speaking it was a horrid encounter, one I would swap with HAL and an airlock any day.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:27:13 PM

Peter Hyman's 2010 is a rad film. This is the same guy who made my favourite JCVD film, Timecop.

And to bring in accolades is ridiculous. But since you brought it up. 2001 is critically acclaimed and won 1 of the 4 awards it was nominated for (special effects, duh). 2010 won 0 out of 5. And i believed it the only reason it was nominated, was because it was a sequel to a film that slowly earned critical acclaim over time. And look at 2001 now. Plenty of film sites, critics, whatever, regard it as one of the best achievements in film.
To each their own. I adore it. You dislike it. It's a-o-kay.

I still don't see Kubrick as a von Trier. Kubrick made films that seemed cold, yet had this underlining current of a disturbed cynic. Lars creates films that just get under the viewers skin.
Kubrick made some films to challenge us. ANd then he made some films that he knew might piss us off (Stangelove, Lolita). But i see a certain care he provides in those films. He doesn't let markers or studio execs warp the final cut is. That's why the Shinning is so different from he book. And i like both in their separate worlds.

As for Eyes WIde Shut. That was Kubrick trying his hand at a sexual redemption film. And i have no f*cking clue why he did it. Possibly money made him want to do it. Or maybe the script really pulled him in. No clue. I love the film. But the problem was the marketing of it. They had to make it this film that featured a real life couple that were f*cking were playing a married couple. I don't know. There's just something about EWS that i really like.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:28:20 PM

Mink, yes, agreed, the headache I get watching 2001 doesn't come from the fact that it's too smart a movie, because it isn't.. Primer gave me a headache for that reason.. 2001 gave me a headache because it was nonsensical.. for reasons outside of it being smart...

It carried on and on and on and on.. for no reason.. it really did feel like the worlds most pointless movie.. Sure it looked great, for the time.. but what was the real purpose of the movie and why were so many amazed by what they saw?

Star Wars came out shortly after, and it was 10 times smarter and broke way more ground than 2001.. and it was STILL a sh*t f*ckin film.

Breaking ground and amazing people doesn't really transcend time.. Uncle Bobs Elixir at one point probably amazed people.. especially when it was sold on a stage, much like 2001, much like Avatar and other things of the sort..

Just because it was ground breaking doesnt make it a good movie or a fun movie to watch.. Id rather let the movie keep me interested rather than try to keep myself interested in the movie.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:34:36 PM

Timecop was f*cking awesome.

Mmm, and Yeah, I really enjoyed Eyes Wide Shut.. I don't have much to say about the film other than, it was nice to see sydney pollock in it..

I doubt it was for money. The guy did not make films for money, ask any actor that has ever worked with him.. sometimes taking weeks at a time to film one 5 minute scene.

Same is to be said about EWS.. Took a very long time to film.. It was a good film... But I have a hard time seeing the difference in the two directors, other than the fact that Kubrick made waaaaay f*ckin better movies...
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:36:27 PM

And that's why story didn't matter for 2001. It told a disjointed story that asked viewers to think it up. Sure, call it lazy, but it still had fragments of a story to at least ask us to think it up.

Story doesn't have to be this linear thing that flows from point A to B. Sometimes the best can just stay at point A and leave us there to think about why we're there.

Alcott did a f*cking beautiful job on Clockwork Orange. That's actually the one thing of the film that keeps it alive. The use of it's crisp colours and the idea of it's fisheye lens to give it this zany view on this truthfully ridiculous story.

Conrad Hall is good. I like Robert Elswitt and Haskell Wexler are true masters of cinematography.

And i have to point out it is hard as f*ck to keep up with the posts on this particular subject. So i guess i'm waving the white flag and just wanting to end the little debate (or whatever the hell this was) and just move on. Mainly cause i know i won't convince you guys that 2001 is a great film.

Again. You guys hate it. I love it. End of line.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:38:06 PM

I just don't see the appeal man.. But thats all good.. I know 2001 is a masterful work of art.. but.. art is art to who enjoys it right..

I watched a substantially better sci fi film not 2 years ago.. I would say that it walked circles around 2001 as a bitchin sci fi. That film, Sunshine.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:38:20 PM

Totally. Kubrick >>> Von Trier.

And yeah, Primer was f*cking rad. Confusing, but that gives it it's charm.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:40:05 PM

Ugh. Trig. You're making me hate you. You got great taste in film.
Sunshine looked amazing. And started off well. But once the third act started and enter into slasher territory, i gave up. I still finished the film, but i stopped caring.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:40:12 PM

Imagine being on our side of this debate though Zeroguy, like you said, ask most film enthusiasts and they'll tell you its the best film ever made.

So no worries. We're just discussing Kubrick films as far as im concerned.

Which is great. I love movies.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:43:27 PM

Don't hate me because i'm beautiful.

I've just seen em' all.. I've never been a crazy Sci Fi fan either, well.. Not in the cinemas anyways.. I'm sure ill catch sh*t for this, but i've always said, Event Horizon was one of my favorite Sci Fi films ever..

So who knows, and I can see where youre coming from with the whole 3rd act of Sunshine.. But if you were able to look at the film in that same light from the beginning.. that, thats what the film was.. A bizarre slasher film set in space all the while flying to the sun.. you may have enjoyed that third act a bit more.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 6:51:20 PM

TT-took it like a champ didn't he? lol
Did someone mention Timecop? Ahh yes back when Van Douche was OD'ing. Too bad he didn't go the way of the Dodo.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:02:11 PM

Trig: You liked Primer, huh? So did I. Mind-bending film that made you go what the hell, and I loved the soft and emphatic narration.

All in all, I'm not a Kubrick fan, so you guys keep going. I couldn't care less. The Shining was, though, a great film, but they really should have recast Shelley Duvall because she was difficult to watch, even though she otherwise played the battered taming of the shrew housewife perfectly.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:07:46 PM

I liked Primer a lot.

Hard to follow on the first watch, what I liked most was the integrity of the filmmakers/stars of the show.

They poured just as much into their endeavors in the film as they did the film itself.

Cool movie for sure.

I am and always will be 50/50 on Kubrick. Not much more to be said that hasn't already.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:09:05 PM

"but i've always said, Event Horizon was one of my favorite Sci Fi films ever.."

I too enjoyed Event Horizon, easily Lumet's, I mean Anderson's best, and I can see why you liked Sunshine then because they both featured a cut and slash third act, so structurally they're more similar than perhaps not.

Also, and a bit OT, I like how the dvd box for Cool Hand Luke reads "His crime: nonconformity". No, his crime was destruction of public property, along with public intoxication and perhaps disorderly conduct.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:10:20 PM

I hate shelley duvall..

She played olive oil well that was it.

Didn't she get picked up screaming about aliens in the nude in her backyard a few years back? Who didnt see that sh*t coming. Crazy bitch.

I don't like her face. I know quite a few people that just can't f*cking stand the Shining because of her alone. I didn't like the Shining because of Nicholsons ridiculous over the top acting.. I thought he played a very un realistic character.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:12:53 PM

http://www.horrorbid.com/blog/blog1.php/2011/02/16/the-super-official-red-band-trailer-post

Check that out Mink, I remember you being slightly disappointed in Hobo with a Shotgun. Im checking this one out tonight.. Apparently it takes grindhouse to a whole new level.. Theres a copy of it online floating around the torrent sites.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:13:51 PM

Also, Trig, beware. There's a difference between a film fan and a film fanatic. I think perhaps our Zero guy may be more of the latter and less the former. He really seems hung up on a guy that made less than a dozen modern films.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:18:16 PM

Thats funny, the copy I have on blu ray simply says, 'what we have here is, failure to communicate'

Great film.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:18:56 PM

Shelly Duvall is a terrible actress and held the film back.

Sunshine was great. But i don't like the abrupt change in tone and feel. It had this rescue mission feel then said f*ck that, heres Mark Strong as a burnt flesh man. Plus some motives were bad. Such as Chris Evans nominating Cillian Murphey, the man who knows how to activate the payload, to go fix a couple of panels on the top of it. Yeah, what if he died. Then you're f*cked.

Yeah. Primer had something special. All the technical mumbo jumbo. The flow of the story. The confusing plot. The low grain look of the film. Yet it works. Hopefully Shane Carruth can get another film off the ground.

Mink, you mentioned Cool Hand Luke. I wish movie posters still had the creativeness of the older years. That movie has one of the best posters ever. Bill Gold was a master as art and design of posters.

Some people love Kubrick. Some don't. I like his work. And i feel he's done some greta things for film in general. But so has Spielberg, yet i hate that guy. Douche.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:21:00 PM

It was arguably Andersons ONLY good movie. Which is pretty crazy considering it was a really good movie.

The saddest thing about his career is that Mortal Kombat was the only movie he did that was even half decent outside of Event Horizon.. I always wondered why he stopped trying?... Probably because Milla Jovovich started sucking his wiener.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:23:37 PM

I would say i'm both Mink. Sure, i'm into more of the artsy sh*t that most people could careless about. But i have an open mind towards anything out there. I'll give movies a chance. But there are some where i have to immediately call bullsh*t on and not bother wasting my time with.
I guess i take that remark negatively, which i think might have been the intention considering it's you.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:25:05 PM

Haha... Mink I sometimes find myself in the category of Fanatic when it comes to Michael Mann.. But.. Tell me that doesnt make more sense than being a kubrick fanatic? I don't know?
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:27:21 PM

"I guess i take that remark negatively, which i think might have been the intention considering it's you."

I doubt it was meant to be negative. Its more an observation of your opinions here.

Even though mink is a giant *sshole.. So who knows?
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:29:44 PM

Sorry, that should read..

HAS a giant *sshole..

Haha..
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:32:31 PM

See i'm crazy about film. It's the inner art student in me that causes me to be such a blind d*ckwad when somebody has a negative opinion about something i don't agree with.
Is it pointless? Yeah, but i love talking/debating about films/movies.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:40:00 PM

Loved Unforgiven and Hackman totally deserved his oscar win and i kind of didn't hate his character either even though he was meant to be the "bad guy"

Eastwood as the old time gunslinger Bill Munny was one of his best on screen performances IMO

Yeah your right on Full Metal, it did kind of lose it's way once you had that latrine shooting scene.

But a lot of the war scenes were shot down in the docklands in London not far from us so always enjoyed the last part of the film for that reason.

Also R. Lee Ermey was amazing in that movie for someone who hadn't really been on screen before (his back ground did help him i know but still a great job)

trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:42:56 PM

So 2010 is worth watching , That's another movie i own but have never watched (or should i have said i've seen it)....
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:44:50 PM

Bad-

I never looked mate, Just never using google again just in case i ever come across it...
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:48:29 PM

Watch 2010. It's good. These guys believe it's better. To each their own.

Yeah, that's a little tid bit that i liked about FMJ. Since Kubrick hated flying, they filmed it in England. And i thought they did a good job making England look like Vietnam.

Speaking of Michael Mann. Trig, what did you think of Mann's last 3 HD, grainy looking films?
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 7:53:39 PM

TT-Here's the link for ya. Enjoy! lol
http://1guyand1cup.com/
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:00:49 PM

"Speaking of Michael Mann. Trig, what did you think of Mann's last 3 HD, grainy looking films?"

Collateral, Miami Vice and Public Enemies?

Loved them, the last 2, style over substance, but Collateral was f*cking amazing, one of the best thrillers i've seen in years.

Miami Vice, for what it was, was perfect to me.. It embodied everything about the original show but took it the extra mile.

Public Enemies, I really enjoyed, as much as I enjoyed it, I hope it's not a glimpse into whats to come from Mann. It was definitely my least favorite Michael Mann film.

There isn't much to be said about the filming in HD cameras other than, it looks like it fits his style a lot more than previous films. I can see the exact same visual style in films dating all the way back to Thief, that still comes out with the new HD look.. So im torn on it.. I think that it makes the characters more believable and fits his visual style but maybe hes putting too much into that lately and not enough into his... editiing? Miami Vice and Public Enemies weren't lacking in story, they were lacking in coherent story TELLING.. the editing and pacing of both films was just slightly askew.. but as you get older you have to try new things.

Excited as f*ck for his new HBO series to come out though. Been looking forward to that for a while now.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:01:17 PM

Thanks you guys for supporting the newest tyler perry movie expect ten more in the making and making Tyler perry richer than he is.

not even water for elephants or the Robert pattison fanclub were great enough to take second place.Talk About a Cultfans for tyler perry.
He made almost 26 mil the first weekend
f*cking bastard someone take him out
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:03:30 PM

zero-

They had no problem there making the docklands look like vietnam in fact they may of had to tidy it up a little bit to make it look like a war zone ,lol#

And i will check that film out i do like Roy Scheider and Peter Hyams, good call on Time Cop by far JCVD best movie.

Bad- can't do mate i'm off to the land of ZZZZzzzzz in a minute and i dont want nightmares....
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:05:27 PM

Collateral is f*cking AWESOME !!

BadChadB33 writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:05:41 PM

TT-It's cool, just hoping you would look at it.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:08:20 PM

Will check it out in the morning dude (maybe lol)
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:09:22 PM

Collateral I haven't seen that in forever.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:12:24 PM

Speaking of Peter Hyams anyone ever tried to watch A sound Of Thunder

I did the other week and oh dear that was a real mess all round.
trailertrash writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:14:44 PM

bad- great film, just got the blu ray i bet it looks even better right Trig ??
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:18:11 PM

Collateral is more than a film, it's a window into a zeitgeist, into two men's souls and how they're both similar and yet vastly different, and it's also a call to arms against apathy and indecision, and finally a look into post-modern nihlistic existentialism wrapped up tightly in a cocoon of great acting, fantastic music and excellent cinematography. It's a film that's enormously underrated.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:18:43 PM

Just watched the BluRay last week.. And yes.. It looks even better..

Amazing film, it being filmed with hi def cameras its sort of meant to be watched in 1080..

So the vibe from the city and the atmosphere Mann creates is 10 fold on bluray.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:20:01 PM

Couldn't have said it better myself, Mink.

...

No seriously, I don't have the vocabulary.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:21:42 PM

Its nice to see that other people share the same affinity towards Michael Mann as I do..

The man(N) has made some of the greatest films the world has ever seen.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:22:07 PM

I liked Collateral. Until the last 15 minutes of the film.
Miami Vice was great.
Public Enemies was good for a bit, but wore thin after a while.
The look of the HD worked in favor with PE because it had this almost battling of contrasting the timeline (the 30s) against the modern use of technology.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:29:35 PM

"Speaking of Peter Hyams anyone ever tried to watch A sound Of Thunder"

I watched some of it. A real, certified atrocity. They gave Hyams the scraps of whatever was left of some SyFy film's modest and strained budget. The short story is almost another entity altogether.

"And i thought they did a good job making England look like Vietnam."

Must've filmed it down near the Ministry of Health, then.

"Thats funny, the copy I have on blu ray simply says, 'what we have here is, failure to communicate'"

Your Blu-Ray case doesn't have a back?
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:32:41 PM

"http://1guyand1cup.com/"

My eyes, my eyes, oh f*ck my f*cking eyes!
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:36:03 PM

"It was definitely my least favorite Michael Mann film."

I take it you've seen The Keep, then?

Lemme just say, F. Paul Wilson was not amused...
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:40:32 PM

I liked The Keep. Haha.. I will never know why.

I just did.

And yeah.. My bluray has a back.. jackass!

That particular tagline, just isn't on the case. Anywhere.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:42:17 PM

Although i've heard the tag line, I believe that was from one of the original trailers of the film.

I'd have to look it up but I have no idea how to use the INTERNET.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:43:32 PM

"Couldn't have said it better myself, Mink. No seriously, I don't have the vocabulary."

Whatever. So, did ever see The Great Train Robbery, either version? If so, what did you think? About the film, I mean.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:50:39 PM

I guess they changed it from the DVD version then, because it's the first line of the description as found on the back of the DVD case.

Oh wait, I forget you're a film technophile. You have the Blu-Ray. Nevermind.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 8:56:45 PM

By both versions im assuming you mean, the 1903 version and then the 1979 version?

I didnt like either, the 1903 version was... just toooo f*cking old for me to care about sitting through.. That might be a stupid way to look at it but thats a little bit before my appeal.. I was never a fan of silent films really.. and the 1979 version.. I like Sean Connery but Michael Crichton should stick to writing books.. Well, hes dead so.. stick to whatever it is hes doing, probably decomposing.

And even though I didn't give a sh*t about the 1903 version.. Id say.. well.. I understand that it was a marvel of filmmaking at the time and blah blah but.. its just.. wow too far from being relevant in any of my day to day life that I couldn't have cared less for it.

You'll get a lot of movie buffs whizzing and wooing over it like it was citizen f*cking kane..(which wasn't that great either)But it was sooooooo old.. I tend to lean towards the idea that, if it was made before 1915.. Im probably not going to get much out of it. Other than technical stuff that may have been difficult to pull off at the time, and thats all I could really say for the original.

But then again, maybe youre talking about the two versions of the original?

Which would be the one that was totally silent and the one that had music added after? the 100 year anniversary edition or whatever..

They were both.. not entertaining.. I dont know how else to put it. I do remember a pretty convincing shootout however.. That goes back to the technical mumbo jumbo though.

If one thing can be said about it. It was truly groundbreaking, unlike 2001.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:04:05 PM

http://www.imdb.com/media/rm2328532736/tt0000439

That there is the particular edition im speaking of.

It was easier to watch because of the added music. But at the same time. I had an overbearing sense of Who Gives A sh*t throughout the entire experience.

If you want to check out some seriously old cinema I would suggest The Barbershop..

Its about a guy that gets a shave.. WOO! I have an old reel that has, c*ck fight no.2 and the Barbershop on it.

Totally useless cinema that most guys like Zeroguy and the likes would probably orgasm over. Due only in part to its age. Thats it.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:15:07 PM

I don't cream my pants because something is old. Just ask Phyllis Diller or Paris Hilton's career.

The Great Train robbery is good. Mainly cause it was one of the first things on celluloid to have a coherent story.

Citizen Kane is amazing. But i do not wish to talk about that right now.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:21:44 PM

lol.. no offense intended man..

You sound like a film school student, why I made the joke in the first place.

And citizen kane was.... haha.. Overrated. Although good.. just.. overrated.. Not the greatest film of all time, as very many have pointed out. Including the AFI.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:24:23 PM

I'll be that homo and ask the annoying High Fidelity question.
Top 5 favourite movies?
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:37:39 PM

Mine, in no particular order:

Santa Claus Conquers the Martians

Plan 9 on chewed VHS

Transformers Revenge of the Fallen

Gi Joe: Rise of...like anyone gives a sh*t.

Gigli

As you can see, I have exquisite film taste.

Oh, and Zero is NOT American; he puts a u in favorite...

And trig, sorry man, but I just can't repartee today bro, and sad thing because it's been a good conversation, but the f*cking flu is running rampant and wouldn't you know, it hit me like a brakeless San Fran trolley, and no, I'm not dying so save your applauses, people.

I say that because I can't do too much commenting right now.

"And citizen kane was.... haha.. Overrated. Although good.. just.. overrated.. Not the greatest film of all time, as very many have pointed out. Including the AFI."

Yeah, CK is not all that many have claimed. I thought Orson Wells really hammed the thing up and he was such an obnoxious actor, always thought his sh*t was sweeter than everyone else's.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:38:07 PM

Well top 5 is hard for me to do.

But, here it goes. I have 2 versions, newer and older.

Newer

1. Heat
2. The Professional
3. Manhunter
4. The Insider
5. La Femme Nikita

Older,

1. Cool Hand Luke, oddly enough
2. The Hustler
3. The Sting
4. Butch Cassidy
5. Escape from Alcatraz

The fountain should be in my top 5 newer films, but 5 is just too little a list.

And yourself?
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:40:31 PM

All good Mink.

I find getting drunk helps me when I have the flu. Watching one guy one cup might help get out the sickness through vomiting.

As you can see from those lists, I am extremely partial to, Luc Besson, Michael Mann, George Roy Hill and Paul Newman.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:44:33 PM

Its funny you'd mention his spelling of Favorite.

In Canada, we spell, color, colour and neighbor neighbour, favorite favourite.

Ive never added the U personally. So he's either francophone canadian, or european?

zeroguy?
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:45:58 PM

Also anything by Sergio Leone could be added to my older list.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:47:45 PM

"Plan 9 on chewed VHS"

Was that the sequel to Plan 9 from Outer Space?
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:48:35 PM

People lie about movies they've seen?!

lol.

In case it hasn't been posted yet... the new guy playing Conan claims he's a 'huge Arnie fan' but himself hasn't seen Arnie in Conan.

Whatev...
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:50:46 PM

I wish I could lie about having seen 'MegaForce' but nope... I've seen that cinematic sh*t on the big screen. Still trying to source that on DVD.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1NpZxn860M

Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:53:26 PM

Wow...

Just looked up 'gay' in the dictionary...

1. It had a picture of Che being raped by his dad and his bowling team.

2. And a link to that MegaForce scene.

I feel dirty...
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 9:53:56 PM

Oh, f*ck. I've been outed.
Yes, i'm Canadian. I've mentioned this before.
Sorry for the Bieber. But you're welcome for Arcade Fie and Rush.

My top 5 favoUrite films are:

1. Magnolia
2. Days of Heaven
3. Even Dwarfs Start Small
4. Once Upon A Time In The West
5. Blue Velvet

And there is so many others that i adore. Gummo, Mala Noche, Chinatown, and 70s/80s Werner Herzog. f*ck. Something in me wants to also say stuff like Crash (the Cronenberg one), Network, The Conversation, 8 1/2.
Man, looking at what i said, i realize i am a total film snob.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:12:18 PM

Ugh. I always hate doing lists cause i then double guess myself and wonder why i say things like that. Mainly when i put them in numerical order.
So after a wee bit of retooling...
1. Magnolia
2. Days of Heaven
3. 12 Angry Men
4. Raging Bull
5. Once Upon A Time In The West

I guess i'm a fan of American produced films.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:18:30 PM

Yes, Escape from Alacatraz was great, and I was just thinking about that film a few hours ago. Thought of mentioning it and then thought of having hear folks say it sucks.

Loved Manhunter, best in the series, and I would have to rewatch The Insider. Seemed it was a bit too dull for me even though I found Micheal Clayton watchable somehow. Some of those older films I haven't seen. But I have my list, thanks to trig!

and...laughing at ranger. What a hoot.

"But you're welcome for Arcade Fie and Rush."

Let's not jump to conclusions, dude.

"i realize i am a total film snob."

While I've marked your favourites for future comsumption, you should have said this up front, my good canuckian.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:18:43 PM

Apparently a fan of Werner Herzog as well.

I have never seen that film put in anyones top 10... let alone top 5.. No kidding that had to be rethought.. That movie was a god damn mess.

Seems that you like Lumet. My favorites from the guy would be Dog Day Afternoon and The Verdict.. Going back to the Paul Newman thing.

Good list.. good movies.. You definitely have a different taste. I loved Magnolia but I thought Hard Eight was a better movie, as far as Paul Thomas Anderson is concerned.
triggax writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:23:14 PM

Anyone who says Escape from Alcatraz sucks is a f*cking communist and can suck it.

That movie was great, so subtle and intense I loved every damn minute of it. I've watched it 100 times.

Honorable mentions here for older fare.

On the Waterfront.
And Justice for All
Serpico
Rear Window
Vertigo

I never really liked 12 angry men.

Too many white people.
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:23:35 PM

It's funny. No distributors would touch Blue Velvet, so Dino De Laurentiis had to set up his own distribution company, DEG, which also distributed Transformers: The Movie. Interesting. Two films no one would touch, both sent out into the world by the same man's company.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:31:16 PM

Of course Michael Clayton is okay. It's written by Tony Gilroy BUT directed by him as well. Decent but could have been so much more in the right hands *cough* Soderbergh*cough*

From now on, i am the Canadian film snob.

Conclusions? Are you telling me you are not a fan of either? Come on, mannnnnnnn. There's got to be some part of you that enjoys 2112 or Funeral.

I'm a huge Herzog fan. But I really do love Even Dwarfs Start Small. It's more of my honourable mentions.
I also love his work with Bruno S.

There's something cerebral and polarizing about Magnolia. The fact that everything is so meta and connecting here and there. The acting from ALL the actors. The music. The cinematography, camera shots and movements, and the lighting. And the overall story is mind blowing. But on such a dramatic scale. For a film over 3 hours it goes by quickly. Paul Thomas Anderson is the best director making films.

Hard Eight was good. For a debut it was well done. Phillip Baker Hall is such a badass in that. And i love the comedy pta brings to it.

Speaking of meta films, Charlie Kaufman's directorial debut, Synecdoche New York is a worth viewing. Very, very odd yet a superb film.
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:31:43 PM

@trig - how are you with: 'To Kill a Mockingbird'? There's some darkies in that (mostly up in the balcony, but still...).


Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:33:39 PM

Brando is awesome.

Cary Grant and Hitchc*ck > James Stewart and Hitchc*ck
I think both are great actors but i prefer the films Cary and Alfred made. North By Northwest is one of my favourite Hitchc*ck films.
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:34:12 PM

Hey... trig...

Your theater has a balcony.

Do you make whitey sit up there?

ok... I'm done.

Good list by the way:
On the Waterfront.
And Justice for All
Serpico
Rear Window
Vertigo

You seem to like the dark stuff (no racial reference intended). As for 'deep'... well, we both know where you wife lays on that thought.

OK... NOW I'm done (see what I did earlier... I said I was done when clearly I wasn't, despite my sincerity when I first scribed the intent).
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:36:10 PM

PS: Zeroguy and trig would both have enjoyed the 'Stan Mikita's Doughnuts' reference made in Wayne's World then.

Funny stuff.
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:37:37 PM

No Sam. It was you. It was always you.

You were my big brother. You shoulda looked out for me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0waNRaz6wU
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:38:56 PM

Sam = Charlie (don't ask... I'm NOT high OR drunk... so, WTF?!).
Zeroguy writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 10:53:14 PM

off topic
Here's why Canada kicks ass
http://www.whackarnolds.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/DesireeElyda1.jpg
http://sourcefeddotcom.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/desiree-elyda-photos-desiree-elyda.jpeg

back to topic
Stunning film Ranger. Like i said before, Brando is awesome.
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2011 at 11:01:07 PM

Yes he is (was). He's a fav. of mine.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 25th, 2011 at 12:07:32 AM

155 (now 156) comments...
Because people hate 2001 and some people like some De Palma and Lumet films.
Ranger writes:
on April 25th, 2011 at 12:25:27 AM

Or they're lying about hating 2001.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 25th, 2011 at 12:32:52 AM

Doubt it. Anybody willing to draw out a long conversation about it must be a sociopath. But i'm probably mental due to liking it.

trailertrash writes:
on April 25th, 2011 at 2:34:21 AM

bad- AHHHHHHHHHHHHH !!!!!!

I had to turn that off, the dude deserved all he got.... lol
trailertrash writes:
on April 25th, 2011 at 2:55:02 AM

Couldn't agree more with your older top 5 list trig.

Maybe i would take out The Hustler and add The Getaway or The Great Escape just to have a Mcqueen film in there other wise thats a great list.

Wait can we have six Where Eagles Dare is a great film, Love that movie.

Whats not to like about Escape From Alcatraz it's the best collaboration between Eastwood and Siegel and i include Dirty Harry in that, I All ways liked Magnum Force the most out of all the Dirty Harry films.

trailertrash writes:
on April 25th, 2011 at 3:04:31 AM

Mink- Errrrrrr your list is urrrr good too..

Zero-

I have never watched Magnolia, again i own it but i just never felt like watching it, but you rate it that high.

Maybe i will check it out.
trailertrash writes:
on April 25th, 2011 at 3:14:34 AM

Ranger-

You still haven't found the dvd Megaforce.
rocketman writes:
on April 25th, 2011 at 3:26:24 PM

The books better...and yup,seen em all.
Ranger writes:
on April 25th, 2011 at 3:26:36 PM

Nope. In fairness I haven't looked lately (for one that'll work in N. America zone) or online since you were nice enough last to provide that Amazon link (to play in your zone). Were I desperate for it, I suppose I could buy it and have it converted.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved