WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bradley Cooper in Talks for "The Crow" Remake

Posted: April 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bradley Cooper in Talks for "The Crow" RemakeSubmit Comment
It was recently announced that "28 Weeks Later" director Juan Carlos Fresnadillo will direct "The Crow" remake for Relativity. And now comes word that Bradley Cooper (The Hangover) is in early negotiations to star in the film.

If cast, Cooper will play a rock musician who is murdered while trying to save his fiancee from thugs. He is resurrected by supernatural forces and seeks revenge. The role was originally played by Brandon Lee, who was killed by a freak accident during production in 1993.

Fresnadillo has already met with Cooper and talked about their vision for the remake. Cooper has also recently starred for Relativity's "Limitless" and the studio is interested in continuing to work with the actor. "The Crow" will begin shooting this fall.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 5:30:51 AM

Guess they want the ladies to see this new crow movie instead of the guys this time.
telur writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 5:38:06 AM

i like Bradley Cooper and The Crow too good for him
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 5:51:41 AM

Bradley Cooper always comes across as an arrogant c*nt in whatever film he's in. I wonder if he's just typecast of that's just him. Why would they remake the crow any way what's the point you're not gonna draw in a big fan base of the original it was more of a cult classic, the story wasn't particularly unique in any way. Whyyy?

Captain cabinets trapped in cabinets, can he get out? will he get out? course he will!
Captain cabinets trapped in cabinets, can he get out? will he get out? course he will!
clydefamous writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:08:19 AM

please tell me this is a joke. I've got no beef with B. Cooper, but who would want to cast him in a Crow film? which begs the question what kind of Crow film is this gonna be? Bet the Jonas brothers are on the soundtrack. smh.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:15:10 AM

Yes, he looks like an arrogant douche but I have nothing against him otherwise. That being said, he's completely wrong for The Crow. He might be a better actor than Brandon Lee, but he can never be a better Draven. No one will ever be a better, or even in the proximity, of Lee's Draven.

Let it be.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:34:01 AM

Brandon lee will ressurect from hell along with bruce lee and will kill the director.
Worst news ever not even a bad april fools joke,since the Situation wanting to star in movies as well.
Hollywood how lower can you go each day
bandolero999 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:48:11 AM

Guess the director wants to have the mama mia and sex and the city audience to watch the crow.Bryan Singer you are a bad influence
boogiel writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 8:03:27 AM

For God sake, LEAVE THE CROW ALONE!!!!! Brandon Lee totally owned and the movie was fantastic! Leave it be, Hollywood!
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 8:31:33 AM

Boogiel-spot on
Loki writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:26:05 AM

SHOOTING to begin this fall.
Funny choice of words.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:43:53 AM

What a terrible choice for this film.
HideousSecretion writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 10:41:53 AM

The Crow would end his career.
j-man writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 10:52:01 AM

instead of a crow a peac*ck will resuirect him
rabid writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:33:41 AM

The same studio that made Limitless is making the Crow, so they're just using this as a chance to remind people that Limitless is still in theaters. They probably hope a few curious Crow fans will read this and go buy a ticket to their current movie.
Limitless was really great though. Probably the best film in theaters right now. Definitely heads above Sucker Punch and Battle LA.
rabid writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:45:48 AM

Even if it was true, he could pull it off. The classic Crow from the comics is not some goth-clothed rock-star martial-artist. He's just a guy. Very vague in appearance. He's into old punk rock and muscle cars, and that's about as far as he's described.
It's the totem spirit of the crow that magically turned him into a goth clown.

As far as I'm concerned the makeup and fingernail polish and the black leather aren't central to the story. The real meat of the tale is why a crow is the avatar of the afterlife, and why it chooses to provide an opportunity for vengeance.
rabid writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:47:19 AM

Brandon Lee is irrelevant. Always has been.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:49:54 AM

rabid- It doesn't take much to be above Sucker Punch or Battle LA both great examples of the empty void of films being churned out now days with lack of respect for the audiences intelligence and time.
Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 11:56:25 AM

'Bradley Cooper (The Hangover) is in early negotiations...' - ie: his name was scribbled on a napkin with a dozen other names over lunch.

tonguepunchingpussy writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 12:52:22 PM

@ Ranger, you are correct sir. That's exactly how this sh*t goes down, and some part time waiter/wanna be actor or actress sees it as they put down fresh scotch at the table, and gossips about it, and after being regurgitate and sh*t on a couple of times, its news.
iceskateuphill writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 12:53:32 PM

The movie going community does not need a remake of the crow! They need to see the original crow no one can top brwandon lees acting in that role it was one of the best roles of the 90s! With bradley cooper, who I do like as an actor and leading man, you will have a lighter crow which is going to suck because all of the plot elements make for quite the hard r movie about really bad people getting brutally killed by the invincible avenger, and righteously so. Coopers personality is too affable to fully capture the darkness of the crow, if he leaves that all behind and focuses solely on the darkness and edginess that brandon lee owned in the original role then maybe this will be cool
LastActionHero writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 12:57:34 PM

Too dark of a role for him. He needs to stick to "face" roles.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 1:10:46 PM

Cooper is just too metrosexual for the crow he likes to tan and work out just like the deuches from jersey shore
rabid writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 2:32:28 PM

Eric Draven was always a metrosexual. He was an innercity kid during the glam rock era. He even had Nikki Six hair.
I think they should take story and just bring it up to date culturally. Mid-20's metalhead, no facepaint, fill the soundtrack with roadrash rock like Mastadon, and film most of the action on the pavement instead of in spooky buildings. Then you'd have a reboot that honors the source without resorting to 90's goth cheese.
Nick Cave wrote the script. I have no idea if he's a good writer, but I know that he understands the themes better than Joe Schmoe from Hollywood.
triggax writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 2:36:25 PM

Bad choice.. He's way too face man this guy. The reason he worked so well in the A Team is because at his roots he seems to be a comedic actor and was able to play the super suave handsome funny guy..

I doubt very much he could break away from that, hes too rich playboy looking for The Crow..

Come on people, the obvious choice here is Nicolas Cage.
Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 2:37:27 PM

@tongue - thank you... and exactly.

Agree with most posts on here. Bradley isn't the best pick for this role.
triggax writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 2:42:12 PM

"fill the soundtrack with roadrash rock like Mastadon"

f*ck yes Rabid, best f*cking idea i've heard for this remake yet.

And another thing, watch the movie "The Proposition" if you haven't already, to get an idea of just how adept Nick Cave is at screen writing. f*cking awesome movie.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 3:18:00 PM

They can put all the heavy metal bands in the world and all the nudity and it will still be a piece of sh*t.
Alex proyas was a great director the crow and dark city.After that he went downhill when he made movies with will smith and nicolas cage
rabid writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 4:01:36 PM

Proyas is still a great director. In Knowing he took a really terrible script and tired concept and made it very watchable.
But even with Proyas talent, there's only so much you can fix it when your lead star dies before he finishes his scenes.
Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 4:43:36 PM

Knowing was watchable?

You mean the first half, yes?
rabid writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 5:17:57 PM

I enjoyed the second half as well. And I'm usually the last guy who's going to appreciate a gospel message.
I thought Proyas handled it pretty nicely, treating it more like an alien abduction intead of Kirk Cameron's fantasy.

In anyone else's hands, it would have felt like reading a Jack Chick tract.
triggax writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 5:39:42 PM

I'm one of the few people that enjoyed Knowing in it's entirety..

Proyas knows how to shoot a film, and keep it interesting, like Rabid said, even with a sh*t script.

I Robot.. Eh.. Good movie I guess.. Entertaining at face value, not much underneath that. But shot beautifully, like all of proyas' films.

Knowing was easily a huge plus for Nicolas Cage and Proyas.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 6:19:43 PM

Knowing was dumb. Made absolutely no sense. Alex proyas should be ashamed that he made both Dark City and the Croiw and then went on to make sh*t like I Robot and Knowing. Both are atrocious films and I have to wonder at the intellevt of anyone who actually thought thy were watching coherent film-making.

And Bradley Cooper is all wrong. He's too damned old and he's too damned surfer boy. I don't care what Rabid will say because I'm sure he has the Crow graphic novel wiki in his head but I don't give two turds about the gaphic novel, all I want to see is a film that works as well as the first, because whatever you may foolishly think about Lee, the film was a success for a reason, although I cannot deny that I found the film appealing without 'knowing' Lee died, and I thought he captured what the film was about, and I also think there are some strange comparisons to be made between Lee's Crow role and that of Ledger's TDK Joker role, even if I didn't giv a donkey dump for that film, and rightly so.

"Eric Draven was always a metrosexual. He was an innercity kid during the glam rock era. He even had Nikki Six hair."

I have no idea what you;re talking about Rabid, but I do know that today the term 'metrosexual' refers to men who spend inordinate amounts of time primping like women and who know more about baking quiche than laying drywall. That's metrosexual and for some reason, I'm not entirely convinced you understand what the word means.

"I think they should take story and just bring it up to date culturally."

I would think they would, but then how could they homor the original story?

"Mid-20's metalhead, no facepaint, fill the soundtrack with roadrash rock like Mastadon, and film most of the action on the pavement instead of in spooky buildings."

That'll never work becaus enot only is your idea not culturally relevant, it's not apt for the mainstream goths that would rather see Twlight than a serious dark action film.

"Then you'd have a reboot that honors the source without resorting to 90's goth cheese."

No one is suggesting making the new Crow in the same mold as the old. That would never work and of course they're going to pay attention to what's culturally relevant, but what's relevant isn't what YOU think is relevant and I can ssure you they have no desire to drag in the music of Mastadon when they get more conptemporay and mainstream tunes.

You are living in inside a fantasy.

"Nick Cave wrote the script."

Yes, yes, and he only wrote one other script: The Proposition.

"I have no idea if he's a good writer"

Perhaps you should watch the proposition, then befre you say this:

"but I know that he understands the themes better than Joe Schmoe from Hollywood."

And you base this opinion on what exactly?

"Bradley Cooper always comes across as an arrogant c*nt in whatever film he's in. I wonder if he's just typecast of that's just him."

Braley Cooper is a face man. He was brought in for his looks and marginaly abilities to play off those looks with a smug attitude of entitlement, like Matthew McConaughey who never had musch in the way of talent outside of his sexual appeal. The same goes for Cooper, and he's stuck on that crutch because he doesn't know whot to more than that and no one has shown him another way. That and he's likely vain and superficial.

"please tell me this is a joke. I've got no beef with B. Cooper, but who would want to cast him in a Crow film?"

The same people that always throw around some 'hot' star when they're brainstorming a film very early in the development stage. They want the guy because he's popular right now and that's more important than making a film that appeals to the story more than cuurent trends among female moviegoers which makes no sense unless they're going to Twilight this up, but I don't see how Cooper can realistically appeal to teenagers young enough to be his daughter. Whatever.

"The same studio that made Limitless is making the Crow, so they're just using this as a chance to remind people that Limitless is still in theaters."

That mamkes no sense 99% of film goers don;t hit the movie news circuits. They might follow Cooper news, but it's a stretch to say that marginal news like this would ever filter down into the consciousness of the masses. If they wanted to remind people about Limitless, they would have done what everyone else does when they need to squeeze out a few more ticket sales: fast tv spots.

I do think that Limitless has shown some people that Cooper is more than just a pretty face and they now have bigger plans for him beyond a matinee mannequinn, which is sad because despite the appeal of Limitless to some who might be drawn in by scientific foolishness and wishful thinking, I disagree.

"They probably hope a few curious Crow fans will read this and go buy a ticket to their current movie."

Or, far more likely, they're seriously considering Cooper for the role because they're seriously considering him for the role. And someone borke the 'news'. Occam's Razor.

"I'm one of the few people that enjoyed Knowing in it's entirety."

You and Rabid makes two. And no more.

"Proyas knows how to shoot a film, and keep it interesting, like Rabid said, even with a sh*t script."

Sure he does. I rRobot and Knowing aren't faulted by bad direction, instead by horrible stories, terrible actors and really sh*tty concepts.

"I Robot.. Eh.. Good movie I guess.."

Compared to what?

"Entertaining at face value"

So's porn.

"not much underneath that. But shot beautifully, like all of proyas' films."

Again, cinematography and drection aren't the issue, the script and underlying idiotic stries are. And both knowing and I Robot relied heavily on CGI to fill the voids of proper shots.

"Knowing was easily a huge plus for Nicolas Cage and Proyas."

For Cage, yes, for Proyas, not a f*cking chance. Cage was already in the sh*tter and on the way down when he made Knowing. Proyas hadn't yet ruined his name entirely even though he gaffed and goofed attaching his Dark City rep to I Robot.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 6:23:22 PM

Pardon the hideous grammar and spelling; I typed that in five minutes.
rabid writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:07:18 PM

I'd say that I, Robot was a good film. It wasn't Asimov's masterpiece in any way, shape or form though. They just took an average scifi script, added Asimov's title and sprinkled in the laws of robotics. I hate that sort of underhandedness by producers, but once I convince myself to not hope for Asimov, I can see it as an interesting sci-fi story which was better than most robot tales.

BiCentennial Man got it right. AI got it wrong. I,Robot falls somewhere in between. I wouldn't hold it against Proyas for using too much CGI. The main character was a bipedal robot. Fight scenes and chases would have been nearly impossible to film right off the storyboards. There's a reason why all pre-90s robot violence takes place in the dark.
gideon_the_1 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:26:00 PM

Check out new graphic novel, Launching at New York Comic Con. Soon the be a Motion Picture.

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Ultra-Terrestrials-The-Unveiling-Vol-1/150058388381581
goat1202 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:34:02 PM

"Brandon Lee is irrelevant. Always has been."

The guy is dead, so bravo id say that makes one pretty irrelevant, thats like saying "Hi my name is Rabid, please don't throw rocks at my face, its not my fault I'm a f*cking moron"

I wish Bruce Lee was still alive so he could round house you in the f*cking nose.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:36:40 PM

"There's a reason why all pre-90s robot violence takes place in the dark."

Dunno. The battle between Robocop and ED was pretty well lit...

And let's face it, I Robot was nothing more than a cheap showcase for HDRI lighting on smoothly subdivided surfaces because at the time, that was all the rage in CGI. That and vintage sneakers and Will Smith's unsightly black ass.

"I'd say that I, Robot was a good film."

Iiiiiiiiiin what way, good sir? *glitch* *glitch* kill a humans! *glitch* I request further input for clarification!

"BiCentennial Man got it right. AI got it wrong. I,Robot falls somewhere in between."

You should elaborate, really, so we can hammer out just what it is you and I think about how robots, machines really, would operate under human programming.

Remember, no human ever strays from the programming of evolution, so if a robot was *explcitly* designed to do no harm, it never could unless it's programing was changed or its internal laws were never clearly defined.

This is a fact, but most people are ignorant of this and so the ambiguity is turned into a cheap and cliched AI trope to sell tickets.

On the other hand, Asimov was actually interested, as he was a scientist, in the real-world laws and scientific and philosophical issues behind what makes up the mind and what makes people and things do what they do. He wasn't a f*cking hack fillmaker.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:39:34 PM

"The main character was a bipedal robot. Fight scenes and chases would have been nearly impossible to film right off the storyboards."

Rabid, rabid, rabid, RABID!

I'm not talking about the robots, I'm talking about everything else that leant the film a preposterous patina of plywood fakery. The film was as real as a plastic wedding cake. And just as filling.
triggax writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:41:36 PM

You're right about porn.

Maybe I just like to not slag him so much to hold on to the hope that I'll get another Dark City from the guy.

I know, knowing sucked, and I know I Robot sucked.. In high def and turned up really loud, I can and do appreciate the guy for his ability to shoot a beautiful film, sometimes thats enough for me.. But on any other level yeah, they both sucked...

Bradley Cooper is still a stupid f*cking choice.. Im sure its going to go to him or Joseph Levitt, or whoevers hot right now with their dimples and hard asses...

It will never be as good as Proyas' original vision and nobody and I mean f*cking NOBODY will be anywhere f*cking near as rad as Michael Wincott was in the original.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:54:17 PM

Alex Proyas will never ever do another Dark City, trig and you and I and all the other poor saps are just going to have to deal with that fact.

And his direction of both Knowing and I Robot weren't the issue, as I've said, it was the horrendous stories.

Oh, and the 'Director's Cut' of Dark City was a total scam.

"It will never be as good as Proyas' original vision and nobody and I mean f*cking NOBODY will be anywhere f*cking near as rad as Michael Wincott was in the original."

Yeah, remake Strange Days instead. And then burn all the originals.
Pig Newtons writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:03:14 PM

f*ck YOU, YOU BEANBREATH HACK OF A DIRECTOR.

I won't even elaborate on my opinions of this possibility
velocityknown writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 9:37:57 PM

I know I'm a little late to this party, but I'd like to just offer this:

Aside from it being a totally wrong casting choice, for someone who is in the middle of a career peak, it's kind of a career suicide. The Crow has some of the most dedicated fans to ever watch a movie and whoever is cast in this role will obviously be compared to him.

No one wins that comparison, especially not Bradley Cooper. I like the guy, but no, if he cares about his career, he should not do this.
rabid writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 10:37:31 PM

Dark City was a testament to Alex Proyas skill. The film was filled with mediocra actors somehow delivering pristine performances. The set was clearly wood and cardboard, but you never cared less.
That's truly the best anyone could ever make of the whole false-reality truman-show style scifi twist. And he did it on a shoestring budget.
JGL would make a good Eric Draven. I'm mainly against the idea of Bradley Cooper because of his age. The Crow's story works much better when it's young lovers vs cruel world.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 10:54:53 PM

Finally we agree, rabid. And yes JGL wouldn't be bad, but I would wait a few years for him to add some physically maturity. He still lokks like a very young teenager.

I wonder, though: which was the better prop design: Rear Window or Dark City?

You decide!
bandolero999 writes:
on April 14th, 2011 at 9:20:37 AM

JGL is 30 now i dont think he's gonna grow any more muscles he's past puberty he's always gonna look like a little kid.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved