WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ben Affleck Confirmed to Direct Tehran Hostage Crisis Film

Posted: April 20th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ben Affleck Confirmed to Direct Tehran Hostage Crisis FilmSubmit Comment
Director Baz Luhrmann (Australia) wanted Ben Affleck to star in his 3D update of "The Great Gatsby," but Affleck has just passed because it will conflict with "Argo," which he will direct and star in. George Clooney will produce.

"Argo" centers on how, during the occupation of the American embassy by Iranians in 1979, a rescue effort was mounted by the CIA and the Canadian government to extract six US diplomats.

The CIA used a disguise expert and concocted a scenario that involved the six being a Hollywood crew scouting a movie titled "Argo." Under those disguises, they were able to flee the country. Legendary comics creator Jack Kirby's movie designs and drawings were used by the CIA to sell the existence of the movie.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Carpen7er writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:40:18 AM

Gay smile
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:42:27 AM

Not so about him starring but his directional efforts have been good, so I'll give this a pass.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:52:56 AM

So it's Pro-American?
redbluedevil writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 8:03:28 AM

I read an article on this a while ago - very interesting story. Could be really good.
xtlhogciao writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:17:43 AM

Didn't all rescue efforts fail miserably? I thought they just released the hostages an hour or so after Reagan was sworn in.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:31:08 AM

Sounds like a wise move for Affleck
masht7 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 10:02:04 AM

Nice to see Affleck's career having more serious roles. He is great behind a camera and writing a screenplay, so I'm up for it.
Ranger writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 12:00:41 PM

At least Ben learns, knows, has listened, and is moving towards his strengths, and not just trying to stick out acting for his ego's sake.

I like the guy... hope he does well.
c-prime writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 1:29:38 PM

Knowing Clooney and Affleck's political leanings, I'm sure this movie will try to frame the trifling Jimmy Carter in a reverent light. I mean, it's just f*cking got to.

Jesus H. I like Ben's directorial work as much as the next guy, and I wouldn't mind seeing this story adapted for the big screen, but I am soooo not looking forward to the impending agenda they are gonna push with this film. Highlight the suspense of the crisis and please avoid the partisan rhetoric, boys. I'm begging ya.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 2:31:36 PM

I was going to say something like, well, I think Affleck's a good director and I enjoyed The Town, but he's going to turn the film into a tired and annoying Howard Zinnn-esque left-wing trope of anti-Americanism, but then someone else above me already did all the hard work.

I await the war of words.
c-prime writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 3:30:59 PM

War of words? Why? I think people would be hard-pressed to disagree with any element of that point.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 3:57:26 PM

Not everyone else is as mentally balanced as you, C, including me.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 5:22:13 PM

Hey mink, remember that time like two weeks ago when I said this would be an interesting story and you shat conservative venomsh*t down my throat for more than a page-scroll? Weird I guess they want to make this a movie.

Also, in general political figures are publicly presented as squeaky clean so inevitably when the true story comes out it is regarded as a "character assassination" or whatever. I'm not particularly partisan so I could care less if somebody talks sh*t about spineless democrats (like carter), but conservatives in general seem to have a problem with 'heroes' like Reagan getting even a hint of criticism leveled at them. Already you just dismiss this because you assume criticism will be leveled at Reagan, which I think is telling in itself. A little defensive no?

I don't think Affleck is really heavy-handed enough to make it into a conservativism-bashing movie, I think he'll focus on the situation on the ground and less the politics that are, on my mind, way less interesting.
Champ1432 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 5:55:04 PM

@Dave That would be odd these days, wouldn't it? America might not completely be the devil, who would have thought?

Anyway, hopefully Money and c-prime are right, and they focus more on the suspense and drama of the situation itself rather than getting bogged down in partisan bashing of one side or another (although if that were to be the case, we know which way it would go). I like what Affleck has done recently, and this sounds like it could be pretty good if they stay away from the politics. Fingers crossed.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:42:54 PM

"Hey mink, remember that time like two weeks ago"

No.

"when I said this would be an interesting story and you shat conservative venomsh*t down my throat for more than a page-scroll?"

No. But I'm sure that was nothing new to you, the sh*tting down the throat of some 'venom'.

"Weird I guess they want to make this a movie."

And they wanted to make it a Andy Warhol exhibition before? Weird indeed.

"Also, in general political figures are publicly presented as squeaky clean"

And where might they be presented as squeaky clean, and by whom? Obama over at MSNBC? Sure. Bush or any other guy followed by an r?Anywhere but FOX? No.

Wake up and smell the sh*t on your lips.

"so inevitably when the true story comes out it is regarded as a "character assassination""

Because news and historians and endless reams of microfiche aren't considered 'true stories', no you, and by you I mean random internet morons, have to wait for an HBO/Showtime docu-drama filmed by, financed by and starring left-wing liberals to get the 'true story'.

You can't be this dumb.

"or whatever."

I'm voting for 'whatever'.

"I'm not particularly partisan"

Ah, ignorance is bliss, or so I've heard. I'll allow you to elaborate for my elucidation.

"so I could care less if somebody talks sh*t about spineless democrats (like carter)"

Not even Carter cares about what anyone says about Carter, so that's not really impressing me.

I mean, the man farmed Georgia peanuts, saw a UFO and totally boned an election. Not exactly worth a footnote in Ripley's Believe or Not 'Who Gives the Least sh*t' bi-centennial book.

"but conservatives in general seem to have a problem with 'heroes' like Reagan getting even a hint of criticism"

Because it's never accurate and because conservatives hardly, if ever, make a film where the Democrat is portrayed as a raging homosexual bent on total world destruction.

Not that we couldn't do that with FDR if we wanted, but we usualy have more to do with our time, like finding ways to block NPR from our children.

And that's really the thing. Free time. Liberals really have more free time to do damage and cause problems, mostly because it's their university-accredited occupation.

I mean, they alone turned journalism and making doc*menatries into guerilla warfare, not conservatives, so it would make sense that we're not nearly as adapt at destroying reputations as them.

"leveled at them."

Shoul've set my breakpoint higher. Oh well.

That's a programming joke,BTW, but not a very good one.

"Already you just dismiss this"

I haven't dismiseed anything, moron, save my slight evaluation you have even half a mind; I simply stated what I felt and mentioned that c-prime beat me to the comment.

You should read more, and run your mouth less. A lot less. Save that for the McDonald's drive-thru. And screaming for your father to stop.

"because you assume criticism will be leveled at Reagan"

I never mentioned Reagan, little one. Reagan brought them home, Carter nearly got them killed. Fact.

And Affleck and Damon are accolytes of people like Howard Zinn, so naturally I approach any potentionally partisan film made by either of those two goofs with well-deserved trepidation.

"which I think is telling in itself."

Only a fool would divine the machinations of men through a thimble of thought.

(my quote f*ckers)

"A little defensive no?"

A little gay, no?
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:33:54 PM

..adept..
government_spy writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 12:55:53 PM

"Director Baz Luhrmann (Australia) wanted Ben Affleck to star in his 3D update of "The Great Gatsby"

Does this bother anyone else? Great Gatsby doesn't need to be updated. And if it did, 3D? 3-f*cking D?? Not everything needs to be in 3D. I'm sick of 3D.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved