WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jeremy Renner Offered "The Bourne Legacy" Lead

Posted: April 22nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jeremy Renner Offered "The Bourne Legacy" LeadSubmit Comment
There have been many Hollywood stars in talks for "The Bourne Legacy," the Jason Bourne spin-off directed by Tony Gilroy (Michael Clayton). Some on the list have been Garrett Hedlund (Tron: Legacy), Joel Edgerton (The Thing), Dominic Cooper (Mamma Mia) and Luke Evans (Clash of the Titans).

Deadline is now reporting that Universal Pictures has officially offered the role to Jeremy Renner, who has been nominated for Oscars for both "The Town" and "The Hurt Locker."

Like the Jason Bourne character played by Matt Damon in the first three "Bourne" thrillers, Renner will play an operative from a covert government program that is even more dangerous than the Treadstone brainwashing program that hatched Bourne.

Gilroy is planning to begin filming in September for an August 3rd, 2012 release.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
j-man writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 7:04:24 AM

even tho this film shouldnt happen, hes the the best choice!
Kurskij writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 7:20:55 AM

Might be good. Renner is a good choice - though landing parts in Avengers, M:I4 and Bourne might be a tad too much.
boogiel writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 7:45:39 AM

MI agent, SHIELD agent, and now this Treadstone agent? Very interesting. What's next, James Bond?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 8:44:14 AM

He certainly has come a long way from "Final Destination"
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 9:36:09 AM

Yeah, he was great in final destination.
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 9:56:22 AM

Oh yeah, he was really good in Final Destination. It's almost like he's a completely different person now.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 9:58:09 AM

Interesting.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 10:29:40 AM

One role and suddenly he's in all the major action-franchises. He's good and all, but might be too much. Don't think he will take.

He was never in Final Destination, it was Devon Sawa. Wonder what he's up to now?
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 11:10:36 AM

Devon Sawa? Come on man, you can't just be making people up.
Bob82 writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 12:36:31 PM

Hahaha, the Final Destination thing is hilarious, you made me doubt for a moment. Anyway, he's a good actor.
BobMcBob writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 2:41:40 PM

damon has always been a better writer than actor (even though he wrote only one great film), so renner should be a step up
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 2:48:54 PM

@Freud - I think he pretty much followed the same path as his character from SLC Punk. f*cked up from a mega dose of acid, begging for change and trying to get a job at a women's clothing store
jdl107 writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 2:54:19 PM

This is a sh*tty idea, but so was The Expendables, and everyone seemed to like that.

But if this agency is more dangerous than Treadstone, they should have these two (Bourne, and Renner) meet up and beat the sh*t out of each other. Just sayin'.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 2:57:24 PM

@Evil: Then he's more succesful than me. I'm stuck with boffing lighter gas.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 2:58:53 PM

Im sure in a few days Matt Damon will come out and start his boo hoo hoo me me me crap about this
tonguepunchingpussy writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 3:43:35 PM

Renner was great in The Assasination of Jesse James by The Coward Robert Ford. Hell, he was great in the one House eposide he was in. He's a worker, glad see him getting some bank now.
minkowski writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 3:44:34 PM

I hope he accepts because this might be the only chance for this film.

If instead he declines, you know they'll press ahead regardless and hire some schlub just to get the damned thing onto the screen.
MrHeck writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 5:42:53 PM

Please, anyone BUT this moron
Hurt Locker and The Town are ridiculously overrated.
Yeah, he did a good job in both, but he doesn't have enough "presence" (height, looks) to carry a character of Bournes caliber.

Besides, he looks like Daniel Craig's long-lost deformed/dwarf/retarded little brother.

And no, that ain't no compliment...
MrHeck writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 5:45:31 PM

@minkowski

True. Hope he declines then.
minkowski writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 6:06:12 PM

Ummm, well, Matt Damon ain't no damned Brad Pitt either and if someone said hey we're going to use that guy from that movie where he plays a genius janitor as the lead in an acton spectacle film trilogy, I might've said the same thing.

BTW, Renner and Damon are the EXACT same height, 5' 10".

So you're objections are duly noted and dismissed.
MrHeck writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 6:17:01 PM

@minkowski

It's just ... i really hate the guy, and im not really sure why.

But then again, i never considered Damon a badass before Bourne. So yeh, you got a point there man.
minkowski writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 6:28:32 PM

Don't see Renner in the role either, and I've thought that if they're not going to bring Damon back than they shouldn't make this film.
his name is robert pulson writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 6:31:06 PM

I really thought Karl Urban would have been great for this role... imo
MrHeck writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 6:32:28 PM

Looks like we're heading to another X-Men: First Class fiasco

(havn't seen it ofc, but i sniff crap from miles away)
bandolero999 writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 6:41:39 PM

Damon a badass hahahha NIGGA PLEASE
His level of acting is about the same as dicaprio and wahlbergs.
Saw the first bourne and didn't make it to the end the action was ridiculous.Feel so bad for Scott adkins he was in the movie he was underused.
The only role he was good in was that cameo in Eurotrip and in Team America.

Haven't seen any of renners movies yet so don't know how he performs.he does look like a dwarf with a wrinkled face and should audition for the hobbitt
bandolero999 writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 6:46:00 PM

Karl Urban can be a good casting choice,he performed RED.
Even that Viking movie pathfinder was decent could of been way better though.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 6:46:53 PM

Performed well
triggax writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 6:54:23 PM

Yeah but, Bando.. Karl Urban killed Bournes wife in Bourne Supremacy if I'm not mistaken? So I don't know how that could work.

Had he not already been in the series I would vote for him. Highly underrated actor and has the bad ass presence.

I say f*ck everyone here and just use Ray Winstone.

And Bando, check out The Town... The Hurt Locker.. Meh.. some pretty tense thrilling scenes but overall disappointing. Female directors usually do that.. Kathryn Bigelow, although she directed Point Break which was probably one of the best f*cking action movies ever made, has yet to follow that up with anything that great.. But good for her with the oscars and all that.. Hurt Locker was extremely overrated. With that particular sh*t year for movies. I'm glad they got the recognition for it though. Because its still a thrill ride of a film and very explosive..

But watch The Town.. Its another Boston type film, but the characters are far more realistic and its better written than the Departed. You might like it.

Mink, Tony Gilroy seems to have a pretty good eye for casting. Haven't been disappointed with any of his films or screenplays yet.
his name is robert pulson writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 6:58:27 PM

well if they did use karl urban character from the 1st bourne, it could work, as this is based in the world that treadstone created. it could be a prequel, and i remember way back when this film was just getting off the ground, they mentioned him as a possibility.....and yeah I agree with trig, and use Ray Winstone, he wouldnt be the norm regarding this type of character and perhaps going that route would be pretty bad ass.
MrHeck writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 6:59:42 PM

@bandolero

Dude, Karl Urban was on Bourne Supremacy.

I don't think anyone wants to watch a prequel about the guy who killed off Jasons love interest.

But what do i know ... Hollywood would green light any crap-idea nowadays.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 7:00:23 PM

That's right I forgot he was in the movie I'm talking about Urban.can't do sh*t there.

I believe bigelow directed strange days with ralph fienes and angela basset I liked that movie.

Ray winstone was the coolest character in the departed and Beowulf,he's great love the guy but for the ladies hell have to be in shape cause the dude is overweight and the ladies like their leading men with six packs and gay.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 7:16:05 PM

I say good for Renner. If he works this, his Hawkeye cameo and his MI 4 co-star roles right, he will be bankable as an A role star.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 7:21:15 PM

bandolero999 writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 7:00:23 PM

That's right I forgot he was in the movie I'm talking about Urban.can't do sh*t there.

I believe bigelow directed strange days with ralph fienes and angela basset I liked that movie.

Ray winstone was the coolest character in the departed and Beowulf,he's great love the guy but for the ladies hell have to be in shape cause the dude is overweight and the ladies like their leading men with six packs and gay.


@bandelero999

Yeah, Strange Days was pretty cool. Angela Bassett made one fineass action actress.

Love to see her take some action work on again.

... and ironically, it was produced by Jackass and Ex-Spouse, James "f*ckwad" Cameron
Zeroguy writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 10:53:36 PM

Just leave the series alone. Change the character names, and the title, and hire Edgeton and I'll see it.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 11:01:02 PM

Sheeeeeit. Ray Winstone is a great choice! He was fantastic in one of the best films in the last ten years, The Proposition.
darkraven28 writes:
on April 23rd, 2011 at 9:37:56 PM

Not bad for a guy who played Jeffrey Dahmer once.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved