WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tyler Perry Tells Spike Lee to Go to Hell

Posted: April 20th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tyler Perry Tells Spike Lee to Go to HellSubmit Comment
Spike Lee is constantly in the news voicing his hatred for Hollywood stars, including Tyler Perry, describing his (Perry's) movies and shows as "coonery" and "buffoonery."

During a recent press conference, Perry responded. He said: "I'm so sick of hearing about damn Spike Lee. Spike can go straight to hell! You can print that. I am sick of him talking about me, I am sick of him saying, 'This is a coon; this is a buffoon.'"

Perry continued: "I am sick of him -- he talked about Whoopi, he talked about Oprah, he talked about me, he talked about Clint Eastwood. Spike needs to shut the hell up!"

He went on to say that he doesn't understand why so much criticism of his work comes from other black people. "I've never seen Jewish people complaining about 'Mrs. Doubtfire' or Dustin Hoffman in 'Tootsie,'" he explained. "It's always black people. We don't have to worry about anybody else trying to destroy us because we do it to ourselves."

Source: Box Office Magazine


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:30:13 AM

Its pretty ironic calling Spike Lee's films as "coonery" and "buffoonery", while thats the only why to describe your films, Tyler Perry.
Carpen7er writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:31:52 AM

He knows it ! Hes been living there all his career !
Carpen7er writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:33:20 AM

...but hes right anyway !...
telur writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:45:07 AM

he explained. "It's always black people. We don't have to worry about anybody else trying to destroy us because we do it to ourselves."

---> he had a point, that why white people more dominant than black people

Tyler Perry should direct Justice League America movie :))))
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:49:30 AM

All the hatred from Spike towards Whoopi and Oprah are totally justified.

"I've never seen Jewish people complaining about 'Mrs. Doubtfire' or Dustin Hoffman in 'Tootsie'"

How many Tootsie's and Doubtfire's has there been made? One each. How many Madea has Perry crammed out? A sh*tload. And none of them were good.
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:52:32 AM

"ts pretty ironic calling Spike Lee's films as "coonery" and "buffoonery", while thats the only why to describe your films, Tyler Perry.
"

Hey retard, reread the article.Perry said he's sick of Lee branding his movies "coonery" and "bufoonery".Not the other way round.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:56:04 AM

^Doesn't make it less true
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 7:21:17 AM

...........and now we wait for the verbal pile sh*t that will come from Spike Lee
LastActionHero writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 7:27:38 AM

GAY
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 8:48:47 AM

F.U. Perry and Jake_Pusscake. Jake go back to your cage in the basement.
boogiel writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 8:54:35 AM

He went on to say that he doesn't understand why so much criticism of his work comes from other black people. "I've never seen Jewish people complaining about 'Mrs. Doubtfire' or Dustin Hoffman in 'Tootsie,'" he explained. "It's always black people. We don't have to worry about anybody else trying to destroy us because we do it to ourselves."


For once, I agree with him.
xtlhogciao writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:13:36 AM

Well Tootsie was nominated for 10 oscars and won one of them. Mrs Doubtfire was a kid's movie and starred a talented comedic actor.
Maybe Spike should shut up, but Tyler Perry's movies are dumb as hell.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:17:38 AM

I know some of Spike Lee's movies do play the "black" angle pretty hard but at least those movies are seen and somwtimes respected by a wider audience.

Tyler Perry's movies are on the whole are utter sh*t and only cater for a small minority of people, I don't just mean black peolpe, so with a very limited audience his movies will never be considered classics.


Let us take a look at their respective careers.


Spike Lee

Joe's Bed-Stuy Barbershop: We Cut Heads, She's Gotta Have It, School Daze, Do The Right Thing, Mo' Better Blues, Malcom X, Crooklyn, Clockers , Girl 6, Get On The Bus, 4 Little Girls, He Got Game, Freak, Summer Of Sam, The Original Kings Of Comedy, Bamboo, A Huey P. Newton Story, 25th Hour, She Hate Me, Inside Man, When The Levees Broke & Miracle At St Anna.

and

Tyer Perry

Diary of a Mad Black Woman, Madea's Family Reunion, Dady's Little Girls, Why Did I Get Married?, Meet the Browns, The Family That Prays, Madea Goes to Jail, I Can Do Bad All By Myself, Precious, Why Did I Get Married Too?, For Colored Girls & Madea's Big Happy Family.


I sure as hell know which group of films I'd prefer to watch.
Frank4969 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:18:46 AM

It's about time somebody told that skinny little racist runt lee to shut the hell up. Now if someone would just tupac him to death. Man I really f*cking hate that guy!
zyban03 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:28:17 AM

This is the first thing Tyler Perry ever put out that I like!
Kurskij writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:46:01 AM

Spike Lee often talks out of his ass. But he also directed "Do the right thing".

Tyler Perry on the other hand... should never ever use the name of Clint Eastwood in one sentence with his own.

Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:58:09 AM

Dave- Thanks for the list cause when you put it like that it's just so obvious, Spike can slag off an inferior colleague for blaxploitation of the highest degree.
masht7 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:59:11 AM

@Jake

Whoops, mistake there. But I still stand by what I said about Tyler Perry.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 10:05:00 AM

Maybe black people don't like Perry pimping and promoting the same ignorant stereotypes of us that we've spent decades trying to destroy. (Namely this image of the loudmouthed, obese Mammy type who's always full of wisdom and Jesus) He's always embraced our fatness and over reliance on religion while Spike has always rejected these downfalls. Think about it, how many fat people have you seen in a Spike Lee film? Other than Malcolm X, how many of his movies have focused on religion or have used it as the solution to the film's conflict? Spike's films often have no winners and no rosey giftwrapped conclusions. He allows the audience to form their own opinions of the situations he artistically presents (well at least on film), while Perry rams his regressive negro spiritualism down your throat. Creatively and cinematically the difference between their work is night and day, but Spike has definitely earned the right to comment on the industry and all its players. sh*t, its kind of his thing :)

FU Tyler Perry
SACdaddy writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 10:14:58 AM

@Dave: Nice Spike list, but I think you forgot one of his best films. Jungle Fever is about as good as Spike gets. Excellent performances by Halle Berry, Sam Jackson, Marisa Tomei, and Wesley Snipes, and probably some of the hottest sex scenes of 90s film :)
freshfromthedeli writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 10:51:16 AM

Damn... Tyler Perry's making it really hard for me to keep hating him.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 11:16:05 AM

Even other black directors can't stand Tyler perry that's a sign.

Spike lee has done some great movies like inside man,25th hour,miracle at st anna,clockers.he has evolved from movies like get on the bus and girl 6 and always improves himself

Dead presidents is also a great movie directed by the hughes brothers
takai writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 12:36:01 PM

That's what Tupac used to say. Looks like Tyler Perry is trying to become a ghetto martyr.
c-prime writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 1:19:31 PM

"We don't have to worry about anybody else trying to destroy us because we do it to ourselves."

That's probably the first sentiment Tyler Perry's ever expressed about the black community that made one lick of sense. And it'll probably be the last.

Still, I'd be remiss if I didn't point out that every pessimistic word Spike Lee voiced about his insipid films was unequivocally true. (Likewise, probably the only sentiment of his that ever made a damn bit of sense.)
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 2:26:19 PM

I just gained a huge amout of respect for Tyler Perry.

I know, I know, I'm just as shocked as you.

Anyway, good to see someone sticking it to that good-for-nothing troublemaking voluntary segregating race-baiting self-made victim Spike Lee. people like him help keep black folks down by telling them their problems are the fault of some nigh-invisible and nebulous bogeyman, and I think Lee's also pissed Perry has made way more cash than Lee will ever see in twenty lifetimes

It's called the power of positive thinking, moron!

And who the f*ck cares if Perry's films are unbelievably stupid? Like the Saw movies are anything but nihilistic torture porn fetish films. And yet incredibly worthless white people flock to them by the droves.

Perry can make what the f*ck he wants. Good for him. White people make sh*t, and hardly anyone says a thing, and I reserve the right to criticize all of the above because I can.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 2:33:23 PM

Lee said: "As African-Americans, we're not one monolithic group, so there is room for all of that."

Uh huh. I call bullsh*t until one of you somewhere votes Republican or at least independent. Until then, shut your c*cksucker, Johnny Cochran.

velocityknown writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 2:44:45 PM

I'm stuck in the middle on this one

for one thing someone needed to say something about Tyler Perry's films (and no white person was going to be able to get away with publicly trashing them)

but on the other hand, Tyler Perry is right in that Spike Lee needs to learn to shut the f*ck up every now and then. No, not every now and then. All the goddamn time. He should never talk except when he's giving direction.

Big Spike Lee movie fan by the way.

So I guess I would like for Tyler Perry to assault Spike Lee to the point where Spike Lee is afraid to ever say stupid sh*t again and the aforementioned assault would cause Tyler Perry to be sentenced to 15 years in prison where he could not make his sh*tty movies.
rocketman writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 2:46:29 PM

Spike is a twat,strikes me as paranoid.
vaodsi writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 3:29:51 PM

i used to hate both... tyler perry for filling the world with sh*tty movies and spike lee for being a d*ck.... i like perry a little more now. Spike lee can be a total troll. He called clint eastwood a slavemaster and said he was racist lol. he's a total joke. The only difference is that when eastwood told him to shut up lee freaked out and said "RACIST! SEE HE IS RACIST HE TOLD ME TO SHUT UP!" but since perry is sayign it he cna't play the race card this time.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 4:11:29 PM

Spike has never been into making a whole lot of money on his films. I don't know if anyone on here remembers but at one point he was giving away free tickets to Malcolm X just because he wanted people to see it. He's financed most of his films himself and has done very well because they hardly cost anything to make (except for Malcolm X which required help from his friends in the industry to complete). Spike is far more concerned with making a statement on the human condition and painting an artistic social picture. He's also never relied much on the common excuses or blames for black people's place American society. He usually lays the blame squarely on black people themselves and the social environment they live within. Jungle Fever is a great example of this. The focus of the film centers around an office affair between Wesley Snipes and his white secretary (Tomei), but that only really acts as a catalyst to the real point Spike is making. The affair (or mainly people's reaction to it) helps to expose racial and social prejudice of both whites AND BLACKS all while also making a statement of the value marriage. Both Wesley and Tomei are shunned by their friends and family. There's a scene in the film where a group of well to do black women console Wesley jilted wife by demonizing white women and listing every racist reason interracial relationships don't work. This scene was not meant to make black women look like victims but was meant to show how easily prejudice can poison even the "best" of any race or demographic. If you look back at Spike's volume of work you'll find this similar style of commentary everywhere from Malcolm X to Do the Right Thing. The Man is hardly ever the antagonist of Spike's films.

IMO Spike's only vice is his tendency to run his mouth. But that's just Spike being Spike. If you don't believe me just watch a New York Knicks NBA basketball game. Better yet watch the ESPN 30 for 30 doc*mentary Winning Time and see how Spike's mouth cost a NBA franchise a shot at a championship.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 4:25:35 PM

The fact that Spike Lee can't take a sh*t without bringing up race is enough evidence for me he's just a tired racist.

Move on, dude, make a film about something else for a change. Do a comedy. Say something funny and positive. It won't kill you.
triggax writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 5:07:36 PM

"Uh huh. I call bullsh*t until one of you somewhere votes Republican or at least independent. Until then, shut your c*cksucker, Johnny Cochran."

I've voted republican in 2 American elections and vote Conservative here in Canada every municipal, provincial and federal election.

So.. I guess you can stop calling bullsh*t now?
zyban03 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 5:26:12 PM

@Mink

Can I get an AMEN!!!
Damon242 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 5:34:04 PM

So, what, Clint Eastwood is considered a black guy now?
triggax writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 5:54:49 PM

Good posts, Sac.. Hit it on spot, I have nothing to add..

Spike Lee is highly overrated as a black director for black people..

I can honestly say, aside from Do the Right Thing and Jungle Fever (good call on that one, probably his most vibrant film)
triggax writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 5:58:35 PM

Aside from those two films, nothing Spike has ever really done has ever struck me as awe inspiring..

Maybe because im not from east side compton or f*cking Harlem I don't "get" Spike Lees anger.. I have no black anger... Nigga please.. I doubt your own grandfather even had it that bad... Like you've ever had any real "black struggles" in your life.. Rich ass f*cking liberal black man queer bag...

That got harsh.. I am substantially more fond of Tyler Perry... I don't like his sh*tty movies.. But at least he doesn't resort to crying like Lee... Like I said, you've said everything I could have wanted to say already so ill just add mostly that I don't like the guy and I would probably never take him out for dinner...
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:08:14 PM

"So.. I guess you can stop calling bullsh*t now?"

I said AMERICAN not Candian. Get back inside your floating igloo.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:10:42 PM

Canadian. Or even better candyassian.
Dre-EL writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:11:20 PM

Spike Lee has always been a racist *sshole. His movies always present the peoblem and never a solution.
Perry's movies present the problem but also recommends a solution that can create a happy ending.
Spike Lee says we need to wake up, well we are awake and trying to do somthing about it.
There is plenty of space at the box office for all points of view, there is no need to be hating on each other simply because one has a character recognized by millions and gererating billions in revenue and the other, doesnt.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:17:05 PM

So then Trig, either you misread what Sac wrote or you actually do agree that Spike Lee isn't racist in the least and you would also agree that Sac didn't spend three hundred words making excuses and apologies for Mr. Lee?

Color me confused.

"The Man is hardly ever the antagonist of Spike's films."

No, he's more subtle because he knows no one, not even black people, want to listen to him harp on whitey for two hours, so he packages his crap in a palatable package for the consumption of the intended audience.

For example, Inside Man which was really just a parable on the evils of big bad evil white South Africans.

And I find it difficult to believe a man like Lee, who incessantly speaks quite casually on the topic of race, would then avoid the matter entirely when he sits in the director chair.

We call that a non sequitur around these parts.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:48:49 PM

ok tyler perry, here's one person that isn't black, and isn't jewish, that doesn't like the fact that every time you come out with another 'madea' movie, that it gets old very quickly, and it's not hate, it's just opinions...furthermore, spike lee may not be nicest of people, but he has a point on you as you do on him...so let's move on, people are tired of 'madea' films, and people are tired of spike lee's criticism...OK, MOVE ON!!!!!...if these people had lives, they'd ignore harsh criticism and make something better
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 7:02:51 PM

Where's the fun in that?
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 7:07:42 PM

there isn't any fun in that, especially if you can't make anything better than 'madea' films or films too similar to it
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 7:40:25 PM

I'm going to use the Avatar Argument and say that if his films make big bucks, that's all that matters. Seems to be the prevalent opinion on here, so it should suffice.
jdl107 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 8:14:45 PM

Yeah, well Mink said everything I wanted to.

Never seen a Tyler Perry film, nor do I want to. But still, Spike is just a big loud-mouthed c*cksucking crybaby.

I mean I've seen egos but damn, this motherf*cker thinks he's the sh*t, no sir. He ain't no f*ckin' Clint Eastwood, I wonder what made him even think he was in the same league enough as to talk smack to him? Ignorant son-of-a-bitch.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 8:24:02 PM

Spike Lee is the Kanye West of filmmaking.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:15:40 PM

just when i think spike lee cant get any dumber, he goes and says something like this....

...AND TOTALLY REDEEMS HIMSELF!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 1:51:52 AM

"Its always Black people.We never have to worry about anyone else trying to destroy us because we do it to ourselves"

True but, are you telling black people that we're not supposed to have an opinion anymore? This is what I hate about this guy."Shut up and buy my useless product nigga." Well f*ck that sh*t. I'll sit through the worst Spike Lee Joint (well except Miracle at St Anna) anyday just to be reminded of what film used to be before I had to turn my brain off and start dancing.

Hey black people love film like everyone else. I wouldn't be on this site if I didn't. I'll be dammed if someone tells me not to have an opinion on film. Spike's no different as a fan of and a player in the industry. He just has a bigger platform and a few more mics in his face. Hey and Spike may be a little racist. Luckily that's seems to be in these days :)
SACdaddy writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 2:05:53 AM

I hate to say it but if you're black and you're in an Eastwood movie, isn't it just about required that you have to die (horribly)? Death buy .45, explosion, whipping, etc. I'm just saying :)
trailertrash writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 4:24:22 AM

Come on SAC !

Remember this.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OvAs1pos3TA
trailertrash writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 4:25:42 AM

I know Don Siegel directed, it's Just a funny scene ;-)
SACdaddy writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 10:18:54 AM

LOL Trailer, you got me there. I wonder if this guy inspired Robert Downey Jr.'s look in Tropic Thunder :)
trailertrash writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 4:18:34 PM

hahaha , He may well of you know ....
Drumeez writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 9:21:10 PM

As a black person I think its stupid to expect either of them to be a spokesperson for a whole nationality. Spike lee has made some great films in my opinion, summer of sam was awful. On the other hand Tyler Perry movies are caricatures of black people. I argue with people all the time about Tyler Perry, but I am seriously against the black church culture which probably why i dont get the appeal of Tyler Perry movies.
seveltoto writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 12:11:48 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved