WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jason Momoa Says He Has Never Seen Original "Conan the Barbarian"

Posted: April 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jason Momoa Says He Has Never Seen Original "Conan the Barbarian"Submit Comment
Fandango had a chance to sit down with Jason Momoa to talk about his upcoming "Conan the Barbarian" remake and taking on the iconic role that was previously played by Arnold Schwarzenegger.

"I love Arnold. I love his movies and it's an absolute honor to take on those shoes," he said. "I don't want to sound bad but I haven't seen [Arnold's 'Conan the Barbarian']. It came out in 1982. I was 3 years old."

Momoa went on to explain that it's never good for an actor to be influenced by another actor's performance. It's better to just go back to the source material and come up with your own version.

While that's true, it's hard to imagine that Momoa has never seen "Conan the Barbarian," considering that it's always being shown on TV. And how big of a Robert E. Howard fan could he be that in 32 years of his life he has never bothered checking out any of the "Conan" movies?

Question: Has anyone on this website not seen Arnold's "Conan the Barbarian"?

Click here to read more about "Conan the Barbarian."

Source: Fandango


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:01:16 PM

I haven't.
sc_kg writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:05:01 PM

Me neither. But Conan The Barbarian: The Musical is enough for me.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBGOQ7SsJrw
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:09:59 PM

I have something in common with sc_kg?

Oh god, I've got to watch these films right now!
lebowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:29:41 PM

first conan was great you should watch it people.one of arnies best
Chewbacca writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:39:27 PM

Nope, and I really have no interest in the remake unless the full-length trailer is something worth while. Even then, I wouldn't spend 11.50 to see it.
Fixxer35 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:51:43 PM

He kills people and has lots of sex in the movies, and in one instance that I remember, he does both. (Sadly, not in that order.) Not really missing much.
jdl107 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 10:03:58 PM

I haven't. I don't plan on it either. From what I heard Arnold isn't exactly what Conan was or should have been. That was from a Conan fan too, rabid collector of the comic books.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 10:17:48 PM

I've seen the original King Kong, i sure as hell wasn't born back then. age really isn't an excuse (a better one would have been that the original Conan was awful).
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 10:44:55 PM

Dunno, but if I was him, and I was up for the Conan remake role, I would have at least bothered seeing the first film.

I know that he thinks he might be influenced by Arnold's performance, blah blah blah, but that would carry mmore weight if he was doing serious thespian work and not remaking some f*cking cult classic that's getting remade only because the first film is a cult classic, so the way I see it, he's here in this remake role BECAUSE of Arnold and he should at least have the f*cking respect to watch the first film.

f*ck his excuses.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 10:46:03 PM

Can't wait for everyone to run back to tell us how much they loved the remake, though, and i have to say, Arnie's acting in the first films was bad. Way bad.
LEONCIO writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:01:38 PM

The first one is a very good action film, I would say it's one of Arnold's best, but I've also read that they changed a lot of stuff and had very little in common with the original novels and Schwarzenegger actually didn't look very much like the Conan from said novels, this new movie is supposed to be closer to the original Conan but when most of people think about Conan on film they think about Arnold because almost everybody have watched that film (which I repeat I think it is very good even if it's different to the novels).

And I was born in 81 and I've watched it like a billion times on tv (and obviously a lot of other films that were made before I was born), that was a pretty lame excuse.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:15:36 PM

It's Jason, no one's gonna see your sh*tty remake either!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:19:00 PM

Jason Momoa Says He Has Never Seen Original "Conan the Barbarian" ... I can believe that. Television reception is a bitch when you live in a city dump and tweeze your eyebrows like this knuckledragger does. f*ck him.

Jason Momoa Says He Has Never Seen Original "Conan the Barbarian" ... Captain OBVIOUS Strikes Again!!!

Oh, and on other posts in this sh*tswill of a couple of threads TMZ *ahem* I mean WP has posted :

Bradley Cooper as The Crow ? They certainly have a f*cking laughable sense of humor in Hollywood. Then again, they did try to convince the audiences of America that Travolta was a heterosexual action star, when the whole time he was a crackpot Scientologist nutjob who made Quantas safety commercials, swapped spit with a guy that makes Uwe Boll look like Johnny Depp and returned to TV Land to (sweat)hog the entire interview for a reunion of "Welcome Back, Kotter".

Bradley Cooper couldn't play Cuckoo Man from The Mighty Heroes.

Lindsay Lohan in a John Gotti movie with Joe Pesci ? Only way I'll watch it is if he recreates the pen to the jugular Doug Henning scene to her character, asking her, " Bitch, do I amuuuuuse you ? "

James Wan Says "Saw" will Return ? Hey James, want to make it a hit ? Three words : M. Night Shamalyn .... Oh, and have him cast Jackie Chan as Jigsaw.

You f*ck.


Tom Cruise, Keanu Reeves and Johnny Depp in talks for RoboCop ? Well, Johnny can play Murphy before the assassination and then Cruise and Reeves can interchange as the vegetable. That way, they can go Method.


Dr. Hugo Strange is Main Villian in The Dark Knight Rises ? Well, it sounds like a f*cking bubonic bouillabaisse with the way they are packing in this movie with more stars than quarters in sock stuffed in Batman's crotch to intimidate hooligans ... but this isn't news. They have mentioned this from the very f*cking beginning and even if it doesn't pan out, when you go back and forth on who the f*cking villian is on a Batman movie, it's f*cking Schumacher, glow in the dark and nipples on the Batsuit all the f*ck over again (oh, and Arnold in a giant glass dildoheaded suit).

Josh Brolin in Men In Black 3 ? Are you sure they were casting him as Tommy Lee Jones' younger self and not the character actor Ronald Reagan with Will Smith as his chimp sidekick who happens to stand on a porch and goes by the codename " Bonzo " ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:22:25 PM

I'd rather watch Conan O'Brien cut Jay Leno's head off with a butterknife, then stick it on a Pez dispenser to make a "Southern Wal-Mart Bobblehead" then watch this bonehead f*ck up a character that he hasn't even taken an interest in finding out about.

Momoa, I hope you f*cking screw up so much that even gay porn tells you to go suck donkey d*ck.
c-prime writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:29:29 PM

Nope, I haven't seen it. Been meaning to one day, though.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:29:44 PM

"Josh Brolin in Men In Black 3 ? Are you sure they were casting him as Tommy Lee Jones' younger self and not the character actor Ronald Reagan with Will Smith as his chimp sidekick who happens to stand on a porch and goes by the codename " Bonzo " ?"

Jesus, Max! lol!

"It's Jason, no one's gonna see your sh*tty remake either!!"

Except for those sweaty d*ck-hungry chicks that couldn't get laid if they played volleyball in a vat of cream cheese and cuc*mbers.
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 12:50:56 AM

1. This guy is full of sh*t. He LOVES Arnie's movies... but hasn't see this one because he was 3 when it came out?! WTF?! No TV, Cable, VHS, DVD's where he grew up?!

2. I've seen Arnie's Conan: 'Who rrrrrrrr youh?'

3. And Moe-mo... you're not filling anyone's shoes dipsh*t.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 1:31:25 AM

All I can say is...

Wash your mouth out with soap and water for saying such slanderus things.
phetburton writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 2:02:05 AM

i havent, so what??
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 2:41:46 AM

Wow, surprised that many of the WP regulars haven't seen (what I consider) one of the greatest action films ever made. Hell, it may be Arnold's greatest film! Brutal, epic, unforgiving, how else do you describe such a perfect film? The original Conan embodies everything that was great about Arnold's larger than life persona and 80s action filmmaking in general. Jesus, James Earl Jones is the bad guy! It doesn't matter how old you are, if you're an action movie fan and not a total p*ssy you need to see that f*cking film! Its everything today's action film is NOT.

YoungChris writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 2:51:19 AM

I saw conan when I was 8 back in 1992...I got to admit i still like the movie ...
nefilim writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 3:32:11 AM

I have, of course ! a bit odd that people discuss films on this site and haven`t seen that essential film. its not great but must see. screenplay is wonderful (by Milius)
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 3:48:18 AM

Says it all really.
funseeker writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 5:48:16 AM

i like jason, liked him from sg:atlantis but this is not very smart of him ... fan of both arnie and robert e.howard and didn't hear about video rental stores? yesterday i listened to some elvis music and he made it before i was born, how can that be???? am i magic? i do not like when fame hit people on the head and they become ignorant. guess after the governator clips and this there is a curse on conan leads, like joker from batman, very dangerous role, might effect sanity!!!
Kill-the-director writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 6:51:03 AM

he loves arnolds movies but has never seen conan the barbarian. bullsh*t *cough* bullsh*t
Psyched writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 8:00:04 AM

Conan the Barbarian, seen it over 30 times...
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 9:10:48 AM

Just say Im an idiot Mo-mo

Come on, havent seen the films give me a break, heck it was just on the other day, for what now, the thousand time
bandolero999 writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 9:17:53 AM

the stupidest sh*t to come out of his mouth.
jdl107 writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 9:31:54 AM

"Can't wait for everyone to run back to tell us how much they loved the remake, though, and i have to say, Arnie's acting in the first films was bad. Way bad."

Word.
LEONCIO writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 9:54:32 AM

I forgot to mention the score for the first Conan was really awesome.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 10:09:38 AM

and the big question is will Momoa have another acting career after Conan?
Dre-EL writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 10:19:21 AM

Of course I've seen it. My favourite seen is still conan f*cking that witch then tossing her in the fire place.
Arnold, as with all his early work, had maybe 10-15 lines of dialog. Watch the movie again and see everyone talking at him and him grunting an opinon. Works for Conan and the Terminator though. These movies are still fun.
Anyone who says they love Arnie's movies but havent seen Conan is either lying about lovin g Arnie's movies or lying about Conan. Either way they are lying about something.
Conan the Barbarian, not Destroyer, is one of the few guilty pleasure movies of the eighties and has the most memorable prayer to any god I ever heard. "Help me or f*ck You." This was used again in Major League.

You Gotta Love the Eighties.
beepboop writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 11:56:01 AM

Conan the Barbarian is a great movie and I'm not surprised Momoa hasn't seen it. Kinda hard to watch movies, when your eyes are pointing away from each other.
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 2:51:07 PM

Conan The Barbarian is along with Predator the best Arnie film/s ever IMO,Terminator coming a close second.
Conan the Destroyer is a very pale comparison.
LastActionHero writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 4:12:20 PM

The orignal one was a classic. This one is an insult. Nothing like a little girly bitch trying to play a badass barbarian.
doneehoward writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 4:53:54 PM

never seen it. (Never wanted to)
Farradin writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 7:46:08 PM

"It came out in 1982. I was 3 years old."

It's a shame that we didn't have the technology to record moving images(the ability to film if you will), when that film came out!
Farradin writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 7:47:55 PM

P.S. Idiot!
funseeker writes:
on April 15th, 2011 at 7:02:01 AM

He lives, he loves he slays and he is content - no time to watch movies. do stargate: extinction and disappear!
Ranger writes:
on April 16th, 2011 at 1:55:57 AM

... but not in that order.
Ranger writes:
on April 16th, 2011 at 1:58:14 AM

'Kinda hard to watch movies, when your eyes are pointing away from each other.' --- lol.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved