WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Confirms "Thor" and "Captain America" Sequels

Posted: April 20th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Confirms "Thor" and "Captain America" SequelsSubmit Comment
IGN got their hands on the interview that Marvel Studios head Kevin Feige did with Disney's D23 magazine, in which he confirmed that "Thor" and "Captain America" sequels are already in the works, and that lesser-known characters will get their own films.

"Thor will go off into a new adventure and Captain America will continue to explore the modern world in another film of his own," said Feige. "We hope that holds true for the characters appearing in that film Black Widow, Hawkeye, and the spy organization, SHIELD all of whom are more than worthy and capable of carrying their own films. And, we've got a lot of other characters we're prepping and getting ready for film debuts: the world of martial arts, these great cosmic space fantasies, Dr. Strange, and the magic side of the Marvel Universe. There are many, many stories to be mined."

We've already heard talks of "Doctor Strange," "Black Widow" and "SHIELD" getting their own movies, but this is the first time that a Hawkeye film has been mentioned. This is also the first time Marvel has confirmed rumors that "Captain America 2" will be set in the present.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:39:26 AM

Just keep on milkking guys...just keep on milking.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:52:33 AM

There's no end in sight for comic bookmovies then?

Must 'Garfield' get a gritty reboot until people realize enough is enough? f*ck, I just gave H-wood an idea...
Bunny X writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 8:26:26 AM

Christ, at this point every actor will somehow represent a comic book character.
The begining of the end.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 8:45:13 AM

Spot on Bunny, this is the begining of the end!!!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:55:51 AM

But if everyone's super... then no one is!!
bspence writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 11:03:03 AM

this is news?
marvel wont stop until theres one movie and remake of that movie of every superhero they have.
bspence writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 11:04:38 AM

now DC on the other hand needs to dish out a few more. Flash? Green Arrow?
bspence writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 11:05:38 AM

its been 1 year today since colemans death! damn!

DONT DELETE THIS ONE ALEX. Coleman deserves te respect
encoreyourface writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 11:44:28 AM

i think this is interesting news ...
Ranger writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 11:53:05 AM

@bs - good catch. RIP Gary.

As for this...

How does one spell 'saturation'?

Oh right: 'MARVEL'
bandolero999 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 12:09:11 PM

The only way to find out is to see how both movies perform at the box office.So far they look better than xmen 3,daredevil,and ghost rider
bandolero999 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 12:12:11 PM

Fantastic four movies as well.
But if they reboot that movie which will happen who the f*ck will play human torch since he's capt America?
Way to go hollywood worst choice ever.
Only reason for capt America movie is to watch Tommy le jones and Hugo Weaving,cause Chris Evans is just another dumb jock that anyone can take his place.
Ranger writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 12:14:58 PM

With what they're paying Evans, and his multi-movie contract. Every sequel to Captain America could be so bad it goes straight to DVD and Marvel would still make money (I believe that has been their back-up plan).
trailertrash writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 2:27:49 PM

Nice Sentiment on Gary but's a month early guys

http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=17849

How is sizkebab BTW
trailertrash writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 2:33:20 PM

But's = But it's
rocketman writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 2:43:19 PM

Marvel is due a huge bomb...
shanesleeping writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 3:01:46 PM

bring on the marvel zombies...
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 3:04:19 PM

I get it. Perfect the formula, test the waters by marketing the main characters, milk the main characters with sequels, milk minor characters, do spin offs, milk spin offs and so on.

Thanks to Marvel, we will never ever see the end of this sh*t. And DC will follow in steed, though apparently not as 'sucessfully', and by successful I mean without as much fervorous greed.

I wonder when whoever owns the rights to Image's stock of lackluster characters will get their chance to eat up theater space...

Hey, maybe they'll make an Arm and Hammer movie, or one with that furry little bear thing from those fabric softener commercials. You know, the Snuggle bear. Or one based off of Brawny paper towels. That could be good.
trailertrash writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 3:24:56 PM

Or The Tampon Super Hero

He's always UP for a fight no matter how bloody it's gonna get ....
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 3:48:08 PM

*laughing*

How about one on the Doublemint Twins, or a Diggum/Kellog's Corn Flake rooster crossover CG film in 3D?

Also, there's the Mr. Clean Man, Michelin Man, The Jolly Green Giant, the Hamburger Helper dude, the Energizer Bunny, that little fat white guy from Pilsbury, the Kool-Aid man, that guy from Burger King, Grimace and the Happy Meal gang, Trojan man, Joe f*cking Camel and even Papa Chester Cheetah.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 3:49:28 PM

Weren't they making a Geico film based off of the neanderthals/cave men characters?
rocketman writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 4:29:46 PM

I know of a few 2000ad characters that would make for great films.Rouge Trooper, Strontium Dog and Slaine would all benefit from the big screen.
rabid writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 4:41:37 PM

Nothing but good news for me. I always see people bitching and moaning on here about the lack of original concepts in movies. Well there's millions of slim paper books in the world full of crazy fantasy concepts.

It's not too different from a film based off a novel, except that we get memorable franchise characters we can stay familiar with. People love that stuff. Look at how long the James Bond and Dr. Who franchises have lasted.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 4:58:49 PM

Rabid, I hate to tell you, but comic books aren't high or even middle-level literature.

They're essentialy fodder for little boys minds. And that's fine. We all love to entertain our 'inner child' from time to time, but to have mainstream and predominant film avenues essentially overwhelmingly monopolized by the masturbation of a bunch of fat naive geeks isn't something I'd care to celebrate.
Aaron writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 5:31:35 PM

I'd say From Hell is an absolutely brilliant piece of literature - but I'm not sure you call comic books and graphic novels the same thing..
rabid writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 5:43:20 PM

Comic books started as an excuse to put ads in front of kids eyes, but there's been plenty of comics in recent years that qualify as literary classics or high art aimed at adults.
Alan Moore's Swamp Thing, Sin City, V for Vendetta, Sandman, Hellblazer, Watchmen, Top Ten, Promethea. And so many more are just fun and enjoyable without being sublime.
Now that all comics are published in trade paperbacks with long story arcs, they're indistuingishable from graphic novels. Marvel has already created a second line of all their main titles that are for children, so that they can now focus all the classics on adult stories that children wouldn't enjoy. Half of the Civil War event played out in washington boardrooms and jail cells. I wouldn't consider it all kiddy fare anymore.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 5:47:14 PM

"but I'm not sure you call comic books and graphic novels the same thing.."

Really, the only difference between the two is how 'adult' they write the story. You can hardly differentiate between say, Batman Year One and Red Son or Wanted, and really, a graphic novel is a story with pictures, basicaly a kid's picture book for teenagers.

And most of the time what people call a graphic novel is really just a condensed, collated and edited collection of comic book serials.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:02:14 PM

"but there's been plenty of comics in recent years that qualify as literary classics or high art aimed at adults."

No offense, but no matter how good they draw Superman's underwear or detail the story of Lois Lane's latest menstruation, comic art and literature can't compare to the works of someone like Caravaggio and Rembrandt (art) or Ben Johnson or a Bronte(lit).

Sorry my good man but that's just da facts.

Sure, people like Alan Moore talk about bigger ideas from time to time, injecting the story with some banter on politics or some pop-cultural psychology, often semi-illiterate and bordering on propaganda, but they're still just, at best, middle-brow fare aimed at entertainment and not education and enlightenment.

And I say that having read quite a bit of both.

"Alan Moore's Swamp Thing, Sin City, V for Vendetta, Sandman, Hellblazer, Watchmen, Top Ten, Promethea. And so many more are just fun and enjoyable without being sublime."

What you're saying, Rabid, is that even at the height of graphic novel writing, the best one could ever hope for is something along the lines of The Count of Monte Cristo, or in even more words, nothing particularly challenging for an average high school freshmen.

And then, when they get translated to screen, which is what I was actually talking about and not the source quaity, the material decoheres and get's roughed up a great deal more, losing detail and polish and even often times point, serving up really just more CGI action and oddball comic antics than anything approaching mature cinematography.

But what can I say? I mean, when more people listen to Bieber than Bach and read more People than Pasternak, it's not a difficult thing to accept that films would eventually trend towards immitating fare intended for fantasy-prone pre-ejaculating pubescent teenage boys.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:06:11 PM

..imitating..
Aaron writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:20:38 PM

"comic art and literature can't compare to the works of someone like Caravaggio and Rembrandt (art) or Ben Johnson or a Bronte(lit)."

By that logic if Rembrandt illustrated a story written by Bronte - than comics would be high art.

Your argument is based on your distaste for 20th century authors and not the medium itself.

Which is fine - but.. given the point you're arriving at not exactly logically sound.
Aaron writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:23:17 PM

But mostly It's just that you are the intellectual alpha and omega of all things..
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:35:29 PM

Marvel Confirms "Thor" and "Captain America" Sequels....because God knows they can't tell the whole comic in one movie because of all the effects right?...and if that's true, then explain DC's Batman starring Adam West...sure, not EVERY character and EVERY story from the comic was portrayed, but at least for that movie it was real close, closer than any studio has been for decades now, and that was way back then with ABSOLUTELY no cgi...how sad
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:55:09 PM

"By that logic if Rembrandt illustrated a story written by Bronte - than comics would be high art."

That makes no sense, by 'your logic'.. If you took Rembrandt paintings and inserted them every five pages into a Bronte novel, you wouldn't have a 'comic book', because what makes a comic book a comic book in entirely and inherently different.

Now, if Bronte wrote a comic book, then it wouldn't be up to her usual fare. Obviously. If Rembrandt or Jan Vermeer drew Spiderman dangling down in some alley, it wouldn't be high art, it would be again comic book fodder.

Sure, James Cameron could make an Uwe Boll-type film, no big deal, but if he did, would we then say that Alone in the Dark is just a 'different' type of film and not better or worse that Terminator 2?

What kills me is that your mind is obviously infected with the disease of cultural relativity and you can't tell what makes one piece of creativity better than the next, and from your perspective, from your rank reference frame, I look like an elitist.

And no people, Dale Chihuly is NOT a f*cking artist, he blows glass in pretty colors. Just saying. Oh, and Thomas Kinkade is a hack. That is all.
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 6:59:46 PM

"Your argument is based on your distaste for 20th century authors and not the medium itself."

No genius, I don't check my appreciation for literature at the year 1899. That's just unfoundedly silly.

I said, and I'll reiterate for your benefit, that comic books, even the best graphic novel, is not nearly on par with the loftier heights of traditional literature, and I don't care how annoyingly pompous Alan Moore (e.g.)writes, he's still just another pretentious dirty, hairy liberal Brit.

But who am I talking to? You probably think Stephen King is the be all and end all of literature.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 8:13:14 PM

A Captain Communist sequel

Woopie d doo
jdl107 writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 8:19:16 PM

f*ckin' A Rabid and Encore, I think this news is exciting. I can never get enough of a good superhero film.
Aaron writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:27:08 PM

Your opinions and comments pretty well speak for themselves mink.. I mean.. they paint you as what you are - I don't really need to point that out or throw a blanket statement over you.. you do a fine job of defining yourself on your own.

All I said is that you base your beliefs of comics as an inferior art form on the artists of the day..

It's all so based on definitions anyway that I really don't know what the f*ck you're talking about.

What do you define as a comic? (me - a series of images telling a story) - what do you define as art? (anything that makes you feel or convey's something from the head of the creator to the head of the viewer/listener/reader)

If you define comics as a series of images that tell a story, than as far as I know comics are one of the oldest art forms there are.

In a sense film is a close cousin of comics.

But you bring up authors again.. you say that Allen Moore is pompous (to an extent, I kind of agree.. but I loved "From Hell" because - A) - the thought that went into its presentation and B) - the fact that it actually made me question my own sense of ethics.)

But still - I said that your opinions are based on 20th century artists because you keep bringing up the artists and the twentieth century characters.. you haven't made any kind of point as to why a series of images and narrative can't be considered high art.. (again maybe your definitions of art and comics are different than mine.. I imagine that they probably are..)

but eh..

For the record (judge me how you want - I don't care, but judge me on the truth) - I'm pretty fond of the "great" Russian authors.. Doestoevsky and Tolstoy.. I also really like the really short story classics.. the time machine, dr. jeckyl and Mr. Hyde.. things like that.. Visual - Rembrandt and James Jean are the only ones I can think of off hand..

Judge me and berate me for that - I don't care.. It's what I'm into.

- also - I apologize for the "alpha and omega" coment. that was unnecessary. I'm sorry.
Aaron writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:31:25 PM

(also - i can count the Stephen King novels I've read on one hand.. probably half of one hand, actually.)
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 9:36:37 PM

Dr Strange, hells yeah.

And DC get on martian manhunter!!!
minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2011 at 10:50:02 PM

Comic book art isn't a talent, it's a skill and the only pre-requisite for drawing in comic book stlye is being able to draw in the first place.

It's a very narrow form of expression that expresses little but what the story demands, and that to me makes it less an art than a rather technically intricate reflection of the stories content.

And to me, there's really no variety within the body of work. One guy can drawn Spawn better than then the next. Big deal. Compare one old master to the next and you'll see a variety of subtle and blatant differences that reflect personality. Not so in comic book art where the commercial demand almost always trumps the individual expression.

Hell, I have far more respect for comic *strips* as art than I do comic books, so that puts your little theory quickly to bed. Calvin and Hobbes exuded life and personality and emotion and charm and was done very well with ample attention paid to line weight and color choice. Watterson's soul was in that work, but can you say that about Todd McFarlane's art? No.

I just don't think people realize that Western culture is in decline and we've long since passed our creative peak (look at rap as the dominant musical form...) and so people have to resert to glorifying inferior expressional styles like comic book art in order to have anything about which to talk. Sad.

Adn the writing, wow. Like I said, simple narratives. Nothing that transcends time or expresses anything philosophically imortant. No expression on the big mysteries of life and hardly any at all of a lyrical style.

It's commercial and perfectory prose intent on telling a story to a specific class of individuals, and reading more into than that doesn't mean there's more to it, in only means you're selfishly justifying what you want to see and believe.

I think certain people have vested interest in things. They see a certain quality in something that doesn't exist. They see Star Wars and think geeky thoughts. They can't separate personal fandom from objective criticism. They don't know either exists and that they're quiet often mutually exclusive.
Aaron writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 2:22:06 AM

..don't have much to say to that..
what I do have to say - I don't care to say it.
You've said your piece, expressed your opinion.
good luck. the end.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 5:09:58 AM

@Minkowski

"I just don't think people realize that Western culture is in decline and we've long since passed our creative peak (look at rap as the dominant musical form...) and so people have to resert to glorifying inferior expressional styles like comic book art in order to have anything about which to talk. Sad."

LOL 1)You are a paranoid android living under a rock if you believe that rap is the dominant music form and evidence of a creative decline in western civilization. Please justify your reasoning (even though it is off topic).
2)Would I be wrong for arguing that no one can do what Alex Ross can but him?

"Adn the writing, wow. Like I said, simple narratives. Nothing that transcends time or expresses anything philosophically imortant. No expression on the big mysteries of life and hardly any at all of a lyrical style."

You can call me simple or dismiss me for my opinion, but Maus was more powerful and memorable for me than any other literature I read through AP English classes (A.K.A Read the classics, discuss why they are important, and analyze everything...). Spiegleman's art is just as important, if not more, as his words and those of his father.

"It's commercial and perfectory prose intent on telling a story to a specific class of individuals, and reading more into than that doesn't mean there's more to it, in only means you're selfishly justifying what you want to see and believe."

Art is supposed to be subjective but haven't critics, scholars, and the masses done the same thing you criticized in order to arrive at the point of classifying certain work as "classic" or "essential" and other work as being inferior? "Just 'cause you feel it doesn't mean it's there," is a very important quote to me but I would change "you" to "they" for the argument I am trying to make.
trailertrash writes:
on April 21st, 2011 at 11:07:22 AM

Mink

"How about one on the Doublemint Twins, or a Diggum/Kellog's Corn Flake rooster crossover CG film in 3D?

Also, there's the Mr. Clean Man, Michelin Man, The Jolly Green Giant, the Hamburger Helper dude, the Energizer Bunny, that little fat white guy from Pilsbury, the Kool-Aid man, that guy from Burger King, Grimace and the Happy Meal gang, Trojan man, Joe f*cking Camel and even Papa Chester Cheetah."

You have just given marvel material for nthe next 20 years

I hope your happy !!


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved