WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Mann to Direct "Gold" Thriller

Posted: April 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Mann to Direct "Gold" ThrillerSubmit Comment
Michael Mann (Heat, Collateral) is teaming up with Paul Haggis (Crash) for "Gold," a contemporary thriller in the vein of "The Treasure of the Sierra Madre," set around a ruthless search for the precious metal.

The script was written by Patrick Massett and John Zinman, the producers of TV shows "Friday Night Lights" and "The Chicago Code." No actors are attached.

Haggis was initially in talks to direct "Gold," about prospectors and speculators on the hunt for gold, but has since moved on to other projects. He showed the script to Mann, who is now planning to direct it. Haggis will stay on as a producer.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 5:46:19 AM

This could be good,The Treasure of the Sierra Madre is my favorite Bogart movie,great film.

Michael Mann last couple of movies have been only so so IMO , Watched Miami Vice for the first time at the weekend thought it was pretty poor, Though it did look great.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 6:18:27 AM

I will only watch this if it opens or closes with this music http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gSq8ZBdSxNU
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 6:54:24 AM

Sounds good, Mann is a good director.

@tt I loved "Miami Vice", it was good that we didn't have the usual story of how they got together...ie.."Starsky and Hutch"
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:05:00 AM

Sounds like some classical matiné-adventure. Not something you usually connect Mann's name to. I like it. These kind of movies don't get made so often anymore.
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 8:43:56 AM

dave-

Couldn't stand Starsky and Hutch, loved the show but the movie was just one bad joke after another.

They should have kept is serious(ish) like the The Ateam which i enjoyed.

In fact Michael Mann should have made Starsky & Hutch being as he had written some of the episodes in the show in the 1st place.

Just didn't really enjoy M.Vice mate, Maybe i watched it to late it was about midnight when i started it, just couldn't get into it.

Loved the dive, roll and shoot that Jamie Foxx did at the end that was straight out of 80's tv, lol



triggax writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 2:07:31 PM

"Michael Mann last couple of movies have been only so so IMO , Watched Miami Vice for the first time at the weekend thought it was pretty poor, Though it did look great."

Everyone is entitled to their opinion about it. But that opinion just plain sucks TT.

Which movies are you referring to as his last couple? Public Enemies and Miami Vice? They were both very f*cking awesome I can assure you, have another look at Public Enemies. I had my reservations about the film after first viewing, but its Michael Mann. The guy has done nothing but piss excellence since the 70's. Give his last few another look from a different angle you might get more out of them. The subtlety of Miami Vice is what made the film I think. Most people went into it hoping for a guns blazing camp action flick, throwback to the 80's. That was the way the A Team film ended up going.. BUT BUT BUT Its Michael Mann.. He's never made a film that didn't take itself WAAAY too seriously, but i think thats the guys charm. So watch it from a different angle, watch it on a sunday afternoon and really take in the scenery, and the story, which was really well written and played out pitch perfect, i thought.

I have very few "favorite directors" so to speak. On a good day im partial to George Roy Hill. On another day it could be Spielberg before 1993.. But on every f*cking day, its always Michael Mann at the top of that list. He's never sold out, he has always made the movie that HE wanted to make. Straight up.. The only other director I can compare him to is Sergio Leone, in the sense that, he too takes his filmmaking and character development extremely serious.

Michael Mann is f*cking amazing. Everyone remember the first legit incarnation of Hannibal Lecter to the big screen was Michael Mann.. Apparently Silence of the Lambs was a superior movie.. Apparently..! f*ck that, Jonathon Demme should have taken a lesson or two from Mann in his script, could have been a lot better.. Then you have Red Dragon, which a lot of people seemed to like but forget that it was Brett Ratner and was less an adaptation of the book and more a rip off of Manhunter.

I could go on and on, but you need to f*cking watch Miami Vice again. Give Public Enemies another shot too, it took me a couple viewings to really enjoy what I was seeing.

word
triggax writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 2:12:48 PM

And this will undoubtedly be an amazing film, the collaboration is something I would love to see. Michael Mann and Michael Mann Lite (haggis)

Both exceptional writers absolutely brilliant film makers.

Can't wait for this.

Mann's daughter also did something recently If I remember correctly? That would be very interesting to see if she pulled it off, I believe it was a heist type thriller too.

I love Michael Mann. Gay love.
triggax writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 2:32:49 PM

Im going to dig up my reel of Thief and watch it tonight. f*cking rights, this threads got me all uppity.. Haha.. uppity negro.
Rodan writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 6:37:41 PM

@triggax, holy sh*t. "Thief" is a f*cking masterpiece. I can't believe most of my friends haven't even heard of it, much less seen it. What a gem. I think you may love Mann more than I do, but not by much. I'm gonna give "Miami Vice" a try sometime. "Collateral" was/is probably the only film that made me really reexamine my life.

Also, I can't wait for this movie.
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 6:43:03 PM


Big fan of Michael Mann to though Trig

I guess a Michael Mann so so is a Brett Ratner Masterpiece.

After the Awesomeness that was Collateral, Just never felt like watching Miami Vice for some reason.

I wasn't really that big a fan of the show, i only remember the Bruce Willis and Phil Collins episodes.

It looked Stunning i must say and i know Colin isn't the most liked actor on WP but i don't mind the guy in certain films (Bruges, M.Report,Recruit,New World) But i just couldn't get into it, like i said to dave maybe it was because it was late who knows.

Public Enemies on the other hand is a film i must watch again.

Very much like Mann's The Insider and Ali both films i enjoyed more on a second viewing.

Yeah Manhunter was a very good film and i liked Brian Cox just as much as Tony Hopkins as Lector, And you get the feeling that Ratner was kind of hoping that most people hadn't seen or even heard of manhunter so he would look like a half way decent film maker and not the hack we all know he is.

George Roy Hill nice not someone that ever really gets a mention on WP , he has made 3 of my favorite films Butch,Sting and Slap Shot and that was an inspired piece of casting of Paul Newman as the foul mouthed Ice Hockey player Reggie Dunlop.

For me Spielberg got involved with to many other projects from the mid 80's onwards and he lost that edge he had in his early films, The guy is due a good movie again Munich was his last IMO , but i'm not sure War Horse or Tintin are going to be that though.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:15:13 PM

Dunno how well this will work if it's missing that urban cinematography for which Mann is so famous.

And the guy hasn't exactly been up to full speed lately. Public Enemies wasn't engrossing and missing much of that moody existential philosophy that worked for Heat and Collateral, both of which had not only great star power but taught, tense and intricate stories around some great and unexpected music (Collateral espcially...)

Miami Vice failed for two good reason: Farrell cannot carry a film of that scope. Sorry. That and the film as simply too far off the intended mark,a nd the mark I mention isn't the one you;d find in the original TV series, although he should have carried some of that over for simply enjoyablity.

Miami Vice meandered and strolled but it never homed in on it's central theme. It just sort of rolled around lazily until it sprung a leak and sank.

So, I do hope Mann drags in some good tunege and I hope he attaches some good actors, and I hope he can convert his urban cinenatogrpahy to the a more rural destination because I haven't seen him do that before.

We will see.

"Michael Mann is f*cking amazing. Everyone remember the first legit incarnation of Hannibal Lecter to the big screen was Michael Mann.."

I agree. Manhunter was, and is, IMO, not only vastly superior to the sh*tty Ratner remake but also better than the often overshadowing Silence of the Lambs.

William Peterson was great, even if he wasn't so fantastic in Live and Die in LA.

I thought Tom Noonan almost stole the show really. One of Mann's early really good films, although he flopped hard with his The Keep film adaptation, and the book really, really deserved much, much better.

Haven't seen Thief, but I will.
triggax writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:15:58 PM

Munich was f*cking sick.

I dont think he lost his edge as much as he just got old. When he wants to he can still rock the sh*t out of that camera.. Catch me if you Can... Easily one of the best films from the last 10 years..

The Sting is probably one of my very favorite movies of all time. There was something about Redford and Newman together, everyone knew it was going to be pretty much perfect no matter what the movie was.

Just watched Butch Cassidy last night actually.. for the umpteenth time, lucky enough to be able to watch it on blu ray. Looks better than ever.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:17:52 PM

"The guy is due a good movie again Munich was his last IMO , but i'm not sure War Horse or Tintin are going to be that though."

I'm telling you, the guy is bsically DONE. He makes as much EPing as he ever did directing and he's not going to go back to the d-chair unless he has something personal to deliver.
triggax writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:20:47 PM

The entire cast of Manhunter hit the mark in every right way, mink. Even Dennis Farina played an enjoyable and interesting role.

William Petersen, just f*cking owned that movie. Every time I feel like I'm watching a seriously disturbed but brilliant investigator unwind a very dangerous tale right in front of my eyes, very much believable.. Amazing soundtrack as well.

Joan Allen deserves a mention as well, she was excellent, the scene at the veterinarian where she pets the tiger, very powerful scene with some very heavy music.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:22:12 PM

Munich was lame, and boring and contrived and though well-shot Spielberg's idiotic moral relativism ruined the film.

Rather than showing that Israel has a right to exist and that the murder of a bunch of athletes is indefensible, he makes it seem like the retaliating Israelis had this sort of eventual ethical crisis that wore them down to the point of apathy.

It sucked. Also, Eric Bana just stinks. He sucked hard in Hulk and he sucked in Star Trek; he just needs to go away. Far, far away.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:24:42 PM

Also, Mann's moral center, if he has one, is well off. He makes great films by often glamorizing traditional villains, making them into nihilistic anti-heroes to which we can all supposedly indentify, and I think the man takes his post-modern relativistic philosophizing too far some times.
triggax writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:25:57 PM

I will also agree that, yes, Mann has slowed down in his abilities with his age, but Public Enemies and Miami Vice are still far superior to most of the garbage films out there these days.. I've always said hes the rich tasteful mans version of Michael Bay. With the exception of The Rock. That might as well have been a Michael Mann film.. Excellent.. Talking about using your surroundings as a prop/character/plot device, for the film.. The Rock killed it with San Francisco..

The thing I love most about Michael Mann is that, no matter what the movie, I can always tell that Michael Mann directed, going as far back as 1983 with Thief. He definitely has a great style and I find it extremely appealing.
triggax writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:32:01 PM

"Rather than showing that Israel has a right to exist and that the murder of a bunch of athletes is indefensible, he makes it seem like the retaliating Israelis had this sort of eventual ethical crisis that wore them down to the point of apathy."

lol..
Try watching it again without the "im the smartest man alive" attitude, and just take it for what it is.. A beautifully shot bitchin revenge movie..

Although you're right about Bana, I can't f*cking stand him in most sh*t.. BUT!! Chopper, he was just f*ckin excellent in, check it out if you haven't already.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:47:53 PM

"Try watching it again without the "im the smartest man alive" attitude, and just take it for what it is.. A beautifully shot bitchin revenge movie.."

If I ignore the story, Trig, the heart of the film, Munich is then just a very slow and boring (but well-shot!) film. So I agree.

"but Public Enemies and Miami Vice are still far superior to most of the garbage films out there these days"

Yes, true, but the bar is about three inches above the ground. Easy to jump that one, rather than try to limbo under it.

"Talking about using your surroundings as a prop/character/plot device, for the film.. The Rock killed it with San Francisco.."

That's true, Trig, but then, it's like filming a pirate film inside a bottled ship. The bottle becomes the entire unoverse, so that was...unavoidable.

Anyway, Bay IMO does pure action better than Mann, but Mann does everything else far better. And Mann certainly has an artisitic signature that I think is easy to see once you've watched a few of his films. It's like his creative watermark.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 12:58:39 AM

I see what you mean trailer, there have been many a movie that I've seen and hated then went back to at some point and all of a sudden liked or loved.

If you do go back and watch it and still don't like it then hey ho, at least I tried haha.
seveltoto writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 12:43:28 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved