WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Shannon on Being Cast as General Zod in "Superman" Reboot

Posted: April 12th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Shannon on Being Cast as General Zod in "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
It was recently announced that Michael Shannon (Revolutionary Road) has been cast as General Zod in the upcoming "Superman" reboot, opposite Henry Cavill.

Now, during the RiverRun International Film Festival, Shannon shared his surprise about being cast and the bizarre experience of meeting Snyder and reading with Cavill for the role.

He said: "It's ridiculous. It just came out of nowhere. I'm talking to my agent and she goes, 'How about Superman?' 'What?' The idea that I would ever be in 'Superman'. 'Are you serious?' 'Yeah,' [Zack Snyder] really wants you. You should go meet him.' So I got meet him and he's seriously sitting there telling me 'you can't read the script, so I'm just going to tell you what happens.' And he spent half an hour telling me every scene."

Check out the video below to see the rest of the funny interview.

Video:


Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: RiverRun International Film Festival


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 6:15:34 AM

Snyder: You can't read the script, I can't even write yet, I drew it in felt tip pens. So I'm gonna tell you instead, there once was a little boy, who was an alien, from a distant planet... with like powers and stuff....
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 7:00:18 AM

I have never liked Superman, he's a total borefest. So when word about a reboot started circulating, I was less than excited. But now Nolan is involved, a good actor to play the villain and Zack Snyder. I liked Sucker Punch, not as good as it could've been, but enjoyable nonetheless.

I'm actually looking forward to Man of Steel
LastActionHero writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 7:31:39 AM

This guy is horrible. His whole acting schtick is looking creepy.
japaninmotion writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 7:33:25 AM

hey yo oh ye. hey yous... da son of jor -el.. ya gotta kneel befor zod ya mook. i hope he gets an accent or he goes all new york like
redbluedevil writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 8:36:13 AM

Anyone see Revolutionary Road? Was this guy as good as they say?
SACdaddy writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 9:08:03 AM

This guy should be kissing Marty's ass for casting him in such a creepy role in Boardwalk Empire. If that role didn't earn him this job I don't know what did.
velocityknown writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 9:10:29 AM

@Redbluedevil

I'm pretty critical of who gets Oscar nominations and who doesn't. Michael Shannon had somewhere around 15 minutes of screen time in a two hour movie.

And he totally earned that Oscar nod. With the right script, he will be a kick ass villain.

@Cinemaisdead

My thoughts exactly.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 10:31:10 AM

Ehhh, we'll have to wait and see. Is he wearing Ugg boots? lol
zyban03 writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 10:36:24 AM

He was a creepy bastard in Revolutionary Road. Did a really good job in that film.
Valerie writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 11:14:24 AM

@SACdaddy; Most probably, but then the role he got in BE probably came from his performance in Revolutionary Road! I think he is a good actor, and seriously has a face perfect for a villain.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 11:57:30 AM

BadChad- I think you're right he is wearing womens boots. Lost all respect for him instantly f*cking bender. Men in uggs= MUGS.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 12:58:57 PM

cinema- i know i wear mine when I cross dress on the weekends but damn. lol
minkowski writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 1:18:56 PM

"This guy should be kissing Marty's ass for casting him in such a creepy role in Boardwalk Empire.

"He was a creepy bastard in Revolutionary Road."

"His whole acting schtick is looking creepy. "


He played a creep in RR. He played a creep in Bug. He plays a creep in BE.

He'll play a creepy Zod. Can't wait...

Crazyhorse writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 1:33:04 PM

Creepy Zod probably

but

Please change the accent, I felt like I was listening to a old guy at a sandwich shop in Jersey asking me what else I wanted on my sandwich.

Terrence Stamp might ought to be asked to do his voice over for this
rocketman writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 1:51:04 PM

Yawn
minkowski writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 1:53:20 PM

Terrence Stamp should be hired to do everything. f*ck this Mask-looking motherhumper.

Also, Lois Lane should have no lines whatesoever. That should improve the film a thousand-fold.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 2:25:14 PM

Mink agree he does look like the mask

Was hopeing for Daniel Day Lewis

Maybe a little hair color for Stamp to reprise the role
minkowski writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 2:31:45 PM

Terence Stamp was supreme in The Limey and DDL is what you would call a perfectionist method actor, or so it appears (There wil be blood).

Shannon can go scare the sh*t out of little children and take this film with him.

And Cinema, you're wrong, Snyder used crayons and Play Doh to do the script, not felt pens. f*cking visual masturbator.
makingcircles writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 2:32:55 PM

Hey Mink, what's your verdict on Margot Kidder's Lois Lane? I think a strong Lois Lane that's not just something pretty too look at would be nice. Someone with some depth. I'm good with this Zod casting choice. He definitately has that "menacing" quality. I'm still leary that Snyder will be able to pull of what Nolan did for Batman. Only because the cinematography and color schemes that Snyder tends to use are not based in reality.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 2:47:41 PM

Macking Circles

He's menacing looking but when he speaks you want to bust out laughing and finish placing your order at Jersey Joe's Sub shop
makingcircles writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 2:51:11 PM

@Crazyhorse - Agreed. Hopefully he can reach into his bag of acting talent and pull out a decent vocal cadence and inflection that will work for Zod. If not, I'm definitely down with some voiceover work.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 2:56:54 PM

makingcircles

I hope your right

I will admit when I heard Nolan cast Ledger for Joker I didnt think it would work, but I was wrong.

Hopefully Im wrong again because right now this film is looking more like a train wreck
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 3:01:05 PM

WP

SERIOUSLY

CAN YOU NOT FIND ANOTHER MEANS OF ADVERTISMENT INSTEAD OF THESE STUPID PHOTOS BELOW THAT WERE PROBABLY TAKEN BY CHARLIE SHEEN ON A DOPE RUN
makingcircles writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 3:02:11 PM

Speaking of trainwrecks...how bout that Thor movie huh? My prediction - Thor = fail, Captain America = Win, and Man of Steel skates by with an "eh"
encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 4:17:14 PM

this movie was starting to look up, but then it's an origin story. why? who on this f*cking planet, comic book nerd or not, doesn't know the story of superman? But i was still hopeful, oh wait! let's have General Zod! he's not the most boring, useless, superman villain right up there with Luthor! they could have had Darkseid, Doomsday, Parasite, Brainiac, even Metallo would be a change of pace. but no, they just HAVE to continuously re-use the same villains over and over. Isn't it also supposed to have Lex Luthor in it? God help us ...
minkowski writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 5:00:22 PM

"Only because the cinematography and color schemes that Snyder tends to use are not based in reality."

Neither are flipping semis and talking half-heads.

As for Margot, dunno what to say. She brought some creative energy to the film with her spunk and drive and steely nerve, but at the same time she was terribly wobbily. She was always playing the annoying damsel in distress.

Instead, in the comics, Lane is a hero in her own right, which is why, as a mere human, she's a good fit for the Man of Steel.

Anyway they should just cancel this film now. I'm sick of Superman, sick of hearing about the saran-wrapped super-wierdo. If they can't make him more interesting than drying paste, they should just move the f*ck on.
masht7 writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 6:20:46 PM

He has the same type of creepy look like Javier Bardem had in 'No Country for Old Men'. I'm still trying to picture him with a beard and no hair, but he is a good enough actor to be Zod.
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 7:55:04 PM

So is General Zod suppose to look like a rapist since they hired Michael Shannon?

I can't stand Superman, he has ridiculous powers but can easily be beat by a rock. I would just sprinkle Kryptonite in his cereal and make the movie 10 minutes.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved