WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Frank Miller's "The Dark Knight Returns" Animated Movie in the Works

Posted: April 15th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Frank MillerSubmit Comment
About a year ago, Zack Snyder revealed that he would love the chance to one day reboot the "Batman" franchise after Christopher Nolan's trilogy. He said that he would base his movie on Frank Miller's "The Dark Knight Returns."

Now comes word that "The Dark Knight Returns" is actually in the works, but as an animated movie. And there are several veterans of "Batman" cartoons on board.

Plot: It is ten years after an aging Batman has retired, and Gotham City has sunk deeper into decadence and lawlessness. Now, when his city needs him most, the Dark Knight returns in a blaze of glory. Joined by Carrie Kelly, a teenage female Robin, Batman takes to the streets to end the threat of the mutant gangs that have overrun the city. And after facing off against his two greatest enemies, the Joker and Two-Face, for the final time, Batman finds himself in mortal combat with his former ally, Superman, in a battle that only one of them will survive.

About ten years ago Warner Bros was working on a big screen version of "The Dark Knight Return," with plans of the Hughes brothers (The Book of Eli) directing and Clint Eastwood starring as Batman who would have been somewhere between 60 and 70 years old.

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 4:20:21 AM

Could work. Since it can't be compromised to a single feature, a series is the right way to go. But I would've been the great to see a live-action version.
masht7 writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 4:24:56 AM

I'm up for it. It's a great novel, and Clint Eastwood would make a bad-ass Batman.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 5:29:38 AM

Too bad the comic itself is not that great.
Blank x25 writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 5:36:41 AM

^^^You're kidding, right? "Not that great"?

It's just regarded as maybe the best Batman graphic novel ever written. I'd love to know your idea of a good one if you think TDRR isn't that good.
boogiel writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 7:06:30 AM

I'll stick with Kevin Conroy as Batman.
Big_Daddy writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 8:24:27 AM

They really need to move onto other comics
Bunny X writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 8:31:32 AM

THANK YOU!! I've said this countless times and I'll say it again. The DC animation group are hands down, the best team running and I'm sure they will deliver on this project.
I love the graphic novel and I would have been ok with a Snyder helmed live actioner, but I would much rather have this in Bruce Timm's and Andrea Romano's hands.
Can't wait.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 9:15:43 AM

Mortal combat with Superman? But Superman is no mere mortal.
xtlhogciao writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 11:39:20 AM

I love DC's recent animated flicks and shorts. I was a marvel reader as a kid except for the death of superman story arch. These cartoons are top-notch and really help in giving the basics of a lot of characters. I hope they go through with this.
takai writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 12:30:43 PM

So far this is just a rumor, and I treat it as such. Frankly (no pun intended), I just don't see Miller okaying something like this, when he knows how badass a Snyder adaptation will be, not to mention him giving Zack the green light to adapt whenever he wants. Unless, of course, Snyder is tied to this.

Everyone keep in mind that if this is in fact an adaptation, they would have to get consent from Miller, so this would be big news by now.

I call bullsh*t.
minkowski writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 1:45:30 PM

Alex must have a really high fever. He let slip some good news.
minkowski writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 1:48:34 PM

I'm sorry takai, but seriously, how do you know what Miller thinks? Are you his publicist?
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 2:14:56 PM

I'll give it a watch.
Han Solo writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 4:12:58 PM

Guys this is not a rumor considering Batman: Year One is soon to be released this year, as well as Green Lantern: Emerald Knights. This film is going to be apart of the DCU Animated features.. so yeh that clears it up.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DC_Universe_Animated_Original_Movies#Batman:_Year_One
minkowski writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 4:26:29 PM

Maybe so, but WP's source is the same Wiki source: Bleeding Cool, and Bleeding Cool doesn't reveal where they got the information, so at this point it is not officially confirmed.
mariachi writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 5:05:18 PM

@takai

The reality is that a big budget live action movie about an old Batman will never ever be greenlight. And I'm sure Miller is aware of that. So they may as well just go the much less expensive animated route
takai writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 6:25:42 PM

@Mink - Yes. I am his publicist.

@Mariachi - I strongly disagree. If Catwoman got greenlit, then TDKR can get greenlit. It's legacy alone would get it greenlit!
minkowski writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 6:50:47 PM

Excellent, takai! Would you please tell him then to stop writing sh*t? Thanks.

Oh, and no one wants to see a decrepit, ancient Batman running around with a ragtag mob of dirty children in a time set back during the eighties, no one but sad, obsessed fanboys who wouldn't know common sense if it kicked them in the vagina.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on April 17th, 2011 at 8:14:41 PM

this actually sounds interesting.

would love to see a live action version of this.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved