WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First "Thor" Reviews Arrive Online

Posted: April 18th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First "Thor" Reviews Arrive OnlineSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures will be releasing "Thor" in US theaters on May 6th, but has already started screening the film for international audiences. And the first reviews are already coming out.

We have compiled several for you below and the general consensus seems to be that "Thor" is a decent, entertaining movie, but is far from perfect. The main thing the film was able to accomplish is to properly introduce the character before "The Avengers" is released.

Check out some of the reviews below:

Variety: Neither the star pupil nor the dunce of the Marvel superhero-to-screen class.

THR: A noisy spectacle with a suitably epic design, solid digital effects and a healthy respect for the comic-book lore.

Hitfix: If "Captain America" is at least as fun as "Thor," then Marvel can rest easy until next summer, because they will have managed to introduce each one of the Avengers successfully.

IGN: May not be a game-changer for comic book movies, but it's solidly entertaining.

HeyUGuys: It deserves to do well as itís good fun, but with a little more planning, it could have been so much better.

The Vine: A winning blend of thrill and feeling, respect and irreverence, "Thor" lifts Marvel's movie stocks considerably.

NineToFive: Never dull and provides a great time for kids, the average movie fan and comic book geeks alike.

/Film: I very much enjoyed it, but did not fall in love with it.

Collider: While I do have a few nitpicks, overall I thought Thor was great.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 56 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SeWerin writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 5:50:53 AM

Average you say?! Didn't see that coming...
Devil writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 6:18:16 AM

Yes. The early reviews are great. Looking forward to this!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 6:50:20 AM

Pretty much what I expected, I'd be surprised if it was above average but I guess that's too much to ask for a film with a huge fan-base, huge expectations and a huge budget now days. That would involve way too much work actually making an outstanding film, my main problem is the geezers accent I mean who is he Christian Bale?
Scholes60 writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 7:04:54 AM

I'll be going to see Thor on Thursday 21 April when it arrives in my home town of Canberra, Australia.

I can hardly wait! As an Aussie science fiction writer:
http://www.goldenvisionsmagazine.biz/AlienHunter.html
Iíve written some Thor fan fiction. Scroll down below my author profile to see over 40 stories:
http://www.fanfiction.net/u/1276881/David_Scholes
Devil writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 7:09:29 AM

Empire gives it 4 stars.
boogiel writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 7:41:35 AM

I'll be my own judge for that film.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 7:46:51 AM

Devil- I don't trust Empire any more, they've sold out. If they're interviewing some one or doing a double page on a film they'll always give it a high review. I'd wait for the dvd review for an honest verdict.
masht7 writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 8:56:18 AM

I'm still not so sure what to make of this. I just wan to see it just an Avengers tie-in, but the costumes and effects look as plastic as women who have had breast implants. I really hope Chris Hemsworth won't become the next Sam Worthington, a body-building typcaster.
trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 9:15:47 AM

Cinema-

Your right about Empire mate, You do get a more even opinion from the dvd reviewers. So many times its 4 or 5 stars on release then 2 or 3 on the dvd reviews once the films hype has died down.

Plus they seem more worried about signing you up for their special limited ed covers on mail order than the content that goes in to the mag lately.

I stopped buying it at full price now its 3 mags for £1.50 at pitsea market 6 weeks after release lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 10:10:14 AM

Trailer- Yeah it's kind of bull sh*t when it started off as a magazine for the people, the journalism is still far superior to things like Total Film though and some of the articles are hilarious but I've given up buying them as well I collected it for a while.

Yeah they love the special editions now and they want everyone on the i-pad reading it as well commercial bastards. I'm definetly gonna have to look in pitsea if it's 3 for £1.50 that's a bargain lol
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 10:59:38 AM

Boogiel-My thoughts exactly.
TT-I agree they have sold out. I've noticed that during the last few issuses I've read thru.
Bunny X writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 11:17:35 AM

As long as they don't lose sight of caring for these interim movies leading up to the Avengers, I'm ok. My biggest concern is they look too far ahead at trying to set up The Avengers that Thor and Cap suffer. These movies should be decent stand alones and not some long prologue to The Avengers
rocketman writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 12:09:07 PM

Marvel still for me have not made a true classic based on their comics.All seem to be good to very good rather than excellent to classic.If the Avengers is not in the same league as Dark Knight or the first Superman they need to start again with a fresh plan.DC seem to be winning this and Green Lantern still looks to be comic book movie of the year judging by the 4 min trailer.

rocketman writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 12:13:09 PM

And Empire lost it when it reviewed the Star Wars prequels,Attack of the Clones got 5 stars?
Used to like the forums too but got sick of some of the pretentious c*nts on their.Some good folks on there though.
rocketman writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 12:13:09 PM

And Empire lost it when it reviewed the Star Wars prequels,Attack of the Clones got 5 stars?
Used to like the forums too but got sick of some of the pretentious c*nts on their.Some good folks on there though.
rocketman writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 12:14:15 PM

Thats 'There not their obv and soz for the double.
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 12:14:27 PM

Excellent.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 12:23:12 PM

"Empire gave it four stars"

Empire will give four stars to pretty much any movie that isn't terrible.
Ranger writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 1:36:16 PM

If people like it, Putzman won't (because he's a c*nt).
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 2:00:12 PM

WP

You forgot Oprah's review, come on now

I need Oprah to tell me how to eat, take a dump, what to read, what to watch, and I need to know what movie Im suppose to see

Come on now WP we need Oprah's opinion on this
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 2:39:47 PM

"If people like it, Putzman won't (because he's a c*nt)."

He liked Scream.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 2:55:52 PM

Portman is in it so I planned on seeing it

Had planned on seeing sucker punch with all those chicks in it but after seeing to many previews the over the top storyline and blue screen crap kept me from going
Ranger writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 3:10:19 PM

@mink - I did not know that.
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 3:41:21 PM

I can't tell if you're being serious or not, Ranger.

Anyway, he gave it 9 out of 10.

http://www.worstpreviews.com/review.php?id=1617§ion=review

Will wonders never cease? Next thing you know he'll throw away his tutu and start watching sports.
trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 3:45:53 PM

I bet he already loves Womans Soccer ...
Ranger writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 4:04:32 PM

lol...

@mink - no, serious. I did not know that (I stopped reading his 'reviews' after that stupid spell of his ALWAYS going against the grain of the masses - like he was smart enough to see something good/bad in movies that millions missed).
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 4:13:52 PM

He's still going against the grain, Ranger. With the critics anyway.

RT has Scream pegged 'rotten' but just barely while he gave it a near perfect score.

By way of comparison, Shawshank (awesome f*cking film) has a 9.2 on IMDb.

Now, not that I think he should conform, quite the opposite actually, but there's no fun arguing with an institutionalized contrarian.

Anyway, maybe he's just a fan, and he's not nearly as objective as he would like to have us think, or he's actually trying to lighten up a bit. Who knows, but I doubt it's a friendly overture to the little people like you and me.
Ranger writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 4:25:29 PM

Yep.

As for Shawshank... yes, classic!

He can go against the grain all he wants. But to COMPLETELY miss the point as to what The Expendables was intended to be: 'Mindless, Bay-esque, explo-fest, homage to the 80's and critique it on a stand-alone 'action movie'... what a douche.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 4:26:23 PM

sounds about right. i'll still see it in theaters.
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 4:44:59 PM

I liked Expendables and I don't get why others didn't. I haven't yet heard an intelligent reason why the film didn't work. I thought the action was well done, and balanced by the story which wasn't exactly character development material, but is it ever?

The music was decent I suppose, the acting was pretty much what you would expect and I thought Rourke gave a fine minor performance along with the two main stars, Statham and Stallone.

How anyone could ever compare Ex to anything Bay ever did, I don't know, but the two guys, Stallone and Bay, have terribly different cinematrographical styles that do not in any resemble one another, and in fact, I think Stallone's use of 'heavy' action scenes is very well-contrasted to Bay's more whimsical and overtly stylish renditions. Don't get that comparison at all.

The only thing that I might say about Ex was that the story was a bit cliched (CIA bad guys in third world hell hole) and that the plot device Stallone used to cue the action was somewhat schemed, but hell, that's pretty much vintage 80's action all the way back to Predator and before.

Dustin's one of those reviewers who takes up ten long ugly paragraphs just to say essentially nothing, thinking more words means better opinion. Hell, even I know better (this post notwithstanding).
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 4:45:07 PM

Rang Mink

Please re-read your posts on this thread

That is why I quit reading reviews a decade ago

Reviews are most of the time a complete waste of eye movement now a days
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 5:06:22 PM

mink

I can probably tell you about Ex

One, the storyline was a little choppy a quick

Two It was a little over the top on the blood and gore. When you shoot someone we get the point, you lose your audience when people come to see an action flick that turns into a horror type flick, i.e when people get shot over and over or they make the body look like it was run over by a train 3 or 400 times

minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 5:08:17 PM

CH:

"Unfortunately, no one can be told what the Matrix is. You have to see it for yourself."

Now back to my meth, cheetos and basement couch. Hello mother!
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 5:14:10 PM

"One, the storyline was a little choppy a quick"

Well, I did mention that I think, and I agree, Stallone didn't do much development up front or throughout, pretty much rushing into the action, and perhaps that had something to do with too many cast members vying for screentimeh, what with Gunner's Waynegro/Judas betrayal and all the other sh*t going down, but then again, it could still be just sh*tty writing.

Still, I don't see how the film sucks, as some have said, simply because it has flaws.

"Two It was a little over the top on the blood and gore. When you shoot someone we get the point, you lose your audience when people come to see an action flick that turns into a horror type flick, i.e when people get shot over and over or they make the body look like it was run over by a train 3 or 400 times"

I agree. He really did that up bad in Rambo 4. It's like he's compensating for not being able to do action as found in his older films. Why he doesn't get a better writer I have no idea, but the action-gore issue is definitely a problem, though I still don't believe it makes Expendables a bad film.
Aaron writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 5:21:46 PM

The Matrix is a virtual reality computer program that you're hooked into and mistake for an actual reality.

..really, was that so hard?
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 5:25:31 PM

Mink

I meant to add I did like Ex

I just get a little ticked when I see an action film go over the top with the blood and gore

Im not ignorant I paid to see an action flick not a horror film. I think I have a clue what a bullet and machete can do

Anyway does that make it a bad film no but if you ask every day people about the film thats the response Ive gotten

minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 5:43:25 PM

"The Matrix is a virtual reality computer program that you're hooked into and mistake for an actual reality."

Well, to be fair, that was the trailer tagline which was something of a pun to tell vieweers to go see the film, but yeah, you're right, but if someone tried to convince you the world you live in was/is a fakery, would you believe them unless you saw it for yourself?

And CH, I get ya dude, my gripes are the same as yours and all the others, and Ex was no Con Air or The Rock, but it did have some good old action sorely missing from most movies nowadays and I think for people like me chewing on modern action scraps and crumbles, Ex was overall a solid meal, you know because when you're starving, anything looks good.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 5:58:29 PM

"because when you're starving, anything looks good"

LOL

Thats for sure
Ranger writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 6:01:13 PM

@CH - I have never listened to movie reviewers. Actually... if I ever heard of a review from someone bashing a flick, the more I looked into it, the more likely I found I wanted to see the movie. Putzman only came across my radar here. I read a couple of his (praised ALL 'girly' flicks, bashed ALL 'manly' flicks... pretty clear, obvious pattern to figure out). I disagreed with his opinions... I have never looked back.

As for mink's take on The Expendables (whether I agree or not... in this case I do agree), was more spot-on than any 'expert' reviewer. Performance-wise... Mickey stole the show with his limited screen time. Stallone and Jason were next (despite or, or in-spite of their screen time). Arnie and Willis... cliche' to the neck. And the others just blended in for fill.

'What's his problem?'

'He wants to be President'

WHO didn't bust a gut on that one?!

Looking forward to ALL The Expendable sequels... REGARDLESS how 'good' or 'bad' they are. Because sometimes bad IS good.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 6:14:12 PM

Rang

Im hoping for another A-team sequel


Mink

Try playing Uncharted 2 and Red Dead Redemption on PS3

Decent storyline and yet you are the movie
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 6:19:13 PM

Thanks ranger. Hope to see more of Arnie in Ex 2, but dunno. He seems to be lost with this governator nonsense, and I'm not sure he's in any shape to do anything physical. If he does a film, they may have to film it with him in a chair the entire time, because that's all he's done since 2003.

And CH, I don't have a PS3 (bought a Wii though for mario, what can I say..) but I am aware that the uncharted games are breakthrough cinematic experiences, and I can't help to think that one day people may not watch films and they may not play games, they'll do both simulataneously.
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 6:21:52 PM

And an A-team sequel would be nice but don't count on it. I was hoping FOX would greenlight a final X-Files film to finish out the franchise once and for all, to put to rest the story, but doesn't look like that's happening.

BTW, same company for both: FOX. They have to be the WORST big-budget studio ever.
Aaron writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 6:23:56 PM

"Unfortunately, no one can be convinced of what the Matrix is. You have to smell it for yourself."
trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 6:26:26 PM

Thought the 3rd X Files movie was a done deal already for a release for the back end of next year ?

Yeah another A team movie would be cool, Maybe one day who knows but it has to be with Neeson and the gang,If not don't bother.
trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 6:34:12 PM

Is John McTiernan out of jail yet.

Get him involved with the Expendbales 2, You neeed to transfer what he did with Predator (which was kind of The Expendables V Predator)work on the script a little more and Bang it is on like donkey kong.

But i still loved the original and Stallone does know how to deliver a good sequel.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 6:47:50 PM

@Trailertrash

Love the Pitsea market comment! Last time I went there, my dads car was nicked while we were in Somerfields. Was only an XR2i anyway!
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 6:56:13 PM

Mink

All I can say is its worth the 299 especially if you have an LED or LCD tv, Uncharted 2 really is unbelievable
Ranger writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 7:55:01 PM

@Aaron - you mean Lohan's snatch, yes?
Aaron writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 9:07:33 PM

If Lohan's snatch were virtual you wouldn't have needed the second or third movies. It would have blue-screened the whole damn matrix and Zion would've been freed.

Essentially - Lohan's Snatch is a Messianic entity in the world of the Matrix.
Ranger writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 10:06:38 PM

lol.
minkowski writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 11:12:57 PM

"Thought the 3rd X Files movie was a done deal already for a release for the back end of next year ?"

Lots of rumors and speculation and talk but that's it, AFAICT.

"All I can say is its worth the 299 especially if you have an LED or LCD tv, Uncharted 2 really is unbelievable'

I'll play it one day, and I'm sure it's as good as you say. That's all I;ve heard, good things, but right now it's now a viable possibility. Wait till the next gen comes out and the price comes down.
rabid writes:
on April 19th, 2011 at 12:20:53 AM

I'd love to see another X-Files film, but they have to do better than the last one. It felt like it was a script for some overly-catholic Lifetime mystery that they squeezed Mulder and Scully into.
Fight the Future did it right, but they kind of put a bow on the whole alien plot. I don't think those cats will be coming back to earth any time soon.
minkowski writes:
on April 19th, 2011 at 12:31:45 AM

Well, Rabid, the aliens never actually got run off.

At the end of 'Fight the Future', sure, the ship departed, but that wasn't the end of the invasion by a long shot, and in the series finale, Mulder discovers 'the truth': the actual date the world will come to an end with the aliens invading; Scull and him then escape, reconciled knowing that the future of earth is doomed.

You should brush up on your X-Files, dude.
Aaron writes:
on April 19th, 2011 at 1:43:04 AM

Mink.. you f*cking nerd. :P
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2011 at 3:29:18 AM

ricky- Nightmare

You must remember the 1st rule of Pitsea market:

Always walk to Pitsea market...
minkowski writes:
on April 19th, 2011 at 3:05:00 PM

"Mink.. you f*cking nerd. :P"

Flattery will get you nowhere with me bub.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved