WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Zemeckis May Return to Live-Action with "Flight"

Posted: April 21st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Zemeckis May Return to Live-Action with "Flight"Submit Comment
Paramount Pictures is in discussions with Robert Zemeckis to direct "Flight," a live-action film written by John Gatins (Real Steel, Coach Carter).

During the last decade, Zemeckis has focused on animated films like "A Christmas Carol," "Beowulf" and "The Polar Express," but he is better known for live-action movies like "Cast Away," "Forrest Gump," and "Back to the Future."

"Flight" is fictional tale that revolves around a commercial airline pilot named Whip Whitaker. When his plane malfunctions and a crash seems imminent, he saves the day with some heroic flying and manages to land the plane with minimal casualties. He's instantly hailed as a hero, but as an investigation into the cause of the crash unfolds, it becomes clear that he was flying under the influence of drugs and alcohol.

The film is the pilot's journey as he is encouraged to wear a hero label he thinks he doesn't deserve, while the pilot's union and airline try to keep the facts under cover because of the high stakes involved.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 6:42:16 AM

So it's a stoner comedy?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 6:47:51 AM

I guess he took fly high by the letter?
trailertrash writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 6:49:12 AM

Nice Avatar dave

Freud - boo boo , lol
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 7:22:21 AM

Hey at least he is taking the helm of live-action again. He was great at those. Granted the child in me cries every time I watch Polar Express, but live-action was where he rocked. He made Cast Away for crying out loud. I bet you a lot of people didn't think that was possible to revolve a movie around a guy by himself on an island, but him and Tom Hanks made it work. If he made that work why not this? I say let's see what Zemeckis has got before we judge.
trailertrash writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 8:24:57 AM

Sleuth-

Cast Away was ok, It just needed a young Brooke Shields to wash up on shore with him thats all.

For me Zemeckis's best work is early on in his career with Used cars, Romancing the Stone, Who Framed RR and BTTF films.

But going back to live action again is good news i guess.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 11:39:44 AM

Hey you forgot to list Mars Has Moms! Or do embarrassing failures of epic magnitude not count? Also for some reason I thought instantly of Robin Williams for the title role.
minkowski writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 1:28:43 PM

Good to see he may be returning back to his roots, but perhaps a less boring film would be more appropriate for his reemergence in live-action films.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 3:09:26 PM

@trailertrash
I see your point of view. All I'm saying is let's see where he takes this. Who knows? Maybe he makes it work. I mean I haven't seen it but I hear 127 hours was really good and that was about a guy getting his arm stuck and not going anywhere and that managed to get some buzz. Director's will surprise you.
Kurskij writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 5:34:49 PM

freudian

Nice one, man!

It's a good thing Zemekis is back in live action.

Beowulf was pretty damn good, but still I wished it wasn't CGId
triggax writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 6:16:06 PM

I've always loved Zemeckis' live action stuff. I still haven't watched any of his CGI films.. I've heard they were all pretty good just not my sippy cup of tea, if you know what i mean.

For me, it was his lesser known achievements that I always praised the man for..

Yah yah, forrest gump and back to the future and all that, but also What Lies Beneath.. A very effective thriller, with solid acting from Harrison Ford.. Good script tense story...

Contact.. Another great film if you have the patience to watch it. Great story, great acting from David Morse and Jodie Foster..

Then my personal favorite would have to be (outside of BTTF) Death Becomes Her.. It has a quality to it that few films have anymore. Great characters.. Bruce Willis was excellent.

Im all for him coming back with something that isn't produced by Spielberg and he can stamp his own seal of approval, the man is a bit of a legend at this point..

I always thought he looked like he could be Drew Carey's father.
trailertrash writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 7:05:38 PM

Sleuth

Really liked 127hrs Danny Boyle did a great job with that movie and James Franco turned in a very good performance as Ralston.

It was Boyle's pacing of the film which made it. At only 90 mins the film never dragged and he kept the tension pretty high at all times even though you knew what he had to do to finally get out of there.

And I loved the last 5 or 6 minutes the most i found it very uplifting, Great film well worth checking out.
trailertrash writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 7:08:12 PM

Trig-

Death Becomes Her i totally forgot about that movie yeah i enjoyed that too

What Lies Beneath was a very good film first time round, on a second viewing knowing all the twists i didn't enjoy so much.

Ford was great though.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 5:05:15 AM

@trailertrash
Thanks man. I want to see it, but who has the time right? LOL But I love Boyle's style. He made Zombies awesome again, managed to hook me on a film with an entire Indian cast, and blew me away with his trippy film Sunshine(My favorite of his films since I'm a sci-fi fan). I hope we both get some good stuff out of Zemeckis' return to live-action.
trailertrash writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 3:51:35 PM

No problems and make the time , lol

28 days later was a good movie as was sunshine and Boyle seems to able to turn his hand to most genre's with greatest of ease check out Shallow Grave if you like a dark comedy, Love to see him take on a James Bond Movie.

lets hope it's a return to form for Zemeckis.

Funny i'm watching 127 hrs right now , lol
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 22nd, 2011 at 10:03:51 PM

LOL So we agree Boyle is awesome is all around!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved