WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Isaiah Mustafa Has Met With Marvel to Play "Luke Cage"

Posted: April 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Isaiah Mustafa Has Met With Marvel to Play "Luke Cage"Submit Comment
Back in August, Isaiah Mustafa (Old Spice guy) posted several photos of himself as the Marvel character Luke Cage in hopes of getting the studio's attention and giving himself a chance to play Cage in a feature film.

SHH has now caught up with Mustafa to see if there has been any progress. "I've already had a meeting with Marvel," he confirmed. "I talked to them and I told them that I was a gracious reader of their comics and that I wanted to be Luke Cage. So we'll see where they take it."

When asked if Marvel is even working on a Luke Cage film, Mustafa replied: "They have something in mind and I definitely want them to see that I'm extremely passionate about it. I'm extremely passionate about being that character. I will do anything to get that role. It strikes me. It's very personal to me. I hold onto it. It's something that I desire more than just about anything that I can think of right now, as far as work goes."

Source: SHH


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Devil writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 6:39:37 AM

HAHA! NO WAY. GO BACK TO COMMERCIALS.
trailertrash writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 6:47:19 AM

That reminds me I Mustafa piss
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 6:52:00 AM

^lol

I love him in the Old Spice-commercials, but Luke Cage? Is even Luke Cage neccessary? Seems like Blade with less awesomeness.
boogiel writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 7:50:53 AM

Blah, I'd rather choose wesley snipes or Michael Jai White
avaela writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 8:18:01 AM

The only guy that could pull off Luke Cage is RDJ in black face!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 8:43:56 AM

Meh.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 9:31:05 AM

What about C. Thomas Howell as Luke Cage?
bandolero999 writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 9:39:13 AM

Really keep dreaming I hope the producers tell you to f*ck off.
this guy's a douche like Will Smith and Tyler Perry without the fame.
and he's got a terrorist name as well he might be a spy.
osamp writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 10:14:40 AM

Better than the Tyrese rumors way back in the day. That boy just cannot act.
zyban03 writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 10:20:20 AM

Sorry but I just can't see this guy doing anything else except audio books.
Dre-EL writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 10:27:43 AM

Quinton (Rampage) Jackson would make a good luke cage.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 10:31:40 AM

I think we need Henry Simmons. That guy is 6'4", has strong acting credentials (aside from "Taxi"), can do action, and he has to be better than Isaiah Mustafa. And wasn't Marvel at one point going to go with Michael Jai White, or is that guy hellbent on playing Black Panther?

It's either White or Simmons. Mustafa is Wayne Brady on steroids.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 10:33:43 AM

Why not. Wesley's in prison, and Michael Jai White should never be allowed to act in anything but Black Dynamite films. Its time for someone new to hit the scene for us black folks. I always thought Idris Elba would be a good fit for the character, but I'll try someone else.
velocityknown writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 11:50:27 AM

He was pretty good in his couple stints on "Chuck", just because he's been doing commercials doesn't mean he can't act. Gotta pay the bills, right?
minkowski writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 1:24:37 PM

Who the hell cares what he plays.
Ranger writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 1:40:55 PM

What Dre-EL and SAC said (my posts are lazy today because I'm busy elsewhere... lol).
HideousSecretion writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 2:14:57 PM

Horrible mistake. He would be much better as the Black Panther. You need someone with Terry Crews build to play cage.
acreshakers writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 2:19:44 PM

Good luck dude! I'm hoping they do Iron Fist/Dr. Strange also!
bandolero999 writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 2:27:26 PM

this guy is too scrawny for Luke Cage there goes your dreams,you can transition to male ebony porn now
minkowski writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 2:29:53 PM

This Mustafa guy has a head like burnt lettuce.

Why is it that every damned ugly underwear model thinks he has the right to play a character in a film these days? That would have never worked a million years ago, back say during the fifties and sixties, much less before even then.

Now it's some stupid roid case who spends more time in the gym than practicing his acting ability, what little he has anyway, trying to elbow his way into a role because he has a defined ab.

Go back fifty years and none of those guys had a six pack! People like Paul Newman. They were handsome, but then that was the extent. They could act. They had charm and class and often times polish.

Now you have these ugly losers like The sh*tuation coming onto the fore, and they can't act and they can't do much of anything but annoy the f*ck out of people and entertain through being a living spectacle of horrors, and then they ask and beg and even demand to be put into films.

What the hell is going on?
funseeker writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 2:34:41 PM

henry simmons is better for black panther, he has some lean grace in him, but luke cage IS michael jai white!!! bulky, hyper capable martial artist with swagger!!! this old spice guy looks like some scrawny sidekick at best (dies in first hour and makes luke mad)
Ranger writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 2:59:39 PM

@fun - not disagreeing, but how old is MJW now? Does he still have it? I didn't see (yet) Black Dynamite (he's in that, right?).

But reading comments here...

Terry Crews or Rampage (although I don't think he can act) are better choices than Isaiah (although: 'Isaiah Mustafa' is a kick-ass name!).
minkowski writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 3:10:58 PM

Black Dynmaite was hilarious, Ranger. If you haven't seen it, you're missing out. Pure black-xploitation camp. And well done. Very well done.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 4:10:01 PM

@minkowski the women like their men with muscles,they don't give a sh*t about if they can act as long as the guys are a pretty face,women would watch it.

I only heard from women that they were fans of vin diesel,ryan reynolds,tatum,chris evans,mathew mccouhnahey,bradley cooper.
I have never heard in my life about guys rooting for a vin diesel movie,you all got some issues if u do ur either gay,bullied in school, look as fat as jonah hill and john goodman was or look as scrawny as djqualls and that skinny ass nerd from sorcerers apprentice.

Hollywood agents no longer hires tough guys like back in the day like steve mcqueen,bronson,lee marvin,gene hackman.

The agents these days are either women or gay and want to hire nonmasculine actors to atract audience of sex and the city and twilight.

All the other actors that are manly only make it to cable tv or B movies like michael Jai white he's been around for two decades and still doesn't get a leading role in a big budget movie.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 4:56:38 PM

HELLO LADIES...
funseeker writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 5:50:07 PM

i am a martial artist and i like my action movies non cgi, hated movies like WANTED or even crouching tiger, hidden dragon that are not based in our physical universe (these movies make flop like wild wild west seem like a doc*mentary about cowboys), so i'd like luke cage to be played by someone who can do martial arts not special effects, and MJW is great MA, technique is amazing, for someone with so much muscles he moves with unparallelled grace ... anybody who is a fan of of good fight scenes should watch blood and bone, scenario will not be remembered as a life changing story but it is best fight movie i've seen in years. watch it and see why he is luke cage!!!
velocityknown writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 9:29:19 PM

@Mink

I think it's unfair to compare the Situation and Isiah Mustafa. Isiah has been a working actor for the past 10 years, taking what roles he could get and happened to land an Old Spice commercial that got him a good deal of attention.

The Situation is a f*cking idiot who people like to watch party for god knows what reason.

Yeah, there might be people out there better for the role, but he's not just some guy who's making it big because he's a jackass. You work hard, you earn stuff. I admire what he's done. He's not saying: Hey I'm in good shape so give me a part, he just wants it because he thinks he can do it.

He wants it, I'm not saying he deserves it, how could I know that, I'm not casting this film, but who's to say he's wrong for wanting it after he's been a no-name working actor for the past decade?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved