WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jason Statham to Star in "Parker" Thriller

Posted: April 18th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jason Statham to Star in "Parker" ThrillerSubmit Comment
Jason Statham is in negotiations to star in "Parker" thriller, to be directed by Taylor Hackford (Ray, The Devil's Advocate) from a script by John McLaughlin (Black Swan).

The film is based on the book series by Donald Westlake and revolves around a thief who, though at times is forced to be a killer, still lives by a code of honor that includes never stealing money from people who need it. His word is his bond, and if he is crossed he will strike back relentlessly.

"I don't want to get stuck in a genre," said Hackford about why he took the project. "What I like the most about this piece of material is that you can take a genre piece like this and turn it into a great movie."

"Parker" will be shopped at the Cannes Film Festival next month.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lebowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 6:56:43 PM

dont like statham as the main guy in movies but he is always good in an assemble cast
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 7:16:34 PM

Statham has unfortunatley been in too many bad directed movies or stupid storylines

hopefully this will be a good film
trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 7:17:51 PM

I like Statham as main lead

He did a good job in the Crank and Transporter series, plus Mechanic and the Bank Job are good also.

And more than held his own in the Expendables, You can see he is growing in confidence with each film he's in.
beepboop writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 8:00:42 PM

I like the talent involved in this. Looking forward to it.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 8:37:32 PM

I'm going to be "devil's advocate" and support the IDEA of Jason Statham as Parker due to a couple of key points:

(a) The original filming of this movie was called Point Blank in 1967 =

Point Blank is a 1967 American crime film directed by John Boorman and starring Lee Marvin and Angie d*ckinson, adapted from the classic pulp novel The Hunter by Donald E. Westlake, writing as Richard Stark. Boorman directed the film at Marvin's request and Marvin played a central role in the film's development and staging.

Walker (Lee Marvin) originally named "Parker" in Stark's novel works together with his friend Mal Reese (John Vernon in his first major role) to steal a large amount of cash from a courier transporting funds for a major gambling operation, with the deserted Alcatraz island as a drop point.

Lee Marvin was not a big action hero, but from the Mitchum/Holden line of "swagger hero" that backed up his bone on bone fighting with a voice/growl that noone could match (within the scope of the movie). Like it or not, Jason has that same swagger.

(b) Mel Gibson remade the same movie iin a remake called Payback and tried to show the same swagger, but it came out very faux.

The Hunter was also the basis for the 1999 film Payback, starring Mel Gibson.[6] Director Boorman has joked that Payback was so bad that Mel Gibson must have taken the original script for Point Blank that Boorman and Marvin had thrown out.

I would love to see Statham take on Parker.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 8:39:22 PM

^ Deux Corrections : in, not iin

I would like to see Statham take on the character of Parker.
rabid writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 9:41:21 PM

This would be the 4th time that book becomes a film.
I guess I'm not complaining. They've all been very good films, and each different from the last.
c-prime writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 10:13:16 PM

"The film is based on the book series by Donald Westlake and revolves around a thief who, though at times is forced to be a killer, still lives by a code of honor....His word is his bond, and if he is crossed he will strike back relentlessly."

Way to venture out of your comfort zone, Frank Martin...er, I mean, Jason Statham.

I'm only joking, though. I'll see this movie. With Hackford at the helm, it's in more than capable hands.

minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 10:39:06 PM

Thief with a code of honor. Seen it already.
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 10:49:37 PM

According to Wiki, this is the third time Westlake's The Hunter has been adapted into a film:

Point Blank, Payback and now this one. Also, two other films were made from the Parker series: The Outfit (mentioned in Payback) and The Split.

Now, if you count the other version of Payback, well, that I guess would make four, but imo, that's more like 3.5.

Also :

"Director Boorman (Point Blank) has joked that Payback was so bad that Mel Gibson must have taken the original script for Point Blank that Boorman and Marvin had thrown out."

What a snob *sshole. I liked Payback, both versions. bad film? Yeah, they wish.
Aaron writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 11:23:09 PM

I second, or third, or whatever that - Payback was great. Both versions. Haven't seen Point Blank, though.
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 11:44:18 PM

I didn't see Maus already hit up the Wiki whore. Tsk, tsk.
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 11:45:18 PM

"And more than held his own in the Expendables, You can see he is growing in confidence with each film he's in."

I would hope, trailer, considering he's the same guy in every one of them. Still, I like the bloke.
rabid writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 11:52:07 PM

Chow Yun Fat starred in a version called Full Contact. It's on youtube if you want to watch it.
minkowski writes:
on April 19th, 2011 at 12:22:35 AM

I see that now, rabid, under Full Contact's wiki and IMdb, but not under Westlake's...I guess you can edit that if you want.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Donald_E._Westlake#Motion_pictures
rabid writes:
on April 19th, 2011 at 2:01:15 AM

I watched it earlier today. It's pretty good. You can tell from the title and the lead actor which direction they went. I imagine a Statham version would look pretty similar.
seveltoto writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 12:27:44 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved