WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Rio" and "Scream 4" Lead Box Office Weekend

Posted: April 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Rio" and "Scream 4" Lead Box Office WeekendSubmit Comment
Animated film "Rio" dominated the domestic box office by grossing $40 million during its opening weekend. The movie took another $129 million internationally for a worldwide debut of $169 million. "Rio" costs only $90 million to make.

"Scream 4" had to settle for second place, but still grossed $19.2 million. Dimension Films was hoping for a $25 million opening, but the studio is still happy with the results, considering that the movie took in another $18 million internationally and only cost $40 million to make.

The original "Scream" film took in $6 million during its opening weekend. The sequel opened to $33 million, and the third installment opened to $34.7 million.

Meanwhile, Robert Redford's "The Conspirator" opened on 707 screens and grossed slightly under $4 million, which was good enough for ninth place. The film cost $25 million to develop and will look to expand its release.

"Atlas Shrugged: Part 1" opened on 300 screens, taking in $1.7 million on a $10 million budget. The film will look to expand next weekend as sequel plans are already underway.

Click here to read our "Rio" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on April 17th, 2011 at 8:47:40 PM

It's been too long since Scream 3 came out and people lost interest. Sequels have to keep the franchise impetus going, and they lost that when they decided to make only three films.

Human psychology.

Look at how well the Saw franchise has done despite being a bunch of totally garbage films. Impetus.

Keep the sh*t coming, literally, because most people care more about being part of a trend than whether what they're watching is any good.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 17th, 2011 at 9:21:49 PM

I never got into the scream movies the closest for me was Scary movie when they spoofed the first two.just didn't find anything scary about a ghostface mask with a knife.
I prefer the first three saw movies but I wouldn't really call them horror more like into the torture S&M genre

Now that they made another scream there's probably hope one day for Critters,Hellraiser,Leprechaun,more chucky movies as well
Lowryder writes:
on April 17th, 2011 at 9:57:52 PM

@bando
I dont know about Critters, Hellraiser, and Leprechaun, but i do know that they are making a Childs Play remake in 2013.
minkowski writes:
on April 17th, 2011 at 10:31:56 PM

Scream 4 isn't bad. I'm watching it right now.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 17th, 2011 at 11:07:55 PM

Looks like I gotta see scream 4 now.
TeemSelami writes:
on April 17th, 2011 at 11:36:03 PM

critters freaked me out when i was little but it was worth the pair titties with the staple between them.
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 12:39:57 AM

Did someone say Titties?
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 12:50:42 AM

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...........Titties! Yum, Yum, what sice shall I go for???
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 12:53:03 AM

^Size, the only website that does not have a flipping edit button. How does that make you feel Alex???
telur writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 2:10:25 AM

in 3 years it will be Rio 2 and Scream 5

trust me
MrHeck writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 2:30:04 AM

Introducing Rio: the most uninteresting washed up CGI flick yet.

*You think you've seen it all? bet you havn't seen a couple of tropical birds talkin!
Yes sir, you heard right. Talking birds.*
MrHeck writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 2:32:15 AM

@BadChadB33
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...........Titties! Yum, Yum, what sice shall I go for???

Pick MY personal favorite.

And thats of course, one called *bigger*

JakeVermont writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 4:03:40 AM

my girlfriend dragged me into Rio last week, dont know if youve seen it guys, I know it's critiques are quite good but honestly I dont know whats so special about it. Seems like a mediocre animated movie. The story is simple since it's probabaly made more for kids unlike Rango. The animations were nice the movements of the Bird climbing were good^^ and the look of the feathers. Ok maybe I was the only one paying attention to that :D

It's not a movie I'd watch twice.

Never saw any Scream Movie. I may check out the 4th though. I mean if Minkyboy says it's good then... well it must be good.

I trust your word man.
batdump writes:
on April 18th, 2011 at 11:55:11 AM

Scream 4 looks pretty good to me. I liked the first 2. the third was alright. but the fourth looks promising

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved