WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Duncan Jones Getting Closer to Directing "Wolverine" Sequel

Posted: April 11th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Duncan Jones Getting Closer to Directing "Wolverine" SequelSubmit Comment
We recently reported that Duncan Jones (Source Code, Moon) is being considered as Darren Aronofsky's replacement to direct "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" sequel.

AICN has now learned that Jones has already had a meeting with 20th Century Fox, but it is one of many that he has had with studios for different projects.

Speaking at an event in London, Jones said the following about Wolverine: "I think he's a great character, and I don't want to go dangerous ground here, but I'd say he's more interesting to me than Batman. I think they've made a very successful run of films with that and I think a good Wolverine film could be an amazing thing. He's got a sense of humor and he's gruff. And he's kind of pissed off at everyone. I like that."

Source: IGN, AICN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 8:19:11 PM

"And he's kind of pissed off at everyone. I like that."

Ah, now I can appreciate that.
velocityknown writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 8:21:54 PM

Goddamn this would be awesome.
masht7 writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 8:26:40 PM

Sounds great. I'm just worried about the script though, hopefully it has something of the same feel as this: http://www.youtube.com/v/Wh_TDOulo2w
lebowski writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 8:28:06 PM

liked moon havent seen source code yet but the man is david bowies son so let him
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 8:53:37 PM

Duncan's a better fit anyway.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 9:16:30 PM

in good hands with Mr Zowie Bowie
Zeroguy writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 9:54:58 PM

I'll admit, I'm interested in a Duncan Jones' version of Wolverine. But like i said before, i rather see him go and make Mute or something a bit more original than a comic adaptation sequel.
But if it takes him to make this movie, to make Mute, then yeah, i say go for it.
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 10:42:59 PM

Zeroguy: you've been mentioning Mute repeatedly, and most folks have no idea to what you;re referring, so I'll do it for ya:

http://blogs.coventrytelegraph.net/thegeekfiles/2009/10/duncan-jones-talks-moon-and-re.html

http://www.slashfilm.com/concept-art-for-duncan-jones-mute-news-on-the-shoot/

http://www.sfx.co.uk/2009/12/11/sam_rockwell_will_have_a_cameo_in_moon_s_quasi_sequel/
bandolero999 writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 10:58:34 PM

sorry but i feel is still gonna suck and for directing a movie with brokeback mountain boy is not a good reference.Havent seen Moon though.

Only an Asian director can pull off Wolverine,and it will never happen. like Ryuheri Kitamura,Takashi Miike,the director of Goemon and Casshern
velocityknown writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 11:19:54 PM

@Zero

I've been waiting for Mute ever since I saw Moon as well, but this might be (like you said) what it takes to get that. I'd imagine it'd be hard to get a studio to take a chance on a movie that takes place within the same universe as Moon when Moon didn't have amazing box office returns (decent, but not great).

If this gets us Mute as well as a suitable replacement for Aronofsky then I'm all for him doing this first.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 11:27:46 PM

thats a croc of sh*t bandolero. an asain director is more suited for a wolverine movie set in japan?! bad logic is bad.
then by your terrible logic, a sh*tty director like justin lin is more suited for this.
liek i said, if this means he can make mute, then go ahead, make this. i'm sure it will be just as good as an aronofsky version.

and yes, thanks for that info mink. my doucheyness made me think half the people have no f*cking clue what im saying when it comes to Mute.
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 11:36:44 PM

"and yes, thanks for that info mink. my doucheyness made me think half the people have no f*cking clue what im saying when it comes to Mute."

I had no clue about Mute either until I googled it, and I think many, if not most, other posters are in the same situation.

Looks like Duncan is going to have to the do the Nolan thing...make a bunch of commercially successfully films before the studio signs off on his iffy pet project. But that's the norm.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 11:41:40 PM

wolverine is one of my favorite marvel characters but he'll always be great in the comics and the xmen cartoons as well, these directors just seem to f*ck something up so simple.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 11:42:10 PM

yeah, but hopefully he retains the goodness that makes him zowie aka duncan jones. inception, though entertaining and good, was messy and had a terrible forced romance in it.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 11:48:20 PM

blame south african Gavin Hood for the terrible first Wolverine movie.
if Duncan does this, it will be much better. that is a fact.
telur writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 12:00:34 AM

btw, where is gavin hood? did he get another job after wolverine?
rabid writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 12:03:47 AM

This guy made some amazingly fresh scifi with some tired concepts in Source Code and Moon. I'm definitely in favor of Jones directing Wolverine.
It's good to see superhero films in the hands of actual comic book fans. Whedon, Vaughn, Nolan, Snyder, and now maybe Duncan Jones. All these guys will treat the source material with reverence.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 12:17:44 AM

like I said the nips would do a good job directing wolverine also check out Dragon Tiger Gate,Storm Riders,Man called hero for proof
Zeroguy writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 12:52:14 AM

i have no clue who that is but Kazuaki Kiriya is a decent director. I like Casshern.
But i rather it be less anime like and more of a comic flair minus the campy feel they sometimes give off.
Zeroguy writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 12:53:33 AM

@telur
there's talk Hood might do an adaptation of Ender's Game.
ugh.
Aingx writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 1:46:17 AM

Dead in the water
Cinemaisdead writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 5:33:38 AM

Just hurry up and make the film before Hugh's steroid use makes his nipples seep blue puss.
Aaron writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 5:39:22 AM

..the f*ck? I had no idea he was the son of Bowie. Trip.

No logical reason why it would be better than anyone else's whatsoever - but now I'd like to see a Duncan Jones "1984"
Valandir writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 7:19:22 AM

I was very dissapointed of the fact the Aronofsky left the project but Duncan Jones sounds pretty good to me. I think "Moon" was brilliant and I'm definitely going to see "Source Code" once it hits the cinemas in Finland.

I just hope that they won't use Jones as a puppet and tell everything he has to do. For a newcomer director this is a big shot but I hope Jones will eventually do it his way.

.. I still guess an r-rated Wolverine film is not a possibility?
rabid writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 10:32:18 AM

Well, he's never had an adult comic book, so it wouldn't make much sense to make an 'R' Wolverine film. Marvel would never cut off their licensing hand like that either.
Valandir writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:26:40 AM

Good point Rabid, case closed.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved