WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Beautiful Trailer for "Another Earth" Sci-Fi Film

Posted: April 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Beautiful Trailer for "Another Earth" Sci-Fi FilmSubmit Comment
I'm a huge fan of Mark Romanek's "Never Let Me Go," which has a sci-fi twist, but is not really a sci-fi movie. Fox Searchlight has just released the trailer for "Another Earth," which attempts something similar. Check out the trailer below.

Plot: Rhoda Williams (Brit Marling), who is a bright young woman accepted into MIT's astrophysics program, aspires to explore the cosmos. A brilliant composer, John Burroughs (William Mapother), has just reached the pinnacle of his profession and is about to have a second child. On the eve of the discovery of a duplicate Earth, tragedy strikes and the lives of these strangers become irrevocably intertwined.

The new movie is directed by Mike Cahill (Boxers and Ballerinas). It premiered at the Sundance Film Festival earlier this year where it was acquired by Fox Searchlight. The film is now scheduled to hit theaters on July 22nd, in limited release.

Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Source: Apple


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
adamXmarshall writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 7:43:48 PM

has a sh*t rating on imdb, cant be that good!
Bunny X writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 9:11:07 PM

Love the trailer. Very interesting concept. I'd check it out.
minkowski writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 9:11:46 PM

I think the issue with this film is that the other earth is actually located within our own solar system, on the sun's flip side, and yet somehow it hasn't been detected in all the years of intra-solar exploration, nevermind through Kepler's Laws, and also, according to what I've read, it takes four years to communicate with these other humans, which makes no sense, naturally.

Also, and finally, there seems to be some serious issues with the way the story relates the characters, so I think it's one of those egregiously flawed films you either dislike because it seems to make little to no sense, or you forgive because some part of it strongly resonates with you as a human.
mrstretch writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 9:38:37 PM

So is the other planet cybertron?
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 10:31:36 PM

@Mink, agreed, it would've been more plausible for it to simply pop into existence from another dimension than for it to have simply been hidden on the other side of the sun, thats ridiculous.

If the human element to it transcends the logical flaws it could be great though. Seems decent enough.
shanesleeping writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 10:42:47 PM

its planet x nibiru it suppose to be the planet thats on the way back for 2012 it a real planet and comes round earth orbit every 2500 years.
minkowski writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 10:51:31 PM

I see someone's been reading the works of that delightful crank Zecharia Sitchin.

Read all the guys books, but as entertaining as I find his 'theories', he's chock full of sh*t. Enkidu and Enki this. Bah.

You'd think these tenth planet ancient astronauts would have left a lugnut laying around, at least.

Maybe Tiamat ate them all.

"it would've been more plausible for it to simply pop into existence from another dimension than for it to have simply been hidden on the other side of the sun, thats ridiculous."

Would've made more sense if it had actually been located in and or on a place more logical, like, I dunno, perhaps within another solar system, you know, one where scientists are always finding new planets?

But hey, your immature strawman argument works too. If you're a idiot.

shanesleeping writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 11:01:44 PM

mink i hope hes full of sh*t mate but id rather listen to conspiracy theory than get my info from the main stream media who lies as much as every body else..
minkowski writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 11:13:09 PM

Oh, well, the MSM is always full of sh*t too, and at least Sitchin is a fascinating read.

Read his books, from the 12th Planet to Lost Realms back in the 80s as a teenager. He had all those Sinai peninsula spaceport diagrams and cool translations of the Enuma Elish.

But I got into science and now, as the saying goes, extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence, and as much as I would love to have some of his ideas vindicated, I'd have to see some proof before I bought back into his theories. Him and Velikovsky. But not that idiot Erich von Daniken.

And here's where the idea for this film arose:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Counter-Earth
Syriph writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 5:20:46 AM

Its not about main stream media or this nut jobs conspiracy theories that he spins to make a buck... its about science, logic, and fact checking. Anyone who has done research into those theories knows that there is zero scientific evidence behind those claims. Believing it is like believing religion.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 11:37:42 AM

Well though I do actually know who Zecharia Sitchin is but thats not what I was referencing. Maybe he'd got a point and maybe he doesn't, I won't know till Nirubu or whatever crashes into us in 2012 so why argue ;)

What I meant was that in order to focus on the human element of the story it would've been easier to just force the viewer to accept that it showed up from another dimension than to have to explain the logistics of how it could be in our own. For instance, could there be another sun on the other side of the galaxy with another two earths? And then another galaxy with two suns and four earths? And what about the gravitational effects of an Earth suddenly moving out of its oppositional orbit and coming so close to the earth? It tries to establish a preposterous re-writing of our view of the cosmos and that in my mind undermines the drama on screen.
takai writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 1:05:27 PM

I'm really pulling for this movie to be similar to 'Contact'(which I think is a great movie), in the way that, most of the movie is spent developing the characters and situation, but then the last quarter of the film pays off with some good space sci-fi.

I'm really hoping this won't turn out to be a 'chick flick disguised as sci-fi', like most are fearing.
jdl107 writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 2:44:30 PM

All you need is slow Coldplay-ish music going on in the background while you have a visual montage of trees, and a side-view of a someone running and BAM. That's how you sell an "emotional" flick.

Lol and d*cking around aside I though this movie looked pretty conventional and cliche, I'll pass.
minkowski writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 3:40:44 PM

"Its not about main stream media or this nut jobs conspiracy theories that he spins to make a buck... its about science, logic, and fact checking. Anyone who has done research into those theories knows that there is zero scientific evidence behind those claims. Believing it is like believing religion."

I was trying to be, ahem, diplomatic. And then you ruined it. Thanks.
seveltoto writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 12:08:30 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved