WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise in Talks for "Oblivion" Sci-Fi Film

Posted: April 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Cruise in Talks for "Oblivion" Sci-Fi FilmSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures is looking to finance and distribute "Oblivion," a sci-fi film by "Tron Legacy" director Joseph Kosinski. The plan is to begin shooting this October and Tom Cruise is currently in talks to star.

"Oblivion" is a futuristic sci-fi love story that takes place in an apocalyptic future where most of the population lives in clouds above an earth surface that has been rendered for the most part uninhabitable. An earthbound soldier - stuck there repairing drones that patrol and blast a savage alien life form - encounters a beautiful woman who crashed in a craft, and they have an experience that forces him to question his world view.

Universal has agreed to take on the film, but only if Kosinski is able to deliver a PG-13 version at a budget of around $100 million. William Monahan (The Departed) wrote the script.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 5:35:18 AM

What an ironic title considering the direction of Tom Cruises career slowly moving towards Oblivion.

"An earthbound soldier - stuck there repairing drones that patrol and blast a savage alien life form." Wouldn't that be attacking his own Gods with the old scientology bullsh*t.

"Universal has agreed to take on the film, but only if Kosinski is able to deliver a PG-13 version." Every time I hear this I move a step closer in my mind to splitting an atom and nuking Hollywood.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:10:41 AM

PG-13 doesn't need to be that bad, if the scale of the movie is big enough. Tom Cruise's "War of the Worlds" was PG-13 and I liked it. Sure, it could've been better if they dropped the kids but you can't have it all.
Valandir writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:24:37 AM

Tom Cruise is still one of my favourite actors, I've always liked him. I couldn't care less if someone's trashing him because of his scientology shizz - He's still a brilliant actor in my oppinion.

And yeah, like Freudian_Nightmare, I also thought "War of the Worlds" wasn't that bad. I think it's underrated.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:41:30 AM

I've got no problem with Tom as an actor. War of the Worlds was good I hate that studios demand PG13 nowday's can they not see it doesn't guarantee more money.
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 8:19:48 AM

Minority Report was wicked Sci-fi movie think that was a 12

I liked War Of The Worlds also.

Just thought it was a cop-out ending with the Son making it home at the end, He should have died in battle doing what he believed in.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 8:35:06 AM

tt-that woulda been better.
Ehhhhhhhh on this movie thus far.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:22:18 AM

IMO, PG-13 works when a film is originally made to fit the rating. What I have a problem with is when a R-rated product gets editted or watered down to a PG-13 level. Cruise has had a lot of success in the PG-13 market and knows how to carry a film without having to do much cussing or blood and guts violence, so I can see this fitting him just fine. Something tells me his Les Grossman film will have a little tougher time getting that PG-13 rating. "Oh and by the way, go f*ck yourself!!!"
SACdaddy writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:22:20 AM

IMO, PG-13 works when a film is originally made to fit the rating. What I have a problem with is when a R-rated product gets editted or watered down to a PG-13 level. Cruise has had a lot of success in the PG-13 market and knows how to carry a film without having to do much cussing or blood and guts violence, so I can see this fitting him just fine. Something tells me his Les Grossman film will have a little tougher time getting that PG-13 rating. "Oh and by the way, go f*ck yourself!!!"
c-prime writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 1:54:45 PM

"An earthbound soldier - stuck there repairing drones that patrol and blast a savage alien life form - encounters a beautiful woman who crashed in a craft, and they have an experience that forces him to question his world view."

An "experience," you say? That causes him to "question his world view"? Huh. I guess that means this film will be a symbolic ploy to either (A) encourage Tom to turn his back on Scientology or (B) to influence his conversion to heterosexuality.

Whatever the goal is, let's hope it's a success.
Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 4:12:54 PM

Cruise peaked with 'Born on the 4th of July.'

I'm still (and always have been) a fan of his.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 6:38:00 PM

"Every time I hear this I move a step closer in my mind to splitting an atom and nuking Hollywood."

Well, atheist or not, if you did this you'd be MY god.

"Oblivion" is a futuristic sci-fi love story"

Strike one.

"that takes place in an apocalyptic future"

Never seen or heard of that trope before...

"where most of the population lives in clouds"

Great. First foating mountains now people living on the surface of...water vapor.

"above an earth surface that has been rendered for the most part uninhabitable."

So how did they manage to escape to the sky if the surface was uninbaitable? Did this uninhabitable-ness happen slowly, or quickly? With robots or aliens? And if they can build worlds in the clouds, why the hell couldn't they just move to Mars or fix the surface?

Non sequitur.

"An earthbound soldier"

Named Wall-E?

"stuck there repairing drones that patrol and blast a savage alien life form"

Eh. I'm going to let this go because this sh*t sounds like really bad sci-fi. More like f*cking fantasy, not *science* fiction.

Robots + aliens + 'apocalyptic future
'science fiction'. Nice try though. Either say something fresh and meaningful or shut the f*ck up.

"encounters a beautiful woman"

Why can't she be fat and ugly or at least plain or homely? What, only the beautiful deserve love? If so, why is the world full of ugly people?

"who crashed in a craft"

Which looks suprisingly like George Jetsons' Chrysler.

"and they have an experience that forces him to question his world view."

Because sitting in the middle of a post-apocalyptic hell and looking up at the splendor of some heavenly cloud world wouldn't make him do some serious f*cking thinking, oh no, he has to meet a beautiful stranger to get the old marbles rolling.

Who the f*ck writes this garbage?
gideon_the_1 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:20:47 PM

Check out new graphic novel, Launching at New York Comic Con. Soon the be a Motion Picture.

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Ultra-Terrestrials-The-Unveiling-Vol-1/150058388381581
Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:52:55 PM

@gideon - let's not, and say we did, 'tay?
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:59:12 PM

@Gideon:

Who the f*ck drew that garbage? Looks like someone's been poorly aping Image comics for about two weeks. Even Rob "look mama, no feet" Liefeld would turn his nose up at the stink coming off that Japanese-Nuclear-Reactor-Waste level sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 8:14:26 PM

I guess my 'does not equal' character symbol failed to appear.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 8:15:03 PM

"where most of the population lives in clouds"

Now I know why he was climbing the worlds tallest structure without a rope or parachute
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 8:23:07 PM

^because he has an ego only rivaled by his nose?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved