WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matt Reeves to Direct "They Live" Remake

Posted: April 11th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matt Reeves to Direct "They Live" RemakeSubmit Comment
Matt Reeves (Let Me In, Cloverfield) has signed on to write and direct a feature film based on Ray Nelson's "8 O'Clock in the Morning" short story, which was also used as the basis for John Carpenter's 1988 film "The Live."

The story is about a man who awakens one morning with the crystal-clear realization that we are surrounded daily by the presence of aliens that are controlling society.

"I saw an opportunity to do a movie that was very point-of-view driven, a psychological science fiction thriller that explores this guy's nightmare," said Reeves. "There could be a desperate love story at the center of this. Carpenter took a satirical view of the material and the larger political implication that we're being controlled. I am very drawn to the emotional side, the nightmare experience with the paranoia of 'Invasion of the Body Snatchers' or a Roman Polanski-style film."

Reeves said he will begin writing immediately.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lebowski writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 8:21:51 PM

if they dont include the bubble gum joke then this movie is hopeless.not surprised they are remaking this but it might turn up to be good.wasnt a big fun of cloverfield though and that because i hated the ending and the shaky cam but i will give a chance to this
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 8:22:05 PM

Yeah, but Matt Reeves has a heavy hand. The first film, campy as it was, is something of a cult classic because it's not quite as blatant and brusque, so I hope Reeves can pull off the subtle commentary style from the first film without making it into a festivel of blunt action like Cloverfield.
triggax writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 8:25:49 PM

Check out, Let Me In, Mink.

If you haven't seen it, Matt Reeves direction in Cloverfield was presented in the only real way a viral monster movie could have been.

Watch his newer film, unless you have already you might feel a tad different about the guy.
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 8:32:02 PM

Yeah, but isn't Let Me In a remake of a superior foreign film?

masht7 writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 8:32:48 PM

He can do good with remakes. I've never seen 'They Live', but it does sound like one of those campy cult classics.
Snootch writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 8:40:15 PM

Rowdy Roddy Piper was the bomb! Ok this is also based on my recollection as I have not seen this movie since I was probably 12 or 13. Like Minkowski stated, you need to keep the campy feel to be true to the original. I worry that people just use the word "reboot" or "re-imagined" a little to loosely these days just to avoid a lawsuit because they can't come up with anything original. If you are going for the predetermined "reboot" then you have to stay true to the original to some decent extent.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 9:09:59 PM

well its good hes going at it from a different angle, IF they are gonna remake something i say they should take the basics and build a new story around it.....its not like they could compete with the original tho!

@ Mink, Let the right one in and Let me in are both great movies, both have some better moments than the other....its one of those where they made it JUST because they think america cant read subtitles, didnt have to be made, so its very close to the original in alot of ways, but he did a good job considering.
his name is robert pulson writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 9:19:24 PM

No NO NO NO NO... This is such a bad Idea, how many remakes has hollywood made in the past 3 yrs. And How many have succeeded. None of them. This film was great, a classic. It possessed all the elements that was required to make a great memoriable film. All this will do is waste money time and the audiences life...
Zeroguy writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 9:24:17 PM

Let Me In is just as good as the original, maybe even better.
As for this, i'm excited. i think reeves is a good director (mainly for LMI, but Cloverfield had a nice spin but wore thin after 15 minutes). So i think he can chug out another good film.
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 9:27:20 PM

" I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass... and I'm all out of bubblegum. "

Who's gonna be able to replace Piper in the remake?

Nobody.
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 9:28:20 PM

I refuse to watch either the original or the remake.

Vampire films are not only subjectively passe, they've been objectively done to death.
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 9:29:33 PM

"Who's gonna be able to replace Piper in the remake?"

Me. And ranger can do Keith David's role.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 9:58:02 PM

Yeah, Vampire have been done to death (bad pun), but really, Let Me In is quite good. It's a surprising film that i expected to suck. And don't call off vamp films. There's good sh*t out there like Nosferatu and Vampyr.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 11:10:43 PM

This isn't exactly a remake of They Live. It's an adaption of the story that inspired They Live. This will be great.
triggax writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 11:14:58 PM

Dude! If youre a fan of good movies you're doing yourself a huge injustice not watching Let the Right One In, or Let Me In..

Don't look at them so much as a vampire film, thats not necessarily what they're about. Really f*cking great movies. Watch them.
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 11:31:27 PM

"This isn't exactly a remake of They Live. It's an adaption of the story that inspired They Live. This will be great."

Correct!

I think this is the actual short story:

http://themunkyreport.blogspot.com/2007/01/eight-oclock-in-morning-by-ray-nelson.html

And trig, sorry bud, but I'm not watching any more vampire/zombie films. Ever. I'm done with that sh*tty sub-genre. It's the proverbial beaten horse.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 11:54:22 PM

Yeah the whole Vampire and Zombie stuff have blown up and become huge, but that doesn't stop certain things from being awesome. Crazes start and then fall. Pirates aren't what they use to be.
But don't let that stop you from seeing good films.
If dramas were all the rage, would you avoid The Godfather or Citizen Kane.
minkowski writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 12:06:23 AM

Oh, I'm not avoiding vampire and zombie films because they're enjoying a popular resurgence; I was never a fan of the sub-genres, not even as a child. Never saw or could appreciate the appeal.

I mean, zombies are the walking dead, and vampires suck blood. That's it. And what you can do with them is inherently limited because they're innately very narrowly defined creatures.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 12:48:48 AM

Well Dawn of the Dead (1978) was a good commentary on consumerism and people shopping in malls.
And The Addiction (1995) was referencing drugs and aids using vampires.
It all depends on what's out there.

So i think there are more to the sub-genres than you think.

But i guess, to each their own.
Bob82 writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 12:57:35 AM

Come on man, 'Cloverfield' was a good movie, don't ruin another classic with a pointless remake, though I haven't seen 'Let Me In".
triggax writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 2:04:47 AM

Well. I think youre being as narrowly defined a creature by not at least giving it chance. I mean I feel if anyone recommends something it's at the very least worth the 10 minutes to download. The thing about these two films that gets me is their ability to work outside the sub genre completely. In both films I would have to say it's some of the best child acting I've seen since ET. Give it a shot man ill tell you it will be worth your time. Whether or not you get anything out of the vampire aspect associated to them is up to you. But don't write it off based on an assumption that you won't care for it. I feel the same as you for the most part, vampire movies are pretty f*cking lame.. Try it out you can thank me later...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 4:43:21 AM

Mink- Let The Right One In IS superior, Let Me In is a great film but like most remakes, unnecessary. Trigga is right though they don't fall into the genre of vampire at all really it's more of a sub plot to the love story running through the centre.
the_dude writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 9:27:09 AM

Cast Josh Holloway in this and it would be GOLD...
minkowski writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 1:50:35 PM

I don't like love stories either. Or anything with women talking.
BobMcBob writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 4:42:18 PM

Is he going to be the king of remakes?
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 7:46:57 PM

"I don't like love stories either. Or anything with women talking."

Hahahahah
Zeroguy writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 12:53:09 AM

@BobMcBob
No. He remade one movie so far. And Rhys only because he wanted to cause he felt close to the story. And the fact people are stupid and don't enjoy foreign films.
King of Remakes title belongs to Alexandre Aja.
BobMcBob writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 12:57:53 AM

that's why i said "going to be", not "is"
Zeroguy writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 2:02:06 AM

I doubt it. The guy seems to be a writer as well. Sure, he's done some sh*tty writing for sh*tty movies (Under Siege 2, The Yards, his dumbass movie he directed the Pallbearer).
There's his long gestating project The Invisible Woman which sounds good (i think mink would be interested in it), and now this, which is not so much a remake of They Live but a mere adaptation of a short story.
I just think Matt has chops. The guy is good friends with JJ, I think he'll follow his friends career path.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 4:36:02 AM

Might work.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved