WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Green Day's "American Idiot" Musical to Become a Film

Posted: April 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Green DaySubmit Comment
Universal Pictures is negotiating to turn the Green Day's Broadway musical "American Idiot" into a feature film. Oscar-winning writer Dustin Lance Black (Milk) is in talks to pen the script, and Michael Mayer will direct. Mayer helmed the musical, which is closing on Broadway April 24th and launching a tour in the fall.

The musical, which uses the songs of the punk band's 2004 album to tell the coming-of-age story of three small-town guys, was optioned before its opening last spring by Tom Hanks' Playtone. The production company previously turned the stage hit "Mamma Mia!" into a Universal film.

It is expected that Green Day lead singer/songwriter Billie Joe Armstrong will be courted to play the role of the drug dealer St. Jimmy. Each time he did a stint in the role on Broadway, the grosses rose considerably. The band was actively involved in the formation of the musical.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 5:39:16 AM

I hate Greenday. I hate America and I hate idiots. This sounds like a great idea for a film.
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 5:52:28 AM

I would rather see Sisqo's - Thong Song made in to a movie
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 5:54:45 AM

trailer- now that sounds like my sort of film. Such a beautiful poetic song, I'd like to consider Sisqo as the Bob Dylan of our generation... lyrical genius.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 6:56:46 AM

@cinema & tt

lol
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 8:39:55 AM

lol thats awesome TT and Cinema.
TeemSelami writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:33:22 AM

casting for actresses with dumps like a truck and thighs like what has begun, and greenday sucks.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:34:30 AM

That video was filmed in miami beach so much eye candy.
Green day has got to be the gayest band on earth along with jonas brothers and coldplay.
I rather listen to pitbull and he's dreadfull but his videos got the mamis
rabid writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:51:26 AM

Green Day is garbage music. I'm shocked to find out they have a musical and even more shocked to find out they're making a movie.
I'll be most shocked if anyone other than their family members turn up to see either project.
grossefidelityanything writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 6:13:04 PM

As an avid Green Day fan, I hope you all die of face-AIDS.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 6:58:14 PM

Oh, I'm sure this will bring in 'The Cash', I guess, but seriously, who the hell who kows the warmth of sunlight listens to Green Day?

They were popular back in the nineties as one of those angsty punk bands, but what relevance do they have now? As proof that AIDS doesn't kill everyone?

I've never enjoyed one of their whiny-hiney little tunes (I walk the streets alone, on the Boulevard of Broken Dreams...WAH, WAH, WAH! I'm rich and famous and I'm whining! Where's my baba of milk, and by baba I mean d*ck and by d*ck I mean c*m...)

Shut the f*ck up you little sodded off faggots and go kill yorself if a life of fame and money and wealth is that much of a f*cking burden. Do 'The Ledger' and 'accidentally' overdose. But unlike Ledger, no one would miss you. Or your gay no-hair band.

"I hate America and I hate idiots"

Why did you say that twice?

"I rather listen to pitbull and he's dreadfull but his videos got the mamis"

That bald-headed d*ckfaced little troll is always sticking his pecker into music where it doesn't goddamned well belong. f*cking cucharacha.

"I'll be most shocked if anyone other than their family members turn up to see either project."

No one can be *that* naive, Rabid...
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 6:59:57 PM

"As an avid Green Day fan, I hope you all die of face-AIDS."

As an avid Green Day fan, you WILL die of face-AIDS, faggotron.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 8:57:35 PM

that band and that song suck donkey d*ck.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:01:15 PM

mink-lol, agreed. look @grosse, we already know you're a troll but I'll say this anyway. you can like whatever kind of crappy music you want, we're SO sorry we don't agree with you, but that doesn't mean you can go around acting like a c*nt. but you did, so f*ck off and masturbate to green day.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved