WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Shannon is General Zod in "Superman" Reboot

Posted: April 10th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Shannon is General Zod in "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has announced that Oscar-nominated actor Michael Shannon (Revolutionary Road) has been cast as the villainous General Zod in the upcoming "Superman" reboot.

"Zod is not only one of Superman's most formidable enemies, but one of the most significant because he has insights into Superman that others don't," said director Zack Snyder. "Michael is a powerful actor who can project both the intelligence and the malice of the character, making him perfect for the role."

Zod, like Superman, is from Krypton, where he commanded its armed forces. The character appeared in both 1978's "Superman" and its 1980 sequel "Superman II," where he was played by actor Terence Stamp.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
adamXmarshall writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 8:56:53 PM

Didn't he play Jaws in the Bond films?
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:06:22 PM

This guy is a damn good actor. He's great in boardwalk empire.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:07:58 PM

doesnt look like your average pretty boy,looks like a peeping Tom but thats a good thing.He'll nail the role
Sev writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:12:44 PM

Michael is a f*cking good actor. Looking forward to seeing how this pans out :)
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:15:39 PM

everything about the superman reboot is going great except for that LOHAN rumor casting.I hope is just a rumor and does not come true
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:16:11 PM

Interesting
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:17:08 PM

and SUCKER PUNCH was a ridiculous movie BTW
waste of special effects and every 5 min they play a song like if it was a music video.
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:24:30 PM

"Zod is not only one of Superman's most formidable enemies"

Right. More formidable than Mongul? More formidable than Brainiac? Darkseid? Than Doomsday?

I mean, how does a guy from the Phantom Zone take on a man like Superman, who has basked in our powerful yellow sun, the source of his miraculous abilities, his entire life? You'd think that of Superman's abilities came on slowly, it would take a few minutes at least for Zod and friends to gain any super-strength.

Anyway, yeah, yeah, Shannon's a good actor and he has the creepy look down to an art, but Zod? Whatever.
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:24:49 PM

Dude looks like Willem dafoe.
velocityknown writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:30:18 PM

Don't know about Zod, but I'd probably like Shannon in any villain role. One thing you can say about this film is it seems to have pretty good casting going for it (key word there is: seems)
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:31:48 PM

Willem Dafoe is one of the best actors ever.
He even played a blonde jesus in the last temptation of christ and he played nosferatu in shadow of the vampire
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:32:58 PM

Well, I certainly hope good casting is all this film needs to succeed...
BuuMonster writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:36:04 PM

Damn with todays special effects they could pull off Darkseid or Brainiac but we get a pretentious kryptonian. Stamp did it already give us something new and no we don't want Superman to have triplets. If they wanted to do another superman-like character how about Cyborg Supes or even a weird story with Eradicator.
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:40:24 PM

^^Because that would make sense?

Seems to me they're just retreading Donner and Lester because they lack the confidence to make a mind-blowingly awesome film.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 9:56:16 PM

All I ask from DC is a LOBO movie since they made Green lantern
boogiel writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 10:00:08 PM

Zod and luthor...again?? Oh joy....
minkowski writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 10:05:46 PM

And Lois Lane and Ma and Pa Kent and and the entire cast, recast of course, from the first and second original films. Yeah!

Because says super like Superman doing the mundane.
trucvylucky852 writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 10:15:12 PM

congrats. hes a badass in boardwalk empire.
mariachi writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 10:49:00 PM

This is fantastic news.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 10:52:27 PM

good for Mr. Shannon he's been acting since the early 90s appearing in movies like Groundhog day,chain reaction,even in PEarl Harbor.

Hope he gets some good recognition
Watson writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 11:04:22 PM

This guy is gonna nail the role. He is one of my favorite actors.
BuuMonster writes:
on April 10th, 2011 at 11:28:06 PM

Yes Mink I should know by know that hollywood does't have much sense.

I would love to see them try to do Doomsday in the JLA movie. Weird how they want to recast all the heroes who have had a movie made by that time. I figure for the GL they would go with John Stewart.
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 12:32:59 AM

On topic: 'Zod, like Superman, is from Krypton,...'

How big of a rock would you have to be living under not to know this?

Phew... I stink!!!
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 12:42:03 AM

I'd rather see a serious, psychopathic Zod than another Luthor (although I'm kind of fond of Hackman's Luthor... so yeah Kevin Spacey, go suck another one!).

Oh-oh... are farts supposed to have lumps?!?!

brb...
rocketman writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 1:36:22 AM

Bloody Zod again,excitement levels just went down a notch.
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 1:39:00 AM

Put a set of 42DD's on Zod and I'll watch.
witwicky-potter writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 3:18:37 AM

Atleast they will wont use that incredible Hulk resemblance story line.
witwicky-potter writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 3:18:53 AM

Atleast they will wont use that incredible Hulk resemblance story line.
moileduge writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 3:27:51 AM

Wasted talent.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 4:18:50 AM

Kneel before Zod!!!!
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 5:21:13 AM

I wonder if they are still goin with that Secre Origin story line using the military..there were reports of a military set a while back..so It could still be on..and if so..then maybe Metallo will be the side villian.
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 5:22:27 AM

I wonder if Ursa is in this..if so my top choice would be Alice Eve hands down..i bet she would look great wit dark hair too
LastActionHero writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 7:36:56 AM

More proof that this will be another terrible Superman movie. They need to just stop already.
LEONCIO writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 9:02:47 AM

They have to cast Zod and Lex Luthor the same way they have to cast Lois, Jimmy, Perry, etc... Yes, they appeared in previous movies, but they also had to cast Alfred, Gordon, The Joker, etc, in the Batman movies, those are the characters everybody knows and they should be in the movies, but this doesn't mean that Luthor or Zod will be the main villains for the first new movie, maybe Zod will just be seen in Krypton before it explodes along Jor-El and other kryptonians (like in the first Donner's film), and Luthor could be a major public figure in Metropolis, but none of them need to be the main villains, maybe they will be for the sequels (if this one is successful enough) and maybe the main villain in this could be Metallo or Brainiac, who knows.

Just because they are casted it doesn't mean there will be no other villains (I already said this here when Mortensen was rumored for Zod). But maybe they'll be the main villains idk, we don't know sh*t yet, but I think we should wait a little bit more before starting the bitching about how much this reboot will suck, so far my main concern are not the villains but Snyder, specially after watching Sucker Punch. XD
RELAYER writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 9:20:19 AM

I'm so STOKED!!!!

With a pantheon of villains as colourful and expansive as Superman has... how lucky are we that they're going to use General Zod, AGAIN?

I'm so excited...
I can't wa- *Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz*
velocityknown writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 9:50:28 AM

@LEONCIO

You are correct, sir. Zod was in the original Superman movie with Christopher Reeve, but he didn't become a larger player until the second.

Though the way Snyder released the statement leads me to believe he will be the A-villain.

Speaking of Snyder, I keep trying to say to myself that the Nolans are involved in this and I need not worry about him, but I'm very much worrying about him.

In addition to the poor Sucker Punch reception (and his past storytelling problems), I feel like he doesn't have much of a grasp on the Superman story.

Every statement he releases seems like he's reading from a Wiki article about Superman.

Lois Lane is Superman's true love.
General Zod is one of Superman's most formidable enemies.
Superman is a superhero.
Assclown writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 12:58:39 PM

Did any of you see Bug. if you did you wouldn't be saying he's good actor.I still cry in the shower at the fact i actually watched that crap
Champ1432 writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 5:25:00 PM

LEONCIO said it best.
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 6:16:39 PM

Yeah, Bug was an abomination of a story. The guy (shannon) plays a zombie creep really well, I'll give him that.

Oh, and I think we would have heard something by the this point as to who or what is the film's main villain, but we haven't. Given that, it's foolish to indulge in flighty wishful thinking that Zod won't be the numero uno bad guy.

And Snyder and Co. wouldn't waste all this time and energy talking about Zod, and who's going to play him, if he was just some third-string character seen for five seconds.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 6:38:02 PM

I was hoping for Daniel Day Lewis but oh well
Snootch writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 8:44:55 PM

^Scott
Why women never appreciate hearing that line when about to go down on a guy is just disappointing. I do wonder though if that is the big line amongst out of the closet fanboys?

I really should get back to work
Zeroguy writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 11:29:09 PM

Kevin "blander than oatmeal" costner is a bad chocie for pa kent.
StopMichaelBayNow writes:
on April 11th, 2011 at 11:37:09 PM

I like the choice of actor,but not to excited about the character, if this is even the main villain. Still hoping to see a Metallo other than the Brian Austin Green one in "Smallville" Will just have to see and wait how its going to pan out
rabid writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 12:27:46 AM

Zod might not even meet Superman in this movie. Could be he's only featured in flashbacks with Jor-El and the Science Council. So far none of the Superfilms or tv shows have ever spent much time explaining what caused Krypton to explode.
It's a really intricate story that would make a great film unto itself.
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 3:39:47 AM

With all due respect to all fanboys (im one myself)..THANK GOD some of em have nothin to do with filmmaking..There is NOTHING wrong with Zod as the villian in the FIRST movie of this franchise..

How can u seriously be demanding someone like Darksied as the villian for the beginning of this movie series..Seriously really? a villian like that u save for a sequel in order to "raise the stakes" or get a bigger/badder villian then before..This IS the FIRST film..at least u will get fighting for those moaned and bitched about Superman Returns..lighten up!!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2011 at 4:27:40 PM

there shouldn't BE a first movie in the franchise, if you see what i'm saying. who doesn't know who superman is and how he got his powers, krypton exploding, blah blah blah. Maybe i just want those good villains like Darkseid because i like Darkseid, and i HATE Superman. i was hoping this movie could breath new life into the character, but it looks like it will be the same all last son of krypton brooding about how no one understands him instead of actually doing something exiting like ... fight crime, maybe? but oh wait! he isn't the last son of krypton, it turns out a sh*t load of kryptonians survived and General Zod leads them to destroy earth ... i'm kind of ranting. i was just hoping superman would actually not be a snooze fest for once, with Nolan and Goyer writing it, but it looks awful right now.
gideon_the_1 writes:
on April 13th, 2011 at 7:25:05 PM

Check out new graphic novel, Launching at New York Comic Con. Soon the be a Motion Picture.

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Ultra-Terrestrials-The-Unveiling-Vol-1/150058388381581

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved